Official LG XXLD450 Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 1549 Old 11-22-2010, 09:54 PM
Newbie
 
Brawl85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im confused about one thing, are KND's calibration settings not for the IPS, because oddly enough PBC's look far better on my IPS than KND's.
Brawl85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 1549 Old 11-22-2010, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brawl85 View Post

Im confused about one thing, are KND's calibration settings not for the IPS, because oddly enough PBC's look far better on my IPS than KND's.

KND settings might be typed in backwards? http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...4&postcount=33 - its unusual seeing -30 or -50 blue at IRE 100, usually see that at 0 IRE

i tried his settings other way around and they look alright on my 42ld450 super ips

Expert1
IRE 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0
R 0 -3 0 2 4 5 3 6 8 10 49
G 0 0 0 1 3 2 1 2 2 3 5
B 0 -8 -3 -2 -3 -6 -9 -7 -10 -11 -30

Expert2
IRE 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0
R 0 -8 0 2 5 4 4 6 6 9 50
G 0 2 -2 0 3 1 3 1 0 2 0
B 0 -11 -5 -4 -4 -8 -7 -10 -15 -13 -50
jangaboo is offline  
post #393 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 01:20 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netcast services (youtube, picasa) and Games from Broadcom platform on Saturn 7 TV (ld450, le5300, etc.)

people daring http://www.lg-hack.info/cgi-bin/sn_f...=10&pg=1&sc=20
jangaboo is offline  
post #394 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 09:26 AM
Member
 
De3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jangaboo View Post

KND settings might be typed in backwards? http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...4&postcount=33 - its unusual seeing -30 or -50 blue at IRE 100, usually see that at 0 IRE

i tried his settings other way around and they look alright on my 42ld450 super ips

Must. Try. Thanks, janga.
De3k is offline  
post #395 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 09:46 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Phase700B is offline  
post #396 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 09:53 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
For anyone with an ATI 5xxx here are some more:

Your mileage may vaRY.

 

LG 42LD550 HDMI 1 ISF Expert 1 ATI HD5450 10-5-10.txt 1.095703125k . file
Phase700B is offline  
post #397 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 06:26 PM
Member
 
jvl51294's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys! Quick review of the 47LD450!

I received mine last weekend online and WOW. I am so happy with this TV (so far). It looks great and video games play with little lag! Luckily, I got an IPS panel but I don't know whether all of them are or not. I am so pleased with the customization options and I can't wait to tweak the picture to perfection.

NOTE: I could only tell it was an IPS by the look of the individual pixel. Behind the speaker grill in the back, there was nothing, no piece of paper at all. I did, however, have "W" in my product code so I'm assuming it's okay.

For people worrying about lag - I tested against a CRT and I found the following most often - 17 ms, and 32 ms - around 1 to 2 frames. Great! I did get one "50" but it was inconsistent.
jvl51294 is offline  
post #398 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
blassster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I've been waiting to pull the trigger on a panel for a very long time. I found the 37" at costco, with code "37LD450-UA.CCCWLH" on the boxes.

Normally I wouldn't ask, since it was repeatedly mentioned that the "W" as the 4th letter indicates IPS, but in this case it looks like it's missing a letter at the end. (example: people were throwing around the code "42LD450-UA.CUSWLHO" at one point). Does it even matter?

PS. The ones I found were made in Mexico. I know for some computer monitors I researched in the past, the area where it's manufactured can affect the picture quality in some cases and this adds extra to the lottery BS. Does this apply to the LG 450s?

Thanks!
blassster is offline  
post #399 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 09:58 PM
Member
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blassster View Post
Hello, I've been waiting to pull the trigger on a panel for a very long time. I found the 37" at costco, with code "37LD450-UA.CCCWLH" on the boxes.

Normally I wouldn't ask, since it was repeatedly mentioned that the "W" as the 4th letter indicates IPS, but in this case it looks like it's missing a letter at the end. (example: people were throwing around the code "42LD450-UA.CUSWLHO" at one point). Does it even matter?

