Official Samsung UNxxB8000 Series Owners Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 752 Old 06-04-2010, 12:04 PM
Member
 
FatNoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Im having trouble achieving these results...

My results were obtained using the manual calibration, so the exact numbers are certainly off. The keys for me were turning game mode on and not sending video through my AV receiver. I also connected the XBOX to the TV using component video.

That said, I also tested the "feel" of things by playing MW2 and Pinball FX after each change and things felt "right" (by right, I mean very close to the RPTV I've had since 2001) after making the above changes.
FatNoah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 752 Old 06-08-2010, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
frincon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zielin View Post

to shut off auto-dim **** post 1013 firmware.
go to service menu. (power off. mute, 1, 8, 2, power on)
go to advance and hit 0000

shut of CE dimming.. oh god the dimming is gone ^_^

I did this and it looked good without the auto-dim crap. HOWEVER, I turned off the TV after the adjustment and when I turned it back on, it seemed that the auto-dim was still on. I went back to the service menu a second time and the auto-dim settings were ON. How do I save the settings after I adjust them? Do I just turn off the set or is there anything else I need to do? Thanks for your help!
frincon1 is offline  
post #723 of 752 Old 06-16-2010, 06:28 AM
Member
 
garyoNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BOBCAT,

I finally got the replacement remote and am very happy with it. I hated that stupid wheel which did not seem to work all the time. For anybody else considering the replacement remote it is IR and not RF, which does not matter to me.

Thanks again, good recommendation.
garyoNC
garyoNC is offline  
post #724 of 752 Old 07-02-2010, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
jbalzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've had the 55" version of this tv for two months now, and have been real happy with it. a few days ago the right hand side of the screen started having panel issues. I put a service ticket in and Samsung was super responsive. I had a new panel installed in about 5 days. The installers were very helpful and efficient, and I watched the tv all day with no issues. Tonight I was going to watch a movie and I realized that I needed to reset all of the picture settings. I go into the menu, and the settings for AutoMotion plus are gone. no options at all. Everything else seems to be okay. I emailed the installer, but language barriers seem to prevent him from understanding what I am saying. I'm going to contact Samsung when they open again, but does anyone have any ideas about this? I'm concerned that they installed the wrong panel or something.

Joe
jbalzak is offline  
post #725 of 752 Old 07-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbalzak View Post

So I've had the 55" version of this tv for two months now, and have been real happy with it. a few days ago the right hand side of the screen started having panel issues. I put a service ticket in and Samsung was super responsive. I had a new panel installed in about 5 days. The installers were very helpful and efficient, and I watched the tv all day with no issues. Tonight I was going to watch a movie and I realized that I needed to reset all of the picture settings. I go into the menu, and the settings for AutoMotion plus are gone. no options at all. Everything else seems to be okay. I emailed the installer, but language barriers seem to prevent him from understanding what I am saying. I'm going to contact Samsung when they open again, but does anyone have any ideas about this? I'm concerned that they installed the wrong panel or something.

Joe

I could not tell you what may cause that. I hope you have called Samsung and have gotten a resolution. I would love to hear what was done. I just picked up a 46" UNB8000 a week ago and WOW what a picture. BB had it as an opened item for $1569.99. I am getting rid of my KDS-50A2000 as I am done with Sony with televisions for right now. I got the 4 year warranty so not too worry if anything happens. It took me 2 hours to decide between the B8000 or the C6500. I went with one of the best of last year. Was not impress by the stand on the C6500 and wanted 240hz with the 2ms response time. Although it is edge-lit, this television has no bleeding and blacks are BLACK!! Have not regretted my purchase at all. I am not into the 3d tv's as I am not watching movies with glasses on period. My opinion is there has to be a line drawn somewhere with televisions. How real do they want to make us think we are in the movie? IMAX is great, but that is where 3d should stay in my opinion. And this is just my opinion. A perfect picture is all I ask for out of a television. If they want to make it any realer, add smell or give me a part in the movie!!! LOL!!
JSteel is offline  
post #726 of 752 Old 07-09-2010, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
jbalzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm still going around in circles with Samsung on this. They just don't seem to grasp that the options are not there in the menu any longer. The repair company keeps saying that it is not their fault, and that it must be a coincidence that the option is no longer there in the menu right after they "fixed" the tv....
jbalzak is offline  
post #727 of 752 Old 07-09-2010, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbalzak View Post

So I'm still going around in circles with Samsung on this. They just don't seem to grasp that the options are not there in the menu any longer. The repair company keeps saying that it is not their fault, and that it must be a coincidence that the option is no longer there in the menu right after they "fixed" the tv....

