Official LG xxLD550 xxLD520 xxLD650 Owners Thread - Page 96 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Krista: Perhaps you could exchange your cable box for one with HDMI? It really is the best.

sheshechic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Krista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

Krista: Perhaps you could exchange your cable box for one with HDMI? It really is the best.

Yeah, I called Cox. They have one available. I just need to get around to it. I read an article that said that it's debatable, whether there's any quality difference between component and hdmi, and my old TV only had a dvi port (hyundai bet wrong in 2006) so I put it off. But if there are more things to tweak with hdmi, then I really need to get it so I can play more with the settings
Krista is offline  
post #2853 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Krista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjack11 View Post

Not dumb, took me a few minutes to figure it out. Change the settings for the 100 value. Then select the 100 and change it to 90, make the setting changes for 90, then for 80 and so on.

Make sense?

Jack

Oh! Yeah I wouldn't have figured that out. I'll try it when I get home. thanks!
Krista is offline  
post #2854 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krista View Post

Yeah, I called Cox. They have one available. I just need to get around to it. I read an article that said that it's debatable, whether there's any quality difference between component and hdmi, and my old TV only had a dvi port (hyundai bet wrong in 2006) so I put it off. But if there are more things to tweak with hdmi, then I really need to get it so I can play more with the settings

Since I don't have anything hooked up by component, I can't say if there is more to tweak with hdmi.

If you need hdmi cables look for 1.4 with ethernet. Amazon's brand runs around $8 (when I bought mine) and others have recommended Monoprice too.

sheshechic is offline  
post #2855 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

If you need hdmi cables look for 1.4 with ethernet. Amazon's brand runs around $8 (when I bought mine) and others have recommended Monoprice too.

Hiya. I bought certified 1.3a back before I got the LG because the specs for the 520 said it was 1.3 capable (Deep Color). They are 6' flat cables for about $8 each. Any advantage in getting the 1.4s? I don't want to get caught in the cable upgrade cycle if I'm not going to get anymore out of what I already have (did that make sense?)
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2856 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 01:05 PM
Member
 
johnjack11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sheshechic: I just have OTA, cut the dish a while back, as we only watch network tv anyway, well netflix too.

Seems like plenty of detail in the picture, it was just when I switched to "sport" the screen was much more vibrant. It might be that it was a little too vivid, but I liked it better than the "duller" version.

The setting changes I made for HDMI1, which is connected to the receiver. When I click "sport" mode etc, does it just completely ignore the custom settings and go with whatever sport is set to?

Thank you,
Jack

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

Jack: BBC America is SD, right? How do your HD channels look? Is there a loss of details in the shadows and dark colors?

johnjack11 is offline  
post #2857 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 01:35 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Hiya. I bought certified 1.3a back before I got the LG because the specs for the 520 said it was 1.3 capable (Deep Color). They are 6' flat cables for about $8 each. Any advantage in getting the 1.4s? I don't want to get caught in the cable upgrade cycle if I'm not going to get anymore out of what I already have (did that make sense?)

Otto, there really is no advantage in getting 1.4 cables unless all your devices support it. All the non-3D LG TVs use HDMI 1.3 connections. Of course, if you don't have any cables yet and you have to make a choice between 1.3 and 1.4, you'd want to get the newer ones if the price is about the same.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #2858 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Otto, there really is no advantage in getting 1.4 cables unless all your devices support it. All the non-3D LG TVs use HDMI 1.3 connections. Of course, if you don't have any cables yet and you have to make a choice between 1.3 and 1.4, you'd want to get the newer ones if the price is about the same.

Thanks Henry. I was thinking that, but it doesn't hurt to ask My Sony DVD player doesn't list the HDMI version and neither does the ATV2, and those were the only two HDMI cables that I needed so I just looked for V1.3 because the LD520 listed that in it's specs and purchased those. I'm looking to purchase the BD570 later in the year so off the top of your head, do you know what version of HDMI it supports?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2859 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 05:19 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
All non-3D Blu-ray players and TVs support up to 1.3. Only consumer devices that have 3D capability (at this time) also have HDMI 1.4.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #2860 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Thanks Henry. I was thinking that, but it doesn't hurt to ask My Sony DVD player doesn't list the HDMI version and neither does the ATV2, and those were the only two HDMI cables that I needed so I just looked for V1.3 because the LD520 listed that in it's specs and purchased those. I'm looking to purchase the BD570 later in the year so off the top of your head, do you know what version of HDMI it supports?