PS. The ones I found were made in Mexico. I know for some computer monitors I researched in the past, the area where it's manufactured can affect the picture quality in some cases and this adds extra to the lottery BS. Does this apply to the LG 450s?

Thanks!
You should be fine. If you need to be completely sure, take a macro photo of the panel displaying a pure white image. See if the subpixels look like this:
<<<<<<. you cna also check some of the other posts here for pics on how a ips display's pixels look. You can also do the press test.Apply pressure the screen and if it generates ripples, it's not IPS. You can also check through the grills on the back of the TV. If it has something like LG something something, its IPS. It just needs to say LG as they make the IPS screens. AUO makes the XVA panels.
wywern209 is offline  
post #400 of 1549 Old 11-23-2010, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Excellent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have an older gaming console (PS2) they can hook up with components or composite and give an idea what the lag is like for this set? that would be extremely helpful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by darklordjames
Please ignore the entire contents of Excellent's post. His advice is not, ahem, "excellent".
Excellent is offline  
post #401 of 1549 Old 11-24-2010, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
RogueThunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matryx View Post
I just got my DVI to HDMI cable from monoprice and plugged it in my LG 37LD450 IPS panel. There was something wrong with it. The bottom and left side seems cut off. I have a AIW ATI Radeon 9800 PRO and I tried uninstalling and installing new drivers but it was still the same. It has no problem displaying 1920x1080 on VGA but with my DVI-HDMI cable it doesn't display the screen correctly
Okay :P Heres the trick with the 32LD450 at-least. In the inputs menu on the TV, select the input that your computer uses and press the blue button until it's called PC and shows a pic of a laptop.
Suddenly overscan is fixed, image seems to be unprocessed... XD Basically the TV suddenly knows how to treat a COMPUTER. *gasp*

Funny that, labeling that changes significant settings.
RogueThunder is offline  
post #402 of 1549 Old 11-24-2010, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogueThunder View Post
Okay :P Heres the trick with the 32LD450 at-least. In the inputs menu on the TV, select the input that your computer uses and press the blue button until it's called PC and shows a pic of a laptop.
Suddenly overscan is fixed, image seems to be unprocessed... XD Basically the TV suddenly knows how to treat a COMPUTER. *gasp*

Funny that, labeling that changes significant settings.
The "PC" relabelling is actually kind of hit or miss. From my observations (and De3k's too I believe), the "PC" label oversharpens the image, thus creating a halo effect along high-contrast items like text. If you go into the advanced menu settings, the Edge Enhancer feature is autoset to High, and there's no way of changing it.

For me, I get the best picture quality when the input is not labeled at all. To solve any overscan issues, just set your Aspect Ratio to 'Just Scan' and it should be fine.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #403 of 1549 Old 11-24-2010, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excellent View Post
anyone have an older gaming console (PS2) they can hook up with components or composite and give an idea what the lag is like for this set? that would be extremely helpful.
Hooked up my PS2 via component and lag is undetectable (for me, 2+ frames of lag is detectable). This is true for both 4:3/480i games (ex. Persona 4) and 16:9/480p games (ex. Star Ocean Till The End of Time).

Aside from the inherent pillar boxing you get from a 4:3 image on a 16:9 screen, there's also very slight letter boxing going on. About 3-4 mm on both the top and bottom.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #404 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
AntonR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a 32LD450 yesterday for computer monitor use. I was a bit hesitant first as there weren't any with a "W" in the code in the couple of local stores I checked out, only "D" and "I". I decided gamble and picked up one with code ZA.BEUILJP. First thing I did after unpacking was to check out if there was any sign of what kind of panel it has. I found this text on a sticker on the panel: "IPS Alpha Technology, Ltd." I guess it's safe to assume it is an IPS panel.

