Official LG xxLH40 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2009, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bobby_Dazzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All!

I just picked up the LG 55LH40... and I love it so far!

Using the picture settings from CNET for the LH55, the PQ from my PS3 Blu-ray is amazing, and the HD channels from my HD PVR looks great as well.

Does anybody else have this tv? Any tips or tweaks to share?
Bobby_Dazzler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2009, 07:49 PM
Member
 
yazyazoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the 47in from Frys for $999 with a free LG BluRay Player. Anyone with some calibration settings? I am using ISF with the picture wizard. Took of the Tru CInema and 120hz. 120hz only looks good on animation.
yazyazoo is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:42 PM
Member
 
GEOgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA NY
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newegg sells LG 55LH40 more than 2.5 grand, i guess is expensive.
Where did you get it from? Beter price?
It's better than SAMSUNGS LED's ?

P.S. I just checked FRYS but culdn't fing LG combo deal, maybe just at store ?
GEOgamer is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:54 PM
Member
 
yazyazoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was in last Fridays ad. It goes on until this Thurs. However when I went, the thing was they were running out of Bluray players so coouldn't complete the deal. I am in SF bay area.
yazyazoo is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 10:30 PM
Member
 
b_humbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a 47LH40 last Friday and returned it Saturday - .25s audio delay through HDMI. Anyone else experience this issue?
b_humbug is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 03:59 PM
Member
 
nola504boy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep i have the 47 i love it but my 42 in my bedroom has a better picture
nola504boy7 is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Cjanssen83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking about getting the 47LH40 in the next couple weeks. Can anybody tell me how their gaming (PS3/XBOX360) experiences have been with this LCD? In particular, did you notice much input lag?
Cjanssen83 is offline  
Old 08-01-2009, 08:32 PM
Member
 
yazyazoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nola504boy7 View Post

yep i have the 47 i love it but my 42 in my bedroom has a better picture



What 42in TV are you using? I thought my 50in Samsung 720p plasma looked a little better.
yazyazoo is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 12:00 AM
Member
 
mgs333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there's some info on this thread for a 32lh40: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1131808

some people used the cnet settings for the 42lh30 on their 4xlh40, they claimed it worked good for them.

http://forums.cnet.com/5208-19410_10...hreadID=340770

i tried the some of the easier changed things (like contrast, sharpness, etc. not the whole IRE and color mgmt settings) and i personally don't like it, too blurry and dark for my tastes.

i have a 47lh40 also from the fry's deal. still trying to sell off the bluray player...
mgs333 is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 07:58 AM
Member
 
elty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the best setting for "TruMotion"? I currently set it to low.
elty is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:37 PM
Member
 
mgs333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elty View Post

What is the best setting for "TruMotion"? I currently set it to low.

it depends on the source material being watched, for things like sports, animation, i'd think 'high' would be good. however for movies in general and tv shows that have the shaky, handy cam "gritty real life" effect look funny to me with any kind of trumotion.

for the most part, i have it off by default.

follow up question: if i turn off trumotion, am i "wasting" the 120hz capability of the tv? if i seldom use trumotion, could i have gotten the lh30 (the 60hz version of this tv) without losing anything?
mgs333 is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 10:54 AM
Member
 
mgs333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i found this british site discussing what i think is a similar (or same) model as our lh40. (it's called lh4000 over there)

they refer to 50/100hz vs our 60/120hz but the models looks very similar to me.

http://www.avforums.com/forums/lg-ow...ml#post9520324

this post tells you how to enter the service menu (which probably could void your warranty if you mess up something in there, so be warned) and enable divx playback from usb.

i've tried (press "enter" instead of ok as there is no "ok" button on the remote or the tv), and i can indeed enter the service menu and i see the divx option currently set to no. i haven't yet gotten the courage to enable it yet.

also, they talk about upgrading firmware and all over there, it may be helpful to some of you.
mgs333 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
BB_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_humbug View Post

I bought a 47LH40 last Friday and returned it Saturday - .25s audio delay through HDMI. Anyone else experience this issue?

