Official LG XXLD450 Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 1549 Old 09-01-2010, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
mikibig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this option is 0 in the service menu.Can I turn 1 without brick tv and what I can adjust with this?
mikibig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1549 Old 09-02-2010, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aykim2188 View Post

I just purchased a 47ld450 for $625 at walmart. It was a display model for 3months so I was able to get what I thought was a good discount..is this the case? I also got an extended 2 years warranty so a 3 year warranty for $65.

I have been trying to figure out the proper calibrations for this tv but I have no idea what all the descriptions mean. I just copied pbc's numbers. The only that that I noticed was that he recommended a lower number brightness as well as a low number backlight. It almost seems too dark for me but I read on other sites how people lower their brightnesses substantially. What is the reason for this? Any advice/help would be much welcomed!

i think they are going by industry standards

I personally don't like industry standards like THX or D65 6504k (mid day sunlight), the image appears too dark and too yellow.

I use PBC settings but increased backlight to 90, brightness to 60 and chose color setting to medium instead of warm, there's also the gamma setting in expert area which you can set to 1.9 to make objects easier to see

PBC does have the AUO set so I hope somebody with the IPS panel posts their settings (i sold my colorimeter)

Found more videos on youtube of this set

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5J3a2QdclcQ


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5c-Q7wZBYw
jangaboo is offline  
post #153 of 1549 Old 09-02-2010, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikibig View Post

this option is 0 in the service menu.Can I turn 1 without brick tv and what I can adjust with this?

i turned it on but it removes cinema option and replaces it with 2 THX picture settings which aren't adjustable

i personally don't like the look of the THX options, very dark and yellow even the brightroom setting
jangaboo is offline  
post #154 of 1549 Old 09-02-2010, 02:06 PM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just a heads up on the THX settings which the "hack" allows one to add. Remember that this TV doesn't have THX certification, which is probably why they simply "removed" the ability to select THX mode from the set's user interface software. The chances of the "THX" mode actually being a THX certified mode are slim to none IMO. Unlike adding the ability to play certain files off of a USB drive (which costs them nothing but they decided to remove it from this price point of a set, but thnakfully the hack gets around that), if the THX mode were in fact real, they set/model would have had to have been certified in some way shape or form, which I would think they'd have to pay a certification fee to THX for. Had they paid this fee, then it wouldn't make any sense to remove it from the options list in the TV, so that setting on the 450 sets probably hasn't been tested at all and is simply a bunch of internal offsets for color/grey scale, etc. that was used in a set that actually was THX certified.

Maybe one day I'll measure it...just to see.

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #155 of 1549 Old 09-03-2010, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbc View Post

Just a heads up on the THX settings which the "hack" allows one to add. Remember that this TV doesn't have THX certification, which is probably why they simply "removed" the ability to select THX mode from the set's user interface software. The chances of the "THX" mode actually being a THX certified mode are slim to none IMO. Unlike adding the ability to play certain files off of a USB drive (which costs them nothing but they decided to remove it from this price point of a set, but thnakfully the hack gets around that), if the THX mode were in fact real, they set/model would have had to have been certified in some way shape or form, which I would think they'd have to pay a certification fee to THX for. Had they paid this fee, then it wouldn't make any sense to remove it from the options list in the TV, so that setting on the 450 sets probably hasn't been tested at all and is simply a bunch of internal offsets for color/grey scale, etc. that was used in a set that actually was THX certified.

Maybe one day I'll measure it...just to see.

that makes sense

that would be awesome if you can run those test on THX to see how accurate it is
jangaboo is offline  
post #156 of 1549 Old 09-08-2010, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a LG 37LD450, the manual as usual is no help. I can't find in the menus where to program channel labels. ABC, FOX, etc. Can this set do that? All my older tv's have it.

Jim

Jim
Mars is offline  
post #157 of 1549 Old 09-10-2010, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
MarcusofaDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today I recieved my 42LD450 and I'm loving it so far.

But as a novice when it comes to these sorts of things, I don't really know what to look for and what not to look for when it comes to setting up the image properly.

Anyone have a nice guide for a newbie, or maybe just a link to one that I could use? Would be much appreciated!
MarcusofaDown is offline  
post #158 of 1549 Old 09-11-2010, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusofaDown View Post

Today I recieved my 42LD450 and I'm loving it so far.

But as a novice when it comes to these sorts of things, I don't really know what to look for and what not to look for when it comes to setting up the image properly.

