Need help diagnosing problem with Samsung LNT-5271F (Tech advice needed!) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 10-27-2009, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACEdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SAMSUNG LNT-5271F ISSUE. IN SOUTH FLORIDA. ANYONE LOCAL FOR REPAIR?

I was told to start a new thread on this.
Can anyone tell me whats going on? If someone can reference the exact part I need, I don't mind fixing it myself. I'm out of the warranty period as of June. owned.
Starts up and lasts for about 10 minutes and then disappears. Then reappears! Starting to get SUPER ANNOYING! Its on every source. When I unplug everything it still shows up....so its not source related. It even happens with I turn off the 120hz feature and also in game mode. Weird.
I would appreciate any fellow techies helping out below and pay mega bucks for a repair house call.


Pics below.... Thx
It only shows up on the bottom right side of the screen.







ACEdubs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 10-27-2009, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACEdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to the top. looking for input
ACEdubs is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 10-27-2009, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I don't think there are alot of techs lurking in this forum.

When it happens, compress the lower right quadrant of the bezel with your hands. If it fixes it, it could be a simple (relatively speaking) mechanical problem.
MrBobb is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 10-28-2009, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACEdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb View Post

I don't think there are alot of techs lurking in this forum.

When it happens, compress the lower right quadrant of the bezel with your hands. If it fixes it, it could be a simple (relatively speaking) mechanical problem.

OK, I squeezed it and kinda pushed backwards. It flexed and the problem went away. When the problem came back I squeezed it again. Problem went away. What exactly does this mean? Thx for the info.
ACEdubs is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 10-28-2009, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
Aragorn151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My set is having the same problem its right around the 2 year mark. I havent been able to find out alot on this problem yet as its hard to describe but a picture says 1000 words
Aragorn151 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 10-28-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACEdubs View Post

OK, I squeezed it and kinda pushed backwards. It flexed and the problem went away. When the problem came back I squeezed it again. Problem went away. What exactly does this mean? Thx for the info.

That's a good sign! That means connection(s) in that corner is loose and all u have to do is tightening it up.

Look for screws that hold down the bezel. If they are screws at that corner, simply tighten the screw(s) up, one quarter turn at a time, don't overdo it.

If that doesn't work then u have to disassemble the unit and look inside and go from there.

Post pix, am sure other ppl will find that useful.
MrBobb is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 10-30-2009, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
RAE129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ACEdubs, i think it may be the FRC board.
RAE129 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-18-2009, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
RAE129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ACEdubs, any luck? My screen is still messed up.
RAE129 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-18-2009, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Wizard256's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad news. LCD panel itself. Squeezing the area at the edge confirms this, three options:

Replace panel ($$$).

Buy new better LCD TV (samsung not a problem still. Any makers can get affected by a failing panel anyway and is same technologies in how it is constructed).

Send panel to LCD panel repair to rebond the bad connection of tape circuits (there is several businesses found on google).

Your LCD of this vintage has T-CON board is at top center and is not the problem since this usually cause noise or no picture whole panel itself.

Newer Samsung LCD TVs (starting this late 2008 and 2009) their panels is flipped 180 with T-CON at bottom so LVDS cable is now shorter run and allows T-CON board and Y lines buffers to run cooler).

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard256 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 12-19-2009, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Extreme_Boky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the problem may be fixed temporarily by pushing the cables against the screen.... and the fix could last for years..... with minor adjustments every 6 months (similar to oil change... every six months...)...

Boky
Extreme_Boky is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-13-2010, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
ironmike77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having the exact problem with my lnt5271,just wanted to know if anyboby has had this problem serviced,and exactly what repairs were needed?
ironmike77 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-14-2010, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACEdubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironmike77 View Post

I am having the exact problem with my lnt5271,just wanted to know if anyboby has had this problem serviced,and exactly what repairs were needed?

I took the back cover off and saw nothing out of the ordinary. So I've been dealing with the problem ever since.
ACEdubs is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 05-27-2010, 08:18 PM
Member
 
NetViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am starting to have this problem as well.

So are you just pressing on the screen when you have it? How long does it go away?

Did you ever contact Samsung?
NetViper is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 05-27-2010, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
its failed tab bond(s) you can find a good thread on here that a guy put together on his Sony that had the same problem

this is a well known defect of these panels from 2007 that both sony and samsung used the difference sony actually acknowledged the problem and is still replacing peoples panels free of charge while Samsung is doing what samsung does best and ignoring its disappointed customer base

in effort to halt the incoming samsung fanboi rage i will simply say this.

Samsung does make good products generally speaking but their treatment of customers either still in warranty or out of warranty is terrible and there is tons of evidence to be found to show this and that is why i will never buy a Samsung product again or recommend them to friends/family.

edit:
found the thread with detailed information on how to "temporarily" correct the problem by applying pressure to the problem tab bond(s)

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post17433564

If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on Input Lag
frito is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-18-2011, 07:26 PM
Member
 
NetViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem is getting worse. Did any of you get yours fixed?

I called samsung And they claim they have never heard of this problem and told me to call a local repair shop.

3000 tv useless after 3 years. I won't buy samsung again. Very upsetting.
NetViper is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off