Official LG xxLD550 xxLD520 xxLD650 Owners Thread - Page 171 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2016, 04:15 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
4:4:4 info

I can't send 4:4:4 to my 55LD650. I have tried both HDMI1 (DVI) and HDMI2 input, with and without having my Yamaha receiver in the chain.
Now, I'm using HDMI1 input with my laptop, and if I set the label of it to PC AND set the refresh rate to 60 Hz then I'll get somehow different result but still far from 4:4:4. (Otherwise I use the TV with different refresh rates with the help of madVR according to the content that is played.)
Does anyone manage to get 4:4:4 with these sets?

Thanks

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-23-2016, 08:30 AM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I can't send 4:4:4 to my 55LD650. I have tried both HDMI1 (DVI) and HDMI2 input, with and without having my Yamaha receiver in the chain.
Now, I'm using HDMI1 input with my laptop, and if I set the label of it to PC AND set the refresh rate to 60 Hz then I'll get somehow different result but still far from 4:4:4. (Otherwise I use the TV with different refresh rates with the help of madVR according to the content that is played.)
Does anyone manage to get 4:4:4 with these sets?

Thanks
what do you mean by "can't" a black screen? how do you know what is being input? I ,too , output 32bit color 444 rgb or the other. never really know what is being played. i only know when i put it thorough my onkyo 608.

LG42LD550, ONKYO TX SR608, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. GA990FXA UD3, SAPPHIRE HD 7950 OC 3Gb GDDR5, AMD FX-8150BE@4.0, 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , CISCO E3200, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; CISCO DOCS3.0
johnniedoo is offline  
Old 02-23-2016, 08:44 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
what do you mean by "can't" a black screen?
No. I can see the normal picture (desktop or movie) but definitely not 4:4:4.
You can check these comparisons: http://s807.photobucket.com/user/flo...stx_b.png.html (It's included in the official Chroma 4:4:4 thread: Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread )
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
how do you know what is being input?
Well, good question: it should be FullRGB DeepColor (the latter is true, I can get 10 bit) via HDMI thanks to the Intel HD4000 iGPU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
I ,too , output 32bit color 444 rgb or the other. never really know what is being played. i only know when i put it thorough my onkyo 608.
What kind of info can you get from the receiver? My Yamaha doesn't give me any.

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 02-23-2016, 05:26 PM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
No. I can see the normal picture (desktop or movie) but definitely not 4:4:4.
You can check these comparisons: http://s807.photobucket.com/user/flo...stx_b.png.html (It's included in the official Chroma 4:4:4 thread: Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread )

Well, good question: it should be FullRGB DeepColor (the latter is true, I can get 10 bit) via HDMI thanks to the Intel HD4000 iGPU.

What kind of info can you get from the receiver? My Yamaha doesn't give me any.
I have a 5 plus yr old Onkyo tx sr608 and it has the osd which indicates the signals in and out when i put the hdmi into it between the computer or cable box and lg tv. it shows 24, 30 , 36bit rgb or whatever vid as well as input/output of audio. no idea how accurate it may be, but it does change as i change inputs. i nearly always just allow for through from my gpu but, tv signals i do upscale from either the 720p or 1080i (to 1080p)they all are. audio i usually modify with it from 2channel, even the few 5.1dolby/pcm i change to 7.1 most of the time. but all of that shows up in the on screen display button.
I noticed that sometimes i get a 36bit output, never really noticed this before , usually from cable 24 to 32bit. will experiment more to see what is what with my sapphire 7950 and the latest amd crimson drivers. it allows for things i do not watch out for. it will upscale to 2k or higher, might be ok for games but does me no good and never looked to see whether there is any other changes in color depth or output. i have been watching more black and white lately anyway.
p.s.
i checked out that photo bucket and put my samsung 24" B2430 monitor right next to the lg42ld550 and put half a pic on the lg and the other side on the samsung monitor . i will need to see what the samsung is set to. i have it with dvi plug i think directly to the computer card . the differences between the 444 enabled /disabled are different, a little more distinct with a couple of the comps. it is a pain in the neck to check and alter the settings on the samsung since it is a bottom of the frame by touch set u p and i hate it. the lg550 of course has all sorts of setting options but may be time to re calibrate it with the blu ray disc i got here years ago. i know my red/green is off a bit, how much? anyone's guess till i check it out again. been 3yrs maybe 2. not sure. stilll interesting ,mostly because i was thinking about it a month or 2 back when the 'new and improved' radeon crimson driver and manager came out. so far, not improved to me. may go back to one of the older radeon manager and driver sets. my 7950 is now considered dated and crimson may not be ideal. not sure of this yet though.

