Official LG XXLD450 Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1549 Old 10-04-2010, 04:35 AM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Can you take a pic similar to this one?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post18838323

Basically you hold your camera about 1" from the screen, set it to Macro, and zoom in and out until you can get a decent picture while putting the 100IRE screen up in the advanced settings menu.

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1549 Old 10-04-2010, 07:52 AM
Newbie
 
mabrouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took several photos before making a success of this one. The patern of the screen looks like a s-ips panel. Can you confirm if that's right.
LL
LL
mabrouss is offline  
post #183 of 1549 Old 10-06-2010, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
indio22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I purchased this TV last week, got a good deal on it, and I wasn't looking for the perfect set. But the picture seems kind of dark. Granted, my living room location has a lot of windows, but I need to have this set on full backlight "torch" mode to have sufficient brightness. The specs state 500 cd/m2, which is in keeping with some of the brighter models. Are there any other owners of this TV who are keeping the backlight setting at 100 percent?

Also the blacks seem not so good, as already mentioned by some other commenters. I was ready for that, but not for the blacks going grey with only a small change in viewing angle. For example, laying on the floor while viewing will degrade the black levels significantly. Odd thing, I tried viewing this set from various angles at the store, and did not notice this level of degradation.

Trying to decide if I should keep this set. Plasma seems out of the question though, given my need of a bright TV, with plasma generally putting out less light. (Not interested in drawing the curtains every time we want to watch TV.)
indio22 is offline  
post #184 of 1549 Old 10-09-2010, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
jsmile39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just upgraded an LG 32LH30 to 32LD450 (using as primary monitor on desk), and the difference is night and day. The LH30 was a panel lottery fail, I bought it summer of last year when they first started the AUO panel swaps.

Only real complaints are:

1. Piano Black, really, why does everyone still do this?
2. Remote is a bit more vague that the LH30's.
3. A bit more backlighting visible at the top than AUO panel LH30.

First person gaming on the AUO panel was tedious at best. It was as though I smeared vasoline on my glasses and was watching myself via a dream sequence. Moved the LH30 out to replace an ancient 27" XBR (CRT), it's not so noticeable when just watching movies.

For what it's worth, the 32LD450 was manufactured June 2010, with a CUSWLH model number, and an LG sticker on back of the panel. I don't have a camera to confirm IPS, but it certainly performs way better than the AUSD tagged LH30.

I was reluctant to give LG another go after my extended experience with the LH30, but for the moment I'm happy I did.
jsmile39 is offline  
post #185 of 1549 Old 10-09-2010, 05:53 PM
Member
 
rpranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, all.

I decided to buy a 47LD450 after reading this thread and because Fry's had it on sale September 25 at the incredible price of $550. I must admit I did not like it at first look - in the store or at home. But knowing that no TV is ever correct out of the box, I trusted that your experiences would not steer me wrong.

I got it home and immediately plugged in Knd's settings. Honestly, I didn't care for either one, daytime or nighttime. So I went to pbc's settings and really didn't like those much either. So it was time to break out DVE because I don't have the calibration equipment some of you have. Luckily, I found what seems to me to be very acceptable setting based on the DVE results and using Planet Earth on BD as a reference to verify and make very slight tweaks. In fact, I'd go so far as to say these settings were the difference in me keeping the set vs. returning it. I thought I'd share those with you.

standard (User)
----------------
backlight 40
contrast 75
brightness 54
sharpness 40
color 60
tint 0
temp C10
dynamic contrast off
dynamic color off
clear white off
skin color 0
noise reduction off
digital noise reduction off
gamma high
black level low
eye care off
real cinema off
color gamut standard
xvYCC off


Regards.

-Robert
rpranger is offline  
post #186 of 1549 Old 10-11-2010, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Needanewbewbtube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an external PC sound 2.1 sound system(green wire) I'm wondering what I would have to do to use it with this set? Would I have to buy an adapter or something?

Also the text while I'm using my PC looks a little off, what can I do to correct this?
Needanewbewbtube is offline  
post #187 of 1549 Old 10-13-2010, 01:30 AM
Senior Member
 
jarablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how is PC gaming on the 32? How is text and general PC monitor use?
jarablue is offline  
post #188 of 1549 Old 10-14-2010, 09:50 PM
Member
 
harv405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaasta1987 View Post

Thank you very much for those settings. I bought a 42" a few days ago and was having a hard time finding the right colors. The only thing I dont like about your settings is the backlight level. The image appears to be quite dark at 50.


