Official 2010 Sony ...HX701 Owners Calibration thread - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 823 Old 04-08-2011, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
madurodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbaes72 View Post

55HX701 from Costco, Sept 2010. At work, so I don't have build date handy, but no issues at all. Sure it has the glass that several complain about reflection/glare, but I have a 3 yr old that likes to touch or sometimes hit the tv (gets a firm scolding from me). So, I'm thankful that it's more child-proof...haha. But once again, no issues at all and I do use the various features like watching Netflix. Just remember, the Wi-Fi adapter is bought separately.

I really like the reflective glass. Deeper colors then non-reflective. If your lighting works, you won't regret it!
madurodave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 823 Old 04-14-2011, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
mikefromottawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can some one point me to the official thread for the KDL-xxHX701. I have a question about the use of the USB port (like why I can not read stuff off a USB drive plugged into the TV USB port).
Thanks
mikefromottawa is offline  
post #783 of 823 Old 04-14-2011, 10:26 PM
Member
 
species5618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think this IS the official thread...this set was only available at Future Shop and The Sony Store in Canada, and had a fairly limited release in the US, hence the smaller size of this thread compared to the EX500, for example.

I just got my HX46701 out of the box and set up, so I'm not the best person to answer your question--I may be mistaken, but I think there were some posts about the USB port earlier in the thread. I would suggest going back several pages to check it out.
species5618 is offline  
post #784 of 823 Old 04-14-2011, 11:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefromottawa View Post
Can some one point me to the official thread for the KDL-xxHX701. I have a question about the use of the USB port (like why I can not read stuff off a USB drive plugged into the TV USB port).
Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by species5618 View Post
I think this IS the official thread...this set was only available at Future Shop and The Sony Store in Canada, and had a fairly limited release in the US, hence the smaller size of this thread compared to the EX500, for example.

I just got my HX46701 out of the box and set up, so I'm not the best person to answer your question--I may be mistaken, but I think there were some posts about the USB port earlier in the thread. I would suggest going back several pages to check it out.
Go to "Search This Thread" (Just above the first post on the right.), and do a search on "USB". You'll get 19 hits as of now.
htwaits is online now  
post #785 of 823 Old 04-15-2011, 09:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
madurodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefromottawa View Post

Can some one point me to the official thread for the KDL-xxHX701. I have a question about the use of the USB port (like why I can not read stuff off a USB drive plugged into the TV USB port).
Thanks

What sort of issue are you having? I was able to use mine. That is how I updated my software initially.

Try to delete files on there and try again, or reformat if necessary. It should work.
madurodave is offline  
post #786 of 823 Old 04-15-2011, 09:59 PM
Member
 
species5618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but does anyone know when the latest firmware update for the HX701 series was issued?

My 46" model has a build date of March 2011, so I'm wondering if I even need to bother with any FW updates--due to the late build date, would all the updates already be included? Although I'm familiar with the concept of FW updates, I'm new to actually using them as my last set was a CRT built in 2000.

Thanks in advance for any comments/advice.
species5618 is offline  
post #787 of 823 Old 04-16-2011, 01:44 AM
Member
 
Judy52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My last update was 1/3/11. I have the 55". I guess it would be the same for yours. If you go to the Sony site you can check it out.
Judy52 is offline  
post #788 of 823 Old 04-17-2011, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by species5618 View Post

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but does anyone know when the latest firmware update for the HX701 series was issued?

My 46" model has a build date of March 2011, so I'm wondering if I even need to bother with any FW updates--due to the late build date, would all the updates already be included? Although I'm familiar with the concept of FW updates, I'm new to actually using them as my last set was a CRT built in 2000.

Thanks in advance for any comments/advice.

I have a 40" and I just received a firmware update a few days ago, I think, from 4.086 to 4.099. I noticed a significant change to the Netflix interface. You can now browse different categories, search (press the Options button on the remote), etc.

I have the TV connected directly (wired) to my router and set the auto updates to on in the TV's menu. Unfortunately Sony's website doesn't have the latest firmware yet, http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...mdl=KDL40HX701
So I guess anyone wanting it will have to use auto updates somehow...plug in or wireless adapter...until it's posted.

I want Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!
redsandvb is offline  
post #789 of 823 Old 04-18-2011, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Judy52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post

I have a 40" and I just received a firmware update a few days ago, I think, from 4.086 to 4.099. I noticed a significant change to the Netflix interface. You can now browse different categories, search (press the Options button on the remote), etc.