Anyone have a nice guide for a newbie, or maybe just a link to one that I could use? Would be much appreciated!

i think when you turn on the tv it runs through a picture wizard doesn't it?

you can also re-run the picture wizard by pressing menu, going to picture and pressing ok on picture wizard text
jangaboo is offline  
post #159 of 1549 Old 09-12-2010, 01:09 AM
Newbie
 
MarcusofaDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jangaboo View Post

i think when you turn on the tv it runs through a picture wizard doesn't it?

you can also re-run the picture wizard by pressing menu, going to picture and pressing ok on picture wizard text

Yeah I found the wizard now! Worked quite good actually, but I've gotten some recommendations for some benchmark discs and such that will help me set it up more properly. Anyone here got any suggestions?
MarcusofaDown is offline  
post #160 of 1549 Old 09-12-2010, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post

...I can't find in the menus where to program channel labels. ABC, FOX, etc. Can this set do that?

I'm pretty sure it doesn't do individual channel labels. Only input labels.
arxaw is offline  
post #161 of 1549 Old 09-13-2010, 12:33 AM
Newbie
 
timeband1t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats the latest firmware version for EU models?
timeband1t is offline  
post #162 of 1549 Old 09-13-2010, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

I'm pretty sure it doesn't do individual channel labels. Only input labels.

Well this is a surprise. I haven't bought a new tv in 10 years, is this a feature that has disappeared from new sets?

Jim
Mars is offline  
post #163 of 1549 Old 09-13-2010, 07:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PSIP data broadcast by the stations auto-labels channels.
arxaw is offline  
post #164 of 1549 Old 09-13-2010, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

The PSIP data broadcast by the stations auto-labels channels.

Hmmnn.. not seeing that either. I'm connected to cable. Do they pass that info along from the originating station?

Jim
Mars is offline  
post #165 of 1549 Old 09-13-2010, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some do. If you're not seeing it, your cableco is not.

Here's what a typical OTA PSIP channel info banner looks like (different TV, not the LG):


Connect an OTA antenna to your TV and scan for local channels. You'll see the PSIP channel & guide info provided by broadcasters.
arxaw is offline  
post #166 of 1549 Old 09-16-2010, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
joshpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a 42" today and I am really liking it so far for the money. It's an IPS panel but playing with the settings I was able to get blacks looking really good. Sound is actually pretty good out of the box compared to my Samsung set.

Two HDMI outputs is kind of annoying. The side one is very recessed from the side of the set. Makes a great bedroom TV etc
joshpo is offline  
post #167 of 1549 Old 09-18-2010, 01:29 AM
Newbie
 
tegman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the 47ld450, everthing was good except the blacks. Dark scenes looked unnaturaly bright no matter what I did. So i took it back and got a samsung ln46c650 and could'nt be happier!
tegman1 is offline  
post #168 of 1549 Old 09-18-2010, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Coyote4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys.

I just bought the 47LD450 for gaming (XBOX 360).
In shooters, racers, this TV is amazing, but in fast sports games, as FIFA 10, FIFA 11 demo, Madden 11, I have some motion blur, playing in Game Mode, and it is a little annoying.

My LD450 has an IPS panel. (awesome view angle).

Any tips?...

Thanks in advance.

PD: my XBOX is an old one, so has not HDMI, and i´m playing with components. Could be the problem with fast sports games?... or perhaps the 4ms response time is high for this kind of games?...
Coyote4 is offline  
post #169 of 1549 Old 09-19-2010, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
joshpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote4 View Post

Hi guys.

I just bought the 47LD450 for gaming (XBOX 360).
In shooters, racers, this TV is amazing, but in fast sports games, as FIFA 10, FIFA 11 demo, Madden 11, I have some motion blur, playing in Game Mode, and it is a little annoying.

My LD450 has an IPS panel. (awesome view angle).

Any tips?...

Thanks in advance.

PD: my XBOX is an old one, so has not HDMI, and i´m playing with components. Could be the problem with fast sports games?... or perhaps the 4ms response time is high for this kind of games?...

I don't game on this set but 4ms response should be fine. Make sure all processing features are turned off (DNR, edge enhancement, etc)
joshpo is offline  
post #170 of 1549 Old 09-22-2010, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Razor444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

lg website for 47LD450 states in their specification sheet that this model supports 5:5 pulldown. How come? Its a 60hz and not 120hz tv..?

"24p Real Cinema: Yes (5:5/2:2 Pulldown)"

Mistake on their site?
Thanks
Razor444 is offline  
post #171 of 1549 Old 09-24-2010, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
indio22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Having trouble nailing down and judging the power requirements of the 47LD450. LG site is not much help in comparing the models. I think the Fry's Electronics site listed this TV at 240W. Seems high. Maybe that is why I can't find an Energy Star rating for the 47LD450? Is this thing going to drain the grid, or is it in keeping with average LCD power consumption? I don't want to save some money up front, only to pay it all back over the years if this thing is eating electricity!
indio22 is offline  
post #172 of 1549 Old 09-26-2010, 09:12 PM
Newbie
 
dda12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed any video jitter/judder with your TVs? I have the 32" version and am currently using the OTA tuner. Compared to my 32" 720p Panny there seems to be a bit of "video lag" when it comes to motion - is this normal? Its effect is subtle but very noticeable to me because of the other Panny LCD I own. Could all this be something inherent with 1080p panels? I have turned off all enhancements (DNR, edge enhancer, low black levels, etc)
dda12 is offline  
post #173 of 1549 Old 09-28-2010, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Fahrenheit85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hiya guys just picked up the 42 set. Like it so far gotta dial in the settings before I pass judgment. One question, is there any updated firmwares for this set? I poked around on the LG site and saw no place to download any. Just wanna stay up to date


