The Official KDL....EX700 Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I don't understand how people can "settle" with problems
JukeBox360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
SnoopyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I must be the luckiest Sony owner on this forum. I have absolutely NO issues/problems with my 40EX700. Maybe I got lucky or I've got the highest midichlorian count since Darth Vader and I used the force subconsciously to make sure I got a Sony with no problems.

I don't know, but I know I'm buying a bunch of lottery tickets tonight.
SnoopyHD is offline  
post #1083 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine has been a great TV so far as well. Couldn't be happier. I knew some of the problems like off angle viewing and sub average black levels before I purchased. But my set has been great and the HD picture is amazing. I very good upgrade over my KDS-60a2000.

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #1084 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Well. Nice to have a set without problems right!?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1085 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes, yes it is.

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #1086 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:48 PM
Member
 
SnoopyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, it is. This is my 1st LCD tv purchase as well, that's why I feel lucky. I've heard of a lot of people having to take back their sets due to all kinds of problems.
SnoopyHD is offline  
post #1087 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Most owners feel the same way as us I am sure. People on this forum are not the majority of people that purchase these sets. Forum members are in the minority and are far more picky about their electronics purchases. That being said, I am picky as hell about my stuff and I still find the HD PQ of this set stunning.

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #1088 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Couldn't agree more.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1089 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
iSean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a Sony UWA-BR100 (Wireless LAN Adapter) for my EX700. It works great.



I wanted to see who made this, so I plugged this in on my Macbook Pro's USB port and looked at the System Profiler.
It says "Manufacturer:BUFFALO"

Looking at the pictures of the BUFFALO WLI-UC-G300N USB 2.0 Wireless Adapter. It looks exactly the same.


I wonder if this would work? The WLI-UC-G300N is almost 1/2 the price of the UWA-BR100.
iSean is offline  
post #1090 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD Freaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to those (Jukebox and others) who posted their opinions about my EX400. It's going back in exchange for a Samsung now. I wanted to keep it, but continue to have speaker issues. The sound is occasionally very distorted at times, even from Blu-Ray. I know I could add external speakers, but that would just be putting a band aid on the problem.

Not sure how the EX400 compares to the 700, but the quality control of the 400 just doesn't seem to be there. IMO, Sony has not maintained its quality like it did in the past. A real shame, since I've always loved Sony tv's.

Like it or not, Samsung here I come. Who knows...it may be even worse.
DVD Freaky is offline  
post #1091 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
lol. Well good luck
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1092 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Holy bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVD Freaky View Post

Sony has not maintained its quality like it did in the past. A real shame.

The only thing Sony knows now is "Profit".

Sony is dead.
Holy bear is offline  
post #1093 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD Freaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holy bear View Post

The only thing Sony knows now is "Profit".

Well said.
DVD Freaky is offline  
post #1094 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 05:47 PM
 
bk.secret23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holy bear View Post

The only thing Sony knows now is "Profit".

So true. Though, that would apply to all the manufactures
bk.secret23 is offline  
post #1095 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
2K8CivicSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TV is still working beautifully. Watching HD playoff hockey right now and it's absolutely beautiful.

I do have ONE annoyance. Why the hell does the menu take so damn long to load?? I press "INPUT" to switch from TV to PS3, and it takes like 3 seconds to pop up the input switch box. It's like a computer trying to load a program...lol

Anyway, small inconvenience which will hopefully be addressed at some point maybe via a firmware update.

The picture quality for HDTV, Bluray, and PS3 gaming is absolutely fantastic. No issues with any of the potential common problems yet.
2K8CivicSI is offline  
post #1096 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
HD on the tv was pretty good. I loved that aspect of the tv when i owned it. I just did. Like how it made my movies from my comp look
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1097 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you don't own the TV anymore, why are you in here?

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
post #1098 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2K8CivicSI View Post

The TV is still working beautifully. Watching HD playoff hockey right now and it's absolutely beautiful.

I do have ONE annoyance. Why the hell does the menu take so damn long to load?? I press "INPUT" to switch from TV to PS3, and it takes like 3 seconds to pop up the input switch box. It's like a computer trying to load a program...lol

Anyway, small inconvenience which will hopefully be addressed at some point maybe via a firmware update.

The picture quality for HDTV, Bluray, and PS3 gaming is absolutely fantastic. No issues with any of the potential common problems yet.


You game on this tv a lot correct? How's the input lag on this tv?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1099 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD Freaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobC1983 View Post

If you don't own the TV anymore, why are you in here?

To thank the people who were kind enough to help. Sheesh, just shoot me, why dontcha.
DVD Freaky is offline  
post #1100 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
That and I like to know what people think about a product
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1101 of 3684 Old 05-07-2010, 11:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
DVD Freaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

That and I like to know what people think about a product

Amen, Juke.
DVD Freaky is offline  
post #1102 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 12:19 AM
Member
 
omnisxrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Receiving this tv soon (52" 701) as part of the sxrd fiasco.

The sxrd upscaler for SD content wasn't the greatest. How does SD stuff look on this tv?I have a 46" panny plasma in the bedroom which handles SD a billion times better. Granted it's smaller but it really is noticeable.

This wasn't my first option in getting a new tv this year, but it was the best deal from Sony so I'm trying to catchup and do as much research as possible.
omnisxrd is offline  
post #1103 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 02:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVD Freaky View Post

Amen, Juke.

lol. AMEN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by omnisxrd View Post

Receiving this tv soon (52" 701) as part of the sxrd fiasco.

