Official LG xxLD550 xxLD520 xxLD650 Owners Thread - Page 156 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 5077 Old 09-06-2011, 08:16 AM
Member
 
shadowinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just coming back to this thread after a loooong absence. Some of you remember my dog . Anyway, I never quite liked any of the settings posted in the first 20 or so pages so I've been using Cinema with some tweaks. I just tried csamos's settings on my 47LD520 and they are really good (link to original, i'm using his updated ones which increased brightness and contrast but I can't find them: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=2876). I'm going to try some of the other 520 users settings as well as play with the AVS HD 709 and I'll post results + my TV info from 11111. Big thanks to csamos, Phase, and everyone else!
shadowinq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 5077 Old 09-06-2011, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowinq View Post

Just coming back to this thread after a loooong absence. Some of you remember my dog . Anyway, I never quite liked any of the settings posted in the first 20 or so pages so I've been using Cinema with some tweaks. I just tried csamos's settings on my 47LD520 and they are really good (link to original, i'm using his updated ones which increased brightness and contrast but I can't find them: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=2876). I'm going to try some of the other 520 users settings as well as play with the AVS HD 709 and I'll post results + my TV info from 11111. Big thanks to csamos, Phase, and everyone else!

Welcome back! Djams settings worked very well on my 47LD520 so if you can't find them, I'll send them to you. I have sort of an archive of settings from the group that I used and played around with so you're welcome to them. I originally calibrated my set as best as I could with the AVS HD709 disk but ended up using djams because he calibrated the IREs and I couldn't. However his "basics" and mine were almost identical so I put the two together and just made some minor tweaks to my liking. I pretty much use the same settings for DVD as well as OTA. It probably doesn't look correct graphed out but I like it (and that's all that really matters ) and so does anyone else who comes over and views our set.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4653 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 12:23 PM
Member
 
shadowinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send me what you got man, I had a tough time searching this massive thread for settings. I couldn't get the 709 DVD to play on my Samsung blu ray player (something something 2500) in either format. Sad.
shadowinq is offline  
post #4654 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
You can use Phase's settings which are at the beginning of this thread to get you started or search djams. As far as the AVS HD709 disk goes, if memory serves me correctly (which isn't always the case) there are a couple different formats of the file that, depending on your platform, you need to burn the disk image to a DVD but it will play on a BD player. Someone else will have to chime in here on the correct one to use and burn.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4655 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowinq View Post
Send me what you got man, I had a tough time searching this massive thread for settings. I couldn't get the 709 DVD to play on my Samsung blu ray player (something something 2500) in either format. Sad.
Here ya go:

I suggest entering one set in Expert 1 and the other in Expert 2. Then see which you prefer or works best for you. You can also buy the Avia DVD on Amazon I think for a calibration aid.

 

Djams 47LD520 TXT BRITE DAYTIME Setting 75% Saturation- 5-11-11.txt 1.1162109375k . file

 

LG 42LD550 HDMI Input ISF EXPERT Baseline 4-5-11 Usable Range.txt 1.5712890625k . file
Phase700B is offline  
post #4656 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
^^ thanks boss, I knew you'd come thru
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4657 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 03:29 PM
Member
 
shadowinq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. Most of the settings I tried before, like Phase's original, were really washed out and too yellow. csamos are the best for me so far, I'll try these others in a bit.

EDIT: Also, I got AVS 709 to work by turning off the 24 FPS on my blu ray player.
shadowinq is offline  
post #4658 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 06:39 PM
Newbie
 
dhong55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

Exactly. I haven't provided any setting for Judder or Blur using TruMotion for just that reason. I leave it up to the viewer to determine if they wish to use it. Aren't the picture options great for these mid priced TVs?

Just for the record, what model did you buy and which Expert setting did you try? You can also try using AVS HD709 in Expert 2 and see if you get better results. This info can be found in Post #2 of this thread.