PS - Also does game mode reduce input lag or anything like that or does it just a different display calibration?
Fahrenheit85 is offline  
post #174 of 1549 Old 09-28-2010, 09:45 AM
wz1
Member
 
wz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
picked up a 42LD450 that had a horrible viewing angle and splotchy green instead of deep blacks. Returned it and got the same model but a different panel since it has a wide horizontal viewing angle. Problem with this one are both video inputs. When I connect sound from any source connected to AC I get a buzz through the speakers. Tried my cable box to RF, no buzz and my dvd player to HDMI, no buzz, only from the 2 AV inputs. What should I do?
wz1 is offline  
post #175 of 1549 Old 10-01-2010, 12:14 PM
Member
 
spudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting on my 42ld450 and I am trying to take care of the mount while I have time. Could anyone give me an approximate distance from the top VESA mount holes to the top of the unit? I can't find any detailed pictures online and the manual is no help.
spudfrog is offline  
post #176 of 1549 Old 10-02-2010, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
rogue15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if there is backlight bleed for the LD450? Also, if the black levels on the 550 or the 120hz refresh rate is a lot better, I might get that model.
rogue15 is offline  
post #177 of 1549 Old 10-03-2010, 03:55 AM
Newbie
 
vaasta1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbc View Post

Okay, switched back to 2.2 Gamma, and ended up doing a Day calibration (at 50ftL) and a Night time one (at approx. 35ftL).

Expert1 (Day)
Backlight 50 50ftL
Contrast 86
Brightness 52
H Sharpness 50
V Sharpness 50
Color 53
Tint G5
Dynamic Contrast Off
Noise Reduction Off
DNR Off
black level Low
Real Cinema Off
Color Gamut BT709
Color Temp Warm
Gamma 2.2
Method 10 pt 10pt
Expert1
Luminance 169
IRE 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0
R 11 4 5 1 1 0 1 -3 -5 -8 50
G 9 10 9 6 6 3 1 -3 -7 -12 50
B 4 7 7 3 2 -2 -4 -10 -19 -23 -50
CMS Color Tint
R 9 -18
G 1 -11
B -1 12
Y 20 -2
C -2 1
M 2 -3


Expert2 (Night)
Backlight 37 35ftL
Contrast 85
Brightness 43
H Sharpness 50
V Sharpness 50
Color 50
Tint 0
Dynamic Contrast Off
Noise Reduction Off
DNR Off
black level Low
Real Cinema Off
Color Gamut BT709
Color Temp Warm
Gamma 2.2
Method 10 pt 10pt
Expert1
Luminance 113
IRE 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0
R -3 0 4 4 6 7 6 5 6 7 50
G 6 5 8 6 7 5 6 3 4 1 50
B 8 -3 0 -2 -1 -2 -3 -5 -10 -15 -50
CMS Color Tint
R 6 0
G 5 -20
B 5 27
Y 22 -5
C 1 0
M 5 -4

Thank you very much for those settings. I bought a 42" a few days ago and was having a hard time finding the right colors. The only thing I dont like about your settings is the backlight level. The image appears to be quite dark at 50.
vaasta1987 is offline  
post #178 of 1549 Old 10-03-2010, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
mabrouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday I bought my 37ld450 at Futureshop Canada and when I arrived home I verified the number of the panel behind the enclosure of tv.

I have a LC370WUN and surprise it's a ips panel.
mabrouss is offline  
post #179 of 1549 Old 10-03-2010, 10:24 AM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabrouss View Post

Yesterday I bought my 37ld450 at Futureshop Canada and when I arrived home I verified the number of the panel behind the enclosure of tv.

I have a LC370WUN and surprise it's a ips panel.

How do you know it's an IPS panel? Can you take a close up macro zoomed pic of a 100IRE screen (per some screen shots way back)?

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #180 of 1549 Old 10-03-2010, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
mabrouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my eyes I see very well the number lc370hwun on the panel but it is more difficult with a camera because there is a back grill.

I cannot put a link but makes a search with Google with the words s-ips lc370wun and the first result with pdf es-france go to see in p.07 of the document. All the numbers of panels s-ips are indicated.
LL
LL
mabrouss is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off