Official UNXXB8500 Series Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok Someone had to start it. I own the 55" B8500.
Lindseybp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
TheAnswer_03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't find this tv anywhere.
TheAnswer_03 is offline  
post #3 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
omeletpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We already have a 8500 thread, don't need a second one.
omeletpants is offline  
post #4 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by omeletpants View Post

We already have a 8500 thread, don't need a second one.

For the record this one was started first....and by an owner.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #5 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 11:19 AM
Member
 
grkgod36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: York
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
indeed , and the other one got way to long .
grkgod36 is offline  
post #6 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 11:42 AM
Member
 
ashfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New york NY
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a un46b8500, admittedly wont be delivered til Saturday. And you started your thread WHILE I was typing mine, so I dont think you should fault me Yours is named better however, so I bow to your superior thread-starting abilities.
ashfall is offline  
post #7 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashfall View Post

I bought a un46b8500, admittedly wont be delivered til Saturday. And you started your thread WHILE I was typing mine, so I dont think you should fault me Yours is named better however, so I bow to your superior thread-starting abilities.

It's all good man! My B8500 is amazing. You will be blown away!
Lindseybp is offline  
post #8 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
omeletpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindseybp View Post

For the record this one was started first....and by an owner.

Look at the time stamps
omeletpants is offline  
post #9 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by omeletpants View Post

Look at the time stamps

I did. This one was posted at 12:28pm. The other one was posted at 12:33pm. Very close but this one just nudged it I believe.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #10 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 02:21 PM
Member
 
milk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This one is posted first so I'm posting here hence forth.

I just recieved my 46". I'm using a plasma for movies in the HT room and my new absurdly beautiful 46" B8500 will replace my ancient 30" Sony LCD, which by the way, looks truly comical next to the 46" B8500. This is my first significant LCD set and wondering when/if calibration (as on my plasma) is required or reccomended? Is calibration not a big deal for high end LCDs and instead I should just focus on tweaking my setting per my environment? Thanks.
milk is offline  
post #11 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by milk View Post

This one is posted first so I'm posting here hence forth.

I just recieved my 46". I'm using a plasma for movies in the HT room and my new absurdly beautiful 46" B8500 will replace my ancient 30" Sony LCD, which by the way, looks truly comical next to the 46" B8500. This is my first significant LCD set and wondering when/if calibration (as on my plasma) is required or reccomended? Is calibration not a big deal for high end LCDs and instead I should just focus on tweaking my setting per my environment? Thanks.

Good question. I calibrated my 55" with the Spears & Munsil disc. Barely had to change any settings on "Movie" mode. Pumped up a few settings a notch or two and that's it.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #12 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 08:19 PM
Member
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindseybp View Post

Ok Someone had to start it. I own the 55" B8500.

literally just ordered my 55er. ETA is 2-4 weeks. the wait begins.
jomama is offline  
post #13 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama View Post

literally just ordered my 55er. ETA is 2-4 weeks. the wait begins.

Congrats!
Lindseybp is offline  
post #14 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonight I pulled up my widgets and there was a download available. It looks like Blockbuster on demand and Amazon video on demand are now available, along with an Ebay widget (not sure if that one was there before). The Amazon and Blockbuster widgets are basically what you would expect. Haven't rented anything from either but might give it a try this weekend.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #15 of 3719 Old 10-14-2009, 10:47 PM
Member
 
ashfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New york NY
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried hooking up their PC to the 8500? How is the picture quality? I want to stream netflix on demand to the TV, wondering what the best way is, and how good it will look. Am I better off playing it through an xbox 360 rather than hooking up the PC directly? Or using one of the DLNA / Anynet features? I think netflix will only play through a proprietary internet-explorer-based program.
ashfall is offline  
post #16 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 06:38 AM
Member
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindseybp View Post

Tonight I pulled up my widgets and there was a download available. It looks like Blockbuster on demand and Amazon video on demand are now available, along with an Ebay widget (not sure if that one was there before). The Amazon and Blockbuster widgets are basically what you would expect. Haven't rented anything from either but might give it a try this weekend.

do you run an ethernet cable to the set, or is the 8500 able to connect wirelessly?
jomama is offline  
post #17 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
ubercool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama View Post

do you run an ethernet cable to the set, or is the 8500 able to connect wirelessly?

You need a Samsung USB Wireless stick to connect the Sammy to a network.
ubercool is offline  
post #18 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,068
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by milk View Post

This one is posted first so I'm posting here hence forth.

I just recieved my 46". I'm using a plasma for movies in the HT room and my new absurdly beautiful 46" B8500 will replace my ancient 30" Sony LCD, which by the way, looks truly comical next to the 46" B8500. This is my first significant LCD set and wondering when/if calibration (as on my plasma) is required or reccomended? Is calibration not a big deal for high end LCDs and instead I should just focus on tweaking my setting per my environment? Thanks.