The picture quality is great. The clarity of text is on par with any computer monitor I've seen. I couldn't be happier about my purchase.
AntonR is offline  
post #405 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonR View Post

I bought a 32LD450 yesterday for computer monitor use. I was a bit hesitant first as there weren't any with a "W" in the code in the couple of local stores I checked out, only "D" and "I". I decided gamble and picked up one with code ZA.BEUILJP. First thing I did after unpacking was to check out if there was any sign of what kind of panel it has. I found this text on a sticker on the panel: "IPS Alpha Technology, Ltd." I guess it's safe to assume it is an IPS panel.

The picture quality is great. The clarity of text is on par with any computer monitor I've seen. I couldn't be happier about my purchase.

thats interesting

LG makes Super IPS while Panasonic makes IPS Alpha

some of the 2010 panasonic 42" tvs had Super IPS supplied by LG http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...6&postcount=63

maybe Panasonic is supplying LG now?

would be great if you could take some pictures of that and macro picture of panel
jangaboo is offline  
post #406 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
echo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepoohcontinuum View Post

Hooked up my PS2 via component and lag is undetectable (for me, 2+ frames of lag is detectable).

If this is true, than on a PS3, the lag should be even less detectable, right?

If so, I am going to best buy and buying the LD450 right now.
echo91 is offline  
post #407 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 01:25 PM
Newbie
 
echo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone ordered these off amazon and got the IPS panel. The price on amazon is amazing, $380 and no tax i think!!!

http://www.amazon.com/LG-32LD450-32-...0806595&sr=8-2
echo91 is offline  
post #408 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
AntonR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jangaboo View Post

would be great if you could take some pictures of that and macro picture of panel

The only camera I currently have is on my cell phone and this is the closest picture I can get with it:
Attachment 192335

Pictures of the sticker on the panel:
Attachment 192336
Attachment 192337
LL
LL
LL
AntonR is offline  
post #409 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonR View Post

The only camera I currently have is on my cell phone and this is the closest picture I can get with it:
Attachment 192335

Pictures of the sticker on the panel:
Attachment 192336
Attachment 192337

thanks

looks like LG now also has Panasonic IPS alpha panels in their tvs thats pretty sweet
jangaboo is offline  
post #410 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
Frank555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I've spent a couple hours on these forums trying to find a low input lag model and I've ended up here. What I'm curious is if this is the definitive low input lag champ or if there is any close competition? I'm about to pull the trigger on a 42LD450 and would like to know if there are any other models with lower input lag.
Frank555 is offline  
post #411 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonR View Post

I bought a 32LD450 yesterday for computer monitor use. I was a bit hesitant first as there weren't any with a "W" in the code in the couple of local stores I checked out, only "D" and "I". I decided gamble and picked up one with code ZA.BEUILJP. First thing I did after unpacking was to check out if there was any sign of what kind of panel it has. I found this text on a sticker on the panel: "IPS Alpha Technology, Ltd." I guess it's safe to assume it is an IPS panel.

The picture quality is great. The clarity of text is on par with any computer monitor I've seen. I couldn't be happier about my purchase.

Well this is certainly an interesting find. Looks like the 'I' code designates an IPS Alpha panel as your pics show. What is the manufacture date of your LD450? I wonder if the North American market has any 'I' LD450's around.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #412 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by echo91 View Post

If this is true, than on a PS3, the lag should be even less detectable, right?

If so, I am going to best buy and buying the LD450 right now.

I wouldn't say that, but it should still fall between 1-2 frames of lag as the lag tests have shown.

Quote:
Originally Posted by echo91 View Post

Has anyone ordered these off amazon and got the IPS panel. The price on amazon is amazing, $380 and no tax i think!!!

http://www.amazon.com/LG-32LD450-32-...0806595&sr=8-2

I bought two of these from Amazon back in late Sept. They were shipped from Amazon's PA warehouse, and both came with IPS panels. I think another poster on here said he bought one a few weeks ago, and it came with IPS also.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #413 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepoohcontinuum View Post

I wouldn't say that, but it should still fall between 1-2 frames of lag as the lag tests have shown.



