how is this Sony KDL46VL150?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 12:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any information on this tv? any spec or input or photo would be great. I have a buddy selling his but not sure if its a good tv or not.

I have a Samsung UN46B8000 which i dont really like the picture. although I am viewing it on basic cable.

thanks
bored7one4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD_Lantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored7one4 View Post

Anyone have any information on this tv? any spec or input or photo would be great. I have a buddy selling his but not sure if its a good tv or not.

I have a Samsung UN46B8000 which i dont really like the picture. although I am viewing it on basic cable.

thanks

Your Samsung model is better than the Sony model you are interested in. If you still want to replace it with a Sony though, I'd go for a Sony XBR9 which is more comparable to the Samsung.
HD_Lantern is offline  
post #3 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 12:36 AM
Member
 
engycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The VL150 is a Costco/warehouse store model, and is similar to a Sony V5100 series, possibly slightly higher contrast (or not), but with a nicer bezel than the Sony V5100 series. Hard to see that it would upstage the Samsung 46B8000. I think watching SD on any HDTV is going to be somewhat disappointing...not sure the Sony would fix this.
engycanuck is offline  
post #4 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 12:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this model have the same problem as the kdl46w5100 models?
bored7one4 is offline  
post #5 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 09:02 AM
Member
 
Suspekt_Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored7one4 View Post

does this model have the same problem as the kdl46w5100 models?

what problem are you speaking of? My W5100 has no issues whatsoever.

and the VL150 is a V5100 in the Z5100 casing with slight cosmetic differences only
Suspekt_Audio is offline  
post #6 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry I mean the same red flashing problem as the kdl46v5100 no the w5100 model.
bored7one4 is offline  
post #7 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
which one is better the KDL46VL150 or KDL46VL160?


i think he has the KDL46VL160 is the one he wants to sell to me.

thanks
bored7one4 is offline  
post #8 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
MameJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored7one4 View Post

which one is better the KDL46VL150 or KDL46VL160?


i think he has the KDL46VL160 is the one he wants to sell to me.

thanks

If you search around, VL160 is same as the Z4100. Basically early last years higher end model.
MameJunkie is offline  
post #9 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 01:52 PM
Member
 
killa2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
hey im having an issue with kdl52vl150, some kind of 3 inch transparent bar right down the middle of the lcd. i posted pic just search my post and you will see.
killa2009 is offline  
post #10 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seem like the VL150 has better contrast ratio. does it matter thats there such a big difference in contrast ratio?

which tv is better?

Sony Bravia KDL-46VL150 vs. KDL-46VL160

1. KDL-46VL150 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 70,000:1

2. KDL-46VL160 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 30,000:1

3. KDL-46VL150 has On-Screen Contrast Ratio: 5,000:1

4. KDL-46VL160 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 3,000:1

5. KDL-46VL150 has Panel Bit: 8 bit

6. KDL-46VL160 has Panel Bit: 10 bit

7. KDL-46VL150 weighs 45.6 lbs (20.7 kg) without pedestal.

8. KDL-46VL160weighs 49 lbs (22 kg) without pedestal.
Related Posts:
bored7one4 is offline  
post #11 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Suspekt_Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the VL150 is a restyled V5100

the VL160 is a re-badged Z4100

They are not both 'V' series TVs.

The Z4100/VL160 is the better set feature wise, but older. Same BE2 though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bored7one4 View Post

seem like the VL150 has better contrast ratio. does it matter thats there such a big difference in contrast ratio?

which tv is better?