LG42LD550, ONKYO TX SR608, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. GA990FXA UD3, SAPPHIRE HD 7950 OC 3Gb GDDR5, AMD FX-8150BE@4.0, 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , CISCO E3200, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; CISCO DOCS3.0

Last edited by johnniedoo; 02-23-2016 at 05:40 PM. Reason: add p.s.
johnniedoo is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 04:12 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
I have a 5 plus yr old Onkyo tx sr608 and it has the osd which indicates the signals in and out when i put the hdmi into it between the computer or cable box and lg tv. it shows 24, 30 , 36bit rgb or whatever vid as well as input/output of audio ....
... but all of that shows up in the on screen display button.
I noticed that sometimes i get a 36bit output, never really noticed this before , usually from cable 24 to 32bit. ...
Interesting. Neither my Yamaha nor my LG shows anything related to bit depth.
Those numbers can mean: 3*8bit=24 , 3*10bit=30, 3*12bit=36. My IPS panel in LG is 8bit+Dithering (so it's practically 10bits capable, but not True 10 bit) and I could confirm this with the help of madVR.
But these are nothing to do with Chroma subsampling. Usually our TV gets 4:2:2 , and if we are lucky we get 4:4:4 (I'm not ), or it can be worse (like 4:2 or who knows ). The only way to be ensure about this to check it manually with those test patterns (of course not with those, since they are the results, you can get the originals from the 4:4:4 thread).
Our TV has a special mode for this, that is quite hidden: go to settings, select source, than select the desired HDMI input and then push the Red button on the remote (it's for the label, I think). Here you can select different names for the input: if you use 60Hz (at least for me only 60Hz is working like this) and you select PC (and only this will behave like this) you will see that the picture will slightly change, and lot of image adjustment settings won't be available in the menu (like sharpness, color, tint, etc...). That means our TV doesn't use any image enhancement from it's chip but tries to function as a monitor. But, as I said, in this mode I still don't get 4:4:4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
i have been watching more black and white lately anyway.
How come? What kind of content is that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
i checked out that photo bucket and put my samsung 24" B2430 monitor right next to the lg42ld550 and put half a pic on the lg and the other side on the samsung monitor . i will need to see what the samsung is set to. i have it with dvi plug i think directly to the computer card . the differences between the 444 enabled /disabled are different, a little more distinct with a couple of the comps. it is a pain in the neck to check and alter the settings on the samsung since it is a bottom of the frame by touch set u p and i hate it.
It's easy to see the difference with the 1 pixel vertical red lines or with the color box test image: especially red and magenta color can suffer from this.
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/flo...1080p.png.html
Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread
Can you enable/disable 4:4:4 on the Samsung?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
the lg550 of course has all sorts of setting options but may be time to re calibrate it with the blu ray disc i got here years ago. i know my red/green is off a bit, how much? anyone's guess till i check it out again. been 3yrs maybe 2. not sure.
I have just calibrated/profiled mine 2 months ago with i1pro and i1DisplayPro for 3DLut using with madVR (with dispcalGUI). On mine everything was off a bit: reds and blues mostly. The result is acceptable, especially compared to the original state
You can also use the AVS HD 709 test pattern files (mp4 files) for the basic calibration if you don't have a meter. It can help a lot to set brightness, contrast. The color correction didn't work for me with the TV's inbuilt color filter.
AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 02-25-2016, 04:56 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I can't send 4:4:4 to my 55LD650. I have tried both HDMI1 (DVI) and HDMI2 input, with and without having my Yamaha receiver in the chain.
Now, I'm using HDMI1 input with my laptop, and if I set the label of it to PC AND set the refresh rate to 60 Hz then I'll get somehow different result but still far from 4:4:4. (Otherwise I use the TV with different refresh rates with the help of madVR according to the content that is played.)
Does anyone manage to get 4:4:4 with these sets?
Yesterday I ruled out Yamaha and my laptop: I borrowed a 24" FullHD LCD multimedia monitor with HDMI input from a friend of mine. I switched my TV with it at the end of the chain and I could see 4:4:4 without problem.
So that means my TV is the problem.