I bought two of these from Amazon back in late Sept. They were shipped from Amazon's PA warehouse, and both came with IPS panels. I think another poster on here said he bought one a few weeks ago, and it came with IPS also.

maybe LG is becoming aware the community wants IPS and they are making sure they get it be it Super IPS or IPS alpha
jangaboo is offline  
post #414 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
AntonR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepoohcontinuum View Post
Well this is certainly an interesting find. Looks like the 'I' code designates an IPS Alpha panel as your pics show. What is the manufacture date of your LD450? I wonder if the North American market has any 'I' LD450's around.
The manufacture date is October 2010.
AntonR is offline  
post #415 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank555 View Post
Hey guys, I've spent a couple hours on these forums trying to find a low input lag model and I've ended up here. What I'm curious is if this is the definitive low input lag champ or if there is any close competition? I'm about to pull the trigger on a 42LD450 and would like to know if there are any other models with lower input lag.
From my understanding, there's only three 2010 models that are the champs of input lag right now...

1) LG xxLD450 (definitely 16-32ms) - proven via input lag tests.
2) Sony xxEX400 (*feels* like 16-32ms) - my friend uses the EX400 as a PC monitor. And although I didn't run any input lag measurements on it, the lag *felt* comparable to the LG.
3) Sony xxEX500 (20-40ms, debateable) - for the longest time, the EX500 has been said to have horrible input lag (see the Counterstrike video in the input lag wars thread, first post). However, serialmike has posted results to the contrary, showing 20-40 ms. If someone else can show similar results that serialmike has, then its probably safe to say the original hearsay of horrible lag is debunked.

There are certainly more models out there where people claim input lag is undetectable. But its all anecdotal, without measured proof.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #416 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 06:32 PM
Member
 
DarkNovaNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the 42LD400 from Walmart is actually the same as the 42LD450? The specs look the same to me. I know that sometimes manufacturers do different model numbers for the same unit to avoid pricematching between retailers.
DarkNovaNick is offline  
post #417 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
MatrixShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my 47 inch ld450 for a few months and love it but I'm not sure which settings to use as many users posted having AUO or IPS and I'm still unsure if I have a IPS or AUO pannel.
I checked on the back and there's no sticker showing which type but it lists it as 47ld450-UA does anyone have any ideas which type it is and who's settings I should use in the thread?
MatrixShadow is offline  
post #418 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
echo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkNovaNick View Post
Does anyone know if the 42LD400 from Walmart is actually the same as the 42LD450? The specs look the same to me. I know that sometimes manufacturers do different model numbers for the same unit to avoid pricematching between retailers.
I just came from Best Buy and I decided to gamble on a 32LD400. Saved 70 bucks... I am not sure but I think they are the same other than a few extra features on the LD450. But it is those extra features that usually increase input lag. This TV has less bullsht in my opinion.

About the picture quality, I can't help here, this is my first LCD.

But the input lag, I don't think I notice it. I came straight off a CRT from the 80s to this LCD and I can't see any input lag. But then again, I have only played some combat training and one TDM match on Black Ops. And even if there is some input lag, the step up in picture quality from a CRT will probably balance it out.

Lastly can someone confirm that I got a IPS panel?
Product Code: 32LD400-UA.CUSWLHQ

Thanks!
echo91 is offline  
post #419 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 08:46 PM
Member
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
echo 91 you have a IPS panel.
wywern209 is offline  
post #420 of 1549 Old 11-26-2010, 08:48 PM
Member
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixShadow View Post
I've had my 47 inch ld450 for a few months and love it but I'm not sure which settings to use as many users posted having AUO or IPS and I'm still unsure if I have a IPS or AUO pannel.
I checked on the back and there's no sticker showing which type but it lists it as 47ld450-UA does anyone have any ideas which type it is and who's settings I should use in the thread?
if its a 47" i think it is almost guaranteed to be IPS but if you want to be sure, do one of 2 things.
1. press the screen and see if there are ripples. If there are, then its not ips.

2.check box label thing for the "w".
wywern209 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off