Official Samsung LNXXB630 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my LN52B630 today and have it setup with HD and PS3 with HDMI cables. Just watched Ironman on BD, it was awesome. I haven't played much on the setting, I will do that this weekend.

Please post your setting, questions, concerns, thought about this model.
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 08:52 PM
Newbie
 
Synaps4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey maniac!

I'm dying to know if the B series supports 120hz input on HDMI like the sales guys are saying it can.

Any way you can prove this?

My thread is here:
avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1137239

Congrats on your purchase, I might be buying mine shortly as well
Synaps4 is offline  
post #3 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 09:07 PM
Member
 
NovaCrystallis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
These sets come in 37' too right?

I'm thinking of buying one of the smaller sizes for the bedroom while getting the Luxia line for the main room....
NovaCrystallis is offline  
post #4 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synaps4 View Post

Hey maniac!

I'm dying to know if the B series supports 120hz input on HDMI like the sales guys are saying it can.

Any way you can prove this?

My thread is here:
avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1137239

Congrats on your purchase, I might be buying mine shortly as well


I doubt it, in fact DVI dual link is not capable of such a high bandwidth connection

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface

Quote:


Minimum clock frequency: 25.175 MHz
Maximum clock frequency in single link mode: Capped at 165 MHz (up to 3.96 Gbit/s)
Maximum clock frequency in dual link mode: Limited only by cable quality (up to 7.92 Gbit/s)
Pixels per clock cycle: 1 (single link) or 2 (dual link)
Bits per pixel: 24 (single and dual link) or 48 (dual link only)
Example display modes (single link):
HDTV (1920 × 1080) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (139 MHz)
UXGA (1600 × 1200) @ 60 Hz with GTF blanking (161 MHz)
WUXGA (1920 × 1200) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (154 MHz)
SXGA (1280 × 1024) @ 85 Hz with GTF blanking (159 MHz)
WXGA+ (1440 x 900) @ 60 Hz (107 MHz)
WQUXGA (3840 × 2400) @ 17 Hz (164 MHz)
Example display modes (dual link):
QXGA (2048 × 1536) @ 75 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 170 MHz)
HDTV (1920 × 1080) @ 85 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 126 MHz)
WQXGA (2560 × 1600) @ 60 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 174 MHz) (30-inch (762 mm) Apple, Dell, Gateway, HP, NEC, Quinux, and Samsung LCDs)
WQXGA (2560 × 1600) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 135 MHz) (30-inch (762 mm) Apple, Dell, Gateway, HP, NEC, Quinux, and Samsung LCDs)
WQUXGA (3840 × 2400) @ 33 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 159 MHz)
GTF (Generalized Timing Formula) is a VESA standard which can easily be calculated with the Linux gtf utility.
CVT-RB (Coordinated Video Timing-Reduced Blanking) is a VESA standard which offers reduced horizontal and vertical blanking for non-CRT based displays.[2]


If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
frito is offline  
post #5 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
Synaps4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI 1.3 single or dual link can do it. 340+ million pixels per second. 1080p/60 is 144million.
Synaps4 is offline  
post #6 of 1956 Old 04-08-2009, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synaps4 View Post

HDMI 1.3 single or dual link can do it. 340+ million pixels per second. 1080p/60 is 144million.

yeah but your talking about driving the TV with a PC and you will have to go though DVI to HDMI to do it and that will limit the bandwidth to the output device not to mention i'm pretty sure that DVI to HDMI cables only use the single link pinout anyways limiting it to single link speeds as well. I could disconnect my cable and check for you if you like.

Edit: lets drag this discussion over to your thread you posted and not clutter up this one with an off topic subject. didnt think about it when i replied

If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
frito is offline  
post #7 of 1956 Old 04-09-2009, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCrystallis View Post

These sets come in 37' too right?

I'm thinking of buying one of the smaller sizes for the bedroom while getting the Luxia line for the main room....

BB does have the 37B650, not sure if they plan to make the 37B630 tho.
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #8 of 1956 Old 04-09-2009, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 1,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Samsung B650 thread was started last month, here; http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1131391

Problem is, the thread title has 46 in it and nobody has been able to fix it after several requests. Mods ...... anyone?

