True Or False: You can use 3 Yellow RCA video cables in place of the 3 component... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
nullqwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks,

I have 3 extra yellow rca video cables laying around. Can I use them in place of the 3 Red/Green/Blue cables for a component hookup?

If so, do the three yellow rca cables have to match (company and brand) or will any 3 high quality video cables do?

Thanks!
nullqwerty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 115
In theory, any competent 3 75ohm video cables will do.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 03:02 PM
Member
 
jalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RCA cable are RCA cable are RCA cables..... i think its funny how people will spend extra money on a subwoofer cable... its the same thing so yes you can use the composite cables for component cables.
jalis is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
av.pallino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 1,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullqwerty View Post

Hey folks,

I have 3 extra yellow rca video cables laying around. Can I use them in place of the 3 Red/Green/Blue cables for a component hookup?

If so, do the three yellow rca cables have to match (company and brand) or will any 3 high quality video cables do?

Thanks!

Any 3 RCA cables will work.
av.pallino is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
RevToTheRedline's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fort Payne, Alabama
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use 3 white ones or 3 red ones too or 3 purple ones.
RevToTheRedline is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
John327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RCA cables are made video, left and right.
The cable itself is a 2 wire positive and ground.

Component cables are: Green, Blue, Red or YPbPr which are made up of coaxial cable (RG59 or RG6).
Coaxial cable have far better bandwidth capabilities than 2 wire. That's why the industry uses those kinds of cables for component. No conspiracy!!!

You can get away with using RCA cables in place of component cables for a 480p signal, but your image quality would be degraded for 720/1080p.

In a bind I have used RCA cables in place of component.
A good quality RCA cables' Video connection(yellow) is made of RG59 at best, so that is a good connection for the Green of component, which caries the Luminance signal.
Cheap RCA cables have all 3 wire as 2 wire

But why settle for second best when you can just get affordable component cables? Monoprice etc...

If you're really on a budget and you got some time on your hands, go by 30 feet of RG6 cable at your surplus electronics store and some RCA connectors, Google "how to make your own component cables" and BAMMM cheap good quality compenent cables.!!!
John327 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
david(dallas)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: plano, Tx
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
true
david(dallas) is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nm88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 2,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalis View Post

RCA cable are RCA cable are RCA cables.....

No, they're not. But any video cable will work.
nm88 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-28-2008, 08:05 PM
Member
 
neo1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
true. (but don't use the red or white audio cables.)
neo1022 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-29-2008, 02:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use a spare component video cable as an audio interconnect in my setup and it does the job with aplomb. 75Ω coax is 75Ω coax.
Carled is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-29-2008, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
saturation's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kwajalein
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RCA cables vary in quality, but as other said, its bandwidth was not designed to component video even if you get one made to spec.

I did a quick test with photos using RCA, component and HDMI video on just 480p material and the distortion is easily seen on A-B comparisons. You can find the photos on a post I made on AVS.
saturation is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 06-21-2014, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation No.

Based on most of the replies I did try it out. And in the end result broke it. After about 10 minutes of listening to music using the yellow rca cable for audio (subwoofer port) it broke, (making my subs to a loud POP noise that scared the living daylights out of me). Guess I will have to get myself some new cables...
Darkbullet009 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off