The Official KDL....EX700 Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 3682 Old 04-27-2010, 07:20 PM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back to the 2 coax one input issue.
The latest solution I am going to pursue is to get a VCR with a coax in and RCA or S-Video out and then convert the RCA/S-video to HDMI and feed that through my receiver to the TV.
I would still need to use the VCR for channel surfing, but would eliminate the need for manually switching between coaxial signals.
Will update if this approach works
vurukov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 3682 Old 04-28-2010, 06:03 PM
Member
 
kpodolski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 52EX700 today. Looks really good and I'm very happy with the set. I do have one question though. I have four video sources: Pioneer BDP-51 bluray, an Onkyo DV-SP1000 dvd player, a Panasonic DMR-EZ27 dvd-ram recorder and a Magnovox DVR recorder. I have a Classe SSP-600 processor without HDMI switching so I have all four sources running to a DIGI Media HDMI switcher (4 in 1 out) which in turn is connected to the HDMI 1 on my Sony TV. What is odd, though, is that the Magnavox and the Panasonic recorders pass video to my TV but when I select the Pioneer or the Onkyo on the HDMI switcher the TV says "no signal" detected. I can run a HDMI cable direct from either the Pioneer or the Onkyo to the TV and all is fine. When I hook them back to the switcher no video. Everything worked fine on my old KDF-E42A10 so I'm a tab perplexed. The HDMI switcher is model number HSA-401. Any ideas? Thanks.
kpodolski is offline  
post #993 of 3682 Old 04-28-2010, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
walex19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching Avatar on my 46" ex700

My goodness! The quality is awesome!

Off angle sucks though...

I was considering swapping it for the samsung C6300 but I'll stick to this TV.
walex19 is offline  
post #994 of 3682 Old 04-28-2010, 06:16 PM
 
bk.secret23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird, there's a new EX600 and EX40B Series.......


http://www.sonystyle.ca/commerce/ser...ionPath=n32050
bk.secret23 is offline  
post #995 of 3682 Old 04-28-2010, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
How's that avatar lookin on it? The colors pop?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #996 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
walex19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

How's that avatar lookin on it? The colors pop?


Definitely! Looks almost 3D! ( 2.5 D) lol
walex19 is offline  
post #997 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 06:30 AM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also very impressed with the PQ, but notice rapid deterioration with off angle viewing.

Never having owned a Flat Screen before, I am not sure what to expect - is the EX 700 on par with other TVs when it comes to off angle?
Someone mentioned a Samsung 6300 – I was also considering it. Does that Samsung have better off angle parameters? The Sharp also LE810UN claims to have superior viewing angle.

Unfortuantelly off angle quality really makes a difference given my room set-up.

Is the off angle with LED worse than CCFL?
vurukov is offline  
post #998 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 07:16 AM
Member
 
dan.crouthamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orange County
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Off angle with the NX700 isn't good either.
dan.crouthamel is offline  
post #999 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Sharp as some pretty good off angle viewing. As well as an LG.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1000 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 10:52 AM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just came back from Future Shop to investigate the off angle situation.
To be honest, I can't really notice a difference between the different units. What I found to be more of an issue with the Sharp and LG that was not present with the EX700 is the glossy screen. It makes off angle in a bright environment a problem.

I am going to look at it again tonight, but as I said, in the store I didn't see anything that made me want to change my set to another brand (I still prefer the look of the EX700)
vurukov is offline  
post #1001 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 11:42 AM
Member
 
abramsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This morning I noticed that my KDL52EX701's clock and date needed to be reset again.

I also found that the software updated to PKG4.010AAL. The Sony support website still lists the the prior level PKG1.117AAL

Does anyone have any idea what was in this update?
abramsky is offline  
post #1002 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Here's a link to a review of the 52EX700:
http://hometheaterreview.com/sony-kd...hdtv-reviewed/
I did learn a bit more about the Cinemotion modes, which are poorly described in the manual. I'll try the Auto2 mode with MotionFlow to see if it is a bit less annoying. In Auto1, it was too obvious at times.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #1003 of 3682 Old 04-29-2010, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by abramsky View Post

This morning I noticed that my KDL52EX701's clock and date needed to be reset again.