I have the 42LD550, and I'm using the ISF Expert 1 (Warm Colors) settings, Thanks Phase for the hard work. It saved me a ton of money getting my TV professionally calibrated.
dhong55 is offline  
post #4659 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
dhong55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otto pylot View Post

damn! The old thread has been revised :d whoo hoo! Ok, i forget but which ld do you have?

42ld550
dhong55 is offline  
post #4660 of 5077 Old 09-07-2011, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowinq View Post

Thanks guys. Most of the settings I tried before, like Phase's original, were really washed out and too yellow. csamos are the best for me so far, I'll try these others in a bit.

EDIT: Also, I got AVS 709 to work by turning off the 24 FPS on my blu ray player.

Have you tried Djams 47LD520 setting I posted? It isn't one of mone and not in the usual place with the other settings. It actually should be more accurate than csamos for your 47LD520 which Djams also has.

If you liked csamos, Djams was done at 75% starting saturation and is also higher contrast in the end. Anyway, since you have AVS HD709 working, try that in your Expert 2 to compare. Just nake sure you read the instruction PDF to do it correctly.
Phase700B is offline  
post #4661 of 5077 Old 09-12-2011, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a 32LD550 earlier today. I'm troubled by one issue that I can best describe as a "framerate issue."

For example, I have my XBOX 360 hooked up to the TV through one of the HDMI inputs. If I use the 360 to play a DVD, motion in the movie looks wrong, artificial, laggy, etc. To clarify, motion in the movie will look okay for a stretch of time, but then it'll briefly slow down/speed up/look a little jerky and artifical, seemingly at random... and it happens frequently. It appears to happen whether I have TruMotion turned on or off. I don't know what effect Real Cinema has on the issue, if any.

I would greatly appreciate any help/advice on the matter.

Edited to add: If I use the XBOX 360 to play a DVD, I can't seem to access Real Cinema whatsoever, and it's permanently switched to the off position.
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4662 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 10:34 AM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post

I purchased a 32LD550 earlier today. I'm troubled by one issue that I can best describe as a "framerate issue."

For example, I have my XBOX 360 hooked up to the TV through one of the HDMI inputs. If I use the 360 to play a DVD, motion in the movie looks wrong, artificial, laggy, etc. To clarify, motion in the movie will look okay for a stretch of time, but then it'll briefly slow down/speed up/look a little jerky and artifical, seemingly at random... and it happens frequently. It appears to happen whether I have TruMotion turned on or off. I don't know what effect Real Cinema has on the issue, if any.

I would greatly appreciate any help/advice on the matter.

Edited to add: If I use the XBOX 360 to play a DVD, I can't seem to access Real Cinema whatsoever, and it's permanently switched to the off position.

Jack, I've had an 60LD550 for over a year now, and I've been experiencing the same exact issue for a while. Not sure when it started, but your "brief slow down/speed up" describes it best. It happens when I play Blu-rays through the PS3. I still have to test if it also happens with my stand-alone LG Blu-ray player, and if it happens when playing back at 60fps instead of 24. Like you said, Real Cinema seems to have absolutely no effect on this, but then again, I've never been able to tell the difference with it on or off for any kind of programming.

Needless to say, this issue has been driving me nuts for quite a while. I believe it has something to do with how the TV processes a certain signal. It's like it can't keep up when trying to sync the frames. I'll do some more testing tonight and report back.

Oh, and HELLO GANG!!!

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #4663 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post


Oh, and HELLO GANG!!!

Henry! Welcome home Whatcha been up to lately? Sorry to hear you're having issues. Hopefully it's the PS3 and not the 550. Now, if we can get Sheesh, CrossFit1, djams, and Carl to pop in....... Can't seem to get rid of Phase though , he keeps following me
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4664 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

I still have to test if it also happens with my stand-alone LG Blu-ray player, and if it happens when playing back at 60fps instead of 24.

Excuse my ignorance, but how does one control whether they're playing at 60fps or 24?
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4665 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post


Edited to add: If I use the XBOX 360 to play a DVD, I can't seem to access Real Cinema whatsoever, and it's permanently switched to the off position.