This is going to be a stupid question but I just bought the 42 inch LG. I would like to know how to access the section that is listed as IRE... I was not able to figure it out and would like to have the optimal settings for my new tv. It is the 100,90,80,70,60,50,40,30,20,10,0 part. Please advise.

Thanks in advance!
harv405 is offline  
post #189 of 1549 Old 10-14-2010, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Needanewbewbtube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once you tweak it, the text is very clear. I haven't played any PC games yet, but my 360 looks great. It's definitely a step up from my monitor. It's HUGE compared to my 23" monitor lol, takes some time to get used to it.
Needanewbewbtube is offline  
post #190 of 1549 Old 10-14-2010, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harv405 View Post

This is going to be a stupid question but I just bought the 42 inch LG. I would like to know how to access the section that is listed as IRE... I was not able to figure it out and would like to have the optimal settings for my new tv. It is the 100,90,80,70,60,50,40,30,20,10,0 part. Please advise.

Thanks in advance!

press menu on control

go to Picture

press down till you highlight Picture Mode:

Yours probably says Picture Mode: Standard

Press OK or Center button and menu pops up with Standard, Cinema, Game, Expert 1, Expert 2

Pick Expert 2

move down to the very bottom option called Expert options and thats where you'll find the 10 Step IRE
jangaboo is offline  
post #191 of 1549 Old 10-14-2010, 10:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabrouss View Post

I took several photos before making a success of this one. The patern of the screen looks like a s-ips panel. Can you confirm if that's right.

looks like super ips yep
jangaboo is offline  
post #192 of 1549 Old 10-14-2010, 11:31 PM
Member
 
harv405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jangaboo View Post

press menu on control

go to Picture

press down till you highlight Picture Mode:

Yours probably says Picture Mode: Standard

Press OK or Center button and menu pops up with Standard, Cinema, Game, Expert 1, Expert 2

Pick Expert 2

move down to the very bottom option called Expert options and thats where you'll find the 10 Step IRE

It will only allow me to do the various color and tint settings. Magenta being one of the colors. I can't seem to get to the 10 step IRE.
harv405 is offline  
post #193 of 1549 Old 10-15-2010, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harv405 View Post

It will only allow me to do the various color and tint settings. Magenta being one of the colors. I can't seem to get to the 10 step IRE.

above that it will say 2 point and you would change it to say 10 step IRE

then each time you modify 100, 90, 80, 70, 60 etc etc you need to adjust Red green blue for each one
jangaboo is offline  
post #194 of 1549 Old 10-15-2010, 07:48 PM
Member
 
harv405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Figured it out! Thanks for the help! I'll set it all up tonight and let you guys know the results! Thanks Again!!!
harv405 is offline  
post #195 of 1549 Old 10-15-2010, 09:48 PM
Member
 
harv405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent! Looks FANTASTIC..Thanks!
harv405 is offline  
post #196 of 1549 Old 10-17-2010, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
jarablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can you tell if you have a AUO or an SIPS panel? Is it labeled somewhere?

Also for some reason my 37LH30 TV, the text on it using my pc is a lot sharper. I wonder why that is? Does the 37LH30 use a better panel than the 32LD450?

For whatever reason, connecting the 32LD450 via DVI to HDMI I just can't seem to get the text as sharp....seems that it is a big aliased. Anyone have an idea?

Hmmm.
jarablue is offline  
post #197 of 1549 Old 10-18-2010, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarablue View Post

How can you tell if you have a AUO or an SIPS panel? Is it labeled somewhere?

Also for some reason my 37LH30 TV, the text on it using my pc is a lot sharper. I wonder why that is? Does the 37LH30 use a better panel than the 32LD450?

For whatever reason, connecting the 32LD450 via DVI to HDMI I just can't seem to get the text as sharp....seems that it is a big aliased. Anyone have an idea?

Hmmm.

Look at the product code on the sticker on the box, or the sticker behind the TV. The product code will be something like "32LD450.UA.CUSWLHO". To determine S-IPS, look at the fourth character of the last string (in the example I gave, this is "W"). A 'W' denotes a S-IPS, a 'D' denotes TN or VA, and apparently there's a new 'I' in the mix, but no one knows what kind of panel that is.

