Official Sharp Aquos LC-42D85U/46D85U/52D85U 120Hz Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 296 Old 01-22-2009, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Palpitate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome all owners of Sharps Aquos 42", 46", and 52" inch D85U LCD televisions. This thread is a place to discuss these displays and the ownership/operation of them.

Product pages:
42" http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,2020,00.html
46" http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,2022,00.html
52" http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,2107,00.html

Operation Manuals:
http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Typ...83,127,00.html

Product Reviews:
I haven't seen any mainstream reviews on this line other than Amazon and CNET user ones.

TV Blink benchmark/testing software:

http://www.tvblink.com/i_down.html

Firmware:
No updates yet

When posting remember the more information you give the better it benefits everyone.
Example of a message with too little information: "My tv is not working with my xbox/ps3/wii game system, what's wrong?"
Example of a informative post: "My sharp lc42d64u is not working with my xbox/ps3/wii game system when trying to run it at 1080p through component input 1, I just get a black screen, any help would be appreciated"

Quick instructions to help take a picture of your display:
If you need or want to take a picture of what is being displayed on your display - Quick directions on taking pictures of your display (Thanks to Joebob2000)
"Set the ISO as low as possible, set the aperture as wide as possible and use a tripod or other stabilization device. Let the camera run the shutter as long as it wants, and you should get a decent pic. If it's still blurred or skewed, try running the aperture in some and use the self-timer on the camera so it can shoot the pic without being touched during shutter release, every little bit of motion blurs the pic."

The 85U series features that differ from the 64U series (that I can see):
  • 10-Bit ASV LCD Panel
    from Sharp's state-of-the-art Kameyama factory.
  • 120Hz Fine Motion Enhanced
    for the ultimate in fast-motion picture quality.
  • Spectral Contrast Engine UD
    for unrivaled deep blacks and delicate contrast management.
  • Active Contrast
    Dynamic range extension based on advanced real-time picture analysis for a greater sense of depth.
  • Seven 1080p Compatible Inputs
    including five HDMI (v1.3 with Deep Color1) and two HD Component inputs.
  • OPC (Optical Picture Control)
    automatically adjusts brightness to suit room lighting.
  • 3 wavelength backlighting rather than the 4 on the 64U
  • 3 audio inputs rather than the 4 on the 64u
  • 10W sound rather than the 15W on the 64U
  • The overall weight of the TV dropped from a bit over 8 on the 42" to a little over 10 pounds on the 52"
Palpitate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 296 Old 01-23-2009, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Palpitate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my LC-46D85U this last weekend, I'll post some pics later, but I still can't figure out how to make it do 120Hz @ 1920x1080 on my PC hooked through an DVI(PC)to HDMI(TV) cable. It does 60Hz, but 120 it doesn't show the option and I'm afraid of damaging it if i force it. Is the 120Hz Simulated or is it real?
Palpitate is offline  
post #3 of 296 Old 01-23-2009, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
chinee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 52" 85U this past weekend as well; my first flat screen and HDTV. I went in to purchase the Sony V4100 (60Hz) and saw the 85U displyed side by side, and after playing with the adjustments over and over, the Sharp's picture quality seemed just as good as the Sony's (to my somewhat untrained eye). And in sunny South Florida's great rooms, reflection is a huge problem, so the Sharp's anti-reflective screen really performs in this environment. The free BD player made the choice a no brainer.

On a waiting list for a Comcast HD box so I haven't been able to see HDTV prrogramming. I plan on getting an antenna this weekend to see what OTA HD broadcasts I can receive.

I'm hooked up to regular cable cable right now, and I only subscribe to Expanded Basic right now, not Digital Cable, so when I realized that I was receiving digital channels like 5.1 and 12.1, I was very surprised. Does this mean Comcast is sending both digital and analog signals through the cable lines?

Another question... when I perform a Channel Setup, there are several digital channels that are stored yet there's no programming. I even ran the "Remove Scrambled CH" function, but they're still there. I had to delete the "blank" digital channels manually and that was a real chore. Am I doing something wrong?