Yes, calibrating the white balance with a meter makes a huge difference over stock movie mode. You can read more about it in my review.
Stock movie mode looks really 3-D: dreary, dingy, and drab.
(sorry, I'm going overboard a little bit)

touring calibrator
Jeti 1211

Latest reviews:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chad B is offline  
post #19 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 07:06 AM
Member
 
milk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

Yes, calibrating the white balance with a meter makes a huge difference over stock movie mode. You can read more about it in my review.
Stock movie mode looks really 3-D: dreary, dingy, and drab.
(sorry, I'm going overboard a little bit)

Thanks Chad! And thanks Lindsey. It's a costly set so I'd like to maximize the set's capabilities. I've simply never understood how often LCD sets are professionally calibrated. On a display as uniquely capable as this one I'd like to be sure it's rendering the best PQ it can or close to it so going to have it calibrated. Thanks for the review, Chad!
milk is offline  
post #20 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 08:14 AM
Member
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

Yes, calibrating the white balance with a meter makes a huge difference over stock movie mode. You can read more about it in my review.
Stock movie mode looks really 3-D: dreary, dingy, and drab.
(sorry, I'm going overboard a little bit)

so when will you be over in the noVA/DC area to do calibrations? =)
jomama is offline  
post #21 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,068
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jomama View Post

so when will you be over in the noVA/DC area to do calibrations? =)

End of this month!

touring calibrator
Jeti 1211

Latest reviews:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chad B is offline  
post #22 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 12:21 PM
Member
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

End of this month!

i'll keep that in mind. my set is due to show up in 2-4 weeks. 2 weeks would make it the end of this month. 4 weeks would put us closer to thanksgiving. =\\
jomama is offline  
post #23 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashfall View Post

Has anyone tried hooking up their PC to the 8500? How is the picture quality? I want to stream netflix on demand to the TV, wondering what the best way is, and how good it will look. Am I better off playing it through an xbox 360 rather than hooking up the PC directly? Or using one of the DLNA / Anynet features? I think netflix will only play through a proprietary internet-explorer-based program.

I hooked my laptop up to it via HDMi earlier this week. I thought picture looked good but then again I didn't stream any video. I was just doing an input lag test.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #24 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 01:39 PM
Member
 
r2s26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will you be able to use a regular LCD/Plasma mount with this TV?
r2s26 is offline  
post #25 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2s26 View Post

Will you be able to use a regular LCD/Plasma mount with this TV?

I don't see why not. The VESA spec is 400x400 I believe.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #26 of 3719 Old 10-15-2009, 09:31 PM
Member
 
cordillius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindseybp View Post

I hooked my laptop up to it via HDMi earlier this week. I thought picture looked good but then again I didn't stream any video. I was just doing an input lag test.

And what were the results of your test? I do a lot of gaming. I'm sure it's better than my 3 year old sammy 46" LCD.
I'm looking at maybe buying the 55b8500 or the 55b650. Money is obviously a factor but I'm leaning towards the 8500.
cordillius is offline  
post #27 of 3719 Old 10-16-2009, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cordillius View Post

And what were the results of your test? I do a lot of gaming. I'm sure it's better than my 3 year old sammy 46" LCD.
I'm looking at maybe buying the 55b8500 or the 55b650. Money is obviously a factor but I'm leaning towards the 8500.

lag was usually between .030 ms and .040 ms.
Lindseybp is offline  
post #28 of 3719 Old 10-16-2009, 07:56 AM
 
StanDaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashfall View Post

I bought a un46b8500, admittedly wont be delivered til Saturday. And you started your thread WHILE I was typing mine, so I dont think you should fault me Yours is named better however, so I bow to your superior thread-starting abilities.

I was thinking about picking this up. I think I'll place an order today too, seeing as I just got my bonus today
StanDaMan is offline  
post #29 of 3719 Old 10-16-2009, 09:48 AM
Member
 
_Outlaw_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahhh nice to be in the "owners" thread now lol

Lindsey in response to your post from the other thread: The circles that I saw (and I say "saw" because they are gone now) Were about 4 inches round and went from left to right across the middle of the screen. It only happened when I enabled Smart LED to ON. As soon as I put it back to off they went away. Almost looked like rain on a camera lens effect.

Im so undecided right now because I dont know if its something that may have occurred from changing settings...just basic adjustments. Or if its the start of me owning a lemon. I have the 30 days or whatever it is to return it to BB no questions asked. My whole thing is if I keep it and that expires, I then have my extended warranty to which some schmo has to come in and repair my new 4K tv!!! That would be such a sick feeling lol.
Aside from the fact that I may get one worse or have cosmetic issues etc. Sorry for rambling folks but im one of those obsesive compulsive peeps, especially when it comes to spending a ton.

Any suggestions??

Thanks for starting this thread lindsey...
_Outlaw_ is offline  
post #30 of 3719 Old 10-16-2009, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lindseybp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Outlaw_ View Post

Ahhh nice to be in the "owners" thread now lol

Lindsey in response to your post from the other thread: The circles that I saw (and I say "saw" because they are gone now) Were about 4 inches round and went from left to right across the middle of the screen. It only happened when I enabled Smart LED to ON. As soon as I put it back to off they went away. Almost looked like rain on a camera lens effect.

Im so undecided right now because I dont know if its something that may have occurred from changing settings...just basic adjustments. Or if its the start of me owning a lemon. I have the 30 days or whatever it is to return it to BB no questions asked. My whole thing is if I keep it and that expires, I then have my extended warranty to which some schmo has to come in and repair my new 4K tv!!! That would be such a sick feeling lol.
Aside from the fact that I may get one worse or have cosmetic issues etc. Sorry for rambling folks but im one of those obsesive compulsive peeps, especially when it comes to spending a ton.

Any suggestions??

Thanks for starting this thread lindsey...

That just does not sound right to me. Without seeing what this looks like I still think it could be something wrong with the tv. Maybe someone else can chime in here who knows more than I do. I would say if you have a doubt exchange it. They should be able to bring a new one out and take that one away.
Lindseybp is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off