Official LG xxLH40 Owners Thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 771 Old 04-03-2010, 03:25 PM
Member
 
janko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive my title, but I just read every post in this thread, and I can't believe that no one has had a professional calibration and posted the settings. One of you guys has to make six figures and help out the rest of us. There certainly are a lot of adjustments that can be made. I agree so far that starting with the CNET settings and tweaking them has made the best PQ so far. I have a 37LH40, and I have to check my build date, etc. later when I get home. If I have noticed any lip sync issues, it has been very subtle, and actually I've been noticing lip sync issues on my other HD tvs (older Panny rear proj. LCD and 2 year old Panny 42" plasm). I have ATT UVERSE. I just figure it's something in their hardware. If it happened all the time, and on the same stations all the time, I'd have to complain, but it's really random, and again, not very blatant.

One thing I'd like to ask is if anyone has an upconverting dvd player hooked up to this. I know that it would support bluray, but this tv is in my bedroom with no surround sound, and I don't really plan to use it for a movie watching tv. Would I be just as well off to get a cheap dvd player and let the tv do the upconverting, or get a cheap up converting dvd to let the dvd player do the conversion? I'll understand if you want to say BLURAY! I know, but...
janko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 771 Old 04-05-2010, 09:37 AM
Member
 
masterkaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JtotheR View Post

Hello all, just picked up the 42lh40 and so far so good.
However checking the LG site they show two newer models with lower initial prices and similar specs.

They are the 42ld550 and 42ld520.

The newer sets have a slightly better contrast ratio and response time but I see no mention of a s-ips panel.

I'm thinking of returning the lh40 and waiting these out and wanted to know if anyone has thoughts or experience with the new models.

Thanks.

Was wondering the same thing about if it is a S-IPS panel or not.

masterkaj is offline  
post #693 of 771 Old 04-05-2010, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Genoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by janko View Post

Forgive my title, but I just read every post in this thread, and I can't believe that no one has had a professional calibration and posted the settings. One of you guys has to make six figures and help out the rest of us. There certainly are a lot of adjustments that can be made. I agree so far that starting with the CNET settings and tweaking them has made the best PQ so far. I have a 37LH40, and I have to check my build date, etc. later when I get home. If I have noticed any lip sync issues, it has been very subtle, and actually I've been noticing lip sync issues on my other HD tvs (older Panny rear proj. LCD and 2 year old Panny 42" plasm). I have ATT UVERSE. I just figure it's something in their hardware. If it happened all the time, and on the same stations all the time, I'd have to complain, but it's really random, and again, not very blatant.

One thing I'd like to ask is if anyone has an upconverting dvd player hooked up to this. I know that it would support bluray, but this tv is in my bedroom with no surround sound, and I don't really plan to use it for a movie watching tv. Would I be just as well off to get a cheap dvd player and let the tv do the upconverting, or get a cheap up converting dvd to let the dvd player do the conversion? I'll understand if you want to say BLURAY! I know, but...

Well I think the reason the xxlh40's aren't being proessionally calibrated is the fact that they are quite cheap in cost. If you pay $800 for a 47" tv (for example), paying another $300 for calibration doesn't seem cost effective. I personally use this as a second tv, my 52" Samsung gets used for the home theater, surround sound etc...and anyone making 6 figures might buy a more expensive tv.

That being said, I have been playing around with my settings for quite sometime and I found that I like "game" the best for night viewing. I basically copied those settings over to standard and tweaked it a bit by turning most of the advance picture settings off, but I do like the dynamic contrast set to low as it adds more detail in black scenes and blacks seem blacker. It seems a bit too dark for daylight viewing, I have a lot of windows, so I bump up the backlight a bit. But I like it, I actually like it alot. I was having a really hard time with alot of artifacts in teh picture and vertical banding, but all of that is gone, or at least I cannot see it.

