Official KDL... XBR9 Calibration Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 63 Old 12-07-2009, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
p00hchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello all, was looking through the posts and only seen a offical kdl..xbr9 owners thread and not a calibration thread.. so hopefully this will do something.

share your calibration settings !!
p00hchu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 63 Old 12-27-2009, 08:59 AM
Member
 
uconn24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p00hchu View Post

hello all, was looking through the posts and only seen a offical kdl..xbr9 owners thread and not a calibration thread.. so hopefully this will do something.

share your calibration settings !!

bump, I'd like to see some settings...
uconn24 is offline  
post #3 of 63 Old 12-27-2009, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings, personally calibrated with Calman and an i1pro spectrophotometer. Room is general viewing and there is a large window. Remember that your viewing environment is one of the most important factors in calibration.

Mode custom
backlight 4
picture 90
bright 48
color 51
hue g3
Temp warm 2
Sharp min
nr off
mpeg nr off
motionflow high
cine. auto1 or 2 depending on content

advanced settings

black cor. off
adv. con en. off
gamma 0 (still need to adjust gamma using meter)
auto light off
clear white off
wide color standard


white balance

r gain -1
g gain -13
b gain -14
r bias -2
g bias 3
b bias -2
chdwil is offline  
post #4 of 63 Old 12-27-2009, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
pacman777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chdwil View Post

Here are my settings, personally calibrated with Calman and an i1pro spectrophotometer. Room is general viewing and there is a large window. Remember that your viewing environment is one of the most important factors in calibration.

Mode custom
backlight 4
picture 90
bright 48
color 21
hue g3
Temp warm 2
Sharp min
nr off
mpeg nr off
motionflow high
cine. auto1 or 2 depending on content

advanced settings

black cor. off
adv. con en. off
gamma 0 (still need to adjust gamma using meter)
auto light off
clear white off
wide color standard


white balance

r gain -1
g gain -13
b gain -14
r bias -2
g bias 3
b bias -2


Thanks for posting your settings CHDWIL! Can you post your gamma settings once you get that figured out? I just tried my 52XBR9 with you settings and noticed (while watching football), that the field looks a little gray (rather than green)... I noticed you have your "color" setting to 21 which seems really low. I just updated it to 40 and it looks better.
pacman777 is offline  
post #5 of 63 Old 12-27-2009, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman777 View Post

Thanks for posting your settings CHDWIL! Can you post your gamma settings once you get that figured out? I just tried my 52XBR9 with you settings and noticed (while watching football), that the field looks a little gray (rather than green)... I noticed you have your "color" setting to 21 which seems really low. I just updated it to 40 and it looks better.

OOPS!!!

I have color at 51, not 21. Sorry for the goof up. 21 is way too low. I am going to edit my post.

Also for more vibrant colors try

wide color- wide

live color high

Using those settings change the calibration but do make a big difference in viewing. whatever your preferance is should be the settings you use.
chdwil is offline  
post #6 of 63 Old 12-27-2009, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other owners wish to share?
chdwil is offline  
post #7 of 63 Old 12-31-2009, 02:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump for more settings... particularly white balance settings with the latest firmware.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #8 of 63 Old 12-31-2009, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to calibrate again since there have been a number of firmware updates and the set has had more time to break in. I would not be suprised if my current settings are now off. I will re-post with my results.
chdwil is offline  
post #9 of 63 Old 12-31-2009, 01:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chdwil View Post

I am going to calibrate again since there have been a number of firmware updates and the set has had more time to break in. I would not be suprised if my current settings are now off. I will re-post with my results.

Looking foward to seeing your results. Thanks!
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #10 of 63 Old 01-01-2010, 01:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Majestyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It amazes me that people are using WARM 2 as it makes the color too saturated and the flesh tones look like clay. I recommend WARM 1.
Majestyk is offline  
post #11 of 63 Old 01-01-2010, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post

It amazes me that people are using WARM 2 as it makes the color too saturated and the flesh tones look like clay. I recommend WARM 1.

I like the Warm 2 setting, which provides quite accurate colors.

Here are my current settings, based on my adjustments from those listed in the Home Theater Magazine and CNET reviews.

Picture Mode Custom
Backlight 1
Picture 78
Brightness 52
Color 41
Hue 0
Color Temperature Warm 2
Sharpness Min
Noise Reduction Off
MPEG Noise Reduction Off
Motionflow Standard
CineMotion Off
Advanced Settings
Black Corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma 0
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Wide Color Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
•R-Gain -1
•G-Gain -5
•B-Gain -4
•R-Bias -3
•G-Bias -1
•B-Bias -3

Screen menu
Wide Mode Full
Auto Wide On
Auto Display On

Note: This is with the last firmware installed via Ethernet.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #12 of 63 Old 01-02-2010, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Majestyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, if this TV just had Warm 2, I wouldn't have gone near it. To each his own.
Majestyk is offline  
post #13 of 63 Old 01-02-2010, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post

Man, if this TV just had Warm 2, I wouldn't have gone near it. To each his own.