I believe Real Cinema is only activated when the source is 1080p/24 (BD movie). I've played around with it and don't really see a difference (even tho I haven't watched a lot of BDs yet). I just usually leave all of the enhancements off. They seem to cause more issues than not.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4666 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post

Excuse my ignorance, but how does one control whether they're playing at 60fps or 24?

I don't think you can. HDTV is 60Hz (60fps) and a Blu-ray movie is 24Hz (24fps). If your tv can handle the frame rate (and it can) it will display it at whatever the source is outputting. I'm sure a more coherent and detailed explanation will be forthcoming from someone else
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4667 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post

Excuse my ignorance, but how does one control whether they're playing at 60fps or 24?

First. . . Greetings Henry! Hope all is well.

If the source is a DVD it will be 60fps. If it is Blu-ray, it may be 24fps. We had a long "discussion" in this thread about the "slow down" or "frame drop/stutter". Some of remember it very well.

Anyway, a Blu-ray player usually has it's own video settings as does a game system for playing DVD or Blu-ray. I'm thinking the issue you are having may be because the game system is trying to send a 1080p 60HZ signal to the TV. 1080p should only be at 24FPS. When this discussion came up earlier, an owner with an XBox 360 also complained of this issue and resolved it I think, by changing some settings in the XBox and TV. . . I think. And, yes, Real Cinema will not be available unless a 1080p 24fps signal is sent to the TV.

You can try using the Search Thread feature at the upper right of this page and and search for "thegam3". You can start at post #473 and search his name for posts. I also think you could try a different output resolution setting of the Xbox. . . such as 720p.
Phase700B is offline  
post #4668 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I don't think you can. HDTV is 60Hz (60fps) and a Blu-ray movie is 24Hz (24fps). If your tv can handle the frame rate (and it can) it will display it at whatever the source is outputting. I'm sure a more coherent and detailed explanation will be forthcoming from someone else

That was a good explanation. Thanks.

You know, I don't seem to experience strange motion issues while watching HDTV. It only seems to happen when I watch a DVD. I imagine that DVDs are 24fps, correct? Could my TV be having trouble playing 24fps for some reason? I had a 60Hz Vizio that didn't have any strange motion issues whatsoever. This LD550 is 120Hz; could that somehow be involved?

I'm a newbie when it comes to most of this; I apologize
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4669 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post

That was a good explanation. Thanks.

You know, I don't seem to experience strange motion issues while watching HDTV. It only seems to happen when I watch a DVD. I imagine that DVDs are 24fps, correct? Could my TV be having trouble playing 24fps for some reason? I had a 60Hz Vizio that didn't have any strange motion issues whatsoever. This LD550 is 120Hz; could that somehow be involved?

I'm a newbie when it comes to most of this; I apologize


Well, Otto, I don't think this will be coherent.

Ok, try reading the post I made above yours. DVDs are NOT 24fps. . . Blu-ray discs are, usually. DVDs are 60FPS.

However, you can play a DVD in a Blu-ray player and the player can usually be set to various output resolutions . . . sometimes from 480i, 720p, 1080i, or 1080p (60fps). All other resolutions should be at 60fps except when a Blu-ray disc is played which will output at 1080i 24fps (IF the Blu-ray player is set to output that resolution). The "stutter" you see may be caused by the Blu-ray player, game system, cable box, or DVD player outputting a frame rate that is not in sync with the TV. Another instance is if a computer signal is fed to the TV through HDMI. It should be at 60 fps. However, the TV operates at 120HZ panel refresh. Panel refresh is not the same as the signal input frame rate. . . . but the two are related. And therein lies a possible cause of synchronization. To confuse maters more, a 60HZ refresh rate is actually something like 59.97HZ. Which is another possible area of mismatch.
Phase700B is offline  
post #4670 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

Well, Otto, I don't think this will be coherent.