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 02-25-2016, 05:47 AM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Yesterday I ruled out Yamaha and my laptop: I borrowed a 24" FullHD LCD multimedia monitor with HDMI input from a friend of mine. I switched my TV with it at the end of the chain and I could see 4:4:4 without problem.
So that means my TV is the problem.
this is good to know, my Samsung B2430 is the non tuner version. just the monitor. i do not know much about it since i use it nearly exclusively for the internet and a few photo edits. not much more . i use the LG lcd 550 for 99% of the video i watch. as i said. lots of the old movies i have been watching are in black and white and another thing i have not been able to do with the LG is inability to manage the grayscale characteristics . I have only used that HD 709 download blu ray disc i made 4 or 5yrs ago. never did get a light meter. there is so much color differences among the movies i have purchased, watched on netrlix type places, streaming , that whether my personal set was perfectly calibrated became moot. on a few, (many more nowadays) blu ray releases color was near perfect , but for the most part the colour transmitted through the cable company's compression and original distortions---i just decided to save the couple of hundred dollars on the meter and software.
i found the 709 method presented through these forums worked out ok with the LG built in filters but left me wondering with the gray scale. i didnt do much black and white back then though. I read here on these forums, how important grayscale was though, to overall color accuracy. i have learned plenty through this site even though i have not been able to implement everything
I appreciate your step by step trial error method of determining the whole 4:4:4 /LG issue. I am going to try your method to check out my tv/monitor too.
still no idea on the Samsung b2430 though. my radeon ccc manager driver 15.11, 16.1 do not indicate the pixel for that one. it is fine with the Onkly 608 and for the lg tv and offers the ability to change among rgb 444 and YCbCr 422 i think full and limited rgb 444. options. none are available at all for the Samsung in the pull down page ...only the onkyo/lg. bad description , sorry but i forget exactly and an not on those set ups now. I think the amd radeon and particular hardware offers those options and has nothing at all to do with the tv or anything else . the onkyo has the built in video upscaler burr brown digital/analogue converter of some sort, forget which one is in this onkyo model. how it impacts colorspace is another thing beyond me. I use madVr all the time for all kinds of vids and movies . i use it with MPC-BE and Pot Player I just discovered . it is fairly good and easy to use. I use ffdshow in MPC as external filters so i am able to tweak the different variety of vids and movies i do have here. I have such a variety no one setting is good overall. even with profiles, i have a ton which are slightly outside of the profile with unique needs ,in my mind anyway.
thanks for your information
John

LG42LD550, ONKYO TX SR608, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. GA990FXA UD3, SAPPHIRE HD 7950 OC 3Gb GDDR5, AMD FX-8150BE@4.0, 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , CISCO E3200, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; CISCO DOCS3.0
johnniedoo is offline  
Old 02-25-2016, 06:48 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
I use madVr all the time for all kinds of vids and movies . i use it with MPC-BE and Pot Player I just discovered . it is fairly good and easy to use. I use ffdshow in MPC as external filters so i am able to tweak the different variety of vids and movies i do have here.
I use the same (MPC-HC). Then I suggest to buy/borrow an i1DisplayPro and make a 3dlut for your TV to use with madVR, it's full automatic procedure (thanks to our dear devs) and you can forget everything that you heard/read about "standard" calibration. That's the ultimate solution and you only have to do it once (if you won't change anything in your chain). Here's it's topic if you're interested in it: MadVR - ArgyllCMS

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 06:04 PM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can not borrow a calibrator , so need to buy something. I saw the colormonki smile and display, also found links the spyder5 trio of , i suppose, competing products.
Would any of these be of value to a non professional but enthusiastic TV, streaming video, blu ray ,dvd watcher?
thanks
john
p.s.
I should mention I only have a couple of large screen lcd, lcd/led tvs and 4 1080p monitors in total. none really need to be matching to another either. printing or picture making is not a big deal anymore, for me.

