Official LG XXLD450 Thread - Page 44 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 1543 Old 04-10-2011, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
HydeSmyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...g?t=1287963155

This image- with no 4:4:4 the words magenta and red will be blurry. With 4:4:4 the words magenta and red will be crisp.
HydeSmyler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 1543 Old 04-10-2011, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
tashamyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HydeSmyler View Post

The mini hdmi port on my vid card wouldnt pass 4:4:4 but with a dvi to hdmi adapter on the dvi port it would work. The input label for the tv hdmi port needs to be left blank also in my case.

Hmm. Wish I could test that DVI out now but all I have is a full HDMI and VGA out. The input label for my HDMI is blank, for the record.

This is odd though, maybe it is a notebook graphics card specific issue?

Time for some research! Let me see what I can dig up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HydeSmyler View Post

This image- with no 4:4:4 the words magenta and red will be blurry. With 4:4:4 the words magenta and red will be crisp.

So subjective! I can definitely read the text (magenta and red), but is it crisp? That's hard to say

Thanks for the pointers!
tashamyer is offline  
post #1293 of 1543 Old 04-10-2011, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
HydeSmyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should of said those two particular words compared to the other words in the image.
HydeSmyler is offline  
 
post #1294 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 12:45 AM
Newbie
 
wretwwerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashamyer View Post

Hmm. Wish I could test that DVI out now but all I have is a full HDMI and VGA out. The input label for my HDMI is blank, for the record.

This is odd though, maybe it is a notebook graphics card specific issue?

Time for some research! Let me see what I can dig up.



So subjective! I can definitely read the text (magenta and red), but is it crisp? That's hard to say

Thanks for the pointers!

I'm having same problems with my laptop. I removed and reinstalled every driver that had something to do with graphic card, cleaned windows registry and tried to edit EDID file... nothing worked.

What OS are you using? I have xp pro.

Does anyone know, where EDID override parameters are in windows registry?
wretwwerr is offline  
post #1295 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 03:54 AM
Member
 
sandyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Angry Lion View Post

I actually don't think you can program the LD450 remote to function with other devices, so I don't think it's just you.

@angryLion and @santhoshkarvi- thanks for the reply. I guess I got fooled by BB and futureshop websites which quoted the remote as universal.
http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/produ...68d19ae773en02

@santhosh.karvi - yes I have the same remote too
sandyr is offline  
post #1296 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Smashbro29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I STILL can't get my laptop to display on my TV properly when I plug it in via HDMI. I tried a lot of stuff and settings but I just can't seem to get it to fill the whole thing and not just the middle or in my face.
Smashbro29 is offline  
post #1297 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
tashamyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wretwwerr View Post

I'm having same problems with my laptop. I removed and reinstalled every driver that had something to do with graphic card, cleaned windows registry and tried to edit EDID file... nothing worked.

What OS are you using? I have xp pro.

Windows 7, 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smashbro29 View Post

I STILL can't get my laptop to display on my TV properly when I plug it in via HDMI. I tried a lot of stuff and settings but I just can't seem to get it to fill the whole thing and not just the middle or in my face.

Using "Just Scan" from the "Aspect Ratio" menu fixed this should fix your display size. I had my output at 1366x768 before the current 1920x1080 and in both instances, it filled the entire screen correctly only with "Just Scan".
tashamyer is offline  
post #1298 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 10:59 AM
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdot View Post

Anyone got any good settings for XBOX 360 GAMING?


Thanks


Anyone?
Richdot is offline  
post #1299 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 11:11 AM
Member
 
dzasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antipodes View Post

Anyone test a LK450? If so, does the new set still buzz and/or have a static from the headset jack? Is the input lag the same? Are any of the upgrades worthy?

Deciding whether I should try my luck with getting a LG 32LK450 from Amazon or wait for a good deal on LG 32LD450.

