Sony kdl-46xbr4 5 standby blinks - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-09-2010, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MinusTheTube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I was fixing my tab bond issue and went to adjust the metal caseing that lies on top of the LCD and forgot I had put the aluminum tape back on and I think I shorted something. Yes the TV was on and had been the only time I had left it on while adjusting it. The TV will not power on now but will give me a 5 standby blink code. Good news is I fixed the tab bond issue but could leave well enough alone. Suggestions guys?
MinusTheTube is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-09-2010, 07:32 PM
Member
 
poodlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Newman, Il
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TCON Error 5X
Communications have been lost between the video processor on the
FB1/FB3 board and the TCON (TFT Control) board which is part of the
LCD panel. This can be caused by a defective FB1/FB3 board, a defective
LVDS cable, or a TCON failure. On XBR models using the frame doubling
UB1 board the problem could reside there.

i-need-a-beak.com
poodlehead is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-10-2010, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MinusTheTube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the respoce. I couldn't find what 5 blinks ment. Maybe you might be able to track it down a little further. When I turn it on the power light stays lit green but with no screen or sound. Then when I try to change the channel that's when it goes into standyby and blinks 5 blinks repeativly. Not sure if that helps. Thanks!

Edit: I was also able to put another LCD to see if it was the pannel and still no screen. Also when I shorted which ever pannel out, the screen whent black while the back light stayed on. Now after turning it off then back on the back light won't come on either.
MinusTheTube is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-16-2010, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
display veteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why did you go through all this trouble when the LCD panel has an extended warranty out to 2012?

Those who think they know everything annoy those of us who do.
display veteran is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-10-2010, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
tpobandith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by display veteran View Post

Why did you go through all this trouble when the LCD panel has an extended warranty out to 2012?

My warrenty was voice. Because I opened the back panel.
What ever happened to your 46XBR4 till the end of 2012. Do not open your panel. Because your will be very upset and sorry. Their Technicians is very racism and unfriendly.
tpobandith is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-10-2010, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
tpobandith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpobandith View Post

My warrenty was voice. Because I opened the back panel.
What ever happened to your 46XBR4 till the end of 2012. Do not open your panel. Because your will be very upset and sorry. Their Technicians is very racism and unfriendly.

If anyone had fix the problem with 46XBR4 with it turned with solid green light, then 30 second later switch to standby red light and kept blink 5 times and continuously. Please help.
tpobandith is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-10-2010, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
darstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tipton IN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5 Blinks on this model can only b the t con and or the panel.
darstr is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-10-2010, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
tpobandith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darstr View Post

5 Blinks on this model can only b the t con and or the panel.

i call Sony about this T Con part, they want me to provide the part number for this. Could you please give the part number for this. Thank you so much for your posting.
tpobandith is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-11-2010, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
darstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tipton IN
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpobandith View Post

i call Sony about this T Con part, they want me to provide the part number for this. Could you please give the part number for this. Thank you so much for your posting.

Am I correct in seeing that you voided your warranty? If not then you have an extended warranty that covers your panel until 10/31/2012. There is not a part# listed for the t-con board on this model. Sony never released those parts. However. for serial#'s from 8,000,001 to 8,200,000 the part# for the panel is 180249113. For serial#'s from 8,200,001 to 8,500,000 the part# for the panel is 180249131.
darstr is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-11-2010, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
tpobandith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks you are right. I voiced my warrenty from opened the back panel. The part that you gave me. Sony won't sale to none license or sony partner. Please help.
tpobandith is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-11-2010, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
tpobandith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpobandith View Post

Thanks you are right. I voiced my warrenty from opened the back panel. The part that you gave me. Sony won't sale to none license or sony partner. Please help.

After I checked my Serial ##, and 82,4 range. So therefore the part would cost me $1700, and this is crazy. If anyone a good lawyer please refer me. I am will to spend around $300 to $500 to fight this case. and I want anyone this same LCD know not to make the same mistake that I did. I'll contact consumer affair and see if I can get some help on this.
tpobandith is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-05-2013, 11:50 PM
Newbie
 
Michael Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check the fuse on the t-con board. its small and oblong surface mount
Michael Morse is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-25-2013, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
vetorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Venice,Florida
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is the fuse on the t-con board located?
vetorama is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 10-25-2013, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
vetorama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Venice,Florida
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is the fuse on the t-con board located?
vetorama is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 12-15-2013, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
Usermike9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The fuse is located just above and to the left of the main T-con cable input  CN1 at the bottom of the board. It is the smallest of the SMDs on there and labeled F1 . C1, C2, & C3 are right there. It is to the right of C3

 

This happens all the time. I am a repair shop and have done probably 50 or more of these in our store. TV is JUNK . Sony should be ashamed of the panels and products they have started to produce. Of course American consumer society asked for cheap and now that's what we have gotten so .............

Usermike9 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 06-28-2014, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
fosg2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question blow F1 Fuse on Tcon Board Sony KDL-46EX523

Quote:
Originally Posted by Usermike9 View Post
The fuse is located just above and to the left of the main T-con cable input  CN1 at the bottom of the board. It is the smallest of the SMDs on there and labeled F1 . C1, C2, & C3 are right there. It is to the right of C3
 
This happens all the time. I am a repair shop and have done probably 50 or more of these in our store. TV is JUNK . Sony should be ashamed of the panels and products they have started to produce. Of course American consumer society asked for cheap and now that's what we have gotten so .............


YOU RIGHT 100% BLOW FUSE ! AT F1

Now just replace with a new same fuse and blows right away...

thats means a bad Tcon or anything more ?

please advise

mine : KDL-46EX523
fosg2000 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr Series Kdl 46xbr4 46 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off