The B630 should be a separate thread, since it is different. Calibrations, features, etc. are different.
Beeper is offline  
post #9 of 1956 Old 04-09-2009, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tigerriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synaps4 View Post

Hey maniac!

I'm dying to know if the B series supports 120hz input on HDMI like the sales guys are saying it can.

Any way you can prove this?

My thread is here:
avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1137239

Congrats on your purchase, I might be buying mine shortly as well

What? This is the first I've heard of this. If it doesn't support 120hz on HDMI, what the heck input would it?

Tigerriot is offline  
post #10 of 1956 Old 04-09-2009, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have mine hooked up through HDMI cable from my cablebox. If I hit info on the TV, it says 1920x1080i @60Hz. Other than being on the PS3 where it says 1920x1080i @24Hz, I have not seen it say 120Hz yet. Anyone have an idea if I should try something else to see if I can get it?
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #11 of 1956 Old 04-09-2009, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
Synaps4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty sure a PC with an HDMI card is the only 120hz source currently available. Ps3 is limited to 60hz, your blue ray player is doing 24 (native film) and most broadcasting is done in 60hz as well.
Synaps4 is offline  
post #12 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,903
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synaps4 View Post

I'm pretty sure a PC with an HDMI card is the only 120hz source currently available. Ps3 is limited to 60hz, your blue ray player is doing 24 (native film) and most broadcasting is done in 60hz as well.

I would concur that someone is trying to make a mountain out of nothingness by even posting this nonsense. Buried within all 1080i broadcasts is a perfect 1080P24 and it's always at 60Hz in N. America and so why the hell would the TV need an "INPUT" of 120Hz when there's virtually no source of 120Hz - the 120Hz is taking place within the panel beyond or after the Input (Internal). Most panels are still 60Hz but again the INPUT Source feed (broadcast) is not doing the 120Hz and neither are the BD's.

Perhaps someone super bored is trying to create it via HTPC but why? Makes no sense to me how it would be of any benefit - the imperative is the panel processing that perfect 1080P24 within. The HDMI is not an intelligent smart device and doesn't even have error correction built-in - it's a conduit interface channelling source not processing. This is a question that hasn't meant jack sheet to current 650 owners and should remain that way as it's meaningless. What's important is what's going on within the panel with the source that it's being fed since no one is feeding 120Hz why give a crap.

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is online now  
post #13 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BoilerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 6,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 101
OK, I can understand having one official thread on this TV. However, why do we need TWO THREADS that are basically dealing only with a bunch of guys asking about this 120Hz input crap? Let's move on to other things such as how well you like the TV. Some (most?) of us just want to know how it functions as a TV.
BoilerJim is online now  
post #14 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 09:05 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 358
thread title updated: removed reference to 650 series: there a separate thread dedicated to 650 series:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1131391
markrubin is online now  
post #15 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 12:20 PM
Member
 
starwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm actually trying to decide between the 52a650 and the 52b630.

I know the a650 has the glossy screen so the blacks were better than the a630 but how does the b630 compare with the a650.

I like the idea of the internet widgets although doesn't seem like they do much at this point.

And I sort of like the glossy screen look.

But in the end it is about PQ.
starwait is offline  
post #16 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
fudgebrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What would be the differences between the 46A630 and the 46B630?

smiling's my favorite...
fudgebrown is online now  
post #17 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LN52B630

Pros:
HD and BD quality
4 HDMI ports
Not Glossy (I have alot of light in my living room)


Cons:
Speakers
SD quality ( its ok, would rather watch my 32in for sd)

So Far I really like the tv. If I had the glossy screen, it would be hard for me to watch during the day. Sound quality is ok, but you will want some different speakers. TV is only 3.1 inches deep (without stand) which is nice, but I didn't mount mine.
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #18 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by starwait View Post

I'm actually trying to decide between the 52a650 and the 52b630.

I know the a650 has the glossy screen so the blacks were better than the a630 but how does the b630 compare with the a650.

I like the idea of the internet widgets although doesn't seem like they do much at this point.

And I sort of like the glossy screen look.

But in the end it is about PQ.


