KDL-52xbr5 speaker settings revert back after changes saved - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2008, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pseudotrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully someone can help.

The players:
TV- 52xbr5
Blu-ray- s350
Receiver- 4300es
Sat- Directv HR22 HD DVR
Remote- Harmony 1000

The scenario:
Sat & Blu-ray are connected to receiver via HDMI 1.3 cables.
Receiver out to TV via HDMI 1.3 cable.

The problem:
TV speaker setting is set to "Audio System"; Audio out set to "Fixed".
TV displays something like 'switching to external source' when powered up and working correctly.
When I turn everything off and then back on, most of the time (more than occassionally) the TV speaker setting will revert back to "TV Speakers" and the amp mutes itself. When this happens I always have to press the mute button on the remote to turn the muting off and go back into the TV settings to change back the aforementioned settings.

What gives? Let me know if you need more info.

Thanks in advance and Happy Holidays to all.


What gives?
pseudotrash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2008, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
schlick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are you using hdmi control? If so, disable it. Then disconnect all inputs to the tv, and attempt to replicate the problem. If it can be reproduced with no connections and hdmi control off, the tv needs service.
schlick is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pseudotrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using hdmi control and will try your suggestion. Thanks for the help.
pseudotrash is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
schlick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You shouldn't have to troubleshoot the connections. I'm guessing the hdmi control is the culprit.
schlick is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off