I have been using my headphones for my LK450 for weeks now with no buzzing whatsoever. Also, it looks like the LK's have video playable already enabled from the factory. As far as I know, input lag should be the same as long as you get the right panel (S-IPS).
dzasta is offline  
post #1300 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Antipodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzasta View Post

I have been using my headphones for my LK450 for weeks now with no buzzing whatsoever. Also, it looks like the LK's have video playable already enabled from the factory. As far as I know, input lag should be the same as long as you get the right panel (S-IPS).

Thanks! Both of my Samsung PC monitors emit a constant static buzz from the headset jack when the brightness is set less than 100%. It gets drown out when other sounds are playing, and it is most audible during silence. An example would be on a menu/loading screen on my PS3/X360. It bugs me so much I've thought about buying an AV receiver just to get around it.

Noise being introduced when TV/monitors are set at less than 100% brightness seems to be a common issue, and it would be awesome if the new LK model isn't plagued by it.

If you could double check and confirm that there is no static during silence at various brightness/volume levels it would be much appreciated!
Antipodes is offline  
post #1301 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
oddjob0619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for that info sandyr...great job finding that!!!
oddjob0619 is offline  
post #1302 of 1543 Old 04-11-2011, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Smashbro29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashamyer View Post

Windows 7, 32 bit



Using "Just Scan" from the "Aspect Ratio" menu fixed this should fix your display size. I had my output at 1366x768 before the current 1920x1080 and in both instances, it filled the entire screen correctly only with "Just Scan".

Thanks.

Also, does labeling matter? I labeled my component and one of the HDMI ports "Game" but I don't see a difference.
Smashbro29 is offline  
post #1303 of 1543 Old 04-12-2011, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
dpal25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I bought an LG 42LD450 last weekend. When playing divx videos (.avi format) from a hard drive connected to the USB port on the TV the audio-video sync starts to deteriorate progressively. After 10 minutes it is just about noticeable. After 20 minutes it is noticeable and after 30-40 minutes the audio sync is way off.

If I press stop and then go back in and resume the video from where I stopped the problem is fixed but again, as time goes on it continues to deteriorate. Similarly, if I press rewind and then immediately press play the audio re-syncs but then continues to deteriorate as time elapses.

Is this a known problem and is there anything I can do to fix this? I have tried lots of different video files all of which have no audio sync problems when played on my PC.
dpal25 is offline  
post #1304 of 1543 Old 04-12-2011, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Angry Lion View Post

The LD450 doesn't have any ambient light sensors, so it doesn't have the ability to adjust itself depending on lighting in the room. It's been a while since I've looked at the LD450 manual, but I believe the PDF version of it is also used for a few other LG models, some of which do have that option, so maybe you got confused and thought those sections also applied to the LD450 models.

thanks, i always thought it did for some reason


Quote:
Originally Posted by Smashbro29 View Post

Thanks.

Also, does labeling matter? I labeled my component and one of the HDMI ports "Game" but I don't see a difference.

the only input i notice a difference or at least the screen will turn black then back on is PC mode

Table below is from the service manual for the 42ld450 http://monitor.net.ru/forum/pafiledb...e4156c18b5.pdf

jangaboo is offline  
post #1305 of 1543 Old 04-16-2011, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
ball3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone experienced an audio problem on these when using DVI->HDMI and the PC Audio input? The issue I'm having is that no matter which Video input I try (RGB, HDMI1 or HDMI2) the audio switches to one of the other inputs. So I get no sound with my picture, but if I switch inputs I can hear sound and of course no picture. Very odd. Any suggestions?
ball3r is offline  
post #1306 of 1543 Old 04-16-2011, 08:54 PM
Member
 
vizionblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdot View Post

Anyone?

I want to know as well
vizionblind is offline  
post #1307 of 1543 Old 04-16-2011, 11:13 PM
Member
 
vizionblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmix5 View Post

Thank you SO MUCH thepoohcontinuum! Your settings make this TV look amazing as a monitor. I run an ATI 4850 1gb card, and for the life of me I can't get this fullscreen. There is a 1.25 inch border all the way around. I am set at 1080p using a dvi - hdmi to unlabeled port 1.

yep these settings rock!
vizionblind is offline  
post #1308 of 1543 Old 04-16-2011, 11:44 PM
Member
 
vizionblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi all, I have a LG 42LD520 and suffer from the 4:4:4 issue with the latest 11.4 catalyst preview drivers on an ati 5850. what can I do to resolve this?

