THE Official LG "55LHX" Owners Thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 3055 Old 12-30-2011, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I have to work from 2PM thru 2AM so I wish everyone a HAPPY NEW YEAR!
KONICA TECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 3055 Old 12-31-2011, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Happy New Year fellow LHX owners.
Slickman is offline  
post #2793 of 3055 Old 12-31-2011, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
-diVe-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone post a link on where to buy the special remote used to access the service menu for the 55LHX?

This is the first tv I've owned where you need a special remote to enter the service menu.

I bleed blu.
-diVe- is offline  
post #2794 of 3055 Old 12-31-2011, 02:55 PM
DDD
Senior Member
 
DDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by -diVe- View Post

Can someone post a link on where to buy the special remote used to access the service menu for the 55LHX?

This is the first tv I've owned where you need a special remote to enter the service menu.

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...13253719267236
DDD is offline  
post #2795 of 3055 Old 12-31-2011, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by -diVe- View Post

Can someone post a link on where to buy the special remote used to access the service menu for the 55LHX?

This is the first tv I've owned where you need a special remote to enter the service menu.

http://www.newtvremotes.com/Mfrs/Zen...V/105-201M.htm
p5browne is offline  
post #2796 of 3055 Old 01-01-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
When I see other people's tvs, I realise just how good the LHX is. My brother has a high end 3D LED from a popular manufacturer. It has great blacks, BUT for some reason the blacks looked like dark blue instead of black. I noticed it immediately, totally took me away from what I was watching. I'm glad my blacks are actually black and are not just a super dark shade of blue. There's really nothing about the picture quality of the LHX that sticks out to me as not being right, I'm going to have this tv for many years.
Slickman is offline  
post #2797 of 3055 Old 01-02-2012, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Pg 90 - Posting 2700:

ISF Pro Calibration on my 55LHX
My calibration whereby the SM WB was calibrated to meet LG's Specs. Then the IREs were calibrated.
Secondly, my calibration whereby the SM WB was calibrated to get 100IRE to be all Zeroes to start off the whole IRE calibration.
This caused the SM WB to go up 11 clicks on Red Gain, and down 2 clicks on Blue Gain.
Still deciding which results I prefer.

Going to stay with my newest calibration. Namely, calibrated the SM White Balance to give me essentially zeroes for 100IRE.

Picking up an OEM i1Display Meter to better handle the lower IREs - i1Pro has tough time in the lower regions getting an accurate reading. Will, of course, compare the i1Disply versus the i1Pro - this might be a good calibrating package for those who want to try and stay on the affordable side. Will let you know how the Meter and the 55LHX get along - hopefully, much better than the Chroma5s did!

The OEM i1Display should be in beginning of next week - looking forward to see how close it comes to my i1Pro findings. If it comes fairly close, will definitely be a cheaper calibration solution for those who want to get in, get good results without the expense. If good, and you're at CES - they'll probably have a deal on from the Vendor on a calibration package. Available both with Spectracal and Calman, or the alternative - Chromapure. (Also possibly CurtPalme) Hope to know either way before CES if you're looking for this sort of thing.
p5browne is offline  
post #2798 of 3055 Old 01-05-2012, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

I agree with you, found my BG at 94 perfect for my set. Any lower and the greenish tinge comes out. I do believe that my brighter viewing enviorment during the day has me push the set to brighter levels than others.
I have my backlight at 50. I tried Slickmans white balance settings from p5brownes stock settings too blue for my taste. Very poppy though.

You are right, it was a bit too blue. I dialed back the blue some, it looks better now. I also bumped up the red tint slightly, my skin tones were a bit too yellow. The resulting image is much warmer than before.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=2699
Slickman is offline  
post #2799 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I finally got a day off so I finished refining my warmer settings. There was a blue sheen over the entire picture, all the colors look so much better now that I've taken it away.
Slickman is offline  
post #2800 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

I finally got a day off so I finished refining my warmer settings. There was a blue sheen over the entire picture, all the colors look so much better now that I've taken it away.

I was where you are now give or take a point or two, and now have my BG at 84 with a warmer picture and the blacks look real black and the whites show more of gradual change with differant shades. For some reason, maybe my adjusting too drastic, it seems when you make minor adjustments they settle in better than when you jump all over the place.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2801 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I know my BG is too high but I don't want to mess with it now because I like the picture I have now. I wish there was a way to A and B two different service menu settings but you can't, you can only go by memory. Anyway, I still feel that for 2D, the picture on the LHX is up there with the best of them.
Slickman is offline  
post #2802 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

I know my BG is too high but I don't want to mess with it now because I like the picture I have now. I wish there was a way to A and B two different service menu settings but you can't, you can only go by memory. Anyway, I still feel that for 2D, the picture on the LHX is up there with the best of them.

