Philips 42 PFL 7603D "interlacing" problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-14-2009, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jazbec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have my HTPC connected to a Philips 42" PFL 7603D Full HD display. I'm using Geforce 8800GT on Win7 connected through DVI-to-HDMI.
If the resolution is set to 720p everything is ok, but as soon as I set it to 1080p I get this strange interlacing-like problem when moving objects around (the same thing happens when watching movies of course).
I have set all the image processing enhancements to off and still no improvement. I'm using the latest drivers. The same problem was on Vista.
The funny part is that when PS3 is connected everything is fine and the picture is perfect.
Any clue how to resolve this? I have heard somewhere that 7 and 9 series have this problem but the 5 series are ok.
A demo of the problem is shown at the link below. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Video link: youtube.com/watch?v=5FcjKY2vOtc
Jazbec is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-14-2009, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have you tried setting it to 1080i instead of 1080p?
walford is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-15-2009, 02:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jazbec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I have a FullHD display, why would I want to watch a movie in 1080i?
Jazbec is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-15-2009, 02:41 AM
Member
 
Quad5Ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nvidia drivers are stupid sometimes. Mine thought I had a 50hz PAL TV even though I'm in the US.

Are you sure your drivers are out-putting a progressive signal?

Check the Nvidia control panel and change the resolution there(take a look if there are and HDTV settings too).

Don't worry about the TV, I'm 99% sure its a driver problem.
Quad5Ny is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-15-2009, 07:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazbec View Post

Since I have a FullHD display, why would I want to watch a movie in 1080i?

Because you 1080p TV may not accept 1080p/60 as an input since it is not an ATSC TV standard resoltuion. Also all 1080i content sent to the TV will be de-interlaced and diaplayed on the TV as full 1920x1080 frames without loss of any resolution content.
walford is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-15-2009, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Quad5Ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Because you 1080p TV may not accept 1080p/60 as an input since it is not an ATSC TV standard resoltuion. Also all 1080i content sent to the TV will be de-interlaced and diaplayed on the TV as full 1920x1080 frames without loss of any resolution content.

He said 1920x1080 60hz worked fine with his ps3 and other inputs... hold on let me look at the specs on the Philips TV he has.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/4/4...27_pss_aen.pdf

Yes it supports 1920x1080 progressive @ 60hz.


Jazbec if your willing, there is a firmware update for your TV. Take a look here. - http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...=Link_Software
Quad5Ny is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-16-2009, 07:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I suggest he also try 1080i to be sure that his PC graphics card output is not having any interface problems with his TV over DVI/HDMI.
walford is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-16-2010, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jazbec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx for the answers guys, but unfortunately they don't help much.
As for 1080i output it only supports low refresh rates (30Hz max). And even if I try, I have the same problem.
I tried firmware upgrades before but they usually address tv issues, not so much connection problems.
Will see what happens. I'll get back at you.

THX

J.
Jazbec is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-16-2010, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would suggest that if you are outputting 1080p from the video card, then the combing artifacts are occurring in the card and not being caused by the display.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-16-2010, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the source of the 1080p content you are sending.
Yes 1080i is 60 fields or 30 frames per second, however, when properly de-intelaced to 60fps by using each field twice, once withthe preceeding field and once with the followin field the PQ is almost as good as 1080p/60 content.
If you are getting artifacts you need to try disabling edge enhancements and/or reducing sharpness to 0 on the TV.
walford is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off