I have the TV connected directly (wired) to my router and set the auto updates to on in the TV's menu. Unfortunately Sony's website doesn't have the latest firmware yet, http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...mdl=KDL40HX701
So I guess anyone wanting it will have to use auto updates somehow...plug in or wireless adapter...until it's posted.

I have mine set to auto also and just checked this morning and my 55" has had an update. I now have 4.099.
Judy52 is offline  
post #790 of 823 Old 04-18-2011, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
madurodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post


I have a 40" and I just received a firmware update a few days ago, I think, from 4.086 to 4.099. I noticed a significant change to the Netflix interface. You can now browse different categories, search (press the Options button on the remote), etc.

I have the TV connected directly (wired) to my router and set the auto updates to on in the TV's menu. Unfortunately Sony's website doesn't have the latest firmware yet, http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu...mdl=KDL40HX701
So I guess anyone wanting it will have to use auto updates somehow...plug in or wireless adapter...until it's posted.

The Netflix update is very nice! I like it!
madurodave is offline  
post #791 of 823 Old 05-11-2011, 08:43 AM
Member
 
johanverschuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A new firmware PKG4.102EUL-108 update will be released soon. FW adds new features for Internet services such as Twitter.

See Sony.jp link.

http://www.sony.jp/bravia/update/index.html
johanverschuren is offline  
post #792 of 823 Old 05-11-2011, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
madurodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johanverschuren View Post

A new firmware PKG4.102EUL-108 update will be released soon. FW adds new features for Internet services such as Twitter.

See Sony.jp link.

http://www.sony.jp/bravia/update/index.html

Can't read Japanese!

Will check from home on computer translator.
madurodave is offline  
post #793 of 823 Old 07-03-2011, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
freeman727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread. But for those of you who are still looking for KDL55-HX701's. I just went over to the Sony Outlet in Riverhead, NY and snagged one for $1000+tax. The extended 3 year warranty was only $100 so I got that too. I haven't set it up yet but I am really excited.

They only had 1 left, but if any of you live near a Sony Outlet, check it out.
freeman727 is offline  
post #794 of 823 Old 07-20-2011, 02:37 AM
Member
 
alexkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I bought 2 of the 46" 701s at future shop for $499 each clearence. Too good of a deal to pass up. I am just wondering where I can find the monolith stand and if this tv can play mkv files off of a usb stick. thanks!
alexkidd is offline  
post #795 of 823 Old 07-29-2011, 11:51 AM
Member
 
safe bobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That is a hot deal...did u have to go in store to actual see the un-advertised clearance?

If I have a computer in the basement with a bunch of movies on it...how do I stream the movies onto the tv in another room?
safe bobo is offline  
post #796 of 823 Old 08-10-2011, 10:28 PM
Member
 
johanverschuren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Sony KDL-46HX700 with a LTY[Z]460HQ02-001 Samsung LCD panel and if you compare this model with its successor you will see that the quality has not improved .

Sony To Rehaul Loss-Making TV Business As Sales Forecast Slashed.

Loss-Building TV Affair Aѕ Sales Forecast Slashed HDTV Test Sony's forecast fοr sales οf Bravia LCD TV displays hаѕ bееn revised downwards bу 19% tο a total οf 22 million sets. Executives аt Sony аrе now ѕаіԁ tο bе “going back tο thе depiction board” whеn іt comes tο thе companionship's TV arm, and some believe that this could mean that a possible merger is on the cards, particularly given that many other television makers are experiencing similar problems.

Source: HDTVTest.co.uk
johanverschuren is offline  
post #797 of 823 Old 09-06-2011, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Maverickaim9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I snatched one of these from amazon for $601.00! I hope I like it, ive returned like 10 tv's already and i really hope this is what im looking for. All the things i read in here are mostly good. Review to follow once i get TV.
Maverickaim9 is offline  
post #798 of 823 Old 09-21-2011, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody used the ARC function? If I have other components connected directly to the tv via HDMI and analogue audio, does the HDMI 1 input with ARC always output whatever audio is being used on the TV ie. playing wii on tv the audio will also be output via the HDMI using ARC.

the reason I am asking is that I am considering adding a soundbar that has ARC, and have all components direct to TV and audio from TV to soundbar. Could use optical or analogue, but with HDMI ARC, the soundbar turns on and off automatically.