I am going to ask a stupid question, did you go into the Picture Option Menu and not advance settings? If so, then I would be asking for a new television or firmware update to correct the problem.
JSteel is offline  
post #728 of 752 Old 07-09-2010, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
jbalzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is still showing as having the latest firmware. I've been all through this thing at this point.
jbalzak is offline  
post #729 of 752 Old 07-17-2010, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
WWHD116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read in the input lag thread that some samsung models have a special game mode to reduce lag. If you label HDMI/DVI #1 "PC", it will nearly eliminate the input lag you would experience in "game mode" on any of the other HDMI ports. This special PC game mode is automatic and is always on if you are using HDMI #1. As a consequence of this increased speed, the picture quality is worse than normal "game mode", with fewer options in the picture menu. Notheless this formerly laggy HDTV is very fast now, similar to a plasmas response.
WWHD116 is offline  
post #730 of 752 Old 07-18-2010, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
JSteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by WWHD116 View Post

I read in the input lag thread that some samsung models have a special game mode to reduce lag. If you label HDMI/DVI #1 "PC", it will nearly eliminate the input lag you would experience in "game mode" on any of the other HDMI ports. This special PC game mode is automatic and is always on if you are using HDMI #1. As a consequence of this increased speed, the picture quality is worse than normal "game mode", with fewer options in the picture menu. Notheless this formerly laggy HDTV is very fast now, similar to a plasmas response.

Good suggestion man. I don't really game as much as I use to but the lag on these LED t.v.'s are getting bad, then I would purchase a Plasma hands down if I was a serious gamer. Plasmas have come a long way and would be fine as my gaming television for a couple years. But I love my B8000 and dont do too much gaming on it.
JSteel is offline  
post #731 of 752 Old 07-31-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
kbosch74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.

I seem to be having a different problem than what others experience. I have had my 8000 for about 8 months and have no issues other than...

When watching DVDs or Blu Rays, there tends to be a "fuzzyness" or "blurring" around an individual when the are moving. So if someone is walking across a room, it appears around that person. They faster they're moving, the more noticeable it is. This also happens when watching satellite TV as well.

Any thoughts or suggestions whould be greatly appreciated.
kbosch74 is offline  
post #732 of 752 Old 08-04-2010, 05:49 PM
Member
 
kbosch74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
kbosch74 is offline  
post #733 of 752 Old 08-15-2010, 06:58 PM
Member
 
garyoNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kbosch74

Only with HDMI type inputs? What about when watching uncompressed HD TV? Maybe a cable? You do know that there are separate video adjustments for HDMI and TV input, right? Check earlier in this thread for video adjustments specifically motion and judder. Let us know what you find. Good luck.

Gary
garyoNC is offline  
post #734 of 752 Old 08-17-2010, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Pando's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbosch74 View Post

Hello all.

I seem to be having a different problem than what others experience. I have had my 8000 for about 8 months and have no issues other than...

When watching DVDs or Blu Rays, there tends to be a "fuzzyness" or "blurring" around an individual when the are moving. So if someone is walking across a room, it appears around that person. They faster they're moving, the more noticeable it is. This also happens when watching satellite TV as well.

Any thoughts or suggestions whould be greatly appreciated.

Those are artifacts of the Auto-Motion-Plus system. Chances are you have it set to "Smooth", in which case all frames are interpolated to 240Hz. The fuzziness or blurriness around fast-moving objects are caused by the motion esimation software that tries to guess how the features are moving from frame-to-frame, but it cannot quite figure it out at the edges where the pattern changes too rapidly. The result is a slight blur around these areas. It's especially noticeable around fur of the animals or in nature around grass or vegetation.

You could also be seeing compression artifacts present in a digital video data if you sit really close to the screen; these show up as blockiness or fuzziness around the edges that are present around slow-moving objects.
Pando is offline  
post #735 of 752 Old 12-25-2010, 08:44 AM
Member
 
nikos77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anybody have the latest firmware on disk that they can share? The website only list 0013 and some have 16 and some 17....

Thanks
nikos77 is offline  
post #736 of 752 Old 01-08-2011, 03:01 PM
Member
 
kbosch74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pando View Post

Those are artifacts of the Auto-Motion-Plus system. Chances are you have it set to "Smooth", in which case all frames are interpolated to 240Hz. The fuzziness or blurriness around fast-moving objects are caused by the motion esimation software that tries to guess how the features are moving from frame-to-frame, but it cannot quite figure it out at the edges where the pattern changes too rapidly. The result is a slight blur around these areas. It's especially noticeable around fur of the animals or in nature around grass or vegetation.

You could also be seeing compression artifacts present in a digital video data if you sit really close to the screen; these show up as blockiness or fuzziness around the edges that are present around slow-moving objects.