That's ok, incoherency is my middle name Besides, if I wasn't quite accurate, I knew there would be a tear in the force and you would feel it, Darth Phase (no more wine for me tonight )
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4671 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 07:55 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

The "stutter" you see may be caused by the Blu-ray player, game system, cable box, or DVD player outputting a frame rate that is not in sync with the TV.

Okay, I feel like I'm getting somewhere now. The next logical question is... are there any possible solutions?

Edited to add: WHOOPS! I just read your other post, and it already answers my above question. I will try a different output resolution and get back to you.
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4672 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Changing the output resolution to 720p appears to have resolved the issue. Awesome! Many thanks to Phase700B, Otto Pylot, and VBB.

Thanks a lot, guys!

Edited to add: Motion appears to be okay on 1080i, as well.
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4673 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 09:55 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
All is well, guys, thanks. Family is doing great.

So, I gave both the PS3 and the BD570 another shot tonight, each at 1080p/24Hz and 1080p/60Hz. It's always been my suspicion that my 60LD550 simply can't handle 1080p/24 properly. My tests pretty much confirmed it.

Both players at 24Hz cause the same kind of frame stutter, but not at 60Hz. It's a shame, but there is nothing I can do about it except switch everything over to 60Hz. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints about my TV.

Nick & Otto, good to see you guys!

Jack, glad that switching your resolution helped, but that is not exactly the best solution. I've never had an Xbox, so unfortunately I can't help you with the settings. Your TV should not have any issues at 1080p/60Hz, though.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #4674 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 10:24 PM
Newbie
 
Jack Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Jack, glad that switching your resolution helped, but that is not exactly the best solution. I've never had an Xbox, so unfortunately I can't help you with the settings. Your TV should not have any issues at 1080p/60Hz, though.

Well, when I had my XBOX set to 1080p, it was apparently forcing 24fps on DVDs which are meant to be played at 60fps. Switching to 1080i solved the strange motion issues. I don't think that there's a better solution, although I'm open to suggestions.
Jack Beano is offline  
post #4675 of 5077 Old 09-13-2011, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

All is well, guys, thanks. Family is doing great.

So, I gave both the PS3 and the BD570 another shot tonight, each at 1080p/24Hz and 1080p/60Hz. It's always been my suspicion that my 60LD550 simply can't handle 1080p/24 properly. My tests pretty much confirmed it.

Both players at 24Hz cause the same kind of frame stutter, but not at 60Hz. It's a shame, but there is nothing I can do about it except switch everything over to 60Hz. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints about my TV.

Nick & Otto, good to see you guys!

Jack, glad that switching your resolution helped, but that is not exactly the best solution. I've never had an Xbox, so unfortunately I can't help you with the settings. Your TV should not have any issues at 1080p/60Hz, though.

Damn! I just missed you Now that the question of 24Hz/60Hz has come up again I guess it's time to go back to school When I play a Blu-ray, I just let the unit pick the best resolution and the LG displays 1080p/24 ( or is it 1080i/24?). I don't see any studdering, at least on the few Blu-rays we've played. I let the unit upconvert DVDs to whatever it wants and there is no studdering that I can see on them as well. I don't remember what the LG displays on DVDs. So, I guess that means that the 520 doesn't have any issues with 24Hz? It's about time I get this straight. BTW, the BD player is a Panasonic BDT-210.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4676 of 5077 Old 09-14-2011, 02:08 PM
Member
 
thegam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Beano View Post

I purchased a 32LD550 earlier today. I'm troubled by one issue that I can best describe as a "framerate issue."

For example, I have my XBOX 360 hooked up to the TV through one of the HDMI inputs. If I use the 360 to play a DVD, motion in the movie looks wrong, artificial, laggy, etc. To clarify, motion in the movie will look okay for a stretch of time, but then it'll briefly slow down/speed up/look a little jerky and artifical, seemingly at random... and it happens frequently. It appears to happen whether I have TruMotion turned on or off. I don't know what effect Real Cinema has on the issue, if any.

I would greatly appreciate any help/advice on the matter.