I also found that the software updated to PKG4.001AAL. The Sony support website still lists the the prior level PKG1.117AAL

Does anyone have any idea what was in this update?

One reason why I don't like auto-updates. I'd rather wait a bit and see what the changes are. I've updated mine twice, but through USB. I do wish they would add the ability to do a 'update firmware now' option instead of turning the TV off and hoping it will update sometime.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #1004 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 04:15 AM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am mounting the TV only 1/2 inch away from the wall.

Would there be any problems with insufficient ventilation at the back?

Thx
vurukov is offline  
post #1005 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 05:29 AM
Member
 
SnoopyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abramsky View Post

This morning I noticed that my KDL52EX701's clock and date needed to be reset again.

I also found that the software updated to PKG4.010AAL. The Sony support website still lists the the prior level PKG1.117AAL

Does anyone have any idea what was in this update?

Mine has the same PKG4.010AAL. I wonder if this is the latest update? It is higher that 1.117AAL and when I looked on Sony's site, it said if you have a version higher than 1.117 than you don't need to install it.
SnoopyHD is offline  
post #1006 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 08:20 AM
Member
 
fatbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurukov View Post

I just came back from Future Shop to investigate the off angle situation.
To be honest, I can't really notice a difference between the different units. What I found to be more of an issue with the Sharp and LG that was not present with the EX700 is the glossy screen. It makes off angle in a bright environment a problem.

I am going to look at it again tonight, but as I said, in the store I didn't see anything that made me want to change my set to another brand (I still prefer the look of the EX700)

Same thing here at Best buy. Walking from side to side in the store, I didn't notice any better or worse off angle viewing when comparing the different models of lcds. Glossy screens on the others reflected the lights from top of the ceiling though. Didn't want to switch out my EX700 either.
fatbb is offline  
post #1007 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 10:54 AM
Member
 
kpodolski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurukov View Post

Back to the 2 coax one input issue.
The latest solution I am going to pursue is to get a VCR with a coax in and RCA or S-Video out and then convert the RCA/S-video to HDMI and feed that through my receiver to the TV.
I would still need to use the VCR for channel surfing, but would eliminate the need for manually switching between coaxial signals.
Will update if this approach works

Vurukov, I solved my cable/antenna issue by running my antenna feed through my Panasonic DMR-EZ27 which in turn is hooked to my TV via HDMI. Looks really good and I get the hi-def PBS station that is not provided in HD on my cable system. It's all good!
kpodolski is offline  
post #1008 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I told him to do somehing likethat before but he didn't. Hence. He still has the problem
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1009 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopyHD View Post

Mine has the same PKG4.010AAL. I wonder if this is the latest update? It is higher that 1.117AAL and when I looked on Sony's site, it said if you have a version higher than 1.117 than you don't need to install it.

Saw this note on the Sony site:
Sony has designed the BRAVIA® Televisions software update process to be customer friendly. This software update (version 4.010) provides the following benefits:

Improvement over version 1.117:

* Resolves an issue where a black and white picture may occasionally appear when using Video/Component shared input.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #1010 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 03:52 PM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

I told him to do somehing likethat before but he didn't. Hence. He still has the problem

Haha. I was on board from the start, but wanted to use an old VCR instead. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction Jukebox.

