Vizio TV Restarts Itself When Watching DirectTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lanc1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My grandparents just bought a Vizio E370VA tv about 3 weeks ago and when they watch tv about once a day the volume will get really loud then the tv will turn itself off and then come back on.

So they exchanged the tv for another one of the same model and it is also having the problem which makes it appear to be a problem with the directTV HD receiver.

But since there is only about a week more that they have to return the tv I wanted to get some people's opinions about whether it is the tv or the satellite receiver that is causing the problem?
Lanc1988 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 04:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the volume being controlled by the volume control on the TV's remote or by the volume control on the direcTV receiver box's remote. Your parents need to check for what the volume is set at using the volume control on the Vizio remote With my Vizio I make sure that that the Vizio volume setting is between 14 and 16.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lanc1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The volume is controlled through the tv. As far as i am aware there are no volume controls for the receiver.

The receiver is connected to the tv through an hdmi cable.
Lanc1988 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are they using the remote for the receiver or the remote from the tv? This may sound stupid but maybe one of the remotes may be causing this?
SLUDGE is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lanc1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I doubt it could be the remote just based on the fact of what is happening.. the volume gets loud (nothing displays on the screen to show the volume is going up) and then the tv turns off and then turns itself back on.. like its restarting itself.
Lanc1988 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The receiver has no volume control so you can rule that out. This is strange. How often does it happen?
SLUDGE is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 07-17-2010, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lanc1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They tell me it happens about once a day
Lanc1988 is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 07-18-2010, 06:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanc1988 View Post

I doubt it could be the remote just based on the fact of what is happening.. the volume gets loud (nothing displays on the screen to show the volume is going up) and then the tv turns off and then turns itself back on.. like its restarting itself.

Strange, It almost sounds like there is power drop and surge happening on the house circuit being used by the TV caused by the starting of a heavy electrical load, since I can not understand a random increase surg of volume level output from the STB could cause the TV to shutdown and restart.
Are both the TV and the STB protectred by surge protectors?
walford is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 07-27-2010, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
Blink139's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same exact issue and the same exact model tv. I use comcast so it seems like it's the tv. I have not found a solution yet (if there is one), but am trying. FYI...I highly doubt it has anything to do with the volume control. My hypothesis is that it could be due to the tv's inability to automatically switch its aspect ratio successfully between HD and analog (this is when the tv automatically changes from normal mode to wide mode so that the picture always fits the screen instead of using the "black bars" on the sides). Again, that is just a hunch and may be just as stupid as the volume control theory. I will keep you posted if I find any solutions.
Blink139 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 07-27-2010, 04:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The TV will only change picture size modes or aspect ratios when they resolution it is receiving changes and if you have programmed the TV for the different modes/aspect ratios.
walford is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 09-09-2010, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
reblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the exact same issue and am wondering if anyone ever found a solution. I still have time to return the TV to Target.

This happens, as mentioned above, almost exactly once a day. The TV gets loud, the screen goes black, the VIZIO logo appears, and then the picture returns at its regular volume.
reblock is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 09-10-2010, 05:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the time of day when it happens about the same each day?
Is there any possibility of some sort of power spike being caused by the starting of a large appliance or motor starting in your home?
walford is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 09-10-2010, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
reblock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a small apartment so there is a possibility the fridge turning on causes this. Would using a surge protector fix the issue?

I'll pay more attention to the time and fridge next time it happens.
reblock is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 09-10-2010, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A surge protector certainly can't hurt however if the problem is caused by a drop in voltage when a motor starts and not an incease after the motor has stared.
walford is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 07-23-2011, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
kevin79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kentwood, MI USA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but did anyone ever find a solution for this? I have the same TV with the same issue. It is really annoying.
kevin79 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 07-23-2011, 07:38 PM
Member
 
john wang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably. It's still up in the air。
john wang is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 03-30-2012, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
mcfarland35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanc1988 View Post

My grandparents just bought a Vizio E370VA tv about 3 weeks ago and when they watch tv about once a day the volume will get really loud then the tv will turn itself off and then come back on.

