Vizio VM230XVT LED Razor. 23inch - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 113 Old 01-17-2010, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Rob2NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: metro New York & southern Vermont
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyoms View Post

i was thinking about getting this to use with a wii, have a small space for it. The price seems right is this a good buy for this type of use?

Can't imagine why not, particularly since wii isn't hi-def (only 480p).

Rob Robinson
Pain makes man think . . . thought makes man wise . . . wisdom makes life endurable.
Rob2NY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 113 Old 01-27-2010, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Thatsnasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob2NY View Post

Can't imagine why not, particularly since wii isn't hi-def (only 480p).

Is this thread still alive? I want to buy this t.v. like, right now, hah. I most the thread and it seems perfect for my monitor.

Does anyone else have suggestions or links on where to find this in Canada?

Is there anything else good in this price range? This seems to be the best deal for a monitor right now.

Thanks.
Thatsnasty is offline  
post #63 of 113 Old 01-27-2010, 10:01 PM
Newbie
 
poker-pauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best Buy sells an Insignia that's nice too;
http://insigniaproducts.com/products...22E430A10.html

One nice thing about the Vizio is that it has a built in QAM decoder so I can watch HD DTV signals without paying for cable service!

Read more about that here;
http://www.hdtvtunerinfo.com/hdtvpctunerqam.html
poker-pauly is offline  
post #64 of 113 Old 01-28-2010, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cawgijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a very nce looking TV. I'd really like to see this in a 26" size however. I'm sure Vizio will come out with one.
cawgijoe is offline  
post #65 of 113 Old 01-28-2010, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
poker-pauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, take the customer reviews on the Vizio with a pinch of salt.
I gave them a good review but mentioned the communications problem regarding the flash drive for the PLT and they decided not to publish my comment.
poker-pauly is offline  
post #66 of 113 Old 01-28-2010, 12:30 PM
Member
 
ndb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else have a problem with the menu randomly popping on and off the screen while watching TV?

Any ideas why this is happening or how to fix it?
ndb3 is offline  
post #67 of 113 Old 02-02-2010, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
meadowblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndb3 View Post

Anyone else have a problem with the menu randomly popping on and off the screen while watching TV?

Any ideas why this is happening or how to fix it?

I had this problem (menu popping out every 30 seconds) the other day while i was watching tv and folding clothes at the same time. Since this menu was to be activated upon touch sensing i figured i was somehow changing the capacitance near the sensor. One possible culprit was the pile of clothes with all the static. Luckily the problem went away after i've folded my clothes and put them away, or else, i was about to talk off my fleece. LOL. Long story short -- try not generating too much static charge near the TV.
meadowblue is offline  
post #68 of 113 Old 02-02-2010, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
meadowblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the calibrated picture settings for this puppy?
Appreciate it if you could share.
meadowblue is offline  
post #69 of 113 Old 02-02-2010, 06:03 PM
Member
 
javajunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Warning. These sets have a tinny sound to them. I ending up getting a Sony so I could hear more dialog. For these smaller tvs, I think sound clarity is as important as contrast.
javajunky is offline  
post #70 of 113 Old 02-03-2010, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeffden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got one for my son's bedroom TV a few days back. We are using the flash drive for pausing the TV (it's a mini-DVR ). Works pretty well for pausing a bit. The navigation to catch back up and to skip commercials is pretty jerky, but for the price, how can you complain about it?

Jeff
jeffden is offline  
post #71 of 113 Old 02-03-2010, 02:28 PM
Member
 
ndb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by meadowblue View Post

Does anyone have the calibrated picture settings for this puppy?
Appreciate it if you could share.

Someone posted their personal settings in another thread...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...light=vm230xvt
ndb3 is offline  
post #72 of 113 Old 02-03-2010, 11:05 PM
 
DocuMaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How dark is the optical coating on the glass?
DocuMaker is offline  
post #73 of 113 Old 02-05-2010, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeffden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have played with settings for several days with this set. A number of people get these home and complain about the color looking yellowed, etc. So, I tried the settings linked in the thread above but the resulting picture was way too green and yellowed out for me as well. I placed the Vizio next to my calibrated Pioneer KURO in the family room and worked for about an hour to get the same look for colors, brightness, etc. This got me in the ballpark at least. Then I used the Digital Video Essentials for final adjustments in my son's bedroom where the Vizio will be placed. The set ( at least this particular set ) had a huge green push so I had to reduce the green gain quite a bit to even begin to dial it in.

