I have a Fix for LG TV's that won't turn on - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 81 Old 02-10-2010, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have found a fix for the lg hdtv problem where the standby light flashes on and off and the tv won't turn on. I developed this for my own tv. If anyones interested in a tutorial, I'll post it, but I don't want to make a tutorial that nobody will use .

 

UPDATE:

 

First Fix: Post 14

Second Fix: reverse the digits of the First Fixes post number tongue.gif ( Post 41)

 

UPDATE 2:

Since no one seems to see the 2nd tutorial I'll post it here along with the 1st:

 

TUTORIAL 1:

Things you need (first fix):
1. A null modem serial cable.
2. A pc with a serial port.
3. A terminal emulator (google "ZOC terminal emulator").
4. A firmware / epk file for your tv (Search for "north american epk" or something like that with this forums search function).

The first fix involves performing these steps:

1. Connect your tv and pc together with the null modem cable
2. Open zoc or another terminal emulator(I think zoc is the easiest)
3. select "serial / modem from the 3rd dropdown box from the top and press configure.
4. press scan then select "9600" as your speed "8N1", "RTS signal off", "CTR signal off" and uncheck "cd signal is valid".
5. press ok and then press connect.
6. turn your tv on and quickly tap the escape key on your keyboard until "mstar#" comes up in the terminal.
7. press enter once then type "swuz"(the command to load the firmware).
8. Select the epk file you downloaded earlier when a window comes up and press enter.
9. If you did everthing right the firmware should start uploading to the tv. It will take a while so do something else while your waiting.
10. Once it finshes uploading wait for the messages to stop and the "mstar#" text to come up. then type "reboot".
11: If the red light turns on but there is no response from the tv, proceed to the 2nd tutorial.

12. If everything went right your tv should boot up. You'll need to fix the settings in the service menu to their orignal values. Do that before anything else.
13. Your done! Use your tv!

 

TUTORIAL 2:

(Currently only tested for LCD)

 

What you need:
1. 2 10kohm resistors( 1/2 watts from radioshack should work)
2. A screw driver(duh)


1. Open the tv (simply remove the stand and all outer screws)
2. Once opened find the flat cable connecting the brown board (Power Supply) to the green board (Mainboard) directly next to
it.
3.Disconnect the cable at the power supply (Not the mainboard)
4.Insert one lead of BOTH 10k resistors in the top of the connectors socket that relates to the 5v pin (displayed on the power board).
5.Take one of the remaining leads and insert it in the pwr_on pin and the other in the inv_on pin (need to confirm this is the exact name of the pin.).
Do this, like before, on the top of the conector where the wires come out.
6.Reconnect the connector back to the power supply ensuring the resistors have electrical contact with the each pin.
7. Plug in and turn the tv on. If it powers up normally you can reassemble the outer shell and enjoy your newly fixed tv!(Don't forget to change the entries in the service menu back to their defaults)
8. If it doesn't (or partially) work you may have other problems lurking within your tv unrelated to this tutorial and may or or may not be fixable.
 

 

Hope this helps someone!

electrobit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 81 Old 02-11-2010, 09:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Plasma or LCD?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 81 Old 02-11-2010, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both since they share similar power supplies. However this was only tested on an lcd.
electrobit is offline  
post #4 of 81 Old 02-11-2010, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have a complete fix for North American tv's that were flashed with the wrong firmware. But I figured I can't post that since it would violate the forum rules.
electrobit is offline  
post #5 of 81 Old 02-14-2010, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Which rule are you thinking of?
One more post and you can. Even now you could put in an attachment.
There are many that would be interested; why not post it now?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #6 of 81 Old 02-14-2010, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry I guess I was thinking of another forum when I said it would be against the forum rules. I'll post the tutorial.
electrobit is offline  
post #7 of 81 Old 02-27-2010, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
Tragicfigure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 32in LG from 2007 with the same problem , what's the easy fix sometimes it takes me 3 hours to turn the darn thing on ... Please post the tutorial or email it to me: tragicfigure@gmail.com ... I'm dying here ... Lol I gotta wait til I get my taxes back before I can afford a new tv !!
Tragicfigure is offline  
post #8 of 81 Old 02-28-2010, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
falconer.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if this applies exactly to the problem that my TV has been having, but please follow up and post this! You may also private message me if necessary. Thank you!
falconer. is offline  
post #9 of 81 Old 02-28-2010, 02:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
sounds like bad capacitors on the power supply.


