THE Official LG "55LHX" Owners Thread - Page 95 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviator79 View Post

My wireless box seems to be going out. Worked fine for over a year but now I am getting a red blinking red power light. Previously I was able to press it to make it turn green and it will connect, but not this morning. My wife said this happened to her the other day, but when I came home from work I was able to get it to connect. I have other problems with the set as well. DSE appeared recently. I did not have it when I first got the set which is really weird. I have had the Trumotion bug from the beginning and I am not sure how to fix that. My other issue seems to be with my directTV as sometimes the bottom 1/3 of the screen will get all glitchy and jittery when things are moving around. I'm not sure if this is my direct TV or a bad HDMI cable or the wireless or what. But Blu-rays I never have a problem so...who knows.
Anyways, I just got a Kinect and had to buy a 15' extension to reach the corner of the room where everything is located, so I figure a 25' HDMI cable should reach but it will be close. I believe this is what some of you are doing. Any help would be appreciated. Should I call LG? Will they fix the trumotion bug for me for free? Would love it if they would fix the panel and the wireless too...

I think the bulk of the members, have put the Media Box to the side, and are directly connecting from the AVR, or some of us are using the iScan Duo. I assume you have tried the direct approach off your AVR?
p5browne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 12:21 PM
Member
 
aviator79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

I think the bulk of the members, have put the Media Box to the side, and are directly connecting from the AVR, or some of us are using the iScan Duo. I assume you have tried the direct approach off your AVR?

Well I got the TV because my equipment is 20 feet away in the opposite corner of the room and I assumed I would need a super long HDMI cable to reach. So the fact that the LHX was wireless was what sold me on the TV. The media box worked fine until now. However, who knows if it is the cause of my issues and not the Direct TV. I just doubt it because I never have problems with blu-rays. I was able to get it working one last time by unplugging the media box and TV, letting them sit for 30 seconds but that was a fluke. Now again the media box will get a red blinking power light so it's done.
I have never tried hooking my AVR directly to the TV, but I bought a 25' HDMI cable and hope to have it Friday to run it thru the attic. I just hope it reaches.
Now, I didn't have the serial number when I called LG, but if I am out of warrantee, how do I get the trumotion bug fixed? I remember when this thread was 9 pages long. Im just not sure where the post is about how to fix it.
Also, can you see the DSE in the picture I posted? That's pretty crazy right? My TV did not have this when I first got it. Oh wellcant afford another one.
Thanks.
aviator79 is offline  
post #2823 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviator79 View Post

Well I got the TV because my equipment is 20 feet away in the opposite corner of the room and I assumed I would need a super long HDMI cable to reach. So the fact that the LHX was wireless was what sold me on the TV. The media box worked fine until now. However, who knows if it is the cause of my issues and not the Direct TV. I just doubt it because I never have problems with blu-rays. I was able to get it working one last time by unplugging the media box and TV, letting them sit for 30 seconds but that was a fluke. Now again the media box will get a red blinking power light so it’s done.
I have never tried hooking my AVR directly to the TV, but I bought a 25’ HDMI cable and hope to have it Friday to run it thru the attic. I just hope it reaches.
Now, I didn’t have the serial number when I called LG, but if I am out of warrantee, how do I get the trumotion bug fixed? I remember when this thread was 9 pages long. Im just not sure where the post is about how to fix it.
Also, can you see the DSE in the picture I posted? That’s pretty crazy right? My TV did not have this when I first got it. Oh well…cant afford another one.
Thanks.

http://136.166.4.200/SubPages/firmware/firmware.htm

Bottom of the page.

Purchase the Blu-ray version of Pixel Protector - Apply the Pixel Washes - Works great! First Wash run for 6 hours, (Sort of B&W with Colour) 2nd Wash 2 Hours, (Colour) last Wash 1 hour (All White). Konica and I find these do a great job. If you happen to have the Disney WOW Blu-ray - it has a Flicker program on it to do the same sort of thing - just nowhere as good though.
p5browne is offline  
post #2824 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

I think the bulk of the members, have put the Media Box to the side, and are directly connecting from the AVR, or some of us are using the iScan Duo. I assume you have tried the direct approach off your AVR?

