Official Panasonic TC-L42U25 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 Old 06-12-2010, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drew.c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a firmware question for this TV and noticed there was not a thread for this model. Let the chatting begin!
drew.c is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 50 Old 06-12-2010, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drew.c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed there was a firmware upgrade available on Panasonics website. The download instruction pdf says the following:

Version
Countermeasure firmware version 2.09
E-pop firmware version 2.00

Purpose
Fixes audio issues where the audio is garbled or muffled. This occurs when a device is connected via an HDMI cable. The issue is random and last approximately 3-5 minutes.


The firmware is located at:
http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...TC-L42U25.D#ts

My biggest problem was I could not tell what version I currently had. On the TV Menu, under 'About', it said:

TV 0240-0020
Status 1 41001-00014
Status 2 00000-00000
HDAVI Control 5

The versions on Panasonics website are 2.09 and 2.00. I called Panasonic tech support and 30 minutes later I finally got out of the lady that I had version 1.0 and it is encoded in the Status 1 line. After I installed the SD 1 firmware, 'About' said:

TV - 0290-0020
Status 1 - 41001-00014
Status 2 - 00000-00000
HDAVI Control - 5

I then installed the SD 2 firmware and the version under 'About' did not change. Since the Status 1 line never changed I'm guessing the tech did not know what she was talking about. The TV line did change.

This TV's firmware is very confusing. When I first went to Panasonic's website, I thought the 'SD Card 2 - E-pop Firmware Version 2.0' was an older firmware and the 'SD Card 1 - Countermeasure Firmware Version 2.09' was the newest. After reading the download instructions, they say you need to install both firmware. You have to install 'SD Card 1 - Countermeasure Firmware Version 2.09 ' first and then install 'SD Card 2 - E-pop Firmware Version 2.0' . Both firmware files are named 'SDImage.bin'. You have to copy the 'SD Card 1 - Countermeasure Firmware' file to the root of an SD card. I formated mine as FAT. With the TV turned on, you insert the SD card and it immeadiately recognizes the 'SDImage.bin' as a firmware file. After saying 'Yes' to install it, when it completes you have to press the power button on the side of the TV in for 5 seconds until the TV turns off. It will reboot and come back on. The install instructions say you need 2 SD cards but you can reusue the same one. Just copy the SD 2 - E-pop firmware over top of the SD 1 firmware on the memory card. Perform the same steps. There are also install instructions provided on the website. When you go to download each firmware, the next screen gives you an option to 'Download instructions'. It's named '2010_LCD_LS24_U25.pdf'.
drew.c is offline  
post #3 of 50 Old 06-13-2010, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
prev93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any thoughts yet about picture quality? I am considering buying this model and Consumer Reports still has it in testing.
prev93 is offline  
post #4 of 50 Old 06-13-2010, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
drew.c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought it had a nice picture. Unfortunely I only had it on for a few hours. Mostly to upgrade the firmware. I purchased it for my daughter who will attend college this Fall so it is back in the box already. I had to unplug my TH58PZ850 plasma to connect it to my HD Comcast box. Sears gave me too good of a deal to pass it up. I got it cheaper than the 42U22 model. They gave me 10% off the sale price (Friends and Family sale tonight) and another 10% off if I bought the maintenance agreement and put it on my Sears card. He said you could cancel the MA anytime up to one year and get a full refund. It came in well under $600 not including the MA which I plan on cancelling before the first year is up.
drew.c is offline  
post #5 of 50 Old 06-17-2010, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
prev93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you who subscribe to CR on-line, you can read their review of this TV. Generally, they liked it except for some issues mainly with less-than-optimum black levels. They gave it a 71, with the highest score in that category being 75. Not too bad of a TV and quite reasonably priced.
prev93 is offline  
post #6 of 50 Old 07-21-2010, 08:32 PM
Member
 
AnakinOU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know of a good starting point for configuration? I have an old Digital Essentials DVD, but currently don't have a DVD player hooked up to my new TC-L42U25...
AnakinOU is offline  
post #7 of 50 Old 10-28-2010, 05:47 AM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can't wait I get mine tomorrow morning so excited

I originally owned a TCL-32C12 got it replaced with a TCL-32C22 (Panasonic has excellent customer service)