Here are my settings:

Ambient: off
Backlight: 70
Brightness: 34
Contrast: 54
Color: 59
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 25
Noise reduction: high
Color temp: custom
Red Gain: 47
Green Gain: 38
Blue Gain: 45
Color Enhancement: on
Adaptive luma: on
DCR: on

Jeff
jeffden is offline  
post #74 of 113 Old 02-15-2010, 09:50 AM
Member
 
PhatheadWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up one of these and I have two issues. Don't know if they are related to my set or common issues:

1) Last button rarely goes to previous channels. Normally it goes to the channel before the previous (2x previous). Kinda a pain.
2) Since its a bedroom TV, it needs quiet volume for when my wife is sleeping and I am watching. It goes just quiet enough at 1 (0-100 range), but from 4-100 it appears to not get much louder (may be SRStruvolume?)
PhatheadWRX is offline  
post #75 of 113 Old 02-16-2010, 05:03 PM
Member
 
20fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: America's Rollercoast, Ohio
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatheadWRX View Post

I just picked up one of these and I have two issues. Don't know if they are related to my set or common issues:

1) Last button rarely goes to previous channels. Normally it goes to the channel before the previous (2x previous). Kinda a pain.
2) Since its a bedroom TV, it needs quiet volume for when my wife is sleeping and I am watching. It goes just quiet enough at 1 (0-100 range), but from 4-100 it appears to not get much louder (may be SRStruvolume?)


1) I cannot comment, since I am using my D* remote. Previous channel button works fine on that though.

2) We have it in our bedroom as well, and have noticed the same volume situation.

20Fan
Ohio State Buckeyes- GO BUCKS !

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
20fan is offline  
post #76 of 113 Old 02-19-2010, 06:04 PM
Member
 
fairfaxhokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffden View Post

I have played with settings for several days with this set. A number of people get these home and complain about the color looking yellowed, etc. So, I tried the settings linked in the thread above but the resulting picture was way too green and yellowed out for me as well. I placed the Vizio next to my calibrated Pioneer KURO in the family room and worked for about an hour to get the same look for colors, brightness, etc. This got me in the ballpark at least. Then I used the Digital Video Essentials for final adjustments in my son's bedroom where the Vizio will be placed. The set ( at least this particular set ) had a huge green push so I had to reduce the green gain quite a bit to even begin to dial it in.

Here are my settings:

Ambient: off
Backlight: 70
Brightness: 34
Contrast: 54
Color: 59
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 25
Noise reduction: high
Color temp: custom
Red Gain: 47
Green Gain: 38
Blue Gain: 45
Color Enhancement: on
Adaptive luma: on
DCR: on

Jeffden - thanks for the settings. I've been struggling with the yellow/green hues on my 19" Razor for the past few weeks. Your settings are definitely an improvement and I recommend that others give them a try . . . . and please post any tweaks that you might have.
fairfaxhokie is offline  
post #77 of 113 Old 03-01-2010, 03:32 PM
Member
 
20fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: America's Rollercoast, Ohio
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at possibly adding some external speakers for my bedroom setup (2ch). Anyone using external speakers want to post what they are using?

20Fan
Ohio State Buckeyes- GO BUCKS !

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
20fan is offline  
post #78 of 113 Old 03-05-2010, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I purchased the 19" version back in January. I had it connected to Comcast DVR through HDMI port 1. After about 3 weeks, all of a sudden the TV states "Incompatible Signal" I plug it into port 2 and it worked fine. So I tested port 1 on some other HDMI sources and it wouldn't work. So I returned the set and got another one. Plugged it into HDMI 1. It worked for about 2 weeks and then got the same message "incompatible signal". I plugged it into port 2, work for about 2 weeks and again crapped out. I tried connecting it to other HDMI components and it's a crap shoot on whether it works or not. Some do and some don't.

What is going on with the HDMI ports on this TV. I have 4 other Vizio TVs and never had this problem. I'm still within the 90 days to return it but I sure would like to get one that works.

Anyone else having issues like this?

Sorry, just checked the message says Invalid Format.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #79 of 113 Old 03-05-2010, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Rob2NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: metro New York & southern Vermont
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far no problems at all with our the missus' 19" version but, then again, she's only had it since the holidays and we've only been up to our place in VT where it's installed a couple of times since New Year's, so it's only been used for a total of maybe 10-12 hours at most. Will definitely keep an eye on it and report if we also encounter any similar problems with the HDMI inputs.

Rob Robinson
Pain makes man think . . . thought makes man wise . . . wisdom makes life endurable.
Rob2NY is offline  
post #80 of 113 Old 03-05-2010, 08:54 PM
Member
 
FamilyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 23" version hooked up to my PC via HDMI, Comcast raw cable (QAM) and Comcast STB via HDMI. Pictures great and sound is fine since I have it on my desk not 40 inches from me. I have hooked the digital audio out to my receiver for those special shows that need serious audio.