There are are 3 settings for blacks (dark, darker, darkest). The Rss feeds I haven't tested since I don't have a cat5 cable hooked up to it.
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #19 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 02:48 PM
Member
 
starwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And the 650a doesn't have those black adjustments?

What are some other new things added? Anything that makes SD look better?

So hard to find a specific comparison between the A and B.
starwait is offline  
post #20 of 1956 Old 04-10-2009, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by starwait View Post

And the 650a doesn't have those black adjustments?

What are some other new things added? Anything that makes SD look better?

So hard to find a specific comparison between the A and B.

I don't know if the A650 has those or not, I never even looked at it since it is glossy and I didn't want that. CR is higher on the B series than A, but there is no standard to measure this.

Here is a comparison between the A650, B630, B650..Hope the link works.

http://www.abt.com/scripts/site/site...e_chk_39744=on
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #21 of 1956 Old 04-11-2009, 02:17 AM
Member
 
starwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks- although I'm guessing lots of these are wrong on the chart as it says the 650a doesnt have HDMI Input.

I guess the big question is- what do these internet widgets do? Can I watch youtube or hulu on them- or is it just stocks and weather? Or is there a possibility that in the future it can open up to much more?
starwait is offline  
post #22 of 1956 Old 04-11-2009, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by starwait View Post

Thanks- although I'm guessing lots of these are wrong on the chart as it says the 650a doesnt have HDMI Input.

I guess the big question is- what do these internet widgets do? Can I watch youtube or hulu on them- or is it just stocks and weather? Or is there a possibility that in the future it can open up to much more?


630 Only has the RSS feeds of Stocks, weather, and news.

B630 - http://www.plasmaconcepts.com/docs/s...spec_sheet.pdf
A650 - http://www.plasmaconcepts.com/docs/s...spec_sheet.pdf
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #23 of 1956 Old 04-14-2009, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
SwedishFishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the PDF's! I even called Samsung asking for them but they refused to give them to me? not sure what kind of marketing campaign they are running over there.

Anyone know what the official release date is for the LN52B630 model? I know ABT already carries it but they are just about the only ones as they have a special agreement with SS. I was waiting for the official release so I won't have to pay full price for this unit.
SwedishFishy is offline  
post #24 of 1956 Old 04-15-2009, 01:52 AM
Member
 
starwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
52B630 is already up on Amazon and for a pretty good price.

I still like the glossy screen better though. So gonna go with the 52A650
starwait is offline  
post #25 of 1956 Old 04-15-2009, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
SwedishFishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, looked all over Amz but could not find the 'LN52B630' anywhere.. I do see the LN52B530 but that's as close as it gets.
SwedishFishy is offline  
post #26 of 1956 Old 04-15-2009, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only saw the LN46B630 on amazon....
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #27 of 1956 Old 04-15-2009, 10:24 PM
Member
 
starwait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops my bad that was the 530. All these numbers get very confusing.
starwait is offline  
post #28 of 1956 Old 04-16-2009, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
SwedishFishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABT Just lowered the price on the LN52B630 by $345 today (Selling it for $1945.99)!! Just suxor that I live in IL so I still would have to pay taxes on this bad-boy. I think that SS might officially release this next week so I'm willing to hold off until then and hope to get a unit for under 2k with free shipping from some place.. fingers crossed.
SwedishFishy is offline  
post #29 of 1956 Old 04-17-2009, 04:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Skiingmaniac00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwedishFishy View Post

ABT Just lowered the price on the LN52B630 by $345 today (Selling it for $1945.99)!! Just suxor that I live in IL so I still would have to pay taxes on this bad-boy. I think that SS might officially release this next week so I'm willing to hold off until then and hope to get a unit for under 2k with free shipping from some place.. fingers crossed.

That is about what I paid for it from ABT.
Skiingmaniac00 is offline  
post #30 of 1956 Old 04-17-2009, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
mselcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen some technical comparisons. Now that people have the real thing any feelings if Samsung actually improved this set for 2009 and by how much?


Physically how does the A and B differ?
Actual picture quality?
Sound?
Connections?
Etc?

The A version is selling for as much as $300 less than the B. Which is the better deal?
mselcd is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off