So I sold that replacement went and bought a LG 32LD550 (So Garbage STAY AWAY)

and Now I'm getting a Panny again such a reliable brand don't know why You go with anyone else really?
Dabois09 is online now  
post #8 of 50 Old 11-05-2010, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
Conformer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to the forum & lcd flat screens. read the above post regarding the firmware download to sd. I've tried to get my new(received today) u25 to recognize the card but it gives an error message that the file is bad & to check it (002). It tries initially to accept it because the "please wait " flashes briefly before it faults. I believe the card is good as it had exsisting pictures on it & the Viera slide viewer displayed them' no Problem. I formatted the card seveal times & reloaded firmware (7.5M) several times with no success. Tested another card with pics on it--worked fine. formatted , downloaded 2.09 --no go. format again reload pics from hard drive to sd. Pics come up fine on the viewer. NOW- for the question. does this sound like operator error: reader error: sd card error;. I read the down load instuction file but there seems to be a variation in the instruction as out lined by Drew in his prior post. Could it be that later serial #s in this model line no longer require this upgrade? Iam showing: TV: 0220-1120 Stat1: 41001-00014 Stat2:00000-00000 HDAVI Control: 5 Sorry for the HUGE post but I dread explaining this to an outsourced tech help line. Thanks for any help and/or advice.
Conformer is offline  
post #9 of 50 Old 12-05-2010, 10:26 PM
Member
 
enphenate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other owners out there?

I just picked this one up and i was wondering how it is for PC viewing and such. I grabbed this set mainly due to the 120hz feature and due to the price i got (same as U22 models).

Any updates, setting templates or anything else for this tv out?
enphenate is offline  
post #10 of 50 Old 12-16-2010, 07:40 AM
Member
 
oakleez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enphenate View Post

Any other owners out there?

I just picked this one up and i was wondering how it is for PC viewing and such. I grabbed this set mainly due to the 120hz feature and due to the price i got (same as U22 models).

Any updates, setting templates or anything else for this tv out?

I just got mine yesterday (U25).

It looks like there's yet another firmware update posted to panasonic's site. Version 2.15. There's no date on it though and the software versions in the TV do not match up so who knows if it's worth doing or not. Looks like it just fixes some captioning bugs:

CLICK HERE

I'm curious what settings people are using too. I just got mine last night and wall mounted it and setup my QAM tuner to get local cable channels in HD but haven't done anything else. I plan on hooking up my bluray HTPC and xbox 360 to it this weekend.
oakleez is offline  
post #11 of 50 Old 12-26-2010, 10:06 PM
Member
 
helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea how this TV handles 24p playback?

I've been trying to find out with no luck...

Hopefully it is a simple 5:5 pulldown and not a conversion to 60hz then doubled?

I was also trying to figure out how the TC-L42U22 (60hz panel) handles 24p material.
helios is offline  
post #12 of 50 Old 01-07-2011, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Dp1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read from amazon reviews that this tv does not have 1:1 pixelmapping with 720p content. Does that mean if I play a 720p ps3 game and choose not to let the ps3 upconvert it (because it doesn't do a great job) then this tv will overscan that image? Can it not just upconvert it to 1080p so that it can do 1:1 on that upscaled image?

Thanks.
Dp1983 is offline  
post #13 of 50 Old 01-09-2011, 10:48 PM
Member
 
TN_Titans_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Near Music City
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This tv was on Amazon's Daily Deal the other day for $499. We got one for our living room. My wife and I just couldn't turn it down for that price (42",1080p, 120mhz, etc). We compared the Panny to other LCDs on the wall at Best Buy and thought the picture looked very respectible.
TN_Titans_Fan is offline  
post #14 of 50 Old 01-10-2011, 08:20 AM
Newbie
 
fxef79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TN_Titans_Fan View Post
This tv was on Amazon's Daily Deal the other day for $499. We got one for our living room. My wife and I just couldn't turn it down for that price (42",1080p, 120mhz, etc). We compared the Panny to other LCDs on the wall at Best Buy and thought the picture looked very respectible.
I just did the same thing... was comparing this against the Sony KDL-40EX401 at Sam's Club. Supposedly the Sony has better black levels, but the Panasonic uses an IPS panel and so should have better image from off-angles, is 120Hz, and 42" (vs 40"). We'll see once it arrives.
fxef79 is offline  
post #15 of 50 Old 01-13-2011, 07:37 AM
Member
 
zeuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have it calibrated and have your settings? I have a disc that i used to calibrate, but i am not happy with the settings and was curious to what some other people are using.
zeuss is offline  
post #16 of 50 Old 01-15-2011, 08:32 PM
Member
 
TN_Titans_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Near Music City
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the Panny from Amazon on Thurs. The image looks really good (especially for the price!). Any hints/tips/experience on the best settings for this tv would be greatly appreciated.
TN_Titans_Fan is offline  
post #17 of 50 Old 01-15-2011, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Dp1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty sure this does 4:4:4 chroma over dvi-hdmi. The test pattern on here came out perfectly clear the second set of red lines. I can't do a macro shot on it but I don't think I need to.
Dp1983 is offline  
post #18 of 50 Old 01-16-2011, 01:34 PM
Member
 
TN_Titans_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Near Music City
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, after spending a little more time with this tv, I've noticed quite a bit of motion blur/jitteriness (even with Motion Picture Pro on "Strong"). I might be sending it back.
TN_Titans_Fan is offline  
post #19 of 50 Old 01-18-2011, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Duffinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can anyone recommend a good articulating wall mount for this TV? TIA
Duffinator is offline  
post #20 of 50 Old 01-19-2011, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone else having overscan problems?

