THE Official LG "55LHX" Owners Thread - Page 5 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2009, 08:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Nope... A seperate Vudu Box through HDMI Wireless Media Box.
My BD Player is a Samsung BD4600 low profile player.
The Vudu is throwing a excellent image and that too in 1080p 24...
Ash
Ash Sharma is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2009, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
sitsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVboy View Post

I'm sure I'll be in the minority here, but let's just say that any approach to networking via HDTV is purely in its infancy. Not to mention useless widgets, Netflix, etc., with extremely poor implementation. I agree with everyone else-even a cheap HTPC would offer a gigantic improvement.



HD quality video requires a large amount of data to be transferred. In the last week I saw that Comcast will be throttling people's transfer speeds if they cross a certain threshold involving data downloads every month. I know a lot of companies want to do a lot of things, especially with video. But, either people will be paying through the nose, or the entire infrastructure in most parts of the country would have to be upgraded to accomodate much larger data transfers-money that has to come from somewhere to pay for such an undertaking. Since we are now all digital, and since virtually any display option out there is widescreen HD, I even wonder how long it will be before all of those stations currently broadcasting in SD will make the transition to HD.


all excellent points, to be sure. digital streaming of all HD content is coming, no doubt, but you're right about making the pipe bigger - that may really take some time, especially if they want to bring in 3D as planned. I work in the film industry here in LA and saw a recent Panasonic demo of their 3D home display system - plasma tech, the screen was big - maybe the 103" model, and the glasses were the big deal, with some kind of proprietary shutter technology that enhance/enabled the 3D content. It was cool, but I'm not sure people want to wear those glasses at home, with all the distractions going on. Phillips has a auto-3D display out there soon, which requires no glasses.
sitsat is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
Lunateric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this forum but have been following it for the last month. I went into Best Buy today and saw the LHX display they had. The wireless box was in a cabinet directly beneath the tv with a blue ray player routed through a denon receiver and then into the transmitter. The one thing I did notice is that there was signal distortion every couple of minutes or so. When I asked the salesman if this was due to interference of all the other electronics in the room he stated that he was not impressed with LGs wireless transmitter and that they had a pioneer with a wireless transmitter not showing any of those characteristics. I asked about the sale a few weeks back and he indicated that his TV was new and that the store has not had it on sale yet. Knowing the success some of the users are having as well as the unforgiving characteristics of the transmitter for others, I will wait a bit longer before jumping on this set. If they are truley discontinuing this so soon it makes me believe (or maybe hope) that this set was LG's BETA launch of this technology and that there may be significant modifications to the signal transmission and/or other features in the works.
Lunateric is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
sitsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

I am new to this forum but have been following it for the last month. I went into Best Buy today and saw the LHX display they had. The wireless box was in a cabinet directly beneath the tv with a blue ray player routed through a denon receiver and then into the transmitter. The one thing I did notice is that there was signal distortion every couple of minutes or so. When I asked the salesman if this was due to interference of all the other electronics in the room he stated that he was not impressed with LGs wireless transmitter and that they had a pioneer with a wireless transmitter not showing any of those characteristics. I asked about the sale a few weeks back and he indicated that his TV was new and that the store has not had it on sale yet. Knowing the success some of the users are having as well as the unforgiving characteristics of the transmitter for others, I will wait a bit longer before jumping on this set. If they are truley discontinuing this so soon it makes me believe (or maybe hope) that this set was LG's BETA launch of this technology and that there may be significant modifications to the signal transmission and/or other features in the works.


curious that you saw such transmission issues as no one on this thread has reported any problems with that aspect of the display, and the set I saw at a BB near me in Southern California had no issues with exact same set-up as you described. I think you may be right about the last point - that this was sort of a test run for an enhanced version of the same display/technology.
sitsat is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
Lunateric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It could have been a variety of things, the cabinet that it was in was pretty solid and they had the transmitter beneath the other electronics in the cabinet. Being only a couple feet from the TV I can't imagine that this was an expected condition. I did notice that when the salesman opened the cabinet and reached in to operate the DVD player the distortion was more pronounced, so there had to be something else at play.
Lunateric is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
sitsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