I turned off "Auto Motion Plus 240Hz"; does this mean there is nothing updating to 240?
kbosch74 is offline  
post #737 of 752 Old 01-08-2011, 06:24 PM
Member
 
mikegaudiello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to get the DLNA audio to play through my AV receiver? It seems to only play through the tv and not my receiver.

UB55B8000
mikegaudiello is online now  
post #738 of 752 Old 01-13-2011, 04:16 PM
Member
 
tombellanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 56" for 11 months. From the beginning, there has been that faint white glow along the right side of the screen, extending out 6-10 inches. It's only visible on dark solid black screens. Based on some forum suggestions, I released some screw pressure and that seemed to help a bit.
Since the 12 month point is coming up soon, wondering if this is something I should have looked at/repaired before the warranty expires?

Thoughts?
tombellanca is offline  
post #739 of 752 Old 05-16-2011, 01:11 PM
Member
 
EckoInLasVegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found both of these TVs the 46" and 55" for sale at a local pawn shop. Are these still good TVs to look into for reliability wise? Also, what is a good price point for these TVs?
EckoInLasVegas is offline  
post #740 of 752 Old 05-16-2011, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
WWHD116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would guess maybe 1000 to 1200 would be a good price for either of them. I found some un46b8000s NIB for about $1500 with free shipping a couple months ago. maybe worth a $100 more if it had the WIFI dongle with it. Good tv, I have the 46" and I am happy, not the best for gaming but PQ is good.
WWHD116 is offline  
post #741 of 752 Old 05-16-2011, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EckoInLasVegas View Post

Found both of these TVs the 46" and 55" for sale at a local pawn shop. Are these still good TVs to look into for reliability wise? Also, what is a good price point for these TVs?

My 46" is still working great.
Kamakzie is offline  
post #742 of 752 Old 05-16-2011, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
rcase13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 46" still works great as well. I still sit in awe at just how good the black levels are. I paid way too much for mine. You can get a 46" refurbished for $1200. So I would pay no more than $1000 for a pawn shop TV. Make sure they hook it up and test all the inputs. The good news is if it works to your satisfaction in the shop then it should work well for you at home. There are no moving parts and the bulbs are LED. You should be good to go for a long time.

Rodney
rcase13 is offline  
post #743 of 752 Old 12-20-2011, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
Reeveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also curious about the latest firmware version. I have 1018 but read that 1013 is the latest. Anyone know the answer to this?
Reeveman is offline  
post #744 of 752 Old 03-13-2012, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
DeletedUserPost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbosch74 View Post

I turned off "Auto Motion Plus 240Hz"; does this mean there is nothing updating to 240?

If you have it turned off that just means it is no longer using the interpolated frames where it adds additional frames between the real frames, the screen is still putting out a 240hz image, it is just repeating the frames X amount of times depending on what kind of content you are throwing at it, so a 24f/sec video it will just repeat each frame 10 times, etc. where with the automotion plus it would be creating new frames between each frame, the processor guesstimates what each new frame is going to look like and that is why you get those wonderful artifacts, I keep mine on, but turn it down lower so I still get a bit of extra smoothness but little to no artifacts.
DeletedUserPost is offline  
post #745 of 752 Old 08-08-2012, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
RangersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
doing some research for my brother who is tech illiterate. he doesn't know which model tv he has he said top of the line 2009 samsung led. so I'm assuming it's either this set or the 8500. was wondering if this set (or the 8500) has ARC? thanks.
RangersFan is online now  
post #746 of 752 Old 02-01-2013, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Augestflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is still going strong. Really enjoy it except the two dead pixels that I had on day one. Samsung wouldn't do a replacement since it didn't match their dead pixel policy. Except for space movies (i love sci-fi) it is awesome!

Augestflex is offline  
post #747 of 752 Old 03-12-2013, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
ccaviness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Three years to the day after purchase my UN46B8000 won't power on. Sounds a whole lot like a bad capacitor - power on from remote just gets a lot of intermittent clicking with no display at all. Only way to stop it is unplugging from the wall.

Has anyone paid for power repairs on this model? How much did it run? And has anyone had success doing capacitor surgery themselves?
ccaviness is offline  
post #748 of 752 Old 01-05-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
widowmaker03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone still monitoring this thread?
widowmaker03 is offline  
post #749 of 752 Old 01-05-2014, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by widowmaker03 View Post

Is anyone still monitoring this thread?

Yup I am
Kamakzie is offline  
post #750 of 752 Old 01-06-2014, 07:34 AM
Member
 
widowmaker03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kamakzie, good to know that someone still monitors.
widowmaker03 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46b8000 46 Inch 1080p 240hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off