Sony 52W4100 LCD, LG 42PG25 Plasma, Sony 46Z5100 LCD, Samsung 19D4000 LED, Samsung BD-P 2550, PS3 Slim, Sony BDP-S350, LG BD570, Panny DMR-EZ485V
chinee is offline  
post #4 of 296 Old 01-23-2009, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
GISMO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
just recived my lc42d85u 3 days ago i have only watched hdtv and upconverted dvd's and so far it looks good.my ps3 is hooked up to my projector so i have not wathced any blurays on it.i did play xbox360 for about i hour and i did not get the blackout screen like i did on my other sharp tv's when hooked up with component cable.
GISMO1 is offline  
post #5 of 296 Old 01-23-2009, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this unit upscale to 1080p?
desertbird is offline  
post #6 of 296 Old 01-23-2009, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post

Does this unit upscale to 1080p?

- Yes. All digital displays (LCD, Plasma, DLP) have one native resolution.
tokerblue is offline  
post #7 of 296 Old 01-24-2009, 12:02 AM
Member
 
mond817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally! I've been waiting for this thread. I will have my 42" tomorrow and will post some pics. Hopefully it won't disappoint me cos I pass on the 46xbr6 (regardless of the price difference) for the 85U just because I want to have a sense of what Sharp's "state-of-the-art" Kameyama factory can make.
mond817 is offline  
post #8 of 296 Old 01-24-2009, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
GISMO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertbird View Post

Does this unit upscale to 1080p?

i do not think so because when i am watching hd cable the on screen display says 1080i.
GISMO1 is offline  
post #9 of 296 Old 01-24-2009, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
teague's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Irvine, CA USA
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GISMO1 View Post

i do not think so because when i am watching hd cable the on screen display says 1080i.

1080i is the source input. The LCD can only display 1080p progressive scan, so the 1080i source is upconverted to 1080p.
teague is offline  
post #10 of 296 Old 01-25-2009, 01:43 AM
Member
 
rfgmdporsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 42 inch model (LC-42D85U) and am very happy.

Here is a link to a review of the 46 inch model by Cnet: http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-t...?tag=mncol;txt

Does anyone have any ideas on calibration? I tried the Cnet numbers but didn't get a very usuable picture.

Rafael
rfgmdporsc is offline  
post #11 of 296 Old 01-26-2009, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
turningpoint84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just bought the 52 85du.

Would love to have some picture contrast numbers, i feel the colors look bland.

Has anyone messed around with theirs?
turningpoint84 is offline  
post #12 of 296 Old 01-26-2009, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You can start with UltimateAV's settings.

http://www.ultimateavmag.com/flatpan...tv/index7.html
tokerblue is offline  
post #13 of 296 Old 01-26-2009, 09:51 PM
Member
 
mond817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received the 42" few hrs ago. I took some pics of it fresh out of the box. I don't notice any banding and so far so good. I'll watch some movies later this week and see how well it can stand.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
mond817 is offline  
post #14 of 296 Old 01-27-2009, 11:51 AM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I get a new TV the 1st thing that I do is feed it material and tough scenes in varying conditions (bright room, dark room, etc). I had a Hitachi 50v500 that wouldn't die on me, so I couldn't justify upgrading until I absolutely needed to get a wall mounted display and a display with better HTPC compatibility. After doing some reading I pulled the trigger on this display about 2 weeks ago for a great price.

I have a few questions regarding issues that I have seen with this set. I really don't want to trade it in; there are draw backs to every display as far as I am concerned so it is a matter of finding one that is most compatible with your needs.

I am using a PS3 to play Blu Ray and some DVD content, I am also using a home built HTPC to play Blu-rays, DVD's, and HD DVD'sboth are connected via HDMI (I also receive HD cable and OTA content with which I am not overly concerned about PQ because it usually is what it is). I also have an XBOX 360 hooked up via component.

