Lg xxlh30 - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1146 Old 11-08-2009, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulyboy6924 View Post

The only feature that really gave me any pause was the 60hz vs 120hz thing. Obviously the latter would be basically impossible to find within my budget but I did briefly consider "breaking the bank" and going for it. Ultimately my 4-year-old 30" Westinghouse 60hz LCD HDTV (which still works fine and will be moved to the bedroom) tipped the scale towards the 60hz LG for me. I never had any issues with motion blurring on that TV and I watch alot of sports. I've sat really close to that TV just to look for it and still don't see anything. So I'm honestly not really sure what all the fuss about 120hz is?

- The real benefit of 120Hz is for movies. Since TV material is 30fps or 60fps, the TV is simply multiplying the frames. If your TV is 60Hz, the TV has to perform 3:2 pulldown, which isn't as good as when a 120Hz TV can simply perform 5:5 pulldown.
tokerblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1146 Old 11-08-2009, 05:15 PM
Member
 
Paulyboy6924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post

- The real benefit of 120Hz is for movies. Since TV material is 30fps or 60fps, the TV is simply multiplying the frames. If your TV is 60Hz, the TV has to perform 3:2 pulldown, which isn't as good as when a 120Hz TV can simply perform 5:5 pulldown.

Ahh ok. Interesting. Still not certain whether I notice much of a difference though.

-PN
Paulyboy6924 is offline  
post #453 of 1146 Old 11-08-2009, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
hi im drummer03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When i do menu and fav 7 times.It says something about software files are found im memory card.Select files i want.

menu+menu and enter+enter dont work for me.

PN58B860

TCP50GT50

hi im drummer03 is offline  
post #454 of 1146 Old 11-08-2009, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Fors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulyboy6924 View Post

I just finally caved and bought the LG 47LH30. I had recently been to Best Buy to look at and play around with TVs and this model's picture impressed me. So when Newegg put this model on sale for $829.99 (compared to Best Buy's "sale price" of $999.99) I couldn't resist. There's also free shipping and no sales tax with Newegg, plus I got $20 cash back through Swagbucks making the final cost $810.

My goal (and budget) was to get a 46" - 47" LCD HDTV for $800 sometime this month. I thought I'd probably end up having to get an off-brand like Westinghouse, Insignia, or Sanyo so this was a pleasant surprise. I hope not waiting until Black Friday doesn't end up being a mistake, although I've done a ton of research and I really can't see that price for what that TV offers being beaten by much, if at all.

The TV will be in my living room and mostly be used for typical TV watching (TV shows, movies, and sports) via HD cable. When I get my next Mac I plan to connect it to this TV. They'd be in separate rooms, only separated by a wall, with the appropriate cable connecting them through the wall. I'd like to do this so I'll have the option to use the big, beautiful screen for stuff like Hulu, slideshows, iTunes content, general web surfing, and perhaps even the occasional game.

Buying a new HDTV is a daunting task to say the least! So many brands and so many features. The only feature that really gave me any pause was the 60hz vs 120hz thing. Obviously the latter would be basically impossible to find within my budget but I did briefly consider "breaking the bank" and going for it. Ultimately my 4-year-old 30" Westinghouse 60hz LCD HDTV (which still works fine and will be moved to the bedroom) tipped the scale towards the 60hz LG for me. I never had any issues with motion blurring on that TV and I watch alot of sports. I've sat really close to that TV just to look for it and still don't see anything. So I'm honestly not really sure what all the fuss about 120hz is?

I am a little concerned about the sound on The 47LH30. This is something that was difficult to test in a place like Best Buy. In various customer reviews from around the web the sound from LH30 series TVs was the one thing people consistently complained about. However, at least this is something that can be solved with a good HTS or external speakers if needed.

I should have the TV by the end of the week. I'll try to report back with my impressions (and the panel type) ASAP.

-PN

The only problem with that is neweggs return policy on televisions REALLY suck. I personally havnt found anywhere online I would buy a TV from except amazon, everywhere else pretty much wont even take it return if it messed up within the first few hours of viewing, once you sign for it its yours and you go through the manufacturer. I believe amazon gives 30 days no matter what with no restocking fee.
Fors is offline  
post #455 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Paulyboy6924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fors View Post

The only problem with that is neweggs return policy on televisions REALLY suck. I personally havnt found anywhere online I would buy a TV from except amazon, everywhere else pretty much wont even take it return if it messed up within the first few hours of viewing, once you sign for it its yours and you go through the manufacturer. I believe amazon gives 30 days no matter what with no restocking fee.

My experience with them has been different although I've never purchased anything this big and expensive from them. They do have a 30 day return policy as well but do charge a restocking fee. For the great price and the rebate I got it was worth the "risk" for me.