The most important settings are the ones you find correct.

Warm 2 does give more pinkisk skin tones if other settings are not correct.
chdwil is offline  
post #14 of 63 Old 01-02-2010, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
sin123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD_Lantern View Post


Note: This is with the last firmware installed via Ethernet.



Should I even do the firmware update if I'm not experiencing the following problems that are listed in what has been updated? (besides widget support etc, haven't tried it yet)


Basically would it hurt to do the update anyways?


Quote:


* Adds support for the Netflix® online movie rental service to the BRAVIA Internet Video® function.
* Provides additional functionality for Yahoo® widgets.
* Improves the use of the Network functions (Internet Video and Widgets).
* Addresses intermittent issues experienced by some customers, including the following:
o The television picture freezes momentarily, then the TV powers off and then on. This may occur shortly after powering on the TV, while viewing programming, changing channels, or using the TV's xross media bar™.
o When changing channels, the TV powers off and the POWER/STANDBY LED flashes red. Pushing the Power button again (only once) restores the TV's function.
o When viewing 1080p formatted signals through the Component (Y/Pb/Pr) Input, a horizontal scratch-like line may appear on the screen.
o Intermittent response from a Remote Commander® control unit when the TV is first turned on and the backlight is dim.
o The television turns off and then back on again when powering on the TV with a programmable Remote Commander.
o Correction of the "Current time has been lost. Please reset the time" message repeatedly coming up.



also Netflix is not available in Canada correct?



thank you guys, btw just purchased XBR9 46" today.
sin123 is offline  
post #15 of 63 Old 01-03-2010, 09:53 AM
Member
 
steelfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sin123 View Post

Should I even do the firmware update if I'm not experiencing the following problems that are listed in what has been updated? (besides widget support etc, haven't tried it yet)

Basically would it hurt to do the update anyways?

also Netflix is not available in Canada correct?

thank you guys, btw just purchased XBR9 46" today.

Performing the update should not cause any problems. Netflix is unfortunately not available in Canada.

XBOX Live: Steelfrogg
PSN: Steelfrog
----------
Come play Battlefield3 with me!
steelfrog is offline  
post #16 of 63 Old 01-03-2010, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
JoeSchmoe007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use "Standard" settings with "Color" turned down to 40 (50 is default). No other changes. Skin tone is perfect both for BD and OTA HD (don't even try to get it right for SD or upconverted SD - colors there are all over the place). This is how I usually adjust color - just get the skin tone correct for high quality source, and the rest follows.
JoeSchmoe007 is offline  
post #17 of 63 Old 01-03-2010, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will say that this tv is a bit had to calibrate due to the limited viewing angles.

However, once calibrated, this tv looks excellent: very good blacks, excellent whites ,and great color accuracy, all of which yields impressive visual pop.

Note: My updated settings are above.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #18 of 63 Old 01-06-2010, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
ImJustDrifting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone used this service on their XBR9?
Were you happy with it?
The guy from Connect Pro is apparently ISF certified...

I got the service for 1/2 price as a package deal just before Christmas...
They are scheduled to come out to calibrate my set next week.
Their in store calibration demo uses two side-by-side Samsung's, one to factor settings, the other
calibrated... The calibrated one certainly showed more detail in the blacks...


They keep telling me the first thing they'll do is reduce the temp of the
LCD screen to 6500, which can only be performed using the service menu...
This will apparently bring out the detail in the blacks...

I had done some minor tweeking using the calibration Blu Ray's that came with my OPPO player...
ImJustDrifting is offline  
post #19 of 63 Old 01-06-2010, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImJustDrifting View Post

Has anyone used this service on their XBR9?
Were you happy with it?
The guy from Connect Pro is apparently ISF certified...

I got the service for 1/2 price as a package deal just before Christmas...
They are scheduled to come out to calibrate my set next week.
Their in store calibration demo uses two side-by-side Samsung's, one to factor settings, the other
calibrated... The calibrated one certainly showed more detail in the blacks...


They keep telling me the first thing they'll do is reduce the temp of the
LCD screen to 6500, which can only be performed using the service menu...
This will apparently bring out the detail in the blacks...

I had done some minor tweeking using the calibration Blu Ray's that came with my OPPO player...

You can adjust your color by adjusting the color temp, hue, and white balance settings. You don't have to go into the servicing menu. That said, you might be able make more fine-tune adjustments via the servicing menu and thereby get potentially better results -- it all depends on the caliber of the calibrator and his testing equipment.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #20 of 63 Old 01-10-2010, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More tweaks to the settings -- I'm really enjoying these settings while watching some of the wildcard football games.