any time an LCD TV/monitor takes lots of tries to turn on but once it turns on it stays on its guaranteed to be bad capacitors on the power supply.

i've done it before and its easy and cheap to fix just pull the power supply out of the display and any electrolytic capacitor that has a bulging top or bottom on it replace with the same farad rating and same voltage or higher rating and it will work perfectly find so long as it fits

farad rating is important that it is the same

Voltage is only important that it equals or exceeds what was there originally, often times this problem occurs because they put a lower voltage rated cap than is required to last a long time so higher voltage can be better than the same sometimes (this is the case with samsung TV's)
tubetwister likes this.

If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on Input Lag
frito is offline  
post #10 of 81 Old 02-28-2010, 03:48 AM
Newbie
 
falconer.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frito View Post

sounds like bad capacitors on the power supply.

any time an LCD TV/monitor takes lots of tries to turn on but once it turns on it stays on its guaranteed to be bad capacitors on the power supply.

What about an intermittent issue (about 1 in 10 times) in which the TV itself seems to power on, audio is playing from the speakers, the TV responds to remote commands, and the backlight is on at full brightness, but no actual picture will display on the screen? No TV picture, no on-screen menus or indicators, nothing. Just the backlight. The input selector appears to work and cycles through the different TV inputs and plays the appropriate audio from each input, but the picture never appears and neither does any visual feedback on the screen. The only way to get a picture to appear is to power off the TV and power it back on again. (47LG90)
falconer. is offline  
post #11 of 81 Old 06-11-2010, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
chriswebb333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you could post it or send it to me at chriswebb@people.net.au I would appreciate it. Thanks
chriswebb333 is offline  
post #12 of 81 Old 06-12-2010, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
adiatric's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconer. View Post

What about an intermittent issue (about 1 in 10 times) in which the TV itself seems to power on, audio is playing from the speakers, the TV responds to remote commands, and the backlight is on at full brightness, but no actual picture will display on the screen? No TV picture, no on-screen menus or indicators, nothing. Just the backlight. The input selector appears to work and cycles through the different TV inputs and plays the appropriate audio from each input, but the picture never appears and neither does any visual feedback on the screen. The only way to get a picture to appear is to power off the TV and power it back on again. (47LG90)

Hi i have same problem but, this apeear when ai changed from mistake a paramters in tool option service menu.
Did you find a fix? Seems that flashing lg firmware it's very bad because it's not a standard firmware.
it's just a linux software ,a and paramters are stored in other memory.
adiatric is offline  
post #13 of 81 Old 06-12-2010, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
kennethpruett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting for you to post the info.
I tried IM and no response.

KP
kennethpruett is offline  
post #14 of 81 Old 07-23-2010, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This tutorial is to fix a north american lg tv with a bad flash. It involves opening up the tv if the first fix doesn't work. So it is divided into 2 sections. This tutorial requires a fair amount of technical expertise.

Things you need (first fix):
1. A null modem serial cable.
2. A pc with a serial port.
3. A terminal emulator (google "ZOC terminal emulator").
4. A firmware / epk file for your tv (Search for "north american epk" or something like that with this forums search function).

The first fix involves performing these steps:

1. Connect your tv and pc together with the null modem cable
2. Open zoc or another terminal emulator(I think zoc is the easiest)
3. select "serial / modem from the 3rd dropdown box from the top and press configure.
4. press scan then select "9600" as your speed "8N1", "RTS signal off", "CTR signal off" and uncheck "cd signal is valid".
5. press ok and then press connect.
6. turn your tv on and quickly tap the escape key on your keyboard until "mstar#" comes up in the terminal.
7. press enter once then type "swuz"(the command to load the firmware).
8. Select the epk file you downloaded earlier when a window comes up and press enter.
9. If you did everthing right the firmware should start uploading to the tv. It will take a while so do something else while your waiting.
10. Once it finshes uploading wait for the messages to stop and the "mstar#" text to come up. then type "reboot".
11. If everything went right your tv should boot up. You'll need to fix the settings in the service menu to their orignal values. Do that before anything else.
12. Your done! Use your tv!

Hope this helps someone, and sorry for the wait! Please tell me if this works for you!