-PN
Paulyboy6924 is offline  
post #456 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Finch106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have firmware 4.31.1 on my 32lh30. I found that by sitting on option and pressing fav 7 times. That is all I can get to, I can't get to the enter+enter or any others to see who made my panel.
Finch106 is offline  
post #457 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
hi im drummer03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finch106 View Post

I have firmware 4.31.1 on my 32lh30. I found that by sitting on option and pressing fav 7 times. That is all I can get to, I can't get to the enter+enter or any others to see who made my panel.

I have the same version and noticed the same thing.

PN58B860

TCP50GT50

hi im drummer03 is offline  
post #458 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 03:03 PM
Member
 
ayko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
even with the firm 4.30.1 I ant access to anything. i think we need to downgrade to lower version to be able to get to services menu, but where to get a such firmware for north american model ??
ayko is offline  
post #459 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up an LG lh30 42" yesterday. I will try the recommended methods of discovering which panel I have. I will report back with results and manufacture date. Also I know that there are color calibrations posted earlier in this thread, however those are mainly for pc use correct? Can anyone help me out with calibrations for movie viewing and gaming? I am quite new at this stuff and do not want to screw something up. Thank you for your help
Anamagous is offline  
post #460 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anamagous View Post

Just picked up an LG lh30 42" yesterday. I will try the recommended methods of discovering which panel I have. I will report back with results and manufacture date. Also I know that there are color calibrations posted earlier in this thread, however those are mainly for pc use correct? Can anyone help me out with calibrations for movie viewing and gaming? I am quite new at this stuff and do not want to screw something up. Thank you for your help

Try the CNET picture settings.
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-19410_10...esults#3033448
tokerblue is offline  
post #461 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayko View Post

even with the firm 4.30.1 I ant access to anything. i think we need to downgrade to lower version to be able to get to services menu, but where to get a such firmware for north american model ??

Dang, that just sounds sleazy. They start switching out 10 bit panels for 8 bit ones, then they disable to means for the end user to check just what panel they have?
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #462 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Seksyback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if you guys have figured it out yet or not, but lg manufacture date is quite easy to spot on the box.
Look at the serial number, first number (usually a 9) is the year, and the next 2 marks the month. So 906 means June of 2009.

I bought one of these that's a June and turned out to be an AUO and returned it for a panasonic l37s1.
Seksyback is offline  
post #463 of 1146 Old 11-09-2009, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seksyback View Post

I don't know if you guys have figured it out yet or not, but lg manufacture date is quite easy to spot on the box.
Look at the serial number, first number (usually a 9) is the year, and the next 2 marks the month. So 906 means June of 2009.

I bought one of these that's a June and turned out to be an AUO and returned it for a panasonic l37s1.

Thanks for the info, is anyone else able to confirm?
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #464 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 05:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody with a PS3 using the 32LH30?, how does it look and how does it perform on it

in terms of gaming.
Gslide is offline  
post #465 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, I was able to acess the service menu last night but I was only able to view it for about 3 minutes before I went to work. I noticed that I had a software version of 4.01...something. I will write everything down and get back to you all. Unfortunately I could not figure out what panel I had. went I followed the directions in this forum, I went to the "tool 1" option. I could not find the panel type. I very quickly glanced at a couple other options and noticed that my current setting is on 480i. I dont know why. When i get home tonight I will let you know excatly the menu I was in and what it said. Then you guys who know this stuff real well will be able to help me out a little bit if you can. Thank you
Anamagous is offline  
post #466 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 01:04 PM
Member
 
cpluse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IT been a while since i been back , after i got my 42LH30, I have to say i dont think my setting are perfect but dam it a nice tv. NHL2k10 on X360 wow. and Call of Duty. OMG...
HDMI of course. PC wise, Just scan is the key... I might get a 32 for other room. O if u have a popcorn hour, works great too.
cpluse is offline  
post #467 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seksyback View Post

I don't know if you guys have figured it out yet or not, but lg manufacture date is quite easy to spot on the box.
Look at the serial number, first number (usually a 9) is the year, and the next 2 marks the month. So 906 means June of 2009.

I bought one of these that's a June and turned out to be an AUO and returned it for a panasonic l37s1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragnorok64 View Post

Thanks for the info, is anyone else able to confirm?

I checked my local Best Buy. The display unit has a Feb. build date on the back and it's SN stats with 902. The only other set on shelf has a sticker over the sticker that would have the SN but it seems it starts with 904 if true it would be work looking into the next time it goes on sale. I'm hoping somewhere (with a good return policy) has this set on deep discount Black Friday.
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #468 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you just reply to yourself???
Gslide is offline  
post #469 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gslide View Post

Did you just reply to yourself???