It could have been a variety of things, the cabinet that it was in was pretty solid and they had the transmitter beneath the other electronics in the cabinet. Being only a couple feet from the TV I can't imagine that this was an expected condition. I did notice that when the salesman opened the cabinet and reached in to operate the DVD player the distortion was more pronounced, so there had to be something else at play.

must have been...it's funny because when this display was announced I thought the biggest (only?) issues would be with uncompressed 1080 wireless transmission and it sounds like that aspect of the tech is not a big deal, according to all of the owners on this thread and the demo I saw last weekend.
sitsat is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

I am new to this forum but have been following it for the last month. I went into Best Buy today and saw the LHX display they had. The wireless box was in a cabinet directly beneath the tv with a blue ray player routed through a denon receiver and then into the transmitter. The one thing I did notice is that there was signal distortion every couple of minutes or so. When I asked the salesman if this was due to interference of all the other electronics in the room he stated that he was not impressed with LGs wireless transmitter and that they had a pioneer with a wireless transmitter not showing any of those characteristics. I asked about the sale a few weeks back and he indicated that his TV was new and that the store has not had it on sale yet. Knowing the success some of the users are having as well as the unforgiving characteristics of the transmitter for others, I will wait a bit longer before jumping on this set. If they are truley discontinuing this so soon it makes me believe (or maybe hope) that this set was LG's BETA launch of this technology and that there may be significant modifications to the signal transmission and/or other features in the works.

And you actually believe someone from Best Buy? I can't comment on any upgrades they are working on and I'm sure a BB employee doesn't know either but I've had the LHX for two weeks now without a glich with the wireless box, it's been flawless. What I will say this that the box needs line of sight in some way, whether that be bouncing off a wall or any other way so if the cabinet was closed then there is the problem right there, they didn't read the set-up directions. lol

I watch OTA HD and BR and both are flawlessly transmitten from the box to the tv.
flyers is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
sitsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

It could have been a variety of things, the cabinet that it was in was pretty solid and they had the transmitter beneath the other electronics in the cabinet. Being only a couple feet from the TV I can't imagine that this was an expected condition. I did notice that when the salesman opened the cabinet and reached in to operate the DVD player the distortion was more pronounced, so there had to be something else at play.



not sure what tech LG is using for this display, but here is a link to an interesting article about an Israeli company that is pushing a new wireless standard in CE with all of the big boys on board so far...reading through it sounds like the tech is capable of 1080P uncompressed at 3GB speeds for 100 ft! so that means all over the house and through walls...

http://www.newsfactor.com/news/Home-...=11100AWZ47SC#
sitsat is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 05:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Not only does it transmit 1080p flawlessly through wireless it transmits 1080p24 1080p60 or whatever you throw at it.
I was very surprised that the Vudu box is throwing a 1080p24 picture.
Ash
Ash Sharma is online now  
Old 11-12-2009, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

If they are truley discontinuing this so soon it makes me believe (or maybe hope) that this set was LG's BETA launch of this technology and that there may be significant modifications to the signal transmission and/or other features in the works.

How do you know it's being discontinued?
georgeorwell is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post

How do you know it's being discontinued?

I'm wondering this also...I have heard this mentioned a few times now and have no idea what its based. Ok, BB is the only place carrying it right now but does that mean it's being discontinued?

If the media box needs line of sight or the bouncy effect ...bummer.
topr is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 09:06 AM
Member
 
AirKuhl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunateric View Post

It could have been a variety of things, the cabinet that it was in was pretty solid and they had the transmitter beneath the other electronics in the cabinet. Being only a couple feet from the TV I can't imagine that this was an expected condition. I did notice that when the salesman opened the cabinet and reached in to operate the DVD player the distortion was more pronounced, so there had to be something else at play.

There is definitely some line-of-sight considerations with the wireless transmitter. It's also implied via some of the diagrams in the owners manual. When my wife works out in front of the TV, there is an occasional minor glitch. Otherwise it's rock-solid.