I personally think the CNET settings make the whites look like more like yellow. Let me know and I will grab my settings and post them if you are interested. I have the 47LH40.
Genoint is offline  
post #694 of 771 Old 04-05-2010, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Joker_Da_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have done a lot of testing to factually figure out the nature of the audio lag problems. XBOX 360 with any game will have audio lag of 80ms. Turn Dolby Digital on in any game and get audio lag of 200ms. Likewise, a PS3 gets 80ms/200ms. XBOX 360 on a different TV (Panasonic plasma from 2006) gets no audio lag on any game, Dolby Digital or not.

I have a feeling that LG's attempted final answer will be that there is no reason to send Dolby Digital to the TV.

1) Would you agree with that?
2) Shouldn't 80ms audio lag qualify as faulty also? It makes Guitar Hero-type games unplayable.

Interested in your opinions on this. Also, I have noticed audio lag in movies played on the XBOX 360, so it is not just games.
Joker_Da_Man is offline  
post #695 of 771 Old 04-05-2010, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
eneyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I am looking into an LG for my bedroom, considering 42LH40 or LH50 and noticed alot of lip sync posts. Is this issue still going on and if I order a set now will it still have the problem. I plan to simply hook up a directv receiver/dvr without any audio receiver/sound system. Do the firmware updates solve the issues if the software is out of date?
eneyman is offline  
post #696 of 771 Old 04-05-2010, 11:19 PM
Member
 
ritholtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genoint View Post

Well I think the reason the xxlh40's aren't being proessionally calibrated is the fact that they are quite cheap in cost. If you pay $800 for a 47" tv (for example), paying another $300 for calibration doesn't seem cost effective. I personally use this as a second tv, my 52" Samsung gets used for the home theater, surround sound etc...and anyone making 6 figures might buy a more expensive tv.

That being said, I have been playing around with my settings for quite sometime and I found that I like "game" the best for night viewing. I basically copied those settings over to standard and tweaked it a bit by turning most of the advance picture settings off, but I do like the dynamic contrast set to low as it adds more detail in black scenes and blacks seem blacker. It seems a bit too dark for daylight viewing, I have a lot of windows, so I bump up the backlight a bit. But I like it, I actually like it alot. I was having a really hard time with alot of artifacts in teh picture and vertical banding, but all of that is gone, or at least I cannot see it.

I personally think the CNET settings make the whites look like more like yellow. Let me know and I will grab my settings and post them if you are interested. I have the 47LH40.

I recently bought 42LH50. This is my first lcd tv. I watched some movies using thumb drive. These movies are with different aspect ratios and different file types (avi, mkv and mp4). It played everything fine even 2.2 GB mkv file. It did very well in upconverting it. It has proportionately scaled up the video to fill one side of the screen (horizontally except for Lionking). It leaves the black boxes other side. If we watch like this, does it effect tv i.e., by keeping block boxes for entire duration.

Can you post your settings. In some movies, i also noticed very good black levels. I am not sure about most of the criticism about the black levels.
ritholtz is offline  
post #697 of 771 Old 04-06-2010, 08:11 AM
Member
 
janko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems like the calibration price is going to have to come down because the tvs are getting cheaper, but who am I to say. I think this tv looks great and I did find out I have 4.52 which is probably why I had no complaints about lip sync.

Any thoughts on the dvd player? Upconversion or no upconversion?
janko is offline  
post #698 of 771 Old 04-09-2010, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneyman View Post

Hey guys, I am looking into an LG for my bedroom, considering 42LH40 or LH50 and noticed alot of lip sync posts. Is this issue still going on and if I order a set now will it still have the problem. I plan to simply hook up a directv receiver/dvr without any audio receiver/sound system. Do the firmware updates solve the issues if the software is out of date?