Picture Mode Custom
Backlight 2
Picture 70
Brightness 51
Color 40
Hue 0
Color Temperature Warm 2
Sharpness Min
Noise Reduction Off
MPEG Noise Reduction Off
Motionflow Standard
CineMotion Off
Advanced Settings
Black Corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma 0
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Wide Color Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
•R-Gain -1
•G-Gain -5
•B-Gain -4
•R-Bias -3
•G-Bias -1
•B-Bias -3

Screen menu
Wide Mode Full
Auto Wide On
Auto Display On

Note: This is with the new firmware available this week, installed via Ethernet. Also dropped brightness to 51 (from 52) to get even better blacks.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #21 of 63 Old 01-11-2010, 08:49 AM
Member
 
uconn24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD_Lantern View Post

More tweaks to the settings -- I'm really enjoying these settings while watching some of the wildcard football games.

Picture Mode Custom
Backlight 2
Picture 70
Brightness 52
Color 40
Hue 0
Color Temperature Warm 2
Sharpness Min
Noise Reduction Off
MPEG Noise Reduction Off
Motionflow Standard
CineMotion Off
Advanced Settings
Black Corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma 0
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Wide Color Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
•R-Gain -1
•G-Gain -5
•B-Gain -4
•R-Bias -3
•G-Bias -1
•B-Bias -3

Screen menu
Wide Mode Full
Auto Wide On
Auto Display On

Note: This is with the new firmware available this week, installed via Ethernet.

I felt like to get the "pop" on the coloring during NBC's broadcasts, I had to have the backlight higher. I started on the "Vivid" default and backed down a little bit from those settings. Anyone else agree with this? Or am I too low somewhere else (using some of the settings from this thread as a starting point?

Fox's broadcast was phenomenal on my XBR9 though.
uconn24 is offline  
post #22 of 63 Old 01-11-2010, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uconn24 View Post

I felt like to get the "pop" on the coloring during NBC's broadcasts, I had to have the backlight higher. I started on the "Vivid" default and backed down a little bit from those settings. Anyone else agree with this? Or am I too low somewhere else (using some of the settings from this thread as a starting point?

Fox's broadcast was phenomenal on my XBR9 though.

If you have a bright room, definitely increase the backlighting. As with any calibration settings, use these as a starting point and adjust for your specific viewing environment.

I must say though, the XBR9 is capable of exceptional picture quality. I am particularly impressed with the black level achieved through standard CCFL backlighting.

Also, instead using vivid, consider using custom or standard.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #23 of 63 Old 01-15-2010, 10:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump for settings from other xbr9 owners.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #24 of 63 Old 01-17-2010, 01:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, more tweaking and the picture keeps getting better. In addition to my own tweaks, the setting listed below also uses the color calibration from another AVS user's post which I quite like.

Here are the updated settings I'm currently using.

Picture Mode Custom
Backlight 2
Picture 83
Brightness 51
Color 43
Hue R1
Color Temperature Warm 1
Sharpness Min
Noise Reduction Off
MPEG Noise Reduction Off
Motionflow Standard
CineMotion Off
Advanced Settings
Black Corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma 2
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Wide Color Standard
Live Color Off

White Balance
•R-Gain -2
•G-Gain -1
•B-Gain -22
•R-Bias 2
•G-Bias 1
•B-Bias -4

Screen menu
Wide Mode Full
Auto Wide On
Auto Display On
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #25 of 63 Old 01-20-2010, 09:56 AM
Member
 
KenS2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD thanks, I just picked up an XBR9, and I will try out your settings. I am in a fairly dark room as well.
KenS2000 is offline  
post #26 of 63 Old 01-20-2010, 04:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenS2000 View Post

HD thanks, I just picked up an XBR9, and I will try out your settings. I am in a fairly dark room as well.

Congrats on your new tv!

Be sure to connect your tv to the Internet to download the latest firmware update, which to my eyes improved both the blacks and whites levels of the tv. Also, let me know how those settings work out for you.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #27 of 63 Old 01-21-2010, 06:17 AM
Member
 
uconn24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD_Lantern View Post

Congrats on your new tv!

Be sure to connect your tv to the Internet to download the latest firmware update, which to my eyes improved both the blacks and whites levels of the tv. Also, let me know how those settings work out for you.


will updating the firmware reset all my current calibration settings to the factory defaults?
uconn24 is offline  
post #28 of 63 Old 01-21-2010, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uconn24 View Post

will updating the firmware reset all my current calibration settings to the factory defaults?

Just from memory, I don't think firmware upgrades will change your calibration settings. Someone correct me if I'm mistaken though.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #29 of 63 Old 01-21-2010, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chdwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD_Lantern View Post

Just from memory, I don't think firmware upgrades will change your calibration settings. Someone correct me if I'm mistaken though.

It won't change your settings, but the base for your settings may change making your calibrated settings off.

I recalibrated yesterday and my white balance and color temp were off. This could be due to changes in the backlight intensity from break in. It could also be Sony changing base settings for better blacs or whites etc.
chdwil is offline  
post #30 of 63 Old 01-22-2010, 01:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chdwil View Post

It won't change your settings, but the base for your settings may change making your calibrated settings off.

I recalibrated yesterday and my white balance and color temp were off. This could be due to changes in the backlight intensity from break in. It could also be Sony changing base settings for better blacs or whites etc.

Would you be willing to share your updated settings?
HD_Lantern is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off