The Panasonic is pretty expensive. Is there a cheaper product that would do the same?
vurukov is offline  
post #1011 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 05:34 PM
Member
 
JMEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Basically my PS3 running HDMI out to Sony Receiver out and into this TV. The problem is the TV does not recognize the PS3 until a game or Blu-ray has begun to play or boot up? So in other words I have NO PS3 menu/interface. It completely skips it? I can here the PS3 main menu sound tones & music briefly but its as if the TV is switching it off or something via the receiver? Meanwhile I have selected the TV NOT to control other HDMI devices and it still is doing this. Is there a setting on this TV I am missing? Until this new TV my other Sony LCD worked fine with this exact hook-up. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
JMEANS is offline  
post #1012 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Vexxmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post

Basically my PS3 running HDMI out to Sony Receiver out and into this TV. The problem is the TV does not recognize the PS3 until a game or Blu-ray has begun to play or boot up? So in other words I have NO PS3 menu/interface. It completely skips it? I can here the PS3 main menu sound tones & music briefly but its as if the TV is switching it off or something via the receiver? Meanwhile I have selected the TV NOT to control other HDMI devices and it still is doing this. Is there a setting on this TV I am missing? Until this new TV my other Sony LCD worked fine with this exact hook-up. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

This is from the review posted above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheaterreview View Post

On the ergonomic front, the only issue I had with the KDL-52EX700 is that it sometimes flashed a "No Signal: Check the input" screen when switching between resolutions. I noticed that, when I fed the TV an HDMI signal directly from my DirecTV receiver, the message never appeared. However, when I routed the signal through an A/V receiver and it perhaps took a second longer for the HDMI signal to lock in, then the TV displayed the error message. I also saw it a few times when cuing up Blu-ray discs in the same configuration.

Vexxmania is offline  
post #1013 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
JMEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vexxmania View Post

This is from the review posted above:

Well that totally sucks! What are the frickin odds of this? Never have I ever had an issue running anything through a reciever. Talk about getting it ass backwards Sony. I get the input warning continously because the TV doesn't recognize the PS3 on its own until a game or movie begins. Sony better come up with a fix quick or there is going to be a lot of pissed off PS3 owners
JMEANS is offline  
post #1014 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Now Playstation3 problems? lol
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1015 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
don-n-sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a 52" ex701 from costco, had it for 45 days...returned it due to the very poor off angle viewing for the most part. Other issues were minor but added up. I bought a 54" panasonic plasma G25 and saved over $200. FYI this was the first non Sony TV I have ever purchased. Its been 2 weeks and I am very happy with it so far. Better PQ, no game lag and absolutely no off angle or motion issues.
don-n-sa is offline  
post #1016 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Yeah. But its plasma. Enough said lol
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1017 of 3682 Old 04-30-2010, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Plasma FTW!
ehgz1 is offline  
post #1018 of 3682 Old 05-01-2010, 09:09 PM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question:

Has anyone else noticed a clicking sound when the TV has been just shut down. It's every 5 sec or so. Not noticeable with speakers on, but quite distinct in a quiet room. Is this normal?
vurukov is offline  
post #1019 of 3682 Old 05-02-2010, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurukov View Post

Quick question:

Has anyone else noticed a clicking sound when the TV has been just shut down. It's every 5 sec or so. Not noticeable with speakers on, but quite distinct in a quiet room. Is this normal?

Are you sure it's not some cooling down ticking? The only click mine does is about 5 minutes after turning off, when it shuts down the main supply and drops into deep sleep.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #1020 of 3682 Old 05-02-2010, 01:57 PM
Member
 
vurukov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post

Are you sure it's not some cooling down ticking? The only click mine does is about 5 minutes after turning off, when it shuts down the main supply and drops into deep sleep.

This is driving me crazy. When the TV is on and there is no sound to mask it, it keeps clicking every 10 seconds or so. It's a static-like and/or a material heating click and quite audible. It actually never goes away. I've had the TV on for the past half an hour and it keep clicking away like a clock.

It appears to be coming from the top right corner of the unit.

Is this suffcient for me to bring it back? It's very irritating
vurukov is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Ex 700 Series 32 Inch Led Tv Black Kdl 32ex700 , Sony Bravia 40 Inch Kdl40nx700 Led Hdtv , Sony Bravia Ex700 Series 60 Inch Lcd With Led Back Lighting Hdtv Kdl 60ex700
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off