The sxrd upscaler for SD content wasn't the greatest. How does SD stuff look on this tv?I have a 46" panny plasma in the bedroom which handles SD a billion times better. Granted it's smaller but it really is noticeable.

This wasn't my first option in getting a new tv this year, but it was the best deal from Sony so I'm trying to catchup and do as much research as possible.

SD on this tv will leav you very dissatisfie. Idk what it is with this tv. but SD nomatter what you do. Just looks downright awful. HD on the other hand looks great. But this tv makes SD look like something worse then SD. if there's even such a thing. I tried changing setting after setting. But it wod still look as bad.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #1104 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by omnisxrd View Post

Receiving this tv soon (52" 701) as part of the sxrd fiasco.

The sxrd upscaler for SD content wasn't the greatest. How does SD stuff look on this tv?I have a 46" panny plasma in the bedroom which handles SD a billion times better. Granted it's smaller but it really is noticeable.

This wasn't my first option in getting a new tv this year, but it was the best deal from Sony so I'm trying to catchup and do as much research as possible.

My biggest issue with SD (at least at 480i) is that the black level is way too high compared with other resolutions. I did see it can go into service mode like other Sony TV's, but I didn't do anything more than just go into that mode so far. I didn't look to see if I can make adjustments in it to fix it.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #1105 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
jmc13golf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Morning all.

It has now been over a month since I purchased the KDL52EX700; what a great purchase! Extremely happy with the performance.

Just over a week ago, I bought the Sony UWABR100 wireless adapter which has opened a whole new world of viewing options. There is only one thing not happening. I have all these "Internet Video Links" but no "Internet Widgets". What I am referring to is seeing links to say, Yahoo with all it's services; news, weather; etc. I looked at the Enhanced Features setting, but all it has is Send_PC_to_TV.

Am I misunderstanding something, i.e. looking for an option that does not exist in Canada? Is my setup incorrect?

Any feedback will be appreciated.

Thx
Jim
Windsor On.
jmc13golf is offline  
post #1106 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StuBerger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since the few days I have owned the 52EX700 and doing what I can with calibrating it, I feel my 52V5100 had a better over all picture. I am also sad that my V5100 was sent back to Sony and since I didn't keep the original box for the V5100..the delivery service had to send the V5100 back in no box...yikes,,that TV probably isn't in good shape as I write this!
Since Sony sent this one to me on a exchange after the BBB got involved, I think I might have to call them and tell them something else needs to be worked out!
The off-angle viewing is horrid! And any SD media shows up very unacceptable! And I also get weird blotchy video on some SD as well as HD content in the corners and sides atleast from Directv!
If you look straight on, the 52EX700 looks fine but heck, I move off angle just a slight bit and crappola!
I just wish I had my V5100 back! Now I will have to do battle with Sony again and they think THIS issue is closed...ha!

Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
StuBerger is offline  
post #1107 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 09:14 AM
Newbie
 
matrix2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi i buy a 40EX700

it use sharp UV2A 10 bit pannel? is true?
matrix2 is offline  
post #1108 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 09:26 AM
Member
 
omnisxrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm....I'm assuming a lot of people compared this set to the kdl55ex500/501?

I'm starting to think maybe I should have taken up Sony on that model instead.

Not that sd looking nice is a deal breaker, but I put up with it looking bad for so long on the sxrd that I was just hoping a newer tv would handle it better.

Just not looking forward to getting rid of one problem tv and getting another problem tv to deal with.
omnisxrd is offline  
post #1109 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 11:55 AM
Member
 
JMEANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEANS View Post

Basically my PS3 running HDMI out to Sony Receiver out and into this TV. The problem is the TV does not recognize the PS3 until a game or Blu-ray has begun to play or boot up? So in other words I have NO PS3 menu/interface. It completely skips it? I can here the PS3 main menu sound tones & music briefly but its as if the TV is switching it off or something via the receiver? Meanwhile I have selected the TV NOT to control other HDMI devices and it still is doing this. Is there a setting on this TV I am missing? Until this new TV my other Sony LCD worked fine with this exact hook-up. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Instead of running the satellite HDMI input to 1 - i switched it to input 4 and moved the receiver HDMI from 4 to 1 and my problem is solved. Duh? Could it of been more simpler?
JMEANS is offline  
post #1110 of 3684 Old 05-08-2010, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JukeBox360 View Post

lol. AMEN!


SD on this tv will leav you very dissatisfie. Idk what it is with this tv. but SD nomatter what you do. Just looks downright awful. HD on the other hand looks great. But this tv makes SD look like something worse then SD. if there's even such a thing. I tried changing setting after setting. But it wod still look as bad.

SD on this set isn't any worse than any other LCD I have owned trying to upconvert a standard signal to an HD resolution. The only one I have had better luck with is my 46V5100, but my w5100 and my SXRD are both just as bad. The problem is smaller TVs look like they handle it better than larger LCDs due to the difference in perception, distance and resolution vs screen area.

And the reason I asked is why you are still in here is you seem to slam this TV repeatedly and you don't even own it anymore. If you don't like it, that is fine - but people that have problems are better served by other owners who can try to help with a specific problem. Unless you are a calibrator of some sort. And I don't get that feeling from you.

My Home Theater
JacobC1983 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Ex 700 Series 32 Inch Led Tv Black Kdl 32ex700 , Sony Bravia 40 Inch Kdl40nx700 Led Hdtv , Sony Bravia Ex700 Series 60 Inch Lcd With Led Back Lighting Hdtv Kdl 60ex700
Gear in this thread - Ex700 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off