Sony Bravia KDL-46VL150 vs. KDL-46VL160

1. KDL-46VL150 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 70,000:1

2. KDL-46VL160 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 30,000:1

3. KDL-46VL150 has On-Screen Contrast Ratio: 5,000:1

4. KDL-46VL160 has Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 3,000:1

5. KDL-46VL150 has Panel Bit: 8 bit

6. KDL-46VL160 has Panel Bit: 10 bit

7. KDL-46VL150 weighs 45.6 lbs (20.7 kg) without pedestal.

8. KDL-46VL160weighs 49 lbs (22 kg) without pedestal.
Related Posts:

Suspekt_Audio is offline  
post #12 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I saw the KDL46VL150 at a local BJ's and I though it looked amazing! I have an older Samsung 32" LCD from 2006 that looks like garbage compared to this Sony. BTW I will never buy another Samsung product again but that's beside that point. I guess the 120Hz makes a big difference in picture quality. To me the Sony looked almost 3D and was so clear! Right now it's $100 less than it was last week. Wish I had more money...damn you Obama!
ehgz1 is offline  
post #13 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so does the the VL160 is a re-badged Z4100 look exactly the same as the Z4100?
bored7one4 is offline  
post #14 of 153 Old 01-27-2010, 08:02 PM
Member
 
engycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They seem to look similar. You may not get the high end remote of the Z, but instead a lower-end remote, not sure.

On a sidenote, at least it's good that the VL150 series (strangely newer than the VL160 series) have nicer cabinets than the V5100 series (fugly).

Anyway, you didn't explain how getting one of these Sonys is going to make you happier than with the Samsung? Unless the plan is to return the Sammy and save money by having this Sony instead...
engycanuck is offline  
post #15 of 153 Old 01-29-2010, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SO just sold my samsung for the KDL46vl160. I hooked up the ps3 to the vl160 via hdmi but there no sound? with the samsung there was sound. anyone know what could be wrong?
bored7one4 is offline  
post #16 of 153 Old 01-29-2010, 11:38 PM
Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored7one4 View Post

SO just sold my samsung for the KDL46vl160. I hooked up the ps3 to the vl160 via hdmi but there no sound? with the samsung there was sound. anyone know what could be wrong?

I just got my KDL40VL160 today and its awesome once I got the picture calibrated. I also have a PS3 connected via HDMI but I have a a/v receiver for my audio. Are you trying to do audio through the TV speakers? If you are, then make sure that when you press the options button on the remote and go to speakers, that its set for TV Speakers. Also make sure that in the PS3 settings for audio that its set for HDMI audio.
Setzer is offline  
post #17 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 12:02 AM
Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by engycanuck View Post

You may not get the high end remote of the Z, but instead a lower-end remote, not sure.

The remote I got with mine was the RM-YD024.
Setzer is offline  
post #18 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post

I just got my KDL40VL160 today and its awesome once I got the picture calibrated. I also have a PS3 connected via HDMI but I have a a/v receiver for my audio. Are you trying to do audio through the TV speakers? If you are, then make sure that when you press the options button on the remote and go to speakers, that its set for TV Speakers. Also make sure that in the PS3 settings for audio that its set for HDMI audio.

it is on speaker and ps3 is set to hdmi too. also i cant update the firmware when i connect. i get an error has occurred. ???
bored7one4 is offline  
post #19 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bored7one4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hard reset got the sound issue to work. still having issue with firmware update.

anyone know where i can find the lastest update for this tv? i get this on sony website.


Download Files
Change your model
There are no files currently posted for your model.

also when i try to update firm via the tv itself i see this

Version - aa0151pn
Date - CR#494


after trying to download i get this message: An error occurred during the software update. The update could not be completed.

amy ideas?
bored7one4 is offline  
post #20 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
jackeyliu77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got KDL-46VL160 and have meet the same issue when I was trying to update to aa0151pn. I call SONY and they are going to send me a update disk.
jackeyliu77 is offline  
post #21 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
engycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by engycanuck View Post

You may not get the high end remote of the Z, but instead a lower-end remote, not sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post

The remote I got with mine was the RM-YD024.

Ok, from website photos that seems to be a high end remote (larger, reprogrammable, backlit). The V, W, lower lines have a smaller remote that is not backlit or reprogrammable.
engycanuck is offline  
post #22 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Setzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackeyliu77 View Post

I just got KDL-46VL160 and have meet the same issue when I was trying to update to aa0151pn. I call SONY and they are going to send me a update disk.

