Official KDL..EX500/501 Thread - Page 207 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6181 of 6201 Old 01-05-2014, 04:19 PM
Member
 
wanderjahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious if anybody knows how to delete something from your favorites.
wanderjahr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6182 of 6201 Old 01-09-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
BDUB619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl@cker View Post

I've been trying this tv with backlight set to min, which I never thought I'd do. But it seems to give the cleanest picture and best detail.

I too have recently adjusted the backlight down to 1 or Minimal and think the picture quality has improved because of it. I keep my Brightness set to 52 also. From my experience, brighter backlight seems to be better for brighter rooms.

As for those who are having problems with this set now (blue light streaks, flashing lights) sorry to hear. Not all of these models suffer from those problems. I've had mine for 3 years and counting, no issues (knock on wood).

As for deleting favorites, this is what I found in the user manual, but don't think you can pick which ones you want deleted, just deletes the oldest one:

Add to Favorites, then press *. Your newly
added item will be listed at the top of the list.
When you continue to add items beyond the
10th item, the item listed at the bottom of the
list will be automatically removed from the
list.

Sony HW40es Projector / 106" Silver Ticket screen
Sony 70" W830B LED TV
PS4 GT: Ringo619
Xbox One GT: JonnyRingo619
BDUB619 is online now  
post #6183 of 6201 Old 01-12-2014, 04:18 PM
Member
 
supraman x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Matteson , IL
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Long time no talk my fellow EX500 owners. My 46 has been nothing short of amazing when it comes to HD content and playing xbox. However I am back in the market for another 46" set but I dont know where to begin. I want a tv thats going to be atleast on par with the ex500 in terms of pq and features. What do you guys recommended?
supraman x is offline  
post #6184 of 6201 Old 01-24-2014, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
blazinghellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So no activity in a bit but I need some advice. I have used a lower sharpness on my 360 and ps3 for a while, around 6/30. But now for any 1080p native game(aka ps4) I feel I need to turn my sharpness up to halfway, and it looks super amazing. Back at 720p stuff I gotta redown it. Is this normal? I always turned up blurays. Sl this doesn't surprise me too much.
blazinghellion is offline  
post #6185 of 6201 Old 02-11-2014, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
dopax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Greetings to all:

I would appreciate your help regarding some data that I need about KDL-32EX500 , equipped with the Bravia Engine 3 ; data that I need for proper configuration of soft I use with the HTPC that I've connected via HDMI to it , and I'm not able to find or confirm :

- These data are the range supported by this TV ( 16-235 or 0-255 ??? ) and bit depth of the display ( 8 or more ??? ) I don't know if this will do any good data but according with http://www.avsforum.com/t/1381724/of...ampling-thread , my TV supports 4:4:4

Thanks in advance

dopax is offline  
post #6186 of 6201 Old 02-12-2014, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
dopax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

~~nobody can help me?? ............. I have configured ATI catalyst full RGB 4:4:4 and 0-255 in dynamic range, also I have 0-255 in madVR as dynamic range but unconfirmed if my TV natively supports not know if this configuration is correct.

dopax is offline  
post #6187 of 6201 Old 02-16-2014, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
sl@cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TVs are always 16-235.
sl@cker is offline  
post #6188 of 6201 Old 02-16-2014, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
dopax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Always ?..........Well.....I had understood that if there are TV's that support natively 0-255, at least, modern models.

If we consider that mine is a 2010 model (about) is that the odds are slim, but I wish to confirm.

Thanks

dopax is offline  
post #6189 of 6201 Old 02-16-2014, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopax View Post

~~nobody can help me?? ............. I have configured ATI catalyst full RGB 4:4:4 and 0-255 in dynamic range, also I have 0-255 in madVR as dynamic range but unconfirmed if my TV natively supports not know if this configuration is correct.