Other than that, you can take a camera macro shot or a magnifying glass of the panel itself. If the pixel structure has a chevron pattern (like the 2nd pic shown here: link), then its a S-IPS panel.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #198 of 1549 Old 10-22-2010, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question about intelligent sensor which apparently adjusts the tv picture based on room lighting

does this tv have it? and if it does can i disable it?
jangaboo is offline  
post #199 of 1549 Old 10-24-2010, 04:33 PM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i'm having a problem with my tv. When i display this picture on the screen

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...g?t=1287963155

The RED and the MAGENTA are blurry... are my settings wrong?
nuker43 is offline  
post #200 of 1549 Old 10-24-2010, 06:47 PM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i finally got it just about right. I have my westinghouse and my 42ld450 hooked up at the same time and i did some color calibration comparing it to the westinghouse and i have them almost identical. I have an IPS panel so here is my lay out if you would like to try it on your tv.

I am hooked up through hdmi on my computer and games / movies look perfect now.

EDIT: see http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...271152&page=23

It is basicly the same as pbcs with slight modifications but those modifications were the difference between me being able to tell if i clicked a link on google (so it turns purplish) or haven't clicked on a link (blue) before they both looked the same.

hope this helps
nuker43 is offline  
post #201 of 1549 Old 10-24-2010, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jangaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

Well i finally got it just about right. I have my westinghouse and my 42ld450 hooked up at the same time and i did some color calibration comparing it to the westinghouse and i have them almost identical. I have an IPS panel so here is my lay out if you would like to try it on your tv.

I am hooked up through hdmi on my computer and games / movies look perfect now.

Expert1 (Day)
Backlight 100
Contrast 86
Brightness 52
H Sharpness 50
V Sharpness 50
Color 53
Tint 0
Dynamic Contrast Off
Noise Reduction Off
DNR Off
black level Low
Real Cinema Off
Color Gamut BT709
Color Temp Warm
Gamma 2.2
Method 10 pt 10pt
Expert1
Luminance 169
IRE 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0
R 4 2 5 2 3 3 3 1 0 -1 50
G 8 8 9 6 6 4 3 0 -2 -6 50
B 11 3 4 1 1 -2 -4 -8 -15 -19 -50
CMS Color Tint
R 9 -18
G 1 -11
B -1 12
Y -5 -10
C -2 1
M 2 -3

It is basicly the same as pbcs with slight modifications but those modifications were the difference between me being able to tell if i clicked a link on google (so it turns purplish) or haven't clicked on a link (blue) before they both looked the same.

hope this helps

EDIT: well im almost there this helped but i am having a problem with red and magenta. In video games its almost impossible to read as text if they are in red or magenta.

awesome ill try these settings tomorrow

as for the tint/color settings i left mine default when i go into negative on red i notice red areas show up more brown whereas on the positive red tint skin tones become more pink or natural imo
jangaboo is offline  
post #202 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 05:13 AM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh wow oh wow oh wow...

Disregard my last post with those settings if you are using this screen as a computer monitor. I am making tons of headway now almost getting perfect 1:1 pixel perfection. The color chart is perfect full screen. I can read every color name and they are all grey. The text in games that are red and magenta are finally clear. I am just about where my westinghouse was.

These are the settings!

EDIT: see http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...271152&page=23 (thanks phase)

EDIT2: I Still use nvidia colors if you have a geforce card. They seem better to me and the games i play. I left the colors default but put the digital vibrance to 60 while using phases settings.
nuker43 is offline  
post #203 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
thepoohcontinuum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

1. First off go to your inputs and get ready to label your HDMI that your computer is pluged into. Label it PC

I have to disagree on this. When the HDMI input is labeled as PC, the 'Edge Enhancer' is forced on (check the advanced settings). For detailed high contrast items like text, you will get a halo'ing effect on the text periphery -- as if the text is "glowing". There's been a few posts about this on the xxLD450 thread in avforum, plus from my own observations.

