LNT4069F takes 30min to startup HELP! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-19-2009, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

Just received a call from my parents indicating that their Samsung LN-T4069F takes about 30 minutes before it will startup and play. During this 30min outage they hear a clicking sound, and noticed the blue light comes on and off, but the color isn't as strong or bright as normal.

They also noticed that it will take longer for the TV to startup, if they leave it off over night. During the day, after the TV has warmed up, they can cut it off, and back on with out an issue.

Any ideas what maybe causing this problem? They had this TV for about 2years now without any issues.

Thanks.
mlong68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-19-2009, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
cnjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville. FL
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlong68 View Post

Hi All,

Just received a call from my parents indicating that their Samsung LN-T4069F takes about 30 minutes before it will startup and play. During this 30min outage they hear a clicking sound, and noticed the blue light comes on and off, but the color isn't as strong or bright as normal.

They also noticed that it will take longer for the TV to startup, if they leave it off over night. During the day, after the TV has warmed up, they can cut it off, and back on with out an issue.

Any ideas what maybe causing this problem? They had this TV for about 2years now without any issues.

Thanks.

The power supply module in the TV is going bad, pretty soon the tv will no longer power up, happened to me on my 4671. Apparently a service tech posted an article stating this is a wide spread problem because Samsung is using crappy components.

Samsung LN46B750
LG BD 570
Denon AVR-988
cnjax is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-19-2009, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnjax View Post

The power supply module in the TV is going bad, pretty soon the tv will no longer power up, happened to me on my 4671. Apparently a service tech posted an article stating this is a wide spread problem because Samsung is using crappy components.

Is this covered by warranty, or is it possible if I can order the part, and do the repair myself?

Thanks!
mlong68 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-20-2009, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 40
It is under warranty if the Tv was purchased within one year, and if you register online you can get another three months. If not you can certainly diy. You can either solder a few new capacitors onto the board for less than $10, or you just replace the whole board for $75.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-20-2009, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post

It is under warranty if the Tv was purchased within one year, and if you register online you can get another three months. If not you can certainly diy. You can either solder a few new capacitors onto the board for less than $10, or you just replace the whole board for $75.


Where can I get the part, and instruction on how to install?
mlong68 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-20-2009, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 40
$75
If you can put a video card into a PC, you can change the power supply board. Just handle the board by the edges so you don't get electric shocked from stored voltages (especially transformers and large capacitors).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-20-2009, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post

$75
If you can put a video card into a PC, you can change the power supply board. Just handle the board by the edges so you don't get electric shocked from stored voltages (especially transformers and large capacitors).

Again, where can I purchase the board? The cheapest I find is for $179.00


Thanks.
mlong68 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-20-2009, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Benny42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlong68 View Post

Again, where can I purchase the board? The cheapest I find is for $179.00


Thanks.

Dude, you have to click the price $75 !

bye
Benny

bye
Benny
Benny42 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-21-2009, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrEastSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Definitely power supply. Should be pretty easy fix.

Quote:
Of course, I got it modified with the TK-427, which cheeks it up another, maybe, 3 or 4 quads per channel.
MrEastSide is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-22-2009, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrEastSide View Post

Definitely power supply. Should be pretty easy fix.

Thanks all,

I was able to repair the 4 capacitors in about 5min. We are back up and running now.
mlong68 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-22-2012, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mlong68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having double images with this set now. Can anyone confirm if this is a blown capacitor?

http://www.lwintegrationtest.com/tmp/blown_capacitor.jpg
mlong68 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-22-2012, 04:50 PM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Call Samsung. Here is a link to their program to fix long startup times and related problems:


http://www.samsung.com/us/capacitorsettlement/


edit: Oops, didn't see the original date. Well, maybe others seeing this thread can benefit from the Settlement notice.
dfp is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off