I got my 47lh40 about 2 months ago and had the latest firmware. No problems with lip sync. It has been confirmed the firmware update fixes the lip sync issue.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #699 of 771 Old 04-12-2010, 11:33 AM
Member
 
brentman0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks! Just bought my 55lh40 and I only have one pet peeve so far and I cannot decide whether it is the tv or my Dish signal, although I don't recall this issue on my previous RPTV. Occasionally, when changing channels or surfing on the dish guide channel, I can clearly see horizontal color noise for a split second. Kind of like it is reprocessing or something. Anyone else have or eperienced this before? Not sure whether to take the set back or what...

Brentman
brentman0110 is offline  
post #700 of 771 Old 04-13-2010, 09:22 AM
Member
 
brentman0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, bumping my own post here...Thought of maybe a better way to describe the issue. When I am changing channels or surfing the guide, it sometimes is as if a horizontal blind (color lines) is opening and closing. Does that help anyone with my problem?

Brentman
brentman0110 is offline  
post #701 of 771 Old 04-13-2010, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Geo.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentman0110 View Post

Ok, bumping my own post here...Thought of maybe a better way to describe the issue. When I am changing channels or surfing the guide, it sometimes is as if a horizontal blind (color lines) is opening and closing. Does that help anyone with my problem?

I haven't seen anything like that on my 55LH40. Have you called or e-mailed LG to see if that's something they are aware of?
Geo. is offline  
post #702 of 771 Old 04-13-2010, 10:27 AM
Member
 
brentman0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not yet, just got it up and running Sunday. Will probably call them today. It almost reminds me of an old CRT when you turned it off and saw all the colrs in lines as it powered down..weird.

Brentman
brentman0110 is offline  
post #703 of 771 Old 04-13-2010, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Geo.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentman0110 View Post

Not yet, just got it up and running Sunday. Will probably call them today. It almost reminds me of an old CRT when you turned it off and saw all the colrs in lines as it powered down..weird.

If you do call them, I hope you'll post their response just so others know what to expect if their XXLH40 ever does the same thing. Plus, I'm just curious myself. Thanks.
Geo. is offline  
post #704 of 771 Old 04-14-2010, 07:30 AM
Member
 
brentman0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called them this morning and the tech has told me that it has to be the source signal (ie. my Dish network vip622). Hmm...I do not remember seeing this issue on my previous RPTV. Anyway, when I get home tonight, I will test it on my Vizio 32" LCD that I have in the bedroom and see what's what.

Brentman
brentman0110 is offline  
post #705 of 771 Old 04-14-2010, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Geo.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentman0110 View Post

Called them this morning and the tech has told me that it has to be the source signal (ie. my Dish network vip622). Hmm...I do not remember seeing this issue on my previous RPTV. Anyway, when I get home tonight, I will test it on my Vizio 32" LCD that I have in the bedroom and see what's what.

I also have the ViP 622 and don't have that problem. How are you connecting the 622 to the 55LH40? Is it the same way you connected it to the RPTV? If you are using, say, the HDMI out from the 622 to the LH40, but previously used the component outs to the RPTV, I suppose it could be a problem with the HDMI output from the 622. Good luck testing it on the Vizio.
Geo. is offline  
post #706 of 771 Old 04-14-2010, 12:28 PM
Member
 
brentman0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Connecting it via Components, was afraid of the HDMI lag issues. Anyway, using the same cables as before which is why it is supsect. Oh well, I will give it a try anyway. Also thinking of connecting my Wii and blue ray player to see if I can detect the same issues with those sources.

Brentman
brentman0110 is offline  
post #707 of 771 Old 04-18-2010, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Genoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the delay guys, in the middle of a bathroom reno. So these are my settings, not professionally calibrated and I did not use a calibration disk, just weeks of tweaking. THis is what looks good to MY eye and got rid of veritcal banding and alot of artifacts on my set. I have a 47LH40

Energy Saver Off
Picture mode Standard
Backlight 60
Contrast 90
Brightness 55
Sharpness 55
Color 50
Tint 0
Advanced Control
Color Temp Medium
Dynamic Contrast Low
Dynamic Color Off
Noise Reduction Off
Gamma Medium
Black Level Low
Eye Care On
Real Cinema On
TruMotion 120hz Off
Color Gamut Wide
Genoint is offline  
post #708 of 771 Old 05-02-2010, 12:34 AM
Member
 
Georgie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, to help stop this topic from expiring, a dumb question

Is there any way to show the electronic program guide on the LH40s? Or is the firmware just not programmed to do it?