If you are concerned about this you could of course simply bypass the wireless and plug straight in. The TV is still a raging bargain for it's picture quality even ignoring the wireless feature. But the glitches I've seen are so rare and minor that to me it's not worth the 2 minutes of effort to run the HDMI cable.

If you are wound extremely tight about this stuff, you should also know that when turning the TV on, there is delay of several seconds while the TV establishes the connection with the wireless box.
AirKuhl is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 12:48 PM
Member
 
ThoseGuys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am not using the wireless box with mine yet. I am only using hdmi 5 located on the back of the display. I posted in another forum that my menus were inconsistent with what others had reported when recommending settings. Turns out i wasnt crazy... several menu options including picture wizard are not available period. I believe this has something to do with not having the box connected...
ThoseGuys is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoseGuys View Post

i am not using the wireless box with mine yet. I am only using hdmi 5 located on the back of the display. I posted in another forum that my menus were inconsistent with what others had reported when recommending settings. Turns out i wasnt crazy... several menu options including picture wizard are not available period. I believe this has something to do with not having the box connected...

Whoa, that is interesting!
flyers is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 10:28 PM
Member
 
ThoseGuys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ISSUE: My 240hz comes on randomly even though it is set to "off" all of the time. It usually is consistent when staying on one source, but if i change from cable to say ps3 to watch a movie or play a game (vice-versa), it will randomly turn on. It's very noticeable especially with games as artifacts run wild. This might be stemming from not using the media box, but all in all im getting alot of inconsistency from my set these days. Picture still looks awesome though...
ThoseGuys is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 04:36 PM
Member
 
ThoseGuys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i confirmed my suspicions. I finally broke out my wireless box to find that several menu options magically appeared, including the picture wizard and power saver functions. I bought this set only because it gave me one opportunity to use my receiver and bypass the wireless option. Now that i've confirmed that the set is not completely functional without the wireless box (i suppose this should have been intuitive), my thoughts turn to returning the product. For most this isnt an issue i imagine, but for my very particular personality it bugs the heck out of me...
ThoseGuys is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 08:56 PM
Member
 
KnowledgeSeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoseGuys View Post

Well i confirmed my suspicions. I finally broke out my wireless box to find that several menu options magically appeared, including the picture wizard and power saver functions. I bought this set only because it gave me one opportunity to use my receiver and bypass the wireless option. Now that i've confirmed that the set is not completely functional without the wireless box (i suppose this should have been intuitive), my thoughts turn to returning the product. For most this isnt an issue i imagine, but for my very particular personality it bugs the heck out of me...

Just curious, why don't you want to use the wireless box?
KnowledgeSeeker is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 09:31 PM
Member
 
ThoseGuys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i never liked the idea from the get go, but i wanted to get a high end local dimming set. I justified this set because i have a receiver to handle all my business and therefore wouldnt need the media box. Also my current arrangement leaves me no "good" place to place the box. That's why ive said from the beginning that maybe in the future i can put it to good use.
ThoseGuys is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoseGuys View Post

Also my current arrangement leaves me no "good" place to place the box. That's why ive said from the beginning that maybe in the future i can put it to good use.

I have the same problem, that is unless I could put it behind the TV. I suspect that this would not work unless the remote is RF instead of IR and then again I wouldn't be able to use my Harmony remote.

Brian...reporting from the left coast...
Grandude is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If the media box needs line of site then whats the point for most applications...I thought the whole idea was so you can set up components out of site...but if it needs line of sight it defeats the whole purpose, no media cabinet with doors or no equipment closet,
topr is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 11:55 PM
Member
 
ThoseGuys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topr View Post

If the media box needs line of site then whats the point for most applications...I thought the whole idea was so you can set up components out of site...but if it needs line of sight it defeats the whole purpose, no media cabinet with doors or no equipment closet,

Agreed. If i had not had a receiver with hdmi capability i would not have purchased this. While there are a few applications or setups that work nicely with the wireless, for the most part it's not good enough yet to be reliable for everyone. Also, I'm still having bad results with my 240hz.
ThoseGuys is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 08:39 AM
Member
 
best1080plcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 55lhx for a month now, but was only watching standard def content, so I really didn't know how good it really was with 1080p. Everytime I walked into an electronics store, then only had the Samsungs playing Blue Ray movies, and I really was WOWED with the Samsung's picture quality. I would have gotten a Samy in the first place, but I just don't think that I could live with their reflective screen.