The BD570 supports 1.3 as does my BD550. I actually ordered 1.4 cables from Amazon awhile ago just because I wanted some 12 and 15 footers. The price difference was about $1 at the time I bought them.You may want to place a BD570 in an Amazon cart though, or keep a price watch on them though, as the new models are coming out. The new models are peachy tho.

Well, Henry got it anyway, I was watching "Chuck" while typing.
Phase700B is offline  
post #2861 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 05:49 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Speaking of Chuck, did you see him last night singing at the Oscars? Who knew?

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #2862 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Speaking of Chuck, did you see him last night singing at the Oscars? Who knew?

Yeah, he's quite the talent. Love the show. . . "Chuck" that is!
Phase700B is offline  
post #2863 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
@Phase and Henry

Thanks guys for the HDMI cable info. I don't know if I can convince Budget and Finance for a new BD player at this time. We just ordered the new family room furniture to go along with the new LG and media console so I don't know. However.........
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2864 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Phases's Cal Settings in a newer format, Part 2

To finish off my last post with attachments, here's the rest of what I am currently using based on Phase's cals and my tweaks for taste. If you can't tell, I'm a warm kinda guy but I've thrown in the cool settings as well for you cool cats to look over. FWIW, I've pretty much settled in to using the OTA/Cable Expert 1 Warm for most of my viewing because that's what we mostly watch. HDMI Expert 1 Warm is what I use for DVD and ATV2. At least for now until updated cals are posted. These are in Word (.doc) table format so all you need to do is tab to change. Again, suitable for printing or framing as you choose.

 

OTA-Cable ISF Expert 2 Cool.doc 76k . file

 

HDMI Cinema (User) Warm.doc 60k . file

 

HDMI ISF Expert 2 Cool.doc 76k . file

 

HDMI ISF Expert 1 Warm.doc 74.5k . file
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2865 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:40 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Think about how often you would actually use the BR player. In my case, since I do not buy discs, I only use it like once a week when I get a new movie from Netflix (I downgraded to the 1-out-at-a-time plan a long time ago). Initially, I thought I was gonna use the player for all my Netflix streaming, but it turns out that LG neglected to update to the "new" Netflix software we have in our TVs. Ever since the TV got the update, I've been watching Netflix through it exclusively. At this point I would actually advise against buying a 2010 model LG BR player. Wait and see if the 2011 models are any better.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #2866 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:46 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Been meaning to ask you guys which OTA station in your opinion delivers the best picture. I realize this depends on many different factors, but with my 60LD550 our local ABC station looks the best by far when it comes to color accuracy, followed by FOX, then NBC, CW and CBS last. What bugs me about CBS is their horrible compression with a lot of shows (Hawaii 5-0, to name just one of them). They also tend to oversaturate the colors noticeably, especially the reds. These are my observations for the LA area. YMMV.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
post #2867 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 06:59 PM
Member
 
pinzg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know how the ld520 compares with the toshiba 46g300u? I have the toshiba now and love the PQ but have a couple things that I do not like about the set. I could live with them and just keep the set but I'm wondering how the LG set is and might exchange it. I just don't want to regret exchanging it and not liking the PQ as much as I do on the toshiba. I know toshiba isn't a very popular brand but I must say they made the 46g300u well because it has a great picture. Only those couple of flaw that bug me.

Any advice would be great. Thanks!
pinzg35 is offline  
post #2868 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Been meaning to ask you guys which OTA station in your opinion delivers the best picture. I realize this depends on many different factors, but with my 60LD550 our local ABC station looks the best by far when it comes to color accuracy, followed by FOX, then NBC, CW and CBS last. What bugs me about CBS is their horrible compression with a lot of shows (Hawaii 5-0, to name just one of them). They also tend to oversaturate the colors noticeably, especially the reds. These are my observations for the LA area. YMMV.

Pretty much the same here Henry. Although NCIS this season seems to have chosen the "soft" or blurry camera settings (to soften lines on aging actors?).
Hawaii 5-0 is really over the top in color saturation as is CSI Miami (thee worst). As I mentioned before I am smack in the middle of two TV markets and for some reason the Madison stations are worse and induce a 4 to 5 second delay compared to Rockford stations. These same Madison stations seem to have more artifacts. Signal strength is about the same for all about the 75% to 90%. I would say ABC is the best also. Castle always looks great, but then Bones does too.
Phase700B is offline  
post #2869 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
Augster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you all so much for the great info on this TV.