So they exchanged the tv for another one of the same model and it is also having the problem which makes it appear to be a problem with the directTV HD receiver.

But since there is only about a week more that they have to return the tv I wanted to get some people's opinions about whether it is the tv or the satellite receiver that is causing the problem?

I bought a E47OVA vizio from Target on November 2010 and by December I had the same problem and also had Direct tv. 6 months later my subscription was up so I went with Time Warner cable because of deal. Long story short it still does it no matter who my cable provider is. But after a year and couple months later I figured out when my tv goes out is my vizio 47 only goes out when my backlight is turn up, but when I don't use the back light it never goes out. It's like it's using alot more power than it can handle in the reset, or it get's to hot and reset's. Not sure but I hope this get's us closer to the issue with this scamming company. Cause this happen.s more than you think.
mcfarland35 is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 03-31-2012, 03:45 AM
 
pds3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lanc1988 View Post

My grandparents just bought a Vizio E370VA tv about 3 weeks ago and when they watch tv about once a day the volume will get really loud then the tv will turn itself off and then come back on.

So they exchanged the tv for another one of the same model and it is also having the problem which makes it appear to be a problem with the directTV HD receiver.

But since there is only about a week more that they have to return the tv I wanted to get some people's opinions about whether it is the tv or the satellite receiver that is causing the problem?

I would return the tv and try another brand.
pds3 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 03-31-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Dmwc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My parents have an E370VA that's a little over a year old, and it has this same issue with a Charter cable box connected via HDMI. The thing is, they used it for about a year without the cable box, and it never had this problem. It also never does this when they are watching something else connected to the TV, like a DVD or Blu-Ray player. It only happens with the cable box, and they say it happens only on the HD channels. So all I can figure is that it is a fault with the TV that is somehow triggered by something in the signal from a cable or satellite box. It's an annoyance that I wish could be fixed somehow, but I don't think it's going to suddenly kill the TV (at least I hope not).

I am not usually around when it happens, but I'm wondering if maybe it happens when there is a momentary dropout in the cable signal coming into the box. Maybe the video or audio signal is lost for a split-second, and for whatever reason, this causes the TV to reset.
Dmwc is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 03-31-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I suggest checking first that the HDMI cable from the satellite box be reseated on both ends. If that does resolve the problem have DirecTV replace the satellite box
walford is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 04-12-2012, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
wonka702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

I suggest checking first that the HDMI cable from the satellite box be reseated on both ends. If that does resolve the problem have DirecTV replace the satellite box

If multiple people are having this issue, with different providers, just return the tv and get a different model. Also has anyone contacted vizio?
wonka702 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 12-07-2012, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
salamonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread but I have almost the same problem with my tv it resets itself randomly.... I have a dish network dvr reciever and a samsung home theater blu-ray player. EVERY time i pause the dvr the tv resets. UNTIL today.... I have a toslink cable running from the tv to the blu ray player for sound. I have found my problem to be something wrong with the sound. It seems as tho if my dish reciever sound settings are set to dolby/pcm it resets itself every time i pause tv...and at random times.....usually once every 20 min-1 hour .......i changed my sound settings on my dish network box to pcm only...My tv has been on pause for 2 hours with no reset......i have tried everything that used to make it reset and it just wont do it now. I don't know if this will help anyone else but it stopped my problem so i thought i would share.
salamonius is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 07-18-2013, 12:49 AM
Newbie
 
Liber81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own Philips 4000 series Smart LED TV 42PFL4007H and it has absolutly same problems. The TV randomly reboots itself after increasing sound volume to maximum level. Is there any solution ? I am really desperate mad.gif

Please, in case of any solution, contact me. There is my e-mail: rostislav.liber@gmail.com
Thank you in advance.
Liber81 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off