Where do you go to check the FW version?
Setzer is offline  
post #23 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
jackeyliu77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Setzer View Post

Where do you go to check the FW version?

go to settings => contact sony
jackeyliu77 is offline  
post #24 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suspekt_Audio View Post

the VL150 is a restyled V5100

I found out today that Costco is going to have the KDL-46VL150 on sale next week. It is making me consider purchasing it, however, I've spent about an hour reading about the "red flashing" on the V5100 thread and it's making me queezy to say the least.
Are you saying that the VL150 is the same (panel and guts) and that it's just a cosmetic "restyling? I can't find any info on the Costco VL150 models to satisfy my curiousity.
The only other option I have is the Vizio XVT472SV. Any thoughts?
Frank_S is offline  
post #25 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 08:10 PM
Member
 
engycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For specs go here:
http://www.docs.sony.com/release/spe...VL150_mksp.pdf

It's basically a V5100 series but packaged inside a nicer Z5100 cabinet (also with a higher-end remote)
engycanuck is offline  
post #26 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The VL150 doesn't seem to have the same panel as the V5100. The contrast ratio for the VL150 is 70,000:1 and the V5100 is 50,000:1. Also there haven't been any reports of anyone experiencing the "red-flashing" problem with the VL150, at least not I have read about. There are a few posts by people with the VL150 (in the long V5100 thread) that specifically state that they have never seen any red-flashing. Also if you go to Sony eSupport and look up the VL150, there have been no firmware releases for it. The V5100 has had a few firmware updates already to address the red-flashing along with some various sound problems. From all reports it seems that the firmware revisions have yet to fix the problem. My guess is that the VL150 has a different panel and that it doesn't exhibit the red-flashing problem.

I am very tempted to get the VL150 from Costco
ehgz1 is offline  
post #27 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Also another HUGE difference that I noticed is that in the spec sheet for the VL150 it says it comes with a 2-Year Labor/Parts warranty whereas the V5100 only comes with the standard 1-Year Labor/Parts warranty!

VL150 Specs

V5100 Specs


So I am assuming that if you buy the VL150 from Costco that you will be getting a TV with a 3-year warranty since Costco adds an additional 1-Year warranty.
ehgz1 is offline  
post #28 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehgz1 View Post

Also another HUGE difference that I noticed is that in the spec sheet for the VL150 it says it comes with a 2-Year Labor/Parts warranty whereas the V5100 only comes with the standard 1-Year Labor/Parts warranty!

VL150 Specs

V5100 Specs


So I am assuming that if you buy the VL150 from Costco that you will be getting a TV with a 3-year warranty since Costco adds an additional 1-Year warranty.

I spoke with a Costco rep today and you get a 1 year manufacture warranty and Costco extends it to 2 years. If you use an AMEX card, AMEX extends it another year so that would make a total of 3 years.
Frank_S is offline  
post #29 of 153 Old 01-30-2010, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I am confused now. Even at the BJ's Wholesale Club website it shows that the VL150 comes with a Sony 2-Year warranty and if you look at the spec sheet at sony.com it also clearly states that the VL150 has a 2-Year warranty. I wonder if the Costco rep just assumed that the VL150 had the standard 1-Year warranty, since that's what most TV's come with nowadays.
ehgz1 is offline  
post #30 of 153 Old 02-01-2010, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
Skokiebill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been "shopping" for a couple of weeks and had my search narrowed down based on Consumers Reposts, cNet, ZD, etc trying to balance cost and quality. I want the most bang for 900 bucks or less from a brick & mortar store (I was leaning toward Sears for the 18 mos. no finance charge) but oddly enough, prices have wither firmed up or gone up this weekend. So much for Super Bowl sales. I WAS thinking either a
Samsung LN46B550 (but I'm turned off by their "we're the best and you'll pay more" attitude) or a
Toshiba 46XV645U Now comes the Sony from Costco

I got coupons from Costco today and beginning Thursday 2/4, it's $200 off the Sony KDL46VL150

Whay do you recommend?
Skokiebill is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off