Thanks
Jon SS is offline  
post #799 of 823 Old 09-21-2011, 10:01 AM
Member
 
tomcat_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if I'm misunderstanding the question, but I use the optical out on the tv to connect to my home theatre receiver, whatever I plug directly into the tv (cable box to HDMI 1 and BR player to HDMI 4) has its signal sent out of the tvs optical out to the receiver. I get 5.1 in shows and on blue ray discs just by switching inputs on the tv to the correct source because I just leave the receiver set to the same input all the time. It's seamless
tomcat_fan is offline  
post #800 of 823 Old 09-21-2011, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat_fan View Post

Sorry if I'm misunderstanding the question, but I use the optical out on the tv to connect to my home theatre receiver, whatever I plug directly into the tv (cable box to HDMI 1 and BR player to HDMI 4) has its signal sent out of the tvs optical out to the receiver. I get 5.1 in shows and on blue ray discs just by switching inputs on the tv to the correct source because I just leave the receiver set to the same input all the time. It's seamless

I was wanting to do the same but use the HDMI ARC output to a soundbar. I was hoping that the HDMI ARC would output whatever is showing on the TV (analogue or digital) so that the soundbar when receiving an HDMI input will switch on and off automaticaly
Jon SS is offline  
post #801 of 823 Old 09-21-2011, 10:19 AM
Member
 
tomcat_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HDMIs work that way for sure since I'm doing it. You should be ok. I have to read up on what HDMI ARC is, I thought the HDMI plugs were strictly inputs. Guess I stopped researching when the tv did what I wanted.

Just googled it. That's a neat idea! Wish I could confirm ARC functionality, but if the same thought process went into it as did the HDMI in -> Optical Out that I use then you should be ok.
tomcat_fan is offline  
post #802 of 823 Old 12-09-2011, 09:57 AM
Member
 
sivavk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard sony tvs are getting YouTube in hd with a firmware update. Is this tv getting it? Other tvs seem to be getting facebook and twitter.
sivavk is offline  
post #803 of 823 Old 12-09-2011, 10:10 AM
Member
 
tomcat_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope you're right, YouTube could look so much better than it does currently on my TV. I've seen vids that I know should look decent but they don't. I guess that's why.
tomcat_fan is offline  
post #804 of 823 Old 03-14-2012, 12:32 PM
Member
 
livingproof73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody actually know where to find a good amount of calibration settings? So far this thread dedicated to the topic....is not LOL! I have only found two on the 27 pages here.
livingproof73 is offline  
post #805 of 823 Old 03-14-2012, 01:38 PM
Member
 
howlinrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: American Canyon, CA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My question as well. Who has some updated settings?
howlinrock is offline  
post #806 of 823 Old 03-24-2012, 04:15 AM
Newbie
 
Jokaell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can honestly say that this line of tv's didn't get much love here on avs. As you pointed out, only 2 calibration's exist in this entire thread. I did find that the first calibration worked rather well, but it's sad that there were only 2 total.
Jokaell is offline  
post #807 of 823 Old 03-24-2012, 07:49 AM
Member
 
livingproof73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be nice to see more settings posted for this TV. I had tried one of the settings but found the picture was too dark.
livingproof73 is offline  
post #808 of 823 Old 03-28-2012, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
madurodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NH
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will post mine in a few days.
madurodave is offline  
post #809 of 823 Old 06-04-2012, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 3 apple Tv 3s, and for some reason when I play an HD video and stream to this TV it plays back a bit choppy / jumpy. I have tested the same file on my other TVs and swapped around the apple TVs (HDMI to an old rear projection, HDMI to a plasma through a receiver / processor set to pass through). I have the HDMI directly to this sony LCD tv. The file seems to have buffered to the appletv's RAM so I don't think it is a network problem and looks like a settings issue with the Tv?

Any help would be appreciated. These are video files I have converted myself with Handbrake.

Thanks
Jon SS is offline  
post #810 of 823 Old 06-12-2012, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
hx701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All....When you use the Netflix viewer on the HX701 does it display in 1080p if that quality is there or only 720p like my older Netflix device? Is there an update that sony and or netflix has released for the widget to display 1080p like the new netflix players do?
hx701 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off