The intriguing thing about this TV is the PlayTV feature. I didn't know it was a mini-DVR when I bought it. After trying a couple of the flash drives that I had laying around I found out that "slow" flash drives only result in pixelated stuttering pictures. Bought a Patriot Memory Xporter XT (200x) and that works fine. Unfortunately this feature only works on the raw cable feed. No love on the HDMI inputs.

Also a bit of a bummer that it won't sleep (when my system sleeps) only a blue screen and "No Signal" text floating around.

In general I'm very pleased - lots of tech for $319.
FamilyMan is offline  
post #81 of 113 Old 03-18-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
RhoXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are thinking of buying the VM230XVT for our dining/kitchen area set. It will replace a 19" seven year old LCD ED Zenith that still is really a great TV but is getting demoted to our guest bedroom. I have some questions I am hoping to find some help with.

1 - Does this TV have the standard four screw mounting configuration for use with an articulated wall mount? The pictures I have seen make it look like the table base is non removable and integrated into the case.

2 - The old Zenith is an ED (480p) TV provides an excellent SD picture. The VM230XVT, as is the Zenith, will be connected directly to the cable (no cable box) so we will be watching either HD QAM local channels or SD programming. Will the SD programming appear at least as good as it now does on the 480p Zenith?

3 - There have been many comments on this forum and elsewhere about the less than great audio. Is this just due to crappy speakers meaning we can get decent audio by connecting it to external speakers? This is extremely important to us as I do not have good hearing and a "tinny" sound, as has been reported elsewhere, will make it hard to understand dialog.

Opinions would be welcome.
RhoXS is offline  
post #82 of 113 Old 03-18-2010, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeffden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RhoXS, the base is user installed with a thumbscrew and not permanently attached. I am not at home now to check, but I seem to recall from the manual it is a standard configuration for mounting.

The sound is not good if using the two back firing 5w speakers on the set, but it does work fine with external audio. My significant other uses the Vizio soundbar and my son has it hooked to his Onkyo AVR and sound is fine.

Jeff
jeffden is offline  
post #83 of 113 Old 03-18-2010, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Rob2NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: metro New York & southern Vermont
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhoXS View Post

1 - Does this TV have the standard four screw mounting configuration for use with an articulated wall mount? The pictures I have seen make it look like the table base is non removable and integrated into the case.

Yes, the base is removable and it has a standard VESA mounting setup for use with a wall mount.

Rob Robinson
Pain makes man think . . . thought makes man wise . . . wisdom makes life endurable.
Rob2NY is offline  
post #84 of 113 Old 03-18-2010, 09:37 AM
Member
 
RhoXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick responses. I appreciate the effort. I also just found a picture showing the VESA mounting on the back.

So now the remaining question. Will an SD signal source appear at least as good as it now does on our 19" 480p TV?

My wife is on her way to BJs now and will probably buy one anyway. I would prefer to have some feel for this before we take it out of the box and discover we are better off with the existing TV. Except for evening news around dinner time, everything else this TV will display will probably be SD sources.
RhoXS is offline  
post #85 of 113 Old 03-18-2010, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the 19” version and I have tinnitus so sound is sometimes difficult for me too. But I found that the sound is adequate for the viewing I do on it. It’s certainly not sound you would want to watch a good movie on but for news broadcasts mine is fine. You can adjust the treble and bass (what there is) on it. You can’t expect much on a set that small but I’m happy with it.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #86 of 113 Old 03-26-2010, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Paullouisj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North-TX
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One Question Does this 23 inch lcd have uneven Back lighting and/or flashlighting?? Plan on usin it 4 games..Have a 46 in samsung but it got BAD light leakage issues (a650) Thank you..
Paullouisj is offline  
post #87 of 113 Old 03-29-2010, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Paullouisj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North-TX
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
Paullouisj is offline  
post #88 of 113 Old 04-05-2010, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Andyman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can we use the low profile mount with this tv? Planning on just hooking it up with an OTA antenna and the power source. Can you recommend one on monoprice?
Andrew
Andyman33 is offline  
post #89 of 113 Old 04-22-2010, 06:33 AM
bww
Newbie
 
bww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There were some comments that the initial run of VM230xvt was flawed in some way and they were dated 11/09, however there was a later run in 2/10 that fixed some problems.

I was looking at one at Sam's Club both the box and the unit itself but I could not find a date of manufacture, does anyone know where it is located???
bww is offline  
post #90 of 113 Old 04-22-2010, 06:34 AM
bww
Newbie
 
bww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked at the sd output and it seemed acceptable
bww is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off