Figured it'd give what I posted more context.
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #470 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
[RUS]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I can't read this whole thread but someone that remembers, can you tell me what manufacturing date to look for to get the best display? Going to head to Best Buy this weekend and hopefully they will carry a good one
[RUS] is offline  
post #471 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [RUS] View Post

Sorry I can't read this whole thread but someone that remembers, can you tell me what manufacturing date to look for to get the best display? Going to head to Best Buy this weekend and hopefully they will carry a good one

I believe, before June is what most are shooting for.
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #472 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
[RUS]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragnorok64 View Post

I believe, before June is what most are shooting for.

Thanks! Do you know if this applies to the 26LH20 model? Because that is the one I will be getting
[RUS] is offline  
post #473 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Ragnorok64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [RUS] View Post

Thanks! Do you know if this applies to the 26LH20 model? Because that is the one I will be getting

I know nothing about the LH20s
Ragnorok64 is offline  
post #474 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to try out the cnet calibrations right now. I will let you know how they turn out. also
Anamagous is offline  
post #475 of 1146 Old 11-10-2009, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question: For regular dvd viewing I followed the cnet calibration settings. When I enter the picture menu and go to expert control it tells me to set my method as : 10 pt ire A few option below this it asks me for my actual ire setting (which can be 10,20,30,40...and so on) What should this be set to? 100? also after I set this do I then adjust the red blue green option directly below? I know that i adjust the color under the color management option. but i dont know if I do this under the ire option or not? thank you for your help
Anamagous is offline  
post #476 of 1146 Old 11-11-2009, 12:43 AM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, so when i access my service menu my s/w version is v04.14.00 There is also something that says SPI boot version: v03.00.00 Is this good or bad?
In the drop down menu there are 8 options, the #2 option says ADC Data, if i go to that menue the first option which is option #0 says source Comp 480i, why is my source in this menu set to 480i when i am sitting here watching a blue ray in 1080p? It gives me the option to change this, should I ? Under the first menu option #1 Adjust Check, give me a drop menu of 12 options, option #5 says "tool option 1" if this is where I find my panel type it is not there, instead there is a number "24720" I dont know what that means. I guess what I am trying to do is find the best possible calibrations out there the cnet calibrations seem to leave me with a little bit of black crush.
Anamagous is offline  
post #477 of 1146 Old 11-11-2009, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
allen98311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anamagous View Post

Question: For regular dvd viewing I followed the cnet calibration settings. When I enter the picture menu and go to expert control it tells me to set my method as : 10 pt ire A few option below this it asks me for my actual ire setting (which can be 10,20,30,40...and so on) What should this be set to? 100? also after I set this do I then adjust the red blue green option directly below? I know that i adjust the color under the color management option. but i dont know if I do this under the ire option or not? thank you for your help

Adjust all of them, they all have different settings, so select 100 and enter the values for red, green and blue, and go back and select 90 and enter those values, and keep going though to 10.
allen98311 is offline  
post #478 of 1146 Old 11-11-2009, 01:16 AM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, ill do it now
Anamagous is offline  
post #479 of 1146 Old 11-11-2009, 01:26 AM
Newbie
 
Anamagous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen98311 View Post

Adjust all of them, they all have different settings, so select 100 and enter the values for red, green and blue, and go back and select 90 and enter those values, and keep going though to 10.

After i get done selecting all the values which one do i leave it on. (100,90,80,etc.)? 100 is the only value that lets me adjust the luminance. so i am assuming to leave it on 100 and exit the menu...
Anamagous is offline  
post #480 of 1146 Old 11-11-2009, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
allen98311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anamagous View Post

After i get done selecting all the values which one do i leave it on. (100,90,80,etc.)? 100 is the only value that lets me adjust the luminance. so i am assuming to leave it on 100 and exit the menu...

set luminance to 137, then select IRE 100, adjust the red, green, and blue, then go back and change IRE to 90, and the values -8, 1, -40 for red, green, and blue will go back to default (0), and enter the values -13, -5, -40 for red, green, and blue. Then go back to IRE and select 80, and keep going down the list. The Luminance can only be changed when IRE is set to 100. You are basically setting the red, green, and blue settings for each of the 10 point IRE that is selected with the method option.

Quote:


White balance: Warm
Method: 10 point IRE
Pattern: Outer
IRE: [see below]
Luminance: 137

-- 10 point IRE calibration
IRE: [Red, Green, Blue results, respectively, for each IRE point]
100 [-8, 1, -40]
90 [-13, -5, -40]
80 [-20, -12, -40]
70 [-17, -14, -33]
60 [-17, -12, -31]
50 [-17, -13, -26]
40 [-13, -12, -19]
30 [-6, -4, -8]
20 [-6, -4, -10]
10 [2, 3, -1]


After re-reading your reply, I think you changed all the values. I don't think that it matters what you leave it on when you exit the menu because I think that option only lets you change the red, green and blue values for each level, it does not change any settings on its own.
allen98311 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off