Brand new lg 42ld690 problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-24-2010, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ginge51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.
I bought an lg 42ld690 lcd tv the other day and am experiencing a few problems.
When say i turn the output from my pc say to either tv or my ps3.
There's never no sound and i have to restart the tv to get the sound on?
And sometimes when in game, my tv will freeze but my ps3 keeps playing as you can here the commentary and the other player playing in the background.
So again i have to restart my tv to get it working again?
Any ideas on a way to try and fix this please?
Very annoying and wasn't expecting it seeing how it's a decent model.
I've tried hooking the tv to my Ethernet cable to get online to check for a firmware update but i have the latest one.
Any help would be great.

Thanks
ginge51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-24-2010, 02:55 PM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would exchange it or try a different model. I'm not familiar with this model but it sounds like the main board is defective or it is just a POS.
EG3 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-24-2010, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ginge51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EG3 View Post

I would exchange it or try a different model. I'm not familiar with this model but it sounds like the main board is defective or it is just a POS.

It must be defective, and it ain't a piece of **** lol.
ginge51 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-25-2010, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ginge51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me out here instead of the idiotic comment above that was not needed please?

Thanks again
ginge51 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-25-2010, 02:24 PM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Take it back and exchange it for the same model.
When that doesn't work, then try a different one.
If you can't return it, you will have to call a tech out for service.
Sorry if I offended you but anything that is expensive and new that doesn't perform is a POS in my book.
EG3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-25-2010, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ginge51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EG3 View Post

Take it back and exchange it for the same model.
When that doesn't work, then try a different one.
If you can't return it, you will have to call a tech out for service.
Sorry if I offended you but anything that is expensive and new that doesn't perform is a POS in my book.

Yeah i agree with you m8.
But i went to do an email on the lg website, wrote it all out.
Just as i went to send it said, 'sorry this is a page error'.
Not very helpful are they
ginge51 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-25-2010, 03:05 PM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You should be able to call LG customer service and talk to a live person. However, if you can physically exchange the set with the retailer, you will get much faster service. Once you initiate a claim with LG, you may be stuck with the tv and repair visits which could take some time in scheduling. If you can take it back locally, you may be able to get the whole thing resolved much quicker.
Like I said before, I'm not familiar with that particular model or do I know what the US equivalent is. However I have seen a lot of defective main boards in LG sets. From what I read in your post about having to restart the set to make it work, I'm sure that you either have a bad main board or faulty firmware which is basically the same as a bad board. All you can do is recheck your connections and cables and if it still malfunctions, then decide whether to return it or have it serviced.
Good Luck!
EG3 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off