I don't see an option in the manual to select between Video Levels (16-235) and PC Levels (0-255), but if the TV is stuck using the video standard 16-235, it will crush your PC's blacks. If this is happening and you play the AVS HD 709 Black Clipping pattern, you wouldn't see the bars 16-25 without cranking Brightness up hugely. If you use a paint program to view an image containing black bars RGB 0, 1, 2, ..., you wouldn't see the ones below 16 without cranking Brightness up hugely. If there's no way to set the TV to PC Levels, you need to configure the PC for Video Levels. I think that unlike Nvidia, ATI can compress the desktop, so the desktop will look more correct, not that it's unusable when output at 0-255. That's actually the way I run my HTPC with an Nvidia card, and despite blacks being crushed on the desktop, there is no problem using the UI for programs like WMC and XBMC, configuring the PC, reading web pages, etc.
dopax likes this.
sawfish is offline  
post #6190 of 6201 Old 02-17-2014, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
dopax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks ........ I'll take into account what you have exposed me.

Greetings.

dopax is offline  
post #6191 of 6201 Old 04-23-2014, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sl@cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wonder if serialmike got a new tv..
sl@cker is offline  
post #6192 of 6201 Old 05-26-2014, 04:12 AM
Member
 
bass_caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are there any known reliability issues with this line? I bought my mom a kdl-40ex501 (man. date june 2010) about 3 years ago and just the other day she said it didn't work. I went over to check it out and it was completely dead. no little read standby light, and no response at all. it would not power up at all. is there any kind of reset switch or breaker or anything? it doesn't get much use and its just a few years old. I have a hard time believing she wore it out already. I'm hoping theres an easy fix before I'm out of pocket for another new tv for mom. I already laid the groundwork to convince her that "its still under warranty" for a replacement, although I know its coming out of my pocket if indeed it requires replacement.
bass_caster is offline  
post #6193 of 6201 Old 05-26-2014, 09:38 AM
Member
 
jhck66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass_caster View Post

are there any known reliability issues with this line? I bought my mom a kdl-40ex501 (man. date june 2010) about 3 years ago and just the other day she said it didn't work. I went over to check it out and it was completely dead. no little read standby light, and no response at all. it would not power up at all. is there any kind of reset switch or breaker or anything? it doesn't get much use and its just a few years old. I have a hard time believing she wore it out already. I'm hoping theres an easy fix before I'm out of pocket for another new tv for mom. I already laid the groundwork to convince her that "its still under warranty" for a replacement, although I know its coming out of my pocket if indeed it requires replacement.

The only recourse is to have a professional look at the TV. I don't believe we are capable of diagnosing a TV over the internet without specifics. As far as any "known reliability issues" I can safely say there are none outside of the usual but rare lemons that people have encountered early in this thread. My TV is just as reliable as the day I bought it. If there were glaring issues with reliability this thread would have covered it.
jhck66 is offline  
post #6194 of 6201 Old 05-26-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
jhck66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl@cker View Post

Wonder if serialmike got a new tv..

I believe he vowed, in this thread, to get a Full Array Local Dimming model. The 2014 4K Sony XBR-65X950B costs $8,000. That pricetag would give most us a reason to pause.
jhck66 is offline  
post #6195 of 6201 Old 05-26-2014, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass_caster View Post

are there any known reliability issues with this line? I bought my mom a kdl-40ex501 (man. date june 2010) about 3 years ago and just the other day she said it didn't work. I went over to check it out and it was completely dead. no little read standby light, and no response at all. it would not power up at all. is there any kind of reset switch or breaker or anything? it doesn't get much use and its just a few years old. I have a hard time believing she wore it out already. I'm hoping theres an easy fix before I'm out of pocket for another new tv for mom. I already laid the groundwork to convince her that "its still under warranty" for a replacement, although I know its coming out of my pocket if indeed it requires replacement.

Best place to ask would be:

http://www.agoraquest.com/viewforum.php?forum=34

The same thing happened to my mom's 46EX500 about six months after she bought it. Sony replaced the power board under warranty. I was there when the tech fixed it, and it was a simple board swap, an easy DYI assuming (a) this is the actual problem, and (b) you are able to find a working board through shopjimmy.com, ebay, etc, as opposed to a board that was harvested from a dead TV that died due to that board. You also need to be sure you're getting the right board based on TV model and serial numbers or manufacturing date; Sony is known to use different boards for different serial number ranges, and you can't just look at the big number silkscreened onto the board, because it can be the same across the whole range.
sawfish is offline  
post #6196 of 6201 Old 01-06-2015, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
TruWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,


I've recently had major issues with my KDL46EX500. I've had this TV for about 3 years and in the last year it hasn't been used that much. Initially I was having a program with the volume going to 255 and being unable to lower it with either the remote or controls on the side of the TV. I would have to reset the settings on the TV in order for the volume to return to a normal level and able to change it with the remote or side control. Later the picture started to changed to a fuschia/pink tint.


