Official LG XXLD450 Thread - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1543 Old 10-22-2013, 08:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,420
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Under Picture Mode, what do you have it set at? I use Just Scan which is 1:1 pixel matching.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1543 Old 10-23-2013, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
elgreco101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

How do you mean????

elgreco101 is offline  
post #1533 of 1543 Old 10-24-2013, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
elgreco101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Nobody who knows anything about this problem???

elgreco101 is offline  
 
post #1534 of 1543 Old 11-03-2013, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Kele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Aloha
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Remote's Q-Menu > Aspect Ratio > Cinama Zoom - adjust zoom level / horz./vert.

The post above suggest to try "Just Scan" aspect ratio... also available via the Q-Menu;
this is the most accurate (1:1) aspect ratio - good for DVD, Bluray source.

Also try 16:9... I have my cable TV source to this to eliminate broadcast TV underscan;
the 16:9 might zoom you in just enough so that your glitch is outside the visible area.
Kele is offline  
post #1535 of 1543 Old 11-03-2013, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Kele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Aloha
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@elcreco101 - see one post above this

I came to see if anyone had put up a new 10-point (Calman/Lightspace) setting... vincentprice's above is the last and good (I think).

I have discovered that LGs gamma default of 2.2 is not correct - from TV calibrators on this forum.
It was suggested to me to use gamma 1.9 as that is actually a real gamma 2.2 on LGs... of course adjust the TV's
brightness for this gamma. I do believe that the 450's gamma is more correct using 1.9. Try it, really.

Because I now use the gamma 1.9 setting, I wonder if the 10-point (vincentprice's above) is off because of that...?

Also on this forum, find AVS HD-709 and adjust your TV with this free basics tool.
Our TV can look as good as more costly sets, IMHO!
Kele is offline  
post #1536 of 1543 Old 11-03-2013, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,420
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
The AVS-HD709 disk quoted above is an excellent, free, disk to use to accurately adjust your picture settings. I used it on my LD520 when I first got it a few years back to get started and the change, for the better, was remarkable. Calibrating my set later on, using the 2.2 gamma fine tuned it even more. If you can't calibrate it (either DIY or by a paid professional), I'd use any one of the calibration disks, like the AVS-HD709 disk, and accurately adjust your tv instead of using someone else's settings.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #1537 of 1543 Old 11-08-2013, 12:51 AM
Newbie
 
elgreco101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the advice, I'll test it..

elgreco101 is offline  
post #1538 of 1543 Old 03-10-2014, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
gubasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi there .. I have a 32LD450 that I only use to play with my xbox 360.
I noticed that when both the tv and the xbox are already on, I can reduce the input lag significantly if I simply go to the settings menu and change one of various settings on my TV. I usually just go to the quick menu and change from "just scan" to "original" or from "original" to "just scan" and its good to go, the input lag instantly diminishes a lot .

But I don't understand why this happens and I really would like to know if there is a permanent fix for this issue.

(I use hdmi cable and 720p resolution selected on the console and on the tv i use the game profile with everything disabled on the enhancement options )

Has anyone had the some issue and found a fix for this ?

gubasx is offline  
post #1539 of 1543 Old 06-19-2014, 12:44 AM
Senior Member
 
doctorcilantro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any tips on getting the female wall mount holders back in?

I just swapped TVs and the female bolt holder fell into the TV when I removed the screws!

Two things awe me most, the starry sky above me and the moral law within me. IK
doctorcilantro is offline  
post #1540 of 1543 Old 06-20-2014, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
doctorcilantro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you demoed J. River? It might solve your problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsnom View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Otto Pylot

On 120Hz sets, Real Cinema takes 24p material and displays each frame 5 times to maintain the natural cadence of the film. On a 60Hz set, each frame is displayed twice to keep the 48Hz refresh rate. TruMotion, which you may be confusing Real Cinema with, interpolates the motion between the frames, hence the SOE (soap opera effect). For movies, leave Real Cinema on and TruMotion off. The Real Cinema setting only works when 24p material is presented, so even if the setting is not grayed out (which I think is the case with my LD520 while viewing OTA), it has no effect. However, if you're using your computer as the source, it sounds like there may be some sort of incompatibility between your graphics card and the LG causing them to be slightly out of sync with each other. My BD player outputs at the correct rate without any adjustments and my LG displays 24p when presented.


All I know is that once I play a video using MPC-HC and MadVR kicks in, it sets the desktop refresh rate at 24p and the TV info says that the resolution and refresh rate is indeed at 1080/24p, which turns Real Cinema on. I'm not sure about the TruMotion stuff since I can't seem to find it in the menu.

Two things awe me most, the starry sky above me and the moral law within me. IK
doctorcilantro is offline  
post #1541 of 1543 Old 03-09-2015, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What would you say are the best settings are for gaming/blu-ray on PS4/PC? I tweaked my settings a long time ago and the picture looked good although, after tweaking again recently I ended up losing them. Thanks!
ExplicitG is offline  
post #1542 of 1543 Old 08-04-2015, 02:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello this is my first post heare and i have quastion i have appy this settings to my 32ld450
Code:
avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/1257131-official-lg-xxld450-thread-2.html#post18833059
and screen is i dont know how to say but dark and colors are i dont know corrent like blu is not blue but wash away blue is this normal so i stick with "intelligent preset"
Doktor-X is offline  
post #1543 of 1543 Old 08-04-2015, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,420
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1669 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Applying settings derived on another tv quite often doesn't work correctly, even if the other tv was properly calibrated, because the component tolerances are different for every tv and what looks good on one tv, may look bad on another tv, even the exact same model and build. Borrowing settings is a good place to start, and can be used as an educational tool to show how the various settings work together, but that's about it. You can always pick up a calibration disk and adjust the basic settings yourself and that may be all you need to improve your pq instead of paying for a professional calibration, which requires a light meter and specialized software. You can't calibrate a tv with calibration disk alone but you can improve your pq.
|Tch0rT| likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off