I have that too.
Both with my LG BD390 blu ray player and my 8300HD set top box. However, it is not a problem to go from those two sources directly to my Yamaha receiver via fiber optic. The voices are perfect for this. Which is fine by me becuase I use my audio receiver for every day watching. The TV is just a display device. My wife, however, does not notice the lip sync delay.

I don't know why LG's set does not do this audio well. I even took off all of the audio "filtering" features for loud noises and true voice and what not. Delay is still there. I'm hoping a software version will fix this later.

from the other UK forum:
Quote:


If you hold down the ok button on both the handset and the tv panel (right hand side of screen 3rd button from top) you will get to the service engineers menu's, the default code is 0000, from here if you enter option 3 it is possible along with other other tweeks to enable divx movie playback via the usb port,just set divx menu option to HD.

pictures of said menus: http://gallery.wcw.dk/#42.11
Do these pics match our sets? I'd like to know if any of you make any changes to this.

Has anyone inquired about a software update and how the process works?

I really wish you could rename the inputs to match what the device is. It'd make life easy for other people using the set (i.e. my wife).
BB_Mike is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
KindAlcoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked this TV up today and pretty impressed with the overall quality. I do have issues regarding the PC input. I stream hd videos from my PC to my TV everyday and the VGA input creates a minor shadow for everything on my monitor. I was wondering if anyone has the same issue or is using a different way to connect their PC to their TV? Such as DVI to HDMI for example OR has found another way to fix this problem.
KindAlcoholic is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
BB_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can stream video from my PC to the TV via my BD390 blue ray disk player, wirelessly too. That might not help you out, but it's an idea of a work around.
BB_Mike is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
91Booztd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone with the 55LH40 check how far the mounting holes are apart for a wall mount bracket? I'm looking to get a wall mount from Monoprice but i just want to make sure i get the right one. I don't have the TV yet but i'm pretty sure i'll be getting it soon. Thanks
91Booztd is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
BB_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See below image for Vesa mount info.
Post a link for what you find/buy. I am in the market for a mount as well but have not started looking yet.
LL
BB_Mike is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
91Booztd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB_Mike View Post

See below image for Vesa mount info.
Post a link for what you find/buy. I am in the market for a mount as well but have not started looking yet.

Thanks thats what i needed. I was looking at this one and it seems that it would work according to the link you posted. http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification
91Booztd is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:43 PM
Newbie
 
KindAlcoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB_Mike View Post

I can stream video from my PC to the TV via my BD390 blue ray disk player, wirelessly too. That might not help you out, but it's an idea of a work around.

Thanks for the idea, but I also want to play PC games on my TV as well. I'm going to try out a dvi to hdmi converter. I've read that people get a better picture quality whenever they switch over from VGA to DVI. Also, has anyone found any websites with some pretty good settings for the picture? I'm having trouble doing it myself.
KindAlcoholic is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 10:43 PM
Member
 
daquint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KindAlcoholic View Post

Thanks for the idea, but I also want to play PC games on my TV as well. I'm going to try out a dvi to hdmi converter. I've read that people get a better picture quality whenever they switch over from VGA to DVI. Also, has anyone found any websites with some pretty good settings for the picture? I'm having trouble doing it myself.

I currently use my Samsung DLP as a monitor for my HTPC. All it takes is a DVI->HDMI cable from PC to set. As well as alot of research and patience with overscan tweaks.

You should not need a converter - just the right cable. I just ordered this set and plan on doing the same thing (HTPC/DVI to LCD/HDMI) with the 55LH40.
daquint is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
KindAlcoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by daquint View Post

I currently use my Samsung DLP as a monitor for my HTPC. All it takes is a DVI->HDMI cable from PC to set. As well as alot of research and patience with overscan tweaks.

You should not need a converter - just the right cable. I just ordered this set and plan on doing the same thing (HTPC/DVI to LCD/HDMI) with the 55LH40.

