Tapping into LCD TV Speakers leads? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-03-2009, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sluggodump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Westinghouse SK-32H640G (yeah, Target's LCD TV deal from Black Friday), and I'd like to add a pair of computer speakers to enhance the crappy sound of the on-board speakers. The location of the unit won't lend itself to using it with a tuner, so I'm trying to keep the setup as tiny as possible. I've connected the external speakers to the audio line out, and it sounds great, but the audio output from the TV is not controlled by the onboard controls (i.e., the remote, to be specific)...

So I was wondering, would it be a possibility to tap into (or just disconnect) the built-in speaker leads and add a 3.5mm jack to the leads so the external speakers can be connected and controlled via remote? The built-in speakers are located in such a place that the leads would be easy to get to, and I believe the output is 10w per channel. Anyone have any knowledge of this?
sluggodump is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-03-2009, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Try it.

If the internal spkrs are 4 ohms and your external are 6-8 ohms, u may get a tinnier sound.

If your externals are self powered, then what the TV puts out maybe too strong for them and u may need to insert attenuating cables/resistors.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-03-2009, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If your externals are self powered you may be able to use an automotive line level adapter.
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-04-2009, 08:59 AM
Member
 
dlcrouch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
use the headphone jack? That's what i do with my Sony TV.
dlcrouch is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-04-2009, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
boswd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlcrouch View Post

use the headphone jack? That's what i do with my Sony TV.


agree, if your computer speakers don't have and RCA Jack then use the headphone jack on the TV.
boswd is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-04-2009, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sluggodump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the lowdown on this TV: wwwwestinghousedigitalcom/detailsaspx?itemnum=267

No headphone jack, just the RCA audio line out. If it had a headphone jack, I would not be searching for another way... But I think just leaving the speakers on at a low level to provide a small bit of bass might be enough. I'll use the remote to control the built-in speakers for the high end. The TV is in our bedroom, so it doesn't get turned up past about 1/10 volume anyway.

Oddly enough, BTW, the remote's mute function *does* work on the line outs.
sluggodump is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off