No matter what the source is, no matter what the resolution, the picture on my set is cropped. The TV's format button will toggle through the modes, and the image will change, but none make it fit.

PS3 hooked up via HDMI, set to 1080P = the user interface cut off. Full mode is teh closest, but it's still cut off on the sides.

HTPC (Intel i5) - on boot (low resolution), the text is cut off. At desktop (1920 x 1080) the sides are cut off. The only way I was able to make it fit correctly is using the videocard options to scale the screen down to 60%.

I have a case # open with Panasonic. They provided instructions to do a factory reset, which I will try when I get home from work. But I was wondering everyone elses experiences with overscan on this set.

Edit: Here is how to do a factory reset... in case anyone else needs to:

1) w/ power on, press and hold Menu on the remote + Volume Minus on the set.
2) after 10 seconds or so, the screen should display something about a self check. Unplug the set when you see this displayed.
3) wait 30 seconds to a min and replug in the set. Upon power up, it should go through all the prompts to re-setup the tv.
Diverge is offline  
post #21 of 50 Old 01-19-2011, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Dp1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Click Menu, click ok on Picture ( the tv screen) go down to Aspect adjustments and change HD Size to 2.
Dp1983 is offline  
post #22 of 50 Old 01-19-2011, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dp1983 View Post

Click Menu, click ok on Picture ( the tv screen) go down to Aspect adjustments and change HD Size to 2.

Thanks for the reply. I'll give this a try in a few hours when I get home.

edit: It worked good for 1080p. Thanks for the information!
Diverge is offline  
post #23 of 50 Old 01-20-2011, 04:20 PM
Member
 
TN_Titans_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Near Music City
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We decided to keep the Panny. The motion blur/jitter isn't really that bad. It's really a pretty good tv.
TN_Titans_Fan is offline  
post #24 of 50 Old 01-26-2011, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
nullstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this TV will output surround sound from ATSC OTA sources through the digital out?

I have the TV, but I'd like to know before I buy a receiver a major use of this TV is through ATSC.
nullstring is offline  
post #25 of 50 Old 01-26-2011, 07:25 PM
Member
 
echo512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TN_Titans_Fan View Post
We decided to keep the Panny. The motion blur/jitter isn't really that bad. It's really a pretty good tv.
Strange.. I turn off the Motion Pro (not a good implementation) and makes film look like a daytime drama.. My only issue is with the PC input, where I am unable to turn of Motion Pro. It's not an option, and it definitely looks like it is on.

Other thing is I'm having issues with the PC input. I can only get it to go 1368x768, not 1366, and at this resolution, I can't get 1/1 pixel. Some text is blurry. (although, alot better than the plasma I had).
echo512 is offline  
post #26 of 50 Old 01-27-2011, 02:33 PM
Member
 
xargos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have experience with both this model (TC-L42U25) and the 2009 TC-LxxS1 series? If so, is the picture quality comparable?
xargos is offline  
post #27 of 50 Old 01-28-2011, 05:46 AM
Member
 
MattDing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NW Pennsylvania
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullstring View Post

Does anyone know if this TV will output surround sound from ATSC OTA sources through the digital out?

I have the TV, but I'd like to know before I buy a receiver a major use of this TV is through ATSC.

Yes it does.

I have my TV hooked to my receiver with a TOSLINK cable and it passes OTA Dolby Digital as long as the program contains it.
MattDing is offline  
post #28 of 50 Old 01-28-2011, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone been able to update the firmware for this TV?

I've tried every way possible. FAT, FAT32, EXT2 formats, ect. I've tried every firmware for this TV from their FTP ftp://ftp.panasonic.com/pub/Panasoni...LCD/_LS24_U25/

The only one doesn't come up with a error is the 15MB one (epop). I even had panasonic send me the new firmware on their own SD card, and that didn't work either.

I'm just curious what is going on, and if anyone has successfully flashed their firmware, and if so what version did you use?
Diverge is offline  
post #29 of 50 Old 01-30-2011, 07:08 PM
Member
 
xargos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by helios View Post

Does anyone have any idea how this TV handles 24p playback?

I've been trying to find out with no luck...

Hopefully it is a simple 5:5 pulldown and not a conversion to 60hz then doubled?

I was also trying to figure out how the TC-L42U22 (60hz panel) handles 24p material.

I've been wondering about this myself. More than a month after this was asked none of the owners have an answer?
xargos is offline  
post #30 of 50 Old 02-02-2011, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AmishFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: too close to kentucky
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm very interested too... i just emailed panasonic customer support asking this very question... i'll let you know what response i get
AmishFury is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off