Vizio remote control or IR sensor issue? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2009, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Vizio VO37L - I bought it refurbished from an authorized dealer with a 90 day warranty. I am having problems with the remote not working. It will only work part of the time, and only if the remote is directly in front of the sensor, within 3 feet. Even then, it will only work intermittently.

I called support while it was under warranty, and they sent me a new remote. The new remote has the same exact problem. I have also programmed 2 different universal remotes that do the exact same thing. So with 4 different remotes having the same issue, does that mean I have an IR sensor issue? I am now out of warranty with the same issue I had when I first received the TV. What can I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
airban is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2009, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Have you peeled off the protective tape? Do you know where the sensor is on your unit?

Some people were having similar issues with the Vizio GV42LF when I got mine, and the glossy tape was the problem.

Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Vizio M422i LCD / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Vizio VP322 Plasma
Sony S790 BD / Panasonic BDT220 BD / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR
Oppo 983H Anchor Bay / Denon 2200 Silicon Image / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis / Oppo 970HD Mediatek
Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS
Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is online now  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeVelocity View Post

Have you peeled off the protective tape? Do you know where the sensor is on your unit?

Some people were having similar issues with the Vizio GV42LF when I got mine, and the glossy tape was the problem.

Yes, it is bottom right corner, and the glossy tape is off.
airban is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone? Am I posting in the wrong forum?
airban is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello?
airban is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnpost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my guess would be that if you tried 2 dedicated remotes and 2 universal remotes that the problem would not be with the remotes. good evidence is also that these also work sometimes at 3 feet.

i have no experience with that product.
johnpost is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpost View Post

my guess would be that if you tried 2 dedicated remotes and 2 universal remotes that the problem would not be with the remotes. good evidence is also that these also work sometimes at 3 feet.

i have no experience with that product.

I was thinking the intermittent working at 3 feet would mean the IR sensor might be OK? Is that incorrect?
airban is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by airban View Post

I own a Vizio VO37L - I bought it refurbished from an authorized dealer with a 90 day warranty. I am having problems with the remote not working. It will only work part of the time, and only if the remote is directly in front of the sensor, within 3 feet. Even then, it will only work intermittently.

I called support while it was under warranty, and they sent me a new remote. The new remote has the same exact problem. I have also programmed 2 different universal remotes that do the exact same thing. So with 4 different remotes having the same issue, does that mean I have an IR sensor issue? I am now out of warranty with the same issue I had when I first received the TV. What can I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

If you called support while it was under warranty and they sent you a remote but that did not solve the problem, I would have a talk with them. The remote did not solve the problem and the TV was still under warranty. Doing this in a more timely manner would have been better but I would try to talk to them NOW.
HDMI Guy is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 175
airban,

You might get better feedback in this AVS subforum.

LCD Flat Panel Displays

Search for your model, alternative ask in active Vizio threads of other models....at minimum someone will point you in the right direction. Likely that former model Vizio owners frequent current model Vizio threads looking to upgrade.

Good Luck!

And yes, keep on Vizio, for warranty work ASAP. They are good about it usually, but dont let it lapse!

Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Vizio M422i LCD / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Vizio VP322 Plasma
Sony S790 BD / Panasonic BDT220 BD / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR
Oppo 983H Anchor Bay / Denon 2200 Silicon Image / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis / Oppo 970HD Mediatek
Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS
Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is online now  
Old 09-15-2013, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
robnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Airban, I have the exact same problem. The remote sensor will not recognize any signals from working remotes. Visio 47 in is only 3 yrs old and can only use side buttons to operate tv. Did you ever resolve sensor problem? Very disappointed with Vizio quality.
robnc is offline  
Old 02-28-2014, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
mike465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you  EscapeVelocity View Post  and Airban .

 

peeling  off the protective tape  on the TV did work for  vizio m471i-a2 TV-remote issue.

I had this issue for my brand TV  .. spend more than a week trying to figure out what could be issue. 

 

Thank you guys!!!

mike465 is offline  
Old 10-29-2014, 06:03 PM
Member
 
jimmy154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine was the IR sensor itself.
jimmy154 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off