Yes you can A-B them if you set Medium temp to the same as your warm setting with the adjustment you want to change and then when you watch something just change from warm to medium temp and you can see the comparison right away and know if you are going in the right direction or not
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2803 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

Yes you can A-B them if you set Medium temp to the same as your warm setting with the adjustment you want to change and then when you watch something just change from warm to medium temp and you can see the comparison right away and know if you are going in the right direction or not

Never thought to do that, good one! I'll have to try this some time.
Slickman is offline  
post #2804 of 3055 Old 01-09-2012, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

Never thought to do that, good one! I'll have to try this some time.

You could also set both your Expert modes the same, and put one at warm, the other on medium and use the Quick menu button to switch back and forth with one click!
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2805 of 3055 Old 01-10-2012, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Here's a little comparison of my old settings vs my new ones. I took the new pic with the flash because the colors came out more accurate, it just crushes blacks slightly with the flash. Anyway, notice the shadows don't look blue anymore. Any blue in the picture now is there because it's supposed to be.

Old Settings



New Settings

Slickman is offline  
post #2806 of 3055 Old 01-10-2012, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I learned a long time ago not to judge picture quality with animation or with cameras through another monitor.
If you are happy that is all that counts.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2807 of 3055 Old 01-10-2012, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Sept 25 ISF Calibrated, 2011 - Using Ext.Pattern Generator, i1Pro Meter and Calman 4.2 (((INNER Screen Patterns instead for Comparison)))
(55LHX Forum Pg 90 - Posting 2700 has the Wife's 55LHX SM WB Cal to Give 100IRE Zereos)

Charly's 55LHX: ISF Pro Calibrated, (Mine: SM WB Cal to Spec Dec 23 2011) ((Mine: SM WB Cal for IRE100 Zereos Jan 5 2012))(((Mine: Using LGs INNER Screens Jan 8 2012)))

Backlight: 60 (36)
Contrast: 84 (85)
Brightness: 52 (50)
H Sharp: 48 (60)
V Sharp: 50 (54)
Colour: 50 (50)
Tint: 0
Gamma: Low
Luminance: 162
White Balance:Warm
RG:146 (171)((181))
GG:158 (192)((192))
BG:24 (60)((58))
RC:63 (63)
GC:63 (62)
BC:52 (63)

IREs:
100:R-1,G0,B-8 (2, -8 -7)((0, 0, 0))(((0, 0, 0)))
90:R5,G6,B-7 (12 0, -13)((11, 11, -1))(((8, 6, -4)))
80:R3,G3,B-6 (14, 2 -13)((10, 6, -8))(((10, 5, -9)))
70:R1,G0,B-8 (10, 0, -8)((9, 5, -4))(((6, 1, -10)))
60:R0,G0,B-10 (5, -5, -13)((3, 0, -9))(((3, 0, -8)))
50:R-2,G-4,B-12 (4, -6, -16)((3, -1, -9))(((0 -4, -14)))
40:R-4,G-7,B-14 (-1, -10, -17)((-1, -6, -12))(((-3. -7, -14)))
30:R-5,G-9,B-13 (-6, -12, -16)((-4, -8, -12))(((-7, -10, -14)))
20:R-4,G-5,B-7 (-6, -10, -13)((-7, -8, -12))(((-10, -11, -14)))
10:R0,G-1,B-3 (-7, -7, -13)((-4, -6, -12))(((-8, -9, -14)))

CMS: Zeroes - All Colours in their respective Boxes within the Triangle

My new i1Display Meter using Pattern Generator and Calman 4.2 - SM WB cal to 100IRE Zereos Jan10 2012 (Future - i1Display Profiled from i1Pro Meter)

RG: 175 ()
GG: 192 ()
BG: 46 ()
R: 62 ()
G: 61 ()
B: 62 ()
IREs:
100: 0, 0, 0 ()
90: 9, 5, -4 ()
80: 8, 8, -7 ()
70: 8, 3, -5 ()
60: 2, -2, -10 ()
50: 1, -2, -9 ()
40: -3, -9, -12 ()
30: -7, -9, -12 ()
20: -7, -9, -10 ()
10: -4, -5, -12 ()

CMS Zeroes - All Colours in their respective Boxes within the Triangle
Fine tuning on the i1Display settings next.

SM=Service Menu WB=White Balance
p5browne is offline  
post #2808 of 3055 Old 01-11-2012, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
OMG that LG 55" OLED is just wow! I can't believe it only weighs 16.5 pounds, and only 4 mm thick.
Slickman is offline  
post #2809 of 3055 Old 01-14-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Best I can do with 2 point.

Backlight: 60
Contrast: 84
Brightness: 52
H Sharp: 60
V Sharp: 54
Color: 50
Tint: 0

Expert Control

Dynamic Contrast: Off
Noise Reduction: Off
Gamma: Low
Black Level: Low
Color Gamut: Standard
Edge Enhancer: Off
White Balance: Warm
2 Point IRE:
RC -5
GC -7
BC -9
RB -5
GB -12
BB -17

CMS:
Red Color: -5
Red Tint: -2
Green Color: 0
Green Tint: 4
Blue Color: 0
Blue Tint: 4
Yellow Color: 0
Yellow Tint: 2
Cyan Color: 0
Cyan Tint: 2
Magenta Color: -2
Magenta Tint: 4

P5Browne's Stock Service menu setting

RG 192
GG 158
BG 107
RC 64
GC 63
BC 64
Slickman is offline  
post #2810 of 3055 Old 01-14-2012, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

OMG that LG 55" OLED is just wow! I can't believe it only weighs 16.5 pounds, and only 4 mm thick.

