Proper way to strip/terminate RG6? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never seem to be able to strip and terminate RG6 properly. (eg. my connectors are very loose, fall off, etc)

I'm not sure if it's my tools but here's what I'm using:

IDEAL Coaxial Stripper, 3-Step
and
IDEAL Economy Compression Tool

I've read two methods for stripping the cable:

1) Remove outer jacket, outer braid, and outer foil. Fold inner braid down around jacket and leave inner foil in contact with dielectric.

2) Remove outer jacket, leave outer braid, and remove outer foil. Folder both outer and inner braid down around jacket and leave inner foil in contact with dielectric.

Which is correct? I've also heard of removing the inner foil and/or folding it against the jacket along with the braid.

Also, is my compression tool compatible with both RG-6 and RG-6 Quad?

Thanks so much...
sofakng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 06:36 AM
Member
 
abierce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Carmel,NY,USA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the same stripper tool and it works flawlessly, I don't want to insult you but are using it correctly? Mine does have an image of which way to place the coax into the tool before you spin it to cut and trim. My compression tool is a little different model but I found that you really need to make sure you apply some pressure to hold the cable from backing out when the compression is actually being done.
abierce is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can strip it down to the dielectric and it still should work fine as long as the connector is shoved on there good. As far as being loose... double check that you are not stripping RG59
topr is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@abierce: No offense taken at all. I am probably using it wrong which is why I'm posting here

@topr: I'm sure it's RG-6 but I don't know if it's quad shielded or not so maybe that's my problem.

I'm just not sure which braiding/foil to leave on and if it needs to be folded back before inserting it into the connector, etc.
sofakng is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All the foil and braid are electrically the same. Are you doing F-connectors because sometimes they can be a bugger to push on there far enough. If the white dielectric isn't almost butted up to the opening at the other end you probably don't have it pushed on far enough.
topr is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sofakng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, that's what I read... (eg. the braid and foil are electrically "common" but they work together to block out most interference, etc)

Should the dielectric be pushed through the hole a tiny bit before I compress it, flush with the opening, or slightly outside of it? (the compression will move the cable, I think...)
sofakng is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Isn't this better asked in the installer/installation forum?
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Polydorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofakng View Post

Should the dielectric be pushed through the hole a tiny bit before I compress it, flush with the opening, or slightly outside of it? (the compression will move the cable, I think...)

I always push it through.
Polydorus is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 01:40 PM
Member
 
abierce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Carmel,NY,USA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
that little stripper tool should have a couple of blades in that will will leave everything correct for you after its used, I am away from home at present but if you can wait until the weekend I can probably make you a little video that will show you
abierce is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you go to youtube and type in F connector their are quite few.
topr is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
One big problem with all IDEAL tools is that the instructions suck!

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off