Absolutely wrong. We love our media boxes. And don't follow any snake oil advice from the eccentrics/manipulators. But do carefully follow the upgrade instructions included in the link provided by Mr. Browne. The DSE is a result of luminance nonuniformities, which can creep up with age. Reference the service manual to re-pair the media box with your panel.

-nony
nony is offline  
post #2825 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I put my media box in the closet as soon as I got it, haven't used it yet.
Slickman is offline  
post #2826 of 3055 Old 01-25-2012, 08:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by nony View Post

Absolutely wrong. We love our media boxes. And don't follow any snake oil advice from the eccentrics/manipulators. But do carefully follow the upgrade instructions included in the link provided by Mr. Browne. The DSE is a result of luminance nonuniformities, which can creep up with age. Reference the service manual to re-pair the media box with your panel.

-nony

Say Nony, did you see that picture he posted? That looks real bad. Do you think LG should have some one look at that? If it were my set I would see if they could at least make some kind of adjustment for the repairs needed.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2827 of 3055 Old 01-27-2012, 03:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
nony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Village, NYC
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

Say Nony, did you see that picture he posted? That looks real bad. Do you think LG should have some one look at that? If it were my set I would see if they could at least make some kind of adjustment for the repairs needed.

Yes - LG should take a look and make a good faith effort to diagnose the problem and provide an estimate of the required T&E (parts and labor). It might even be sufficent to reseat the cards and the cabling - without a board swap, (as is often suggested in the troubleshooting flowcharts). Even, if out of warranty, the set should not die after a year of use. In my book, that would be totally unacceptable.


-nony
nony is offline  
post #2828 of 3055 Old 01-27-2012, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheaterChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
With the pic that Aviator posted, if still under warranty, they would do something, when LG direct came to my house about a panel replacement, there was no hesitation to my concern, they came and took out the panel, and that was it.

Another suggestion is you may be able to diagnose which board is causing the problem, but good luck finding a replacement board on E-bay, as I did repairing several set's ( family and friends ) I've replaced many power supply boards with finding them on e-bay, also finding some schematics with just replacing the bad caps, but the remaining LHX set's that are still in the warehouses have to be getting close to major fire sale, as they were not clearanced out last black friday.....

With regards to the media box, I have not touched the box that it came in, and for one, I don't understand why anyone would consider using it, since the best, documented, and common sense way for best picture quality is HDMI direct to the TV, and or, HDMI direct from the AVR to the LHX, and have total switching of best sources, why does some one rely on wireless HD video? I keep laughing at this, it's the same argument with wireless internet, which is still open to interference, with a little extra effort just like me, I ran 2 Shielded Cat6 lines ( and QS RG6 ) to each and every bedroom, family room, bar, proch, kitchen, garage, living room, etc and just ran most of them from the basement, or ran the rest from the attic, after you see the difference, no one would ever consider wireless again, the time is near, you will not be able to rent DVD or blu-rays anymore, the movie studios, are moving to streaming movies mostly due to piracy, and more control, try streaming multiple movies, and using the internet, and get back to me with the mega turtle speed you will have.....

Edit:
I guess in the end it's up to each person if wireless is really needed, sometimes with some people situations it may be the only option, I keep reading more and more HDMI wireless products out each year, and it keep's getting promising more and more each year goes buy.
TheaterChad is offline  
post #2829 of 3055 Old 02-01-2012, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
D3 i1Display was profiled off the i1Pro:

55LHX New calibrations - Thanks to Konica Tech for finding that ALL the SM WBs need to be Calibrated to get the greatest PQ!
Wife and I swapped 55LHXs - I now have the TV that tends towards Golden, and she now has the TV that tends towards Green.
My 55LHX : the Wife's 55LHX
SM WB: Cool/Medium/Warm

RG: 164/180/209 : 136/154/177
GG: 192/192/192 : 192/192/192
BG: 160/127/76 : 130/104/48
RC: 64/64/64 : 64/64/64
GC: 63/63/63 : 63/63/63
BC: 64/64/64 : 64/64/64

BL: 30 : 37
CT: 87 : 85
BR: 48 : 50
HS: 56 : 56
VS: 52 : 54
CL: 50 : 50
Tnt: 0 : 0

Gamma Low, White Balance Warm
IRE
100: -6/0/2 : 0/0/0
90 : 8/10/5 : 12/4/-6
80 : 15/12/3 : 10/6/-4
70 : 14/10/4 : 8/4/-3
60 : 12/7/3 : 3/-2/-8
50 : 11/7/2 : 2/-3/-11
40 : 7/0/-4 : -4/-8/-12
30 : 2/-2/-6 : -6/-10/-12
20 : 0/-3/-3 : -7/-9/-11
10 : 1/-1/-4 : -4/-5/-12