LG42LD550, ONKYO TX SR608, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. GA990FXA UD3, SAPPHIRE HD 7950 OC 3Gb GDDR5, AMD FX-8150BE@4.0, 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , CISCO E3200, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; CISCO DOCS3.0

Last edited by johnniedoo; 04-18-2016 at 06:07 PM.
johnniedoo is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 03:27 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniedoo View Post
I can not borrow a calibrator , so need to buy something. I saw the colormonki smile and display, also found links the spyder5 trio of , i suppose, competing products.
Would any of these be of value to a non professional but enthusiastic TV, streaming video, blu ray ,dvd watcher?
thanks
john
p.s.
I should mention I only have a couple of large screen lcd, lcd/led tvs and 4 1080p monitors in total. none really need to be matching to another either. printing or picture making is not a big deal anymore, for me.
I'd say yes It's good fun to play with it and enjoy the result, especially if you have time and money for that.
I'd vote for the i1DisplayPro (colorimeter) out of those 3: you can buy it second hand, it won't age. And you don't need a driver for it (it's USB HID device).
(The full story is: you can get close to perfect result if you also have a spectrophotometer (like i1pro, you want to buy it second hand, because it's street price is insane for a new one ) along with your colorimeter, to be able to create a correction matrix with it for the given display and colorimeter.)

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 03:32 AM
Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I can't send 4:4:4 to my 55LD650. I have tried both HDMI1 (DVI) and HDMI2 input, with and without having my Yamaha receiver in the chain.
Now, I'm using HDMI1 input with my laptop, and if I set the label of it to PC AND set the refresh rate to 60 Hz then I'll get somehow different result but still far from 4:4:4. (Otherwise I use the TV with different refresh rates with the help of madVR according to the content that is played.)
Does anyone manage to get 4:4:4 with these sets?
Can we somehow bypass the image enhancement of chip using non 60Hz? I 'd like to disable it completely (Maybe it'd help.)
I managed to get into EZ-Adjut and In-Start menus (with the help of Samsung S5 and AnyRemote), but I can't see any option for it.

MSI GE60(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(v10.18.10.4276)+GeF orceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Ple xtor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-HCx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/30/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Old 06-11-2016, 04:00 PM
Member
 
johnniedoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: johnniedoo
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Still, lots of great information here. gives rise to other ideas. i have yet to buy any calibrations hardware, adjust the color with the dvd/bd I got here 6yrs ago
I have one issue that I just now noticed
the Widgets on the remote now all fail. I had been getting the Yahoo weather and only checked it out now and then. usually, by accident when my thumb clicked on the lower middle missing the center button.I had given up with the Netcast a year and a half or 2 ago with all the other failures. i quit netflix just about 2yrs ago, Youtube is a dud now, picasa is a dud.
I am angry with LG and Yahoo, just dropped all support , i have not even been able to find google search (yahoo search, for that matter either)
I am up to the latest firmware, maybe that killed it all off? just dont know,

LG42LD550, ONKYO TX SR608, POLK M70s 7.1POLK 10"SUB, LG BD570, PINNACLE USB PVR-HD. GA990FXA UD3, SAPPHIRE HD 7950 OC 3Gb GDDR5, AMD FX-8150BE@4.0, 16Gb GSKILL DDR3 1600, SSD: CRUCIAL M4 128Gb, HDD: 3- 1TB SPINPOINT F3, WD4GB MY BOOK DUO LAN CLOUD , CISCO E3200, TP LINK 8PORT SWITCH; CISCO DOCS3.0
johnniedoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off