**FXED. I switched from dvi to HDMI cable to HDMI TO HDMI and 444 is back
vizionblind is offline  
post #1309 of 1543 Old 04-17-2011, 04:55 PM
Member
 
vizionblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vizionblind View Post

hi all, I have a LG 42LD520 and suffer from the 4:4:4 issue with the latest 11.4 catalyst preview drivers on an ati 5850. what can I do to resolve this?

**FXED. I switched from dvi to HDMI cable to HDMI TO HDMI and 444 is back

wow... going from dvi to hdmi cable to HDMI TO HDMI, 4:4:4 is back but it looks WORSE than dvi to hadmi cable...
vizionblind is offline  
post #1310 of 1543 Old 04-18-2011, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Smashbro29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't feel like me autocalibrating made any difference to the color/contrast or any of that.
Smashbro29 is offline  
post #1311 of 1543 Old 04-18-2011, 01:54 PM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is that this TV does fine displaying 444 through VGA. How much better is HDMI compared to VGA? I am currently using a 22" widescreen computer monitor fed a VGA signal which looks good to me. I want to upgrade to a 32", my current computer only outputs VGA.

Thanks
dlipter is offline  
post #1312 of 1543 Old 04-19-2011, 12:17 AM
Member
 
Antipodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everywhere I go the 32LD450 is more expensive than 32LK450 (~$100 more). I figured the LK450 has lower MSRP because LG's production cost has decreased, but I don't understand why retailers aren't cutting the LD to at least that of the LK.
Antipodes is offline  
post #1313 of 1543 Old 04-21-2011, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
sysv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the lgusb.wikispaces.com/IR+Hack wiki. As everyone now now that site is now down for the count
sysv is offline  
post #1314 of 1543 Old 04-22-2011, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Antipodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my LG 32LK450 from Amazon and very disappointingly it is a "D" panel. I decided to unbox it and run a few tests anyways.

To test input lag, I turned off all processing and set the LK450 to game mode. Then, I took shots with a cheap digital camera of the set in clone mode versus a Samsung PX2370. The result was that the set was 1-2 frames (more often one frame) behind my monitor.

The LK450 did well on the lagom.nl tests and after setting the black level to "high", I was able to see all of the squares in the black and white level tests. This is surprising to me because I thought the VA panel would be weak on the black level test. For the viewing angle test, while viewing head on the LK450 was pleasantly uniform compared to the TN panel, but the gamma shift at off angles was unimpressive. There was slight banding in the gradient test, and square 4B had movement in the pixel walk test.

I then tested the response time with PixPerAn and the performance was noticeably worse than the PX2370. Moving images were much more blurry and generally had 2 ghosting images versus the PX2370's 1 ghosting image. Fast moving blacks would smear and leave trails on while backgrounds.

As for subjective appearance, I was satisfied with the way the set displayed fonts. I didn't test 4:4:4 but I did use the DVI->HDMI connection from my ATI Radeon 5850. However, the colors on my PX2370's colors were more vibrant (without being over-saturated). Despite being a VA panel, the blacks still looked unimpressive to me (even with black level set to low) and would quickly turn blueish at an angle. With only very minor adjustments to both sets, the PX2370 produced a better looking image.

Lastly, I tested the headset jack and found no static when sound wasn't playing. This is a huge problem on my two Samsung monitors that drives me nuts. I tried the Halo Theme linked to in the FAQ and found the result to be inconclusive. There are portions of the song which naturally sound staticy (i.e. 2:47-2:54) and even if it does sound slightly more pronounced on the LK450, it may not be a defect of the monitor.