UPDATE:
See post 41 of this thread for the 2nd fix. I'll edit it into this post later

electrobit is offline  
post #15 of 81 Old 07-26-2010, 12:48 AM
Member
 
Georgie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info... a couple people have successfully used a similar procedure to recover their TVs.

Anybody know of North American LG TV firmware other than version 4.30.1? That's the one I put on rapidshare... have never seen other versions.
thanks... G
Georgie3 is offline  
post #16 of 81 Old 07-27-2010, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a different firmware on my pc that I was sent. I'll upload it to mediafire and post a link. By the way that first tutorial wasn't my discovery, I just adapted it. The second fix involves placing two resistors in one of the plugs inside the tv. I'm not sure it will work for other people though as I have only tested it on one tv. I'll have a tutorial on exactly what to do soon.
electrobit is offline  
post #17 of 81 Old 07-27-2010, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to upload it to rapidshare instead. This firmware is only for north american tvs and is a different version than 4.30.1. It works for sure as I've installed it on my tv and tested it. Heres the link:
http://rapidshare.com/files/409407126/LG_DTV_LH20.epk
electrobit is offline  
post #18 of 81 Old 08-19-2010, 09:08 AM
Member
 
mangokm40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrobit View Post

I decided to upload it to rapidshare instead. This firmware is only for north american tvs and is a different version than 4.30.1. It works for sure as I've installed it on my tv and tested it. Heres the link:
http://rapidshare.com/files/409407126/LG_DTV_LH20.epk

Isn't firmware model-specific?
mangokm40 is offline  
post #19 of 81 Old 08-21-2010, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Georgie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some LG software versions are model-specific, but some work on a wide range of models, e.g. the LG European LCD TV firmware. North American version 4.30.1 which I posted works on LH40 and LH41 for sure, but may work on other North American models (see http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post17756908).

Electrobit doesn't say what version of software he posted, and the name seems to imply LH20 model but it's hard to tell which models it's for. Right now that's not enough information to risk loading it.

G
Georgie3 is offline  
post #20 of 81 Old 09-05-2010, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
electrobit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its for saturn 5 based tvs such as the lf11, lh30,and lh20 series models. Sorry for not providing more clarification. The interesting thing about this firmware though is it seems to have support for ntfs formatted usb sticks(tested myself) among some other things for the more technical user. Oh and the fix I mentioned hasn't been posted yet because I have to open up my tv again to take the pictures for it. It will be coming, slowly but surely .
electrobit is offline  
post #21 of 81 Old 09-07-2010, 08:50 PM
Member
 
Georgie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrobit View Post

Its for saturn 5 based tvs such as the lf11, lh30,and lh20 series models. Sorry for not providing more clarification. The interesting thing about this firmware though is it seems to have support for ntfs formatted usb sticks(tested myself) among some other things for the more technical user. Oh and the fix I mentioned hasn't been posted yet because I have to open up my tv again to take the pictures for it. It will be coming, slowly but surely .

Thanks for the info... does that mean it should work for LH40? I compared headers against version 4.30.1 for LH40 and they look very similar, both mention Saturn 5. But your epk file has the unusual version number 10.16.0 in the header, this is unlike any version number I've heard of for North American LH series. Is this a hacked/rebuilt version? If so what original version number is it based on?
thanks
G
Georgie3 is offline  
post #22 of 81 Old 02-26-2011, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
kostas-gr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, this thread is old but i hope ill get some help

I recently had to upgrade an lg6000s firmware to use a CI card
after successfuly upgrading the firmware I turned it off and afterwards it wouldnt turn on again

(Green light blinks about 19-20 times and then remains steady)

I thought it was the firmware so
I tried connecting via terminal as this thread suggests but all it does is download information from the tv
I tried taping escape but it wouldnt go to the command line

any clues ??
Thanks in advance....
kostas-gr is offline  
post #23 of 81 Old 03-06-2011, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
robot-bell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can i have the tutorial please
robot-bell is offline  
post #24 of 81 Old 04-18-2011, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
Roughwater60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

My TV started getting slow to turn on and eventually took hours to come on so we just left it on full time but it finally went off and won't come back on. While researching the internet I found this was not an uncommon problem. It appears the most frequent cause is bad capicators on the power supply board. So being aware of the above and having some electrical repair expierence, I removed the back from my TV and discovered indeed that several Capacitors were visibily bad (the top was buldged out and leaking something black). I couldn't find anyone on-line that presently has that power supply board in stock but I did find a company that sells a capacitor kit for that power supply and many others as this obviously is one of the most common causes for this issue. Anyway I ordered the kit and awaiting it's arrival. I will post again after I replace the caps and let any readers know the results. The cost was very reasonable and the Caps they provide appear to be the correct one's and high quality as well. Guess we'll see.

