Help Check my Cables/Connections for My New Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-24-2008, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello all,

Thanks to all of your help, I'm close to nailing down what components I'm going to buy this week.

Forgive my limited artistic skills, but I created a basic chart showing how I think the components should be connected. Please let me know if I am wrong/it will cause problems/or if there is a better way.

In particular, can I connect my PC's audio directly to the receiver, while the video goes directly to the TV? I don't want to get another graphics card just to get a straight HDMI connection from my PC to the TV. Instead, can I just connect the 3.5mm optical out from my PC to the receiver as shown?

Thanks so much!
[IMG][/IMG]

Click a few times on the image to enlarge.
magogian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bump for help please!
magogian is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
oops, double post
magogian is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Leadsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's fine except that you could just run the HDMI from the computer through the receiver as well along with the audio.
Leadsalad is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadsalad View Post

It's fine except that you could just run the HDMI from the computer through the receiver as well along with the audio.

I don't have HDMI on my computer, only DVI. Plus, the Okyno 606 manual says that it can't receive video from PCs.
magogian is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Another question, are there any cables that I'm missing?
magogian is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Leadsalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by magogian View Post

I don't have HDMI on my computer, only DVI. Plus, the Okyno 606 manual says that it can't receive video from PCs.

Well, you could try it regardless of what the manual says. You're running a DVI->HDMI converter cable, could just plug it in to see.

No, you're not missing any cables, the one good thing to come of HDMI is cabling simplicity.
Leadsalad is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-25-2008, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
magogian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for your help!
magogian is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off