The PQs on the sets after calibrating ALL the SM WBs is just superb!
The sets now have a greater depth of field, and look more natural.
Note: Our sets, our environments: As seen above there are differences.
Great deals on DIY calibration packages, both at Spectracal, ChromaPure and CurtPalme.
Service Remote is preferred for doing Service Menu White Balance Setups.
Have the Spectracal C6 coming in next week.
[url]http://store.spectracal.com/consumer/meters/spectracal-c6.html[url]

C6 arrived - will post settings after calibration.

2 new findings:
Despite repeated talks to 2 main calibrating firms, and requesting for full screen calibrating patterns, had to find out on my own, the iScan Duo is capable of Full Screen Patterns. Now that I found this out, find that my method of measuring every 9" across the panel to find the lowest Blue value point to calibrate - realized this only pertains to those doing IRE Greyscale calibrations only. For those of us now calibrating the Service Menu White Balances to LG Specs first - Center Screen is just fine.
p5browne is offline  
post #2830 of 3055 Old 02-12-2012, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
55LHX New calibrations Comparisons: C6, C6 profiled from i1Pro, and i1Pro
Normal setups performed using the AVCHD Ver.D DVD Patterns
White Balance in the Service Menu Calibrated to LG Specs:
White Balance Reset before each calibration. IREs and CMS Zeroed Out before each calibration
C6 and C6 profiled - Red Cut in SM had to be increased to meet LG Specs.

My 55LHX : C6 : C6 Profiled : i1Pro
SM WB: Cool/Medium/Warm

RG: 174/192/189 : 171/188/192 : 165/183/192
GG: 192/192/192 : 192/192/176 : 192/192/182
BG: 150/121/66 : 163/130/54 : 156/126/62
RC: 64/64/69 : 64/64/68 : 64/64/64
GC: 63/63/63 : 63/63/63 : 63/63/63
BC: 64/64/64 : 64/64/62 : 64/64/64

BL: 30
CT: 79
BR: 52
HS: 56
VS: 52
CL: 52
Tnt: 0

Gamma Low, White Balance Warm

IRE
100: 12/0/4 : 1/1/4 : 1/0/0
90 : 38/8/2 : 12/6/6 : 14/2/-2
80 : 38/7/1 : 12/0/3 : 12/1/-3
70 : 33/5/2 : 10/-3/3 : 12/0/-1
60 : 28/0/-4 : 5/-3/-2 : 5/-4/-6
50 : 23/1/-3 : 6/-3/-5 : 8/-2/-6
40 : 16/-4/-8 : 0/-6/-5 : 2/-8/-10
30 : 8/-8/-10 : -4/-11/-11 : -4/-10/-13
20 : 1/-11/-11 : -6/-12/-8 : -6/-12/-10
10 : -3/-8/-12 : -5/-9/-12 : -6/-7/-13

Big difference from C6 to the C6 profiled and i1Pro.
At first, C6 profiled looked very good, but in some scenes very slight Red tinge seen on White Surfaces and Skin tones.
No Red traces seen on the i1Pro calibration.
New Surprise! Decided to take my Chroma5s out of the dresser and do a calibration with the new system. Chroma5 Standard - didn't - pass (Green Overtones) - sent for repairs. My old Original Enhanced Chroma5, that had been re-calibrated by Spectracal - surprised the heck out of me by giving an excellent calibration, and it was just a quicky calibration. Will let sit until Saturday night, fine tune, then post the settings.