I have recently bought the 46LD550 and have a question on settings from the sheets. If this has been answered, I am sorry as I have only read about 30 of the 48 pages.

When setting my IRE settings, the settings will only go down to the "50" setting. How do you get it to do IRE 40, 30, 20, etc etc? Everything else I am able to do.

If there is an IRE setting how to post in this thread, more than just above me, let me know.

Thanks so very much!
Augster is offline  
post #2870 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster View Post

Thank you all so much for the great info on this TV.

I have recently bought the 46LD550 and have a question on settings from the sheets. If this has been answered, I am sorry as I have only read about 30 of the 48 pages.

When setting my IRE settings, the settings will only go down to the "50" setting. How do you get it to do IRE 40, 30, 20, etc etc? Everything else I am able to do.

Hmmm.... if you got that far it should all fall into place. The settings below 50 are made the same as the rest. You make each R,G,B entry step back up to IRE 50, press left arrow, and it should change to IRE 40. Then make those R,G,B entries.

So you mean pressing left arrow with IRE 50 highlighted won't change it to IRE 40?
Phase700B is offline  
post #2871 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Think about how often you would actually use the BR player. In my case, since I do not buy discs, I only use it like once a week when I get a new movie from Netflix (I downgraded to the 1-out-at-a-time plan a long time ago). Initially, I thought I was gonna use the player for all my Netflix streaming, but it turns out that LG neglected to update to the "new" Netflix software we have in our TVs. Ever since the TV got the update, I've been watching Netflix through it exclusively. At this point I would actually advise against buying a 2010 model LG BR player. Wait and see if the 2011 models are any better.

Currently, we watch all of our Netflix via the ATV2 and the only other streaming we do is Hulu (for Burn Notice) but that's not offered on the ATV2, yet. Our MacBook Pro has the HD graphics card in it so we just connect the mini-HDMI cable to HMDI 3 on the side of the LG and watch it that way (looks fantastic BTW). Once Airplay gets a little more robust, we'll just stream it from the MBP to the tv via the ATV2. My son has a huge DVD collection that he's always adding to, but nothing BR (obviously), and the Sony does a really nice job of upconverting to the max resolution of the LG so your point is well taken. I probably don't need the BD570, at least not for awhile
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2872 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post

Been meaning to ask you guys which OTA station in your opinion delivers the best picture. I realize this depends on many different factors, but with my 60LD550 our local ABC station looks the best by far when it comes to color accuracy, followed by FOX, then NBC, CW and CBS last. What bugs me about CBS is their horrible compression with a lot of shows (Hawaii 5-0, to name just one of them). They also tend to oversaturate the colors noticeably, especially the reds. These are my observations for the LA area. YMMV.

In the SF area, I'd say ABC, CBS, PBS, and Fox are tied followed by the local NBC affiliate. The rest are less so, Ion, CW, etc. In fact, we watched CSI-Miami on CBS last night and was really impressed with the PQ. We don't normally watch it (past my bedtime ) but I wanted to see how the panoramic scenes with the "Miami Vice" look, looked.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2873 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I probably don't need the BD570, at least not for awhile

Also, if you wait, I'm sure there will be great deals this Holiday season like the BD550s I got for $75 each. I couldn't pass them up! And they work so great with LG SimpLink!

Okay. . . Okay... I better be quiet before Otto's Budget And Finance adviser reaches through my laptop screen and throttles me!
Phase700B is offline  
post #2874 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
csamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I performed the calibration of my 47LD520 using an i1d2 colorimeter and HCFR software. Test patterns were all generated from the AVS Blu-ray v 1.3 test disc using a Sony BDP-S550 Blu-ray player connected via HDMI through a Pioneer VSX-920-K A/V receiver, connected to the TV via HDMI.

Here are my final settings (at least until I touch it up again in a couple weeks):

Aspect: just scan
Energy saving: off
Picture mode: isf Expert 1
Backlight: 25
Contrast: 87
Brightness: 40
H sharpness: 50
V sharpness: 50
Color: 49
Tint: 0
TruMotion: off (I hate it so much at any settings other than off)

Expert Control
--------------
Dynamic contrast: off
Noise reduction: off
Digital noise reduction: off
Black level: low
Color gamut: BT709
Edge enhancer: low

Color temperature: Warm
Gamma: 2.2

Liminance: 130

whitel balance: (IRE: Red Green Blue)
100: 13 0 2
90: 3 0 0
80: 6 0 -2
70: 5 0 -1
60: 5 0 2
50: 3 0 3
40: 3 0 3
30: 2 0 1
20: 2 0 -2
10: 2 0 -18
0: 0 0 0