Overall, the LG 32LK450 VA panel is a decent set, but I still have my heart on IPS for the faster pixel response time and better viewing angles.
Antipodes is offline  
post #1315 of 1543 Old 04-24-2011, 02:00 AM
Newbie
 
jiiikoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a bit of a problem and I'm hoping someone would have the answer, so here goes:
I'm trying to get a fullHD movie to play on my 42LD450 thru the USB port. I've done the IR hack and it is working beautifully, except I got a movie with DTS audio track. I used Moeya HD Converter on my mac to make a AC3 audio track and then used Mkvtoolnix to remux to AC3 to the -mkv file. I was optimistic that this would work, but when I plug in my HDD and select the movie, the TV says "Opening the file" and after a good 20 seconds, it says "File not supported". I'm guessing I have to do something differently in Mkvtoolnix, but I dont know what!

And on a side note, if you have a good way to this in Windows rather than in Mac OSX, it's no problem. I have Windows running thru BootCamp.
jiiikoo is offline  
post #1316 of 1543 Old 04-24-2011, 06:50 PM
wz1
Member
 
wz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far three days and not losing time. Set clock to manual, set time, date, then set manual to auto. Next, set daylight saving to OFF. If I set to auto, my cable box does not transmit time so that is why i set to manual first, set time, date then back to auto. Only on auto can you set daylight saving to OFF. I tried this procedure with daylight saving not set to off and I lost time after a day or two. If it goes three more days without losing time then it can be considered a fix.
wz1 is offline  
post #1317 of 1543 Old 04-25-2011, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
vmammoliti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the LG37LD450 at Costco a few weeks back and I love the TV, but the reduced backlight buzzing noise is driving me crazy, and I RETURNED the first one hoping this one would be okay (no luck). Given what I've read here it looks like this is an inherent issue with this set, but what I would really like to know from those who have recently bought the 37LK450 is if the buzzing noise is still there when the backlight is reduced. If so then I'll have to decide whether to keep the LD or not, but if the issue has been resolved then I'll return the LD for the new LK. Thanks to those who might be able to help.
vmammoliti is offline  
post #1318 of 1543 Old 04-25-2011, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Antipodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmammoliti View Post

I bought the LG37LD450 at Costco a few weeks back and I love the TV, but the reduced backlight buzzing noise is driving me crazy, and I RETURNED the first one hoping this one would be okay (no luck). Given what I've read here it looks like this is an inherent issue with this set, but what I would really like to know from those who have recently bought the 37LK450 is if the buzzing noise is still there when the backlight is reduced. If so then I'll have to decide whether to keep the LD or not, but if the issue has been resolved then I'll return the LD for the new LK. Thanks to those who might be able to help.

I didn't hear buzzing with my 32LK450 but I admittedly only had it unboxed for a short time.
Antipodes is offline  
post #1319 of 1543 Old 04-26-2011, 01:50 PM
wz1
Member
 
wz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmammoliti View Post

I bought the LG37LD450 at Costco a few weeks back and I love the TV, but the reduced backlight buzzing noise is driving me crazy, and I RETURNED the first one hoping this one would be okay (no luck). Given what I've read here it looks like this is an inherent issue with this set, but what I would really like to know from those who have recently bought the 37LK450 is if the buzzing noise is still there when the backlight is reduced. If so then I'll have to decide whether to keep the LD or not, but if the issue has been resolved then I'll return the LD for the new LK. Thanks to those who might be able to help.

The LD series have lots of issues and they're counting on people not noticing or willing to live with the problems. I would not accept a buzzing lcd. I'm fortunate with my 42LD450 with regards to this problem.
wz1 is offline  
post #1320 of 1543 Old 04-27-2011, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
Soeuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already had a 32LD350(in Korea, it's 1080p) with S-IPS(W) model and picked up a 32LK450 today.
its serial was 32LK450-NA-AKRYLH. I bought it in Korea.



32LK450(and 32LV3510) - currently only 'AKRYLH' version is available in Korea.
Other version(s) are not being distributed.
Soeuni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off