Granted, you're using some manipulation via the nvidia settings, so you might have canceled out the halo effect. But generally, I believe leaving the HDMI input unlabeled is the best for those that don't want to tinker with color settings through the video driver.
thepoohcontinuum is offline  
post #204 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 07:51 AM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah im at a loss every time i think i make progress something else doesn't look right. I just cant get the 4:4:4 image to look clear no matter how many settings i try. Been at this for a good 16 hours
nuker43 is offline  
post #205 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 08:04 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

oh wow oh wow oh wow...

Disregard my last post with those settings if you are using this screen as a computer monitor. I am making tons of headway now almost getting perfect 1:1 pixel perfection. The color chart is perfect full screen. I can read every color name and they are all grey. The text in games that are red and magenta are finally clear. I am just about where my westinghouse was.

These are the settings!I do.


I have to disagree also. You see, everyone could post their "settings" based on what computer graphics card they have, what TV model they have, what their room lighting conditions are, what their tastes are , etc.

That is the reason for standardized calibration using calibration equipment rather than our own eyes and perceptions. Calibration is not just a matter of tweaking things arbitrairily. It really does not do the AVS forum much good if we get all worked up with our "BEST" and latest settings, and include gobs of full sized pictures.

We all have settings and could post pictures of our screen shots, computer settings, etc. You have much enthusiasm and have gotten good results for you, but it won't necessarily translate into good results for others. It would be much more help and considerate of forum space if you would post jpeg files instead of full blown images. It is actually forum etiquette to do so.
OTHERWISE IT'S LIKE I'M TYPING NOW!! Kind of "in your face" and "HERE. . .!! LOOK AT THIS! THIS IS IT.

No offense meant here, just some suggestions.
Phase700B is offline  
post #206 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 08:19 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

yeah im at a loss every time i think i make progress something else doesn't look right. I just cant get the 4:4:4 image to look clear no matter how many settings i try. Been at this for a good 16 hours

We have all been there! Get some rest, and then look into studying up on calibrations procedures and equipment. Otherwise you will always have "something that doesn't look right".

Some of us still do and are just addicted to calibrations.
Phase700B is offline  
post #207 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 08:26 AM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

We have all been there! Get some rest, and then look into studying up on calibrations procedures and equipment. Otherwise you will always have "something that doesn't look right".

Some of us still do and are just addicted to calibrations.

haha yeah im gonna do that...

This is what im having a problem with. On the westinghouse i can get this picture's text .. all of the colored text to be clear. However on the LG the red and magenta/purple are not clear unless you zoom in. All of the text should be as clear as the white/green name like the sword of the ancient tomb.

Is it clear for you?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ag/wtfdupe.jpg
nuker43 is offline  
post #208 of 1549 Old 10-25-2010, 08:32 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

haha yeah im gonna do that...

This is what im having a problem with. On the westinghouse i can get this picture's text .. all of the colored text to be clear. However on the LG the red and magenta/purple are not clear unless you zoom in. All of the text should be as clear as the white/green name like the sword of the ancient tomb.

Is it clear for you?

Uh.. ... yeah, the picture is clear for me;but use a link to post your jpegs. Not just paste them into your text.
Phase700B is offline  
post #209 of 1549 Old 10-26-2010, 01:14 AM
Member
 
nuker43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i pretty much give up. Every setting i try on the hdmi port yields crappy color. However when i put a vga cable from my computer to the tv it displays perfect 4:4:4 and 1080p. The only problem i now get with vga is that theres a little shadow the icons cast if theres a pure whit background. Seems i can't win with this tv and i am so close to returning it but that would mean using a broken westinghouse until a true 37 or 42 inch MONITOR comes out that isn't a tv.
nuker43 is offline  
post #210 of 1549 Old 10-26-2010, 05:22 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuker43 View Post

well i pretty much give up. Every setting i try on the hdmi port yields crappy color. However when i put a vga cable from my computer to the tv it displays perfect 4:4:4 and 1080p. The only problem i now get with vga is that theres a little shadow the icons cast if theres a pure whit background. Seems i can't win with this tv and i am so close to returning it but that would mean using a broken westinghouse until a true 37 or 42 inch MONITOR comes out that isn't a tv.

Maybe try the RCA 40LA45RQ from Kmart or Sears. It reportedly does 4:4:4 and acts more like a monitor than other TVs. See this link:http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...75251&posted=1
Phase700B is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off