Edited to add: If I use the XBOX 360 to play a DVD, I can't seem to access Real Cinema whatsoever, and it's permanently switched to the off position.

yep exactly the same here!

its such a shame cause apart from that the TV is great. its just such an annoying problem

this has been discussed here and there is no solution it seems
thegam3 is offline  
post #4677 of 5077 Old 09-14-2011, 02:14 PM
Member
 
thegam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

All is well, guys, thanks. Family is doing great.

So, I gave both the PS3 and the BD570 another shot tonight, each at 1080p/24Hz and 1080p/60Hz. It's always been my suspicion that my 60LD550 simply can't handle 1080p/24 properly. My tests pretty much confirmed it.

Both players at 24Hz cause the same kind of frame stutter, but not at 60Hz. It's a shame, but there is nothing I can do about it except switch everything over to 60Hz. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints about my TV.

Nick & Otto, good to see you guys!

Jack, glad that switching your resolution helped, but that is not exactly the best solution. I've never had an Xbox, so unfortunately I can't help you with the settings. Your TV should not have any issues at 1080p/60Hz, though.

weird, cause on my TV whenever i play a movie the motion problem goes away if i put it on 24hz and turn ON Real Cinema.

this is using PS3 blu ray player and my PC's Blu ray players

but the motion lag is always there when i watch a video that isnt a blu ray. so if i watch a downloaded 720p TV Show it will have the stutter effect, also when using xbox. i will try the 720p option
thegam3 is offline  
post #4678 of 5077 Old 09-14-2011, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Ok, I get it! It's like rubbing Aladdin's Lamp. You mention somebody's name and they pop up. Cool
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #4679 of 5077 Old 09-15-2011, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegam3 View Post
weird, cause on my TV whenever i play a movie the motion problem goes away if i put it on 24hz and turn ON Real Cinema.

this is using PS3 blu ray player and my PC's Blu ray players

but the motion lag is always there when i watch a video that isnt a blu ray. so if i watch a downloaded 720p TV Show it will have the stutter effect, also when using xbox. i will try the 720p option
At least two of the "keys" seems to be it can be remedied by going to 720p with some input devices/source and it seems if the source is either a game system,cable box, or HTPC feeding a 1080 signal then the stuttering may occur.

It will be interesting if Henry can verify if his LG Blu-ray player does it. I Don't think it will, but if it does it may have to do with a particular main board rev level. The reason I say that is because my 42LD550 exhibits no stutter with 4 different Blu-ray players even at 1080p 24fps. I do get something that looks like occasional frame drops with my HTPC, but no video "slow down- speedup" and I attribute the frame drop to my relative slow 3mbps (1.9mbps to 2.3mbps) DSL speed.

I still believe it has something to do also, at least with some LD sub models, with feeding a 1080p 60HZ signal to the TV. This was not really a standard HDTV signal format. It also seems to be linked with the fact we have 120HZ panels, so it may have to do with faulty implementation of panel refresh verses input signal frame rate. In other words, the panel refresh (120HZ) is not syncing quite right with the FRAME rate of either 24fps and with some 60fps sources. Remember. . . Panel Refresh is not the same thing as input signal Frame Rate. . . but they are related in that the TV must be able to somehow match the two for proper display. This is a legacy leftover form CRT days when frame rate essentially WAS the same as CRT SCAN RATE. Since fixed pixel displays no longer "scan" an image onto the screen. Instead, the input video is processed into a digital bit stream, loaded into a memory buffer , and subsequently delivered as a complete picture "frame" in real time. But what if the overhead between this processing is not fast enough to keep up with the incoming analog or digital video signal? Then the TV might fail to process one or more frames now and then, till it catches up. . . resulting in a "stutter" or lost frame image. Well. . . this is just my opinion based on my understanding of how digital TVs now operate vs how they USED to operate.
Phase700B is offline  
post #4680 of 5077 Old 09-15-2011, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
^^^^^^^ and school is now in session There will be a quiz later.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off