Tonight, purchased and watched the Disney Snow Buddies Blu-ray, plus watched the Disney Earth Blu-ray a couple of days ago - man this LG 55LHX just gets better looking all the time! Will fine tune with the Chroma5 later tonight - already impressed by just the quickie calibration. If only I knew of this calibrating technique a long time ago! Would have saved hundreds of calibrating dollars, tons of wasted hours, and be more ahead getting through my forever growing Blu-ray collection!
p5browne is offline  
post #2831 of 3055 Old 02-19-2012, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
March 12, 2012
My 55LHX - Basic Setups by AVCHD DVD - Calibrated with i1ProS and ChromaPure using LG LED/LCD setting
Set turned off overnight to allow LG's Reset to take place:

This best results to this date. This is on the LG 55LHX tending towards Yellow
White Balance on Warm, Gamma on Low
ChromaPure using i1ProsS and Gamma corrected to 2.2 from 10 to 100IRE

BL: 33
CT: 81
BR: 52:
HS: 56
VS: 52
CL: 51
TN: 0

Service Menu White Balance:
Cool/Medium/Warm
RG: 162/180/192
GG: 192/192/192
BG: 156/125/72
RC: 64/64/65
GC: 63/63/63
BC: 64/64/64

GreyScale IREs: R/G/B
100: 7/0/1
90 : 27/9/0
80 : 26/6/-3
70 : 24/4/-4
60 : 18/0/-6
50 : 14/0/-8
40 : 8/-7/-10
30 : 7/-5/-8
20 : 0/-6/-5
10 : 2/1/-2
p5browne is offline  
post #2832 of 3055 Old 02-29-2012, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Here's what I'm running now, looks very good.

Backlight: 56
Contrast: 85
Brightness: 52
H Sharp: 60
V Sharp: 54
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Gamma: Low
White Balance: Warm
2 Point IRE:
Red Contrast -1
Green Contrast 1
Blue Contrast -1
Red Brightness 3
Green Brightness -10
Blue Brightness -18

CMS:
Red Color: -5
Red Tint: 0
Green Color: 0
Green Tint: 4
Blue Color: 2
Blue Tint: 4
Yellow Color: 0
Yellow Tint: 2
Cyan Color: 0
Cyan Tint: 4
Magenta Color: -2
Magenta Tint: 2

P5Browne's Stock Service menu setting

RG 192
GG 158
BG 107
RC 64
GC 63
BC 64
Slickman is offline  
post #2833 of 3055 Old 02-29-2012, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Glad you are still happy with your set as I am. Enjoy!
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2834 of 3055 Old 02-29-2012, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Finally switched over to the ChromaPure Calibrating Software that supports our LG TVs.
Have done 2 calibrations, the second to fix up a small problem causing Green patches by the first. No longer any Green patches, nor Yellow tinges. Letting go for 2 days of viewing, and if still satisfied, will post the results.

See Posting #2831 Above - ChromaPure and i1Pro Calibration using iScan Duo Patterns, added.

Wife's 55LHX now calibrated with the Calman, i1Pro and iScan Duo Pattern generator. Will post later this weekend.
p5browne is offline  
post #2835 of 3055 Old 03-06-2012, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What exact settings are you using? There's so many settings there that it's kind of confusing. Thanks
Slickman is offline  
post #2836 of 3055 Old 03-06-2012, 09:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
The ones all the way to the right are the latest, but were too red for my set, skin tones looked like a lobster. That does not mean they will not work for someone else, these sets do seem to vary a lot.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2837 of 3055 Old 03-12-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheaterChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Are you guy's still playing around with your settings? Your kidding right?

I have not touched any settings since Slickman posted his settings a long time ago!!! It's been more than good enough!!!
TheaterChad is offline  
post #2838 of 3055 Old 03-12-2012, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Newest settings - ChromaPure, i1ProS, iScan Duo
Gamma was corrected to 2.2 from 10 to 100IRE - Thanks - Catmother!
Please note - These settings are for the 55LHXs tending towards Yellow.
Will post the 55LHX tending towards Green once I've done the ChromaPure Gamma correction.

Checking your tendency:
Expert 1 or 2 - Picture Reset - Turn Colour down to Zero - Now what Colour is your screen?
If, you're extremely lucky - your picture will be Black and White.
If, you're like the rest of us, your screen will have a Green, Yellow, Red, etc look about it. This is what I call that particular set has a tendency towards. My 2 sets - one Green, one Yellow. This is why we calibrate - to try and overcome our set's tendencies. The sets also tend to change over a 4 hour period and then tend to level off. So, I leave my set run 4 hours, before calibrating.
LGs have a tendency to elevate the Blue levels the longer they're on. Now my set is heading towards 2 years, it's now the Red that's starting to elevate.
p5browne is offline  
post #2839 of 3055 Old 03-12-2012, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Slickman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheaterChad View Post

Are you guy's still playing around with your settings? Your kidding right?