CMS:
Red color: 1
Red tint: 0
Green color: -1
Green tint: -12
Blue color: 11
Blue tint: -21
Yellow color: 0
Yellow tint: 0
Cyan color: 0
Cyan tint: 2
Magenta color: 0
Magenta tint: 0

You'll notice when it comes to white balance, I don't touch the green. I only adjust red and blue to make the white balance as neutral as possible. And I left 0 IRE at all 0s; since the backlight itself produces a blueish light, there's no way to make 0 IRE look any better. Here again is the white balance graph that this produces on my set:



The following screenshots were all taken with a Sony DSC-W130 8.1 mega pixel point-and-shoot camera mounted on a tripod. All photos are completely untouched, only scaled down to 800x600 pixels.

Here are some screenshots from The Fifth Element (blu-ray):




























Here are some screenshots from Gladiator (blu-ray):















I am very pleased with the image quality of this TV, and that's saying something considering the love of CRT devices I have. Black level is definitely lacking, but for the most part when watching content, it's really not that big of an issue.

-Carl Samos
------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
csamos is offline  
post #2875 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
Augster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

Hmmm.... if you got that far it should all fall into place. The settings below 50 are made the same as the rest. You make each R,G,B entry step back up to IRE 50, press left arrow, and it should change to IRE 40. Then make those R,G,B entries.

So you mean pressing left arrow with IRE 50 highlighted won't change it to IRE 40?


Thanks for the help btw....

You have it exactly correct. I can step it down, 80, 70, 60, with arrows pointing both ways meaning I can go up or down. When I get to 50, it changes to one arrow. It won't let me keep going down to 40 etc.

I have the newest firmware, at least as new as a couple of weeks ago when I bought the set and upgraded the firmware. I also can access all the other settings you all have listed in your setup posts.

BTW, thanks CSamos for those! I'll be putting those in expert 2 tonight.

Well, at least down to 50.

Any ideas? Nobody else has this issue? I have a 46" LD550 using HDMI from my Revue.
Augster is offline  
post #2876 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
csamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster View Post

Thanks for the help btw....

You have it exactly correct. I can step it down, 80, 70, 60, with arrows pointing both ways meaning I can go up or down. When I get to 50, it changes to one arrow. It won't let me keep going down to 40 etc.

I have the newest firmware, at least as new as a couple of weeks ago when I bought the set and upgraded the firmware. I also can access all the other settings you all have listed in your setup posts.

BTW, thanks CSamos for those! I'll be putting those in expert 2 tonight.

Well, at least down to 50.

Any ideas? Nobody else has this issue? I have a 46" LD550 using HDMI from my Revue.

I have the 47LD520, so I'm not sure if my settings will produce the same result on your 550. Even another 47LD520 will likely require slightly different calibration settings for an optimal picture.

That's really strange you can't adjust the IRE value below 50 on your tv. Do any other 550 owners have that issue?

-Carl Samos
------------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
csamos is offline  
post #2877 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by csamos View Post

I performed my calibration using an i1d2 colorimeter and HCFR software. Test patterns were all generated from the AVS Blu-ray v 1.3 test disc using a Sony BDP-S550 Blu-ray player connected via HDMI through a Pioneer VSX-920-K A/V receiver, connected to the TV via HDMI.

Here are my final settings (at least until I touch it up again in a couple weeks):

Thanks. I'll check it out this weekend and see how it differs from what I currently use.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2878 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Don't want to cause a stir here, but why do most of you hate TruMotion? It's probably my eyes but I just don't see that much of a difference, at least at the settings that I use. I like the "live" look but whether I have TruMotion on or not, it still looks "live" to me, if that's what ya'll call the soap opera effect (SOE).
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2879 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
RyanHomsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 32
TruMotion just looks unnatural to me. The movement looks excessively smooth and wrong. My brother and wife mirrored my sentiments after comparing it on/off. To my eyes it changes things significantly.

Trust me, I've tried to adjust to it as well. After a few days I just couldn't take it anymore.
RyanHomsey is offline  
post #2880 of 5077 Old 02-28-2011, 10:50 PM
Member
 
pinzg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting your settings. I just picked up this TV tonight and am going to try you calibrations. Can you let me know which white balance I should use? I guess I don't understand why there are so many starting with 100 and going down to 0.

Thanks.
pinzg35 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off