Anyways, yesterday I purchased an LGB390 Blue Ray DVD player and played the Transformers-Rise of the Fallen on it in Blue Ray (to compare against the Samy's and to determine whether to return it or not). I was blown away with the image quality of the 55LHX! The clarity is unreal, the black levels are amazing, and I've had no hickups with the wireless media box. You can also get it for around $1300 cheaper than the 8500 Samsung. This one is definitely a keeper for me.
best1080plcd is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
audiosvisuales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought this set. Needed the wireless because the contractor screwed up our cable jacks.... We got the tv set up, it worked for a few days... and this morning, the wireless stopped connecting... right in the middle of the weather report! We've been trying all day to get the thing to work. It shows that it finds the media box, it even shows that its connecting to the media box, but then it just starts the process over. even if the media box is turned off, unplugged and out of the room, the TV wont stop searching like it did when we first set it up. HDMI5 works with the dvd player, but the wireless isn't working at all. When I called LG, they decided to send a tech out, but I wanted to see if anyone new how to fix the problem. U of O plays OSU today and now I can't watch the game!
audiosvisuales is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Hank1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to all, I am a new member, and 55LHX owner.
I have a newbie question.
What is required to view a 1080p signal?
I have HD DirectTV and a standard upconvert DVD palyer. The best I see is 1080i.
Thanks much.
Hank1 is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Barometer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread has been at a standstill lately, probably due to the limited supply of sets. I would recommend asking your question in some other thread if you don't get a response in a day or two. I actually had the same question, and posted it in the Samsung LNxxB650 owners thread.
Barometer is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 09:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
To watch 1080p you need a 1080p source - I have Vudu media player connected to the media box and it displays not only 1080p but also 1080p24.
I also have a blue ray player attached hard wired HDMI to the only input in the set and it displays 1080p24.
I short - all you need is a 1080p source to watch 1080p...
The set is working flawlessly for me....
I have seen the Best Buy online price is now 2999 from 3499 originally but the sets are hard to find.
Ash Sharma is online now  
Old 12-07-2009, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Hank1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info Ash - I now Know.
I looked over vudu and it appears they offer HD and HDX movies. I take it that the HDX are 1080p?
Do you prefer vudu over netflix for HD movies?
How long does it take to actually begin watching the download?
Do you keep free access to already purchased movies, or do you re-pay?
Thanks again.
Hank1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank1 View Post

Hello to all, I am a new member, and 55LHX owner.
I have a newbie question.
What is required to view a 1080p signal?
I have HD DirectTV and a standard upconvert DVD palyer. The best I see is 1080i.
Thanks much.

Did you get your set at Magnolia or where you able to find it someplace else?
topr is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 08:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Ash Sharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TX
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hank,
To watch 1080p all you need is a 1080p source. In my case I use Vudu and Blu Ray (also Tivo which is 720p and 1080i).
I understand DirecTV also shows movies in 1080p you need to check with DirecTV about this.
Vudu is 1080p and I prefer it over Netflix which is available on my TIVO. Vudu is a movie rental service, you create a credit and then use it over time. When I bought my Vudu box they gave me 50 dollars credit which I have not yet used.
Enjoy, it is the best TV I ever got....
Ash
Ash Sharma is online now  
Old 12-07-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Hank1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of the sudden, while watching the TV, it powers off after a few minutes, as if cut off by the remote????

The TV is wall mounted, and is running relatively cool, should not be heat related.

Watching Direct TV via direct HDMI cable.

Any ideas?
Hank1 is offline  
 

Tags
Samsung 55 Inch Led Hdtv Un55b8500 , Lg 55lhx 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off