DVD Player to Samsung PN50B450B1D Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-16-2010, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
F1i80i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a new Samsung PN50B450B1D. I've hooked up my Toshiba SD-V392SUA DVD Video Player & Video Cassette Recorder from its DVD component out and DVD audio (L/R) out jacks (switching the S-Video/Component video selector switch to Component) to the Samsung's component in 1 jacks. I powered on both the Toshiba and the Samsung and started a DVD playing. Then I pressed "Source" on the remote and tried to select AV1 but it responded that it was not connected (AV1, AV2, Component1, Component2, HDMI2/DVI, and HDMI3 were not highlighted and at the bottom of the list, which the setup guide says means that the device(s) are not connected, I tried AV1 anyway--I also tried all the other external devices just to make sure).

Although the cable set I was using was new, I swapped it out for some others I had and went through the above again with the same results. I also tried connecting to AV2, but, of course, that didn't change anything. I don't know what else to try.
F1i80i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-16-2010, 10:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
txrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the audio work? If so which input on the TV did it work on? Has the Toshiba worked on another set? Using which output? Try the composite or S-Video from the Toshiba connected to one of the AV inputs on the TV to see if that works. Do you have another TV with a component input to try or another device like a xbox or PS3 with a component output to try. Let us know what if any of these things worked.

If it isn't 720p or 1080i/p it isn't HD. If it is 720p or 1080i/p it may not be HD content.
txrose is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-17-2010, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
First, if you did plug the dvd player into the component input of the tv, you need to select the component source, not the AV source.

Second, I'm guessing you just probably plugged it in wrong. My tv is very hard to see what inputs are what on the back, and it can get confusing.
sitlet is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off