If you are like me and look for defects in a picture when making up your mind on a display, and don't want to have some pointed out to you don't read these. I have found that I can never see what I am looking for on a showroom floor, and really need to get a set into my living room to see what the display is really like:

1)Black levels: this display tends to lose a lot of detail in black areas and has been my main pr There are scenes where half a person's face gets swallowed in shadow in a day time scene. I have tried adjusting however I almost have to make brightness too high to compensate. I have made this issue better though adjusting, but like I said it seems like I am running it a little on the bright side now. However, I would almost rather have less black than have details swallowed up by Shadow. The Bourne Identity on HD DVD is a perfect example on my HTPC. Could this be an HDMI cable issue with black crush? It was not an issue with my last display.

2)Flashinglighting/Strobing/Pulsing: I had to turn the back light way down, and turn off active contrast. Scenes with a rapid change in brightness would pulse with light momentarily while the set adjusted. This sort of defeats the purpose of having these feathers though.

3) I swear that there were a few slow pan scenes that had horrible judder/stutter. A slow Bankok Dangerous; however it didn't look like the movie had very consistent quality.

4)Moire there were several pans of the city in the latest Dark Knight that vertical lines would show a lot of it.

5) I have seen banding on SD DVD's in dark scenes on the PS3.
So far these are my main issues. I tried the utlitmatetv settings and I didn't think that they were very good. They seemed to be geared towards sd content since the film mode was set to on. I will give the link to TV Blink a try.

So far I like the fact that this set will allow for 1080p via component, and its non-reflective screen. The colors on this set also seem to be very good to me. The form factor of this display is perfect and looks excellent in on our living room wall.
This weekend I have the option to trade in the display. However it wouldn't make sense to trade one issue for another. All in all I am pretty happy with this display and would like to leave it hanging on my wall.

I have also looked at the Samsung 650 & 750's, various Sony's, and the Toshiba 52xv545u.

While I keep reading about the excellent PQ of Samsungs, the red color and reflective screen would make these a difficult chose for me. Also I think that I would be the type of person who was put off by the halo that has been reported on the 750.

The Toshiba also looked like a good choice since it has dejudder processing and the various display modes this display is capable of. However issues with green are also making me hesitant and I also don't like the fact that it would display 1080p via Component. SRT up scaling is an ok feature that wouldn't really tip the scale form me since this can be accomplished through a receiver also.

Thanks for reading and for any input.

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #15 of 296 Old 01-27-2009, 12:10 PM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Palpitate View Post

I got my LC-46D85U this last weekend, I'll post some pics later, but I still can't figure out how to make it do 120Hz @ 1920x1080 on my PC hooked through an DVI(PC)to HDMI(TV) cable. It does 60Hz, but 120 it doesn't show the option and I'm afraid of damaging it if i force it. Is the 120Hz Simulated or is it real?


It will not accept 120hz only 60hz (I tried). My understanding is that the tv doubles the 60 to 120 internally.

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #16 of 296 Old 01-27-2009, 03:40 PM
Member
 
btbowen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rhinochaser, Do you have the 52D85U?
Try my settings:
opc off, backlight -5, contrast 32, brightness 1, color -2, tint 0, sharpness 5, hue 0's, sat. r -6, y 0, g -6, c 0, b -12, m 0, color temp low, but middle looks good too, gains 0, fine motion on, active contrast off, ip fast, film mode on, digital noise low.
Hd looks really good on my ATT uverse and standard def looks fairly good but I turn up the digital noise to high when I watch standard def.
I used the getgrey.com disk to calibrate my tv.
I have been testing the active contrast and sometimes it make the screen way too dark and you loose a lot of detail like when I was watching a Lackers basketball game, the crowd of pitch dark in the stands.
I also noticed that backlighting is a personal preference setting, a lot of the online reviewers turn it way down and the screen just looses too much life to me even in a very dark room.
btbowen1 is offline  
post #17 of 296 Old 01-27-2009, 05:21 PM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btbowen1 View Post

Rhinochaser, Do you have the 52D85U?
Try my settings:
opc off, backlight -5, contrast 32, brightness 1, color -2, tint 0, sharpness 5, hue 0's, sat. r -6, y 0, g -6, c 0, b -12, m 0, color temp low, but middle looks good too, gains 0, fine motion on, active contrast off, ip fast, film mode on, digital noise low.
Hd looks really good on my ATT uverse and standard def looks fairly good but I turn up the digital noise to high when I watch standard def.
I used the getgrey.com disk to calibrate my tv.
I have been testing the active contrast and sometimes it make the screen way too dark and you loose a lot of detail like when I was watching a Lackers basketball game, the crowd of pitch dark in the stands.
I also noticed that backlighting is a personal preference setting, a lot of the online reviewers turn it way down and the screen just looses too much life to me even in a very dark room.