It was not a case of the settings as using the setting like vivid or others would still give the fuschia/pink colour to mostly whites. One day the TV eventually would not turn on. The red standby light would be on and when the TV is turned on the green light would come on but no picture and no Sony logo and tone. Also, along with the black screen, the TV will not turn off by either the remote or side control on the TV and the only way to turn the TV off is to pull the plug.


I did some research and thought the original problem with the fuschia/pink colour was due to a faulty main board, which I decided to swap out but did not correct the problem with the TV turning on and no picture or sound.


Has anyone heard of a similar issue with this TV? I'm guessing the issue might be the TCON possibly a fuse as the panel does not light up at all.


Any expert input would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by TruWu; 01-06-2015 at 11:07 PM.
TruWu is offline  
post #6197 of 6201 Old 01-21-2015, 06:11 AM
Member
 
zip2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Next month will be 5 years with my 46EX501.
I really love it with only one quibble, the sound leaves a little to be desired but routing it to the audio receiver solves that problem. I still am amazed at the terrific picture.


I'd love to keep it till year 10 (especially since I recently wall-mounted it...LOTS of work.
zip2play is offline  
post #6198 of 6201 Old 03-20-2015, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ok so thinking of maybe going to a bigger size TV what would a 55ex500 be worth in todays market?

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #6199 of 6201 Old 04-07-2015, 08:41 AM
Member
 
wanderjahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my calibrations (updated April 2015) for the 55" if anybody is interested (HCFR, Spyder 3):

Default Settings (~100ms of lag)
Picture Mode: Custom
Backlight: Min
Picture: 95
Brightness: 52
Color: 56
Hue: R2
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Sharpness: 2
Noise Reduction: Off
MPEG: Noise Reduction: Off
Motionflow: Off
CineMotion: Off

Advanced Settings
Adv. Contrast Enhancer: Off
Black Corrector: Off
Gamma: 0
Clear White Off
Live Color: Off

White Balance
R-Gain: -14
G-Gain: -4
B-Gain: 0
R-Bias: 0
G-Bias: +4
B-Bias: +11

Game Settings (~70ms of lag)
Picture Mode: Game-Original
Backlight: Min
Picture: 96
Brightness: 51
Color: 54
Hue: R2
Color Temperature: Warm 2
Sharpness: 2
Ambient Sensor: Off

Last edited by wanderjahr; Today at 09:02 AM. Reason: Added lag times
wanderjahr is online now  
post #6200 of 6201 Old Yesterday, 11:59 AM
Member
 
wanderjahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some lag tests using the custom picture mode and the game picture modes. I utlized the clone-camera method and captured 5 instances for both picture modes. I've attached a photo of what a result would look like. I adjusted the photo in editing software so I could read the results as the shutter speed didn't allow for much light. Basically, game modes (didn't matter which one) yielded ~70ms of lag with the quickest being 62ms and the longest being 101ms. Custom picture mode was ~100ms with the quickest being 85ms and the longest being 109ms. I used the exact same settings for testing as my calibrated settings (see above).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150419_09_12_49_Pro.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	230.8 KB
ID:	674457  
wanderjahr is online now  
post #6201 of 6201 Old Today, 03:41 PM
Member
 
wanderjahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LR6AGB001 View Post
Would anyone care to test for input lag?
I can do extensive input lag tests if anybody is still interested. I did some preliminary tests on certain modes (~70ms) but can do more if there is still a desire.
wanderjahr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia 60 Inch Lcd Hdtv Kdl 60ex500 , Sony Bravia V Series Kdl 52v5100 52 Inch 1080p 120hz Lcd Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off