This website won't let me post the URL for the Capacitor site - says I posted it 3 times which is not true as I only tried to post it onec, but anyway the company's name is: LCDalternatives

Hope this helps someone..

Later, Roughwater60
Roughwater60 is offline  
post #25 of 81 Old 04-20-2011, 08:35 AM
19k
Newbie
 
19k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roughwater60 View Post

Hi,

My TV started getting slow to turn on and eventually took hours to come on so we just left it on full time but it finally went off and won't come back on. While researching the internet I found this was not an uncommon problem. It appears the most frequent cause is bad capicators on the power supply board. So being aware of the above and having some electrical repair expierence, I removed the back from my TV and discovered indeed that several Capacitors were visibily bad (the top was buldged out and leaking something black). I couldn't find anyone on-line that presently has that power supply board in stock but I did find a company that sells a capacitor kit for that power supply and many others as this obviously is one of the most common causes for this issue. Anyway I ordered the kit and awaiting it's arrival. I will post again after I replace the caps and let any readers know the results. The cost was very reasonable and the Caps they provide appear to be the correct one's and high quality as well. Guess we'll see.

This website won't let me post the URL for the Capacitor site - says I posted it 3 times which is not true as I only tried to post it onec, but anyway the company's name is: LCDalternatives

Hope this helps someone..

Later, Roughwater60


^^ Also having this problem please keep us updated.
19k is offline  
post #26 of 81 Old 04-24-2011, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Roughwater60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, 19K and all,

In a previous Post I explained that I had issues with my LG TV and had purchased a Capacitor kit as caps on my TV physically looked bad. Anyway, I got the kit and replaced all the caps they sent (8) even though only 5 physically appeared bad.
Fortunately, after the repair my TV comes now on as it did when new. The cost of the kit was only 14 dollars. I caution anyone attempting this who has no or little experience soldering on a circuit board to find someone who does as it's possible to do more damage than good. Idealy you need a good soldering station, a lot of light, a magnafier, rosin core solder, soldering flux, alchol or acetone for cleaning up etc...
You can buy the caps seperately or in a kit form from LCDalternatives but I recommend the kit.

However, before buying a kit be sure to find the location of the Caps on the power supply section and look at them. If the top is buldged out and has some black spots on on the buldged out area it's definitely bad. The LCDalternatives website fortunately displayed a picture of the location of the caps on the board so I knew where to look when I took the back off my TV.

Hope this helps someone.

Terry
Lanv likes this.
Roughwater60 is offline  
post #27 of 81 Old 05-31-2011, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
randell1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please would like to know the fix for lg tv that won't turn on but power indicator light blinks, I have that problem
randell1957 is offline  
post #28 of 81 Old 05-31-2011, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
randell1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh! every single cap looks brand new, what to do can't afford what tv man quoted me to even drive out
randell1957 is offline  
post #29 of 81 Old 08-20-2011, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
bmirto127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem began with the power being inconsistent and not responding to the controls. Now, if i let my tv sit unplugged for a couple weeks it comes on once but then when i turn it off it doesn't come on again. The light comes on and the screen brightens a bit, but there is no picture or sound. I read a variety of forums and replaced the capacitors, but it didn't work. I thought that maybe they were soldered wrong because a friend did it, so i bought a whole new power circuit board. That didn't work either, so based off my little knowledge of circuitry and some further digging i thought that maybe enough power wasn't making it to the tv due to a problem in the noise filter, so i replaced that as well. Now i'm sitting here collecting enough parts to build a brand new tv when the two year old tv I've been trying to fix for a year is still broken.

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts or solutions to my problem.

peace out,
bmirto
bmirto127 is offline  
post #30 of 81 Old 08-20-2011, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
bmirto127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the problem is also a bit different
bmirto127 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47lg90 47 Inch Led Backlit 1080p 120 Hz Hdtv Gloss Piano Black With Blue
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off