This is a big Elite killer at 55". It just puts everything else to shame.
This was the set that when I came home and turned on my LHX, a tear drop was falling. And top it off with 3D
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2811 of 3055 Old 01-14-2012, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

This is a big Elite killer at 55". It just puts everything else to shame.
This was the set that when I came home and turned on my LHX, a tear drop was falling. And top it off with 3D

Yeah it looks absolutely amazing. It seems to have the strengths of plasma and LED with no weaknesses.
Slickman is offline  
post #2812 of 3055 Old 01-14-2012, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

Yeah it looks absolutely amazing. It seems to have the strengths of plasma and LED with no weaknesses.

Were you here at the showing, wish I knew, we could have gotten together at the AVS party! Or are you going by reviews...
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2813 of 3055 Old 01-14-2012, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I was going by reviews and research on the technology itself. It has viewing angles like a plasma, the deepest blacks, the least power consumption, they weigh the least, and they have the fastest response time(even faster than plasma). I mean, they seem to not have any weakness to me, except for the cost of it.
Slickman is offline  
post #2814 of 3055 Old 01-15-2012, 01:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

I was going by reviews and research on the technology itself. It has viewing angles like a plasma, the deepest blacks, the least power consumption, they weigh the least, and they have the fastest response time(even faster than plasma). I mean, they seem to not have any weakness to me, except for the cost of it.

I tried on several differant reps to squeeze some price out of them but failed We still have to wait and see if this set will hit the streets this year, I have my doubts.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2815 of 3055 Old 01-15-2012, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So, did this sucker have any depth to the picture? Thats a good thing about the tears though. This means we have something special to look forward to.
Dianabol5mg is online now  
post #2816 of 3055 Old 01-15-2012, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Even if the tv looks just like the LHX except with better motion and better viewing angles, I'd be happy.
Slickman is offline  
post #2817 of 3055 Old 01-15-2012, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

Even if the tv looks just like the LHX except with better motion and better viewing angles, I'd be happy.

It was a great picture with the feed they were using, and I could not find out anything about that except it was a 1080p signal. Add to that it was 3D on 3 sets and 2D setup on the other side with a differant feed.
There is always the possibility they change something in manufactioning that may change how the set performs to cut costs like they have been known to do.

I saw no motion handling problems or off-angle issues.
But I was not watching a hockey or football game.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2818 of 3055 Old 01-15-2012, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Designed for Middle Eastern and Far Eastern, Rich Asians and Rich Middle Easterners! Too expensive for North American pockets!
We keep getting the low end edge lit stuff, and higher end stuff that stays on the market for 2 weeks before getting pulled. The 55LV9500 was the only exception in the last 2 years. Lucky for us, a Forum Member alerted us to this great deal when he saw it! (I wonder were the 55LW9800s ended up?)
Plus the lucky members who hopped on the 55LHX wagon as well. (Well at least those who ended up with the good sets.)
p5browne is offline  
post #2819 of 3055 Old 01-16-2012, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Dianabol5mg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Designed for Middle Eastern and Far Eastern, Rich Asians and Rich Middle Easterners! Too expensive for North American pockets!
We keep getting the low end edge lit stuff, and higher end stuff that stays on the market for 2 weeks before getting pulled. The 55LV9500 was the only exception in the last 2 years. Lucky for us, a Forum Member alerted us to this great deal when he saw it! (I wonder were the 55LW9800s ended up?)
Plus the lucky members who hopped on the 55LHX wagon as well. (Well at least those who ended up with the good sets.)

Hey, wasn't that me?
Dianabol5mg is online now  
post #2820 of 3055 Old 01-22-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
aviator79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wireless box seems to be going out. Worked fine for over a year but now I am getting a red blinking red power light. Previously I was able to press it to make it turn green and it will connect, but not this morning. My wife said this happened to her the other day, but when I came home from work I was able to get it to connect. I have other problems with the set as well. DSE appeared recently. I did not have it when I first got the set which is really weird. I have had the Trumotion bug from the beginning and I am not sure how to fix that. My other issue seems to be with my directTV as sometimes the bottom 1/3 of the screen will get all glitchy and jittery when things are moving around. I'm not sure if this is my direct TV or a bad HDMI cable or the wireless or what. But Blu-rays I never have a problem so...who knows.
Anyways, I just got a Kinect and had to buy a 15' extension to reach the corner of the room where everything is located, so I figure a 25' HDMI cable should reach but it will be close. I believe this is what some of you are doing. Any help would be appreciated. Should I call LG? Will they fix the trumotion bug for me for free? Would love it if they would fix the panel and the wireless too...
LL
aviator79 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 55 Inch Led Hdtv Un55b8500 , Lg 55lhx 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Un55b8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off