I have not touched any settings since Slickman posted his settings a long time ago!!! It's been more than good enough!!!

I'm not messing with mine anymore.
Slickman is offline  
post #2840 of 3055 Old 03-13-2012, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheaterChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickman View Post

I'm not messing with mine anymore.

Ahh, that's ok, I'm a joker, I like to kid around sometimes, if you guys keep improving the settings, I'm all for it!! It is appreciated with you efforts of best possible picture.

I've been enjoying the settings you posted long time ago, and it looks great, even friends that come over can't believe how much detail and clairity the image is,

I can't believe QVC still has these set's at the same price for the last 3-4 months, and they have been sitting on pallets for well for almost a year, someone dropped the ball on doing a clearance on these, but who would take a chance on set's that have been sitting in a warehouse for that long?
TheaterChad is offline  
post #2841 of 3055 Old 03-13-2012, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheaterChad View Post

Ahh, that's ok, I'm a joker, I like to kid around sometimes, if you guys keep improving the settings, I'm all for it!! It is appreciated with you efforts of best possible picture.

I've been enjoying the settings you posted long time ago, and it looks great, even friends that come over can't believe how much detail and clairity the image is,

I can't believe QVC still has these set's at the same price for the last 3-4 months, and they have been sitting on pallets for well for almost a year, someone dropped the ball on doing a clearance on these, but who would take a chance on set's that have been sitting in a warehouse for that long?

Maybe this is the clearance price. The MSRP was around 5,000 wasn't it?
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2842 of 3055 Old 03-13-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheaterChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

Maybe this is the clearance price. The MSRP was around 5,000 wasn't it?

Maybe when LG was starting to bring it to market, but I never saw a LHX at my local best buy magnolia room, or it would have been there, the only set's I've seen that much are the 65" panny's, and the 70" new sharp elites.

I doubt the current price is the clearance price, as there are so many set's that are less than that, especially brand new set's, I wonder how LG is going to honor warranty issues, with set's that have been stored in a warehouse for almost a year, do you get a different warranty at time of purchase,
TheaterChad is offline  
post #2843 of 3055 Old 03-14-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I seem to remember Forum Members mentioning that when they called LG, LG was questioning their purchase date timing. I guess they didn't expect to have sets still available for retail sale, this late in the game! (Nov 2009 Build date, possibly now into March 2010)
p5browne is offline  
post #2844 of 3055 Old 03-14-2012, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My point is the selling point right now is less than half the original MSRP. And you think it should be less? It may happen, good luck.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2845 of 3055 Old 03-14-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
They know, people in the know, are finding these New mirror front TVs, with the sidelit flashlight LEDs, just can't compare to the 55LHX. It has it's weaknesses, but, to alot of us, find it has elements of PQ, none of the current crop can touch - so they continue to sell.
Prices only drop, when the demand wanes - I guess it's not waning!

Now, there is that new Nano LG 55LM9600 coming up that look's interesting!

Thanks to Konica for bringing this new set to my attention!

http://hdguru.com/panasonic-2012-tc-...619/#more-7619
p5browne is offline  
post #2846 of 3055 Old 04-06-2012, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I'm looking for a good deal on a new or used 55LHX.
Chad B is offline  
post #2847 of 3055 Old 04-06-2012, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

I'm looking for a good deal on a new or used 55LHX.

QVC still has them
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #2848 of 3055 Old 04-06-2012, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airgas1998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42degsN 92degsW
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONICA TECH View Post

QVC still has them

so does Newegg...

Habit Forming....Wallet Burning Hobby....

64" Samsung F8500 Plasma
55" Samsung B8500 Full Array Lcd
Channel Master Dvr
Onkyo 818
Crown xls-2000
Sony Blu-Ray 790
Svs Ultra Towers/Center, Energy Rc-50 Surround
Svs Pb-13 Ultra Sub
airgas1998 is offline  
post #2849 of 3055 Old 04-06-2012, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 185
buy.c_m still listing them as well.
p5browne is offline  
post #2850 of 3055 Old 04-06-2012, 10:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by airgas1998 View Post

so does Newegg...

That is a great price!
KONICA TECH is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 55 Inch Led Hdtv Un55b8500 , Lg 55lhx 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off