Thank you for the reply and the settings.

I have had the 52D85U for about 2 weeks now.

I watch a lot of HDDVD/BluRay content so the Film Mode doesn't really help me.

However I will definitely try your other suggestions and see if they help.

Your last comment about the screen losing life was exactly how I felt about the ultimateavmag.com settings.

I plan on burning a few calibration discs tonight. My DVE must have never returned from the last time I loaned it out...

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #18 of 296 Old 01-27-2009, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You have to remember that the settings are a rough guideline. The settings will be different due to your particular TV and more importantly, your viewing environment. I had to adjust the contrast using DVE and a HDNet pattern.

You also shouldn't keep changing the settings. Put the settings on for a few days and get used to it. You need to give it a little time.
tokerblue is offline  
post #19 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 11:35 AM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried the settings, the dark scenes were still too dark. I also used the THX test patterns from a dvd. I'll probably get the blu ray dve disk and give that a shot.

I am going to change the output settings from my HTPC's Graphics card and put the PS3
s output to limited and see if that helps.

Thanks for the input!

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #20 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 02:37 PM
Member
 
btbowen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It didn't help adjusting the backlighting to your room environment Rhinochaser?
I think what tokerblue said is correct, every tv is different, room environment, and personal taste for settings.
How did the colors look?
The ultimateavmag.com settings just looked horrendous on my tv.
btbowen1 is offline  
post #21 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhinoChaser View Post

Tried the settings, the dark scenes were still too dark. I also used the THX test patterns from a dvd. I'll probably get the blu ray dve disk and give that a shot.

I am going to change the output settings from my HTPC's Graphics card and put the PS3
s output to limited and see if that helps.

- The PS3 should be set to Limited. I don't think the Sharp is set up for the Full colorspace over HDMI or component. That is most likely why you are seeing black crush.
tokerblue is offline  
post #22 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 04:27 PM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btbowen1 View Post

It didn't help adjusting the backlighting to your room environment Rhinochaser?
I think what tokerblue said is correct, every tv is different, room environment, and personal taste for settings.
How did the colors look?
The ultimateavmag.com settings just looked horrendous on my tv.

It seemed like shadow wasn't shadow it was just a black cloud obscuring too much. I have some time to tweak the set so I am happy to keep playing with it.

Regarding ultimatemag--funny, same here! After seeing what their settings looked like the veracity of the entire review was put into question.

There are some scenes that blow my mind on this set and I love the 1080p over component for my 360. I started playing some of my older titles just to see if I had missed anything.

@tokerblue yeah I plan on messing with output settings tonight. Both easy fixes from my HTPC and PS3. It would be great it if were that simple.

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #23 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Palpitate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhinoChaser View Post

It will not accept 120hz only 60hz (I tried). My understanding is that the tv doubles the 60 to 120 internally.

Damn it, I suspected that but I was really hoping this wasn't the case.
Palpitate is offline  
post #24 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 04:58 PM
Member
 
btbowen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I connected my laptop to the tv and I noticed that its a tad darker than regular tv and my blu ray but the colors looks amazingly vibrant on the big screen. Maybe I should have adjusted the gamma settings on the pc but I haven't played around with that yet. But playing flight simulator and the pc version of NBA2k9 looks amazing at 1920X1080.
I also have a ps3 connected, the graphics don't even compare to the pc on the sharp lcd of course, 720p vs 1080p. But I haven't watched any blu rays on the ps3 yet because I have the Sharp blu ray player.
I have a pretty good laptop, Dell XPS M1730 with SLI 8800's with a native resolution of 1920X1200 17" screen.
btbowen1 is offline  
post #25 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 06:07 PM
Member
 
mopar426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Do any of you witness banding in any of your 85U sets? Im in the market for the 46" and dont notice banding while its hanging on the BB wall, however, I also notice their repeating video they show doesnt have much panning material one would notice it.

