Using a GENERATOR Should I worry about my LCD TV? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Prospect
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess you have heard that Louisville KY got slammed with an ice storm. For the past week we have been running on a little genterator/inverter 2000 watt. (And freezing) (Fireplaces are great for extra heat but don't cut it for a main source.)

I don't run my projector nor will I run my home PC. But I am running my 42' LCD tv. Should I be concerned? Last summer we were without power for a week. I then had a Coleman 5000 generator. It had good power buit was loud, and it fried my home PC.

My LCD is now out of warrenty and I don't want to damage it. I belive the inverter/generator produces a cleaner more pure sine wave, but I'm not sure.
MColeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Prospect
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ttt
MColeman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
woodyjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont think I would risk it with the possible surges and brown outs. Im in louisville too. We got our power back friday. I had to use my fireplace in basement for 2 days. Ironic that I was using the wet unsplit wood that came from trees that fell during the windstorm last year.Good luck.
woodyjoe is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 28
The line conditioner that you SHOULD already have for your electronics on the grid would work just as well on a portable generator.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MColeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Prospect
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adone36 View Post

The line conditioner that you SHOULD already have for your electronics on the grid would work just as well on a portable generator.

Good, because I DO have one.

We were burning wood from the windstorm as well. Doesn't it suck....Oh well, I just found out we now have power.
MColeman is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-02-2009, 01:01 PM
Moderator
 
Woodrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 6,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah we lost power here in Oklahoma last year due to an ice storm. I hooked my plasma, speakers, HD-DVR/cablebox, blu-ray and HD DVD players up to it and ran it for almost a week with no issues.

Not saying it's not possible to have issues, but I did not. It was great watching HDTV while the rest of the neighborhood was powerless.

Anyway, glad to hear you have power again. You don't truly miss it until it's gone.
Woodrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off