I have a cheapo Tivax box for my old tube TV which can show and scroll around the guide nicely, doesn't seem fair...

G
Georgie3 is offline  
post #709 of 771 Old 05-02-2010, 08:35 AM
Member
 
aerick79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I just order a 42lh50, and I can't wait. This will be my first LCD tv I used to have a Plasma, so will we see if I like LCD better.

Signature removed by Admin.
aerick79 is offline  
post #710 of 771 Old 05-14-2010, 01:35 AM
Newbie
 
silver_yummies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timothy91 View Post

I really want the 55LH90 to drop to $1500 shipped or after tax local and then I'll pull the trigger. Otherwise I want the 47LH90 to drop to $950 shipped/after tax local.
I have my eye on the 55LH40 too though. It's a tough call but I'm holding out for the LH90's.

the 55LH40 right NOW is $999 shipped from Frys!! Just got in on the deal.
silver_yummies is offline  
post #711 of 771 Old 05-14-2010, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
manufanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: space coast, Florida
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am getting in on the frys deal as well can any one talk to the screen reflective capability of the the 55 lh40. specifically in a well lit room with ambiant light does it mute that or is as noticable as a plasma?

thanks
manufanatic is offline  
post #712 of 771 Old 05-14-2010, 07:01 AM
Member
 
marc500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered this TV from Frys as well (item #5898043). Was going to go for a Samsung 55C8000 but decided for this price I will wait until prices drop on 3D.
marc500 is offline  
post #713 of 771 Old 05-15-2010, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Mindspin311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Altanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was looking at plasmas mostly but then came across this deal.

I was looking at the LG 50PK550 and Panny P50G25, how does the 55LH40 compare?

I know its plasma vs LCD, but I figure Ill ask.
Mindspin311 is offline  
post #714 of 771 Old 05-16-2010, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
batmanwcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc500 View Post

I just ordered this TV from Frys as well (item #5898043). Was going to go for a Samsung 55C8000 but decided for this price I will wait until prices drop on 3D.

I was in the same boat. I'm waiting for 3D to become more mainstream and the 3D technology in TV's to improve. Besides, I just couldn't resist the 55LH40 for $999.
batmanwcm is offline  
post #715 of 771 Old 05-18-2010, 11:39 PM
Member
 
g0dM@n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the $999 deal also on Saturday. Can't wait for my TV to come in... Will be replacing my philips 47 1080 60hz
g0dM@n is offline  
post #716 of 771 Old 05-19-2010, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Joker_Da_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally purchased a receiver, which has negligible (6ms, or well within the realm of human plastic guitar strumming error) audio lag, with Dolby Digital on my Xbox 360. I can even tell the difference in how soon I hear my own gunfire in Halo 3. So this 100% confirms my results that Dolby Digital with the latest firmware is still messed up.
Joker_Da_Man is offline  
post #717 of 771 Old 05-19-2010, 05:18 PM
Member
 
thedigitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also just purchased one from Frys for $999. Hope it has as good or better picture than my 2 year old 52" Toshiba.
thedigitel is offline  
post #718 of 771 Old 05-23-2010, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
raakdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry everyone, I tried reading but can't find how to access the service menu for the LG 55LH40 with firmware 4.30.1

I tried the old menu menu combo trick, but no luck
raakdogg is offline  
post #719 of 771 Old 05-23-2010, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
azngtracerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are you having any lip sync issues?
azngtracerx is offline  
post #720 of 771 Old 05-23-2010, 07:13 PM
Newbie
 
raakdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no sync problems; was just trying to get the usb to play divx videos
raakdogg is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 55lh40 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off