I have a Westinghouse now that drive me nuts with banding. What a foolish buy that was (Hind Site)

Thank you
mopar426 is offline  
post #26 of 296 Old 01-28-2009, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Dinoco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 46U. Like the set and 120Hz.
Dinoco is offline  
post #27 of 296 Old 01-29-2009, 12:23 AM
Member
 
amuroray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopar426 View Post

Hello

Do any of you witness banding in any of your 85U sets?

NO.

Not on my 46" that I got 2 weeks ago.
amuroray is offline  
post #28 of 296 Old 01-29-2009, 10:37 AM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I set my HTPC's Graphics Card to output YCbCr 4:2:2 that seemed to help. I saw major improvements in 2 scenes on the HDDVD Bourne Identity. Details weren't completely blacked out and there was a finally something that resembled shading and a normal shadow.

On the other hand I changed the PS3 to limited and I didn't see much of a difference. I set the display brightness using a pluge test pattern but the darks were still too dark...

One example that I can use would be the Joker's clothes in Dark Knightwere completely lost in shadow in broad daylight. This was in the scene when he was standing on a street corner waiting to be picked up by the van before robbing the bank (the camera was zooming in on him from behind).

With the improvements that I saw on my HTPC though I am starting to hope that this might be an issue that I can pinpoint and resolve.

Re Banding: I have only seen it in passing in 1 or 2 scenes that were dark with bright objects. It was nothing permanent, and if I had taken the time I could have probably adjsuted the display to make it stop. It happened on the DVD Apaloosa played on my PS3 (Upconverted & Fullscreen). Nothing that I have seen on my set would indicate that banding would be a problem that should deter you from considering an Aquos D85u. Additionally if you did happen to have that issue it would be easily resolved by exchaning the set for a new one...

Edit: I started reading up on the PS3. Here is an issue that someone else had. It was resolved with settings on both his PS3 and his Sony display. I haven't seen any comparable settings on the Sharp.:
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwjohn
xvYCC and so forth wouldn't necessarily be restricted to RGB or YCbCr. They are just different ways of representing the same signal, in simple terms.



I think there is an Auto setting on the most Sonys for HDMI range. If Auto detects the range correctly, then you should see pretty much the same image.

Try telling the PS3 to output limited and force your XBR4 to full, and vice versa. You should see a change then, most noticeably in shadows and dark areas.

Yes, I have tried that test.

XBR4 RGB FULL --> PS3 RGB FULL = Good image

XBR4 RGB AUTO --> PS3 RGB LIMITED = Good image

XBR4 RGB LIMITED --> PS3 RGB LIMITED = Good image

--------------------

XBR4 RGB FULL --> PS3 RGB LIMITED = Crushed blacks

XBR4 RGB AUTO --> PS3 RGB FULL = Crushed blacks

XBR4 RGB LIMITED --> PS3 RGB FULL = Crushed blacks


I am thinking the RGB AUTO setting on the XBR4 is not working...or the PS3 is not truly sending a 0-255 signal in the XMB when setting RGB to FULL on the PS3.

Here is a link to the post: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=967106

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
post #29 of 296 Old 01-30-2009, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
GISMO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by amuroray View Post

NO.

Not on my 46" that I got 2 weeks ago.

yes i have the 42d85u and i have a little banding. not as bad as my first 2 sharps.
GISMO1 is offline  
post #30 of 296 Old 01-30-2009, 11:08 AM
Member
 
RhinoChaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I used this HD Calibration disk:
AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray, HD DVD, & MP4 Calibration

This is an outstanding tool!! You could really see the difference with super white enabled on the PS3 while making adjustments.

PreGameLobby.com
RhinoChaser is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off