A DVI to HDMI cable cleared everything up. I also had to set my input title to PC. For some reason the TV wouldn't recognize that its hooked up to a PC unless you do. Its perfect now. Crystal Clear awesomeness. Thanks for the replies everyone.
KindAlcoholic is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
KindAlcoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know where to find the HDTV tweak guide on this website? I found it once before, but I can't find it anywhere...
KindAlcoholic is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:39 PM
Member
 
bendog2784's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 47" is currently on sale at Best Buy and I am ready to buy but I am worried about the sound being out of sync. Does anyone have a fix or more information about this?
bendog2784 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:30 PM
Member
 
turbo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bendog2784 View Post

The 47" is currently on sale at Best Buy and I am ready to buy but I am worried about the sound being out of sync. Does anyone have a fix or more information about this?

Sync issues are a problem with the source not the display. The display simply reveals the problem. You can adjust the sync on the display as someone posted on another thread, but that will only mess up the sync on a good source.
turbo3 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 04:45 AM
Member
 
bendog2784's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo3 View Post

Sync issues are a problem with the source not the display. The display simply reveals the problem. You can adjust the sync on the display as someone posted on another thread, but that will only mess up the sync on a good source.

There's another thread here about the audio problem with this tv. People have stated that the source sounds fine with a receiver, but has delay when connected to the tv. Wouldn't that indicate a TV issue?
bendog2784 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:50 AM
Member
 
turbo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bendog2784 View Post

There's another thread here about the audio problem with this tv. People have stated that the source sounds fine with a receiver, but has delay when connected to the tv. Wouldn't that indicate a TV issue?

Are they using the same connection to the receiver as to the tv? If not then the source is different. Try going HDMI to the receiver, then BOTH audio and video from the receiver to the tv.
turbo3 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:51 PM
Member
 
cinemodS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bendog2784 View Post

The 47" is currently on sale at Best Buy and I am ready to buy but I am worried about the sound being out of sync. Does anyone have a fix or more information about this?

bendog,

Search on this site. Someone found a setting in the service menu that, when adjusted, fixed the issue.

cinemod
cinemodS is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
BB_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can it be a source issue with so many people complaining?. unless my LG-BD390 is at fault too and every one else that has complained of this has faulty source devices. OR, it could be the HDMI cables we are using. I use a rocketfish (from best buy) that is 12' long. It claims to support "120Hz and lipsync", which is version 1.3. I even called the rocketfish support line and the lady said it is a version 1.3 cable.


Regarding the sync fix, instead of telling people to search for it:

The fix is in blue: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post17087317

^ That is the *LH90 thread.

Here is another thread that might get added to:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1158841&page=2

One person said on 8/30/09 that he is waiting on a firmware fix from LG.
I am going to try the menu tweak this weekend hopefully.

Again, My setup does fine with not sending audio through the TV. But it'd be a whole lot easier if it just worked. LG really dropped the ball on this one. how on earth could you release a TV without testing it against some of the leading DVR boxes out there? My Best buy here has had a handful of returns due to lyp sync and I bet they'd have more if people used the set's TV speakers, but most higher end sets at least have 5.1 surround.
BB_Mike is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
gr689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats a good choice
gr689 is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 04:59 PM
Member
 
mgs333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the link bb_mike!

also, i've noticed another issue (i'm pretty unhappy with this tv at this point but not enough to hassle with boxing it up and returning it).

when trumotion 120hz is on, it will smooth scrolling scenes for maybe 2 seconds but then i don't know if the buffer gets filled, but it'll stop smoothing for 1 second, then start smoothing again. i remember a review somewhere that mentioned this and now that i've noticed it, it's terribly obvious.

overall the 120hz on this tv is a joke, if i could do it again, i'd just get an lh30 since i won't be using the 120hz feature at all from now on.
mgs333 is offline  
 

Tags
Lg 55lh40 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off