Official Sony KDL-xxHX800 Calibration Settings Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 211 Old 02-01-2011, 11:12 PM
Member
 
gunit2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amatot, I really like your settings for the Motorola DCX3400... I have the same DVR but with a different Canadian provider (Shaw Cable). It greatly improved the SD channels and HD looks great as well. Once in a while some shows will look a bit on the colorless side (more black and whiteish) because of the lower color setting but usually it's fine.

Will have to give your Blu Ray settings a try too
gunit2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 211 Old 02-02-2011, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
Tester12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OmarF: can you please post your current full settings for blu ray/dvd playback and normal tv.
Tester12 is offline  
post #93 of 211 Old 02-02-2011, 05:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tester12 View Post

OmarF: can you please post your current full settings for blu ray/dvd playback and normal tv.

Scene Mode : Cinema

Picture Mode : Cinema
Backlight : 5
Picture : 90
Brightness : 51
Color : 51
Hue : 0
Color Temp : Warm 2
Sharpness : +4
Noise Reduction : Off
MPEG Noise Reduction : Off

Motion Flow : Smooth
Cinemotion : Auto 1

Black Corrector : Off
Adv Contrast Enhancer : Off
Gamma : 0
LED Dynamic Control : Standard
Auto Light Limiter : Off
Clear White : Off
Live Color : Off

White Balance offsets
R-Gain 0
G-Gain -7
B-Gain -2
R-Bias 0
G-Bias -2
B-Bias -2

Color Matrix : Auto
RGB Dynamic Range : AUTO

Eco : Off
Power Save : Off
Ambient Light Sensor : ON

In the PS3
Upscaling is turned Off (produces a slightly crisper picture than Normal)
HDMI Output is RGB
RGB is Limited
Framerate of 24 is On


It would be a mistake for you to depend on my white balance offsets, however. They are unique to every set, some vastly different than others. Try and follow my instructions for obtaining your own, or get a pro cal from one of the known calibrators on AVS.

Omar
OmarF is online now  
post #94 of 211 Old 02-02-2011, 11:23 AM
Member
 
nick993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, this would be my first post here at av. I recently bought the ex710 for a great price at best buy that was below the online sale price at the store. Then of course the hx800 comes up on sale after I bought the other one and it was cheaper. Returned the other one. I love this TV!

Moving on... I have AT&T U Verse and when they installed the box, they provided the HDMI cable. So we hooked it up to the new TV. Noticed the pixelation and read on here about the compressed signal. Thought that's just the way it is. Decided to wall mount it and had to get a new HDMI cable. I purchased a "cheap"(a place where I get all my quality cables) HDMI cable with the ferrite cores and its a high speed ethernet 24AWG cable. Plugged the new cable into the box and DAMN!. better whites, sharper image and pixelation is down to a minimum.

All in all make sure you have quality cables that will filter out noise and dirt.
nick993 is offline  
post #95 of 211 Old 02-02-2011, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Decrypticshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have recently hooked up my 55hx800 to my Directv HD DVR box and have the Sony high speed HDMI(comes with sony 3d kit) hooked from the box to the TV. I notice the Directv guide looks pixelated/slightly blurry. The actual channels look good (Tv is only on Vivid picture setting for now). Is this normal, due to lack of calibration settings, the Sony high speed HDMI, or the HR20 Directv box I have??
Decrypticshadow is offline  
post #96 of 211 Old 02-05-2011, 08:03 AM
Member
 
naeblis11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've searched here and on google and can't seem to find an answer to this. I just purchased a 55HX800 and I only can get 3 presets: standard, vivid and custom. It seems everyone is saying to use the cinema preset but I don't even have that option. Anyone know how to fix this?

The TV is registered and bought here in the US at a B&M.

Thanks for any help...
naeblis11 is offline  
post #97 of 211 Old 02-05-2011, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Winky65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by naeblis11 View Post

I've searched here and on google and can't seem to find an answer to this. I just purchased a 55HX800 and I only can get 3 presets: standard, vivid and custom. It seems everyone is saying to use the cinema preset but I don't even have that option. Anyone know how to fix this?

The TV is registered and bought here in the US at a B&M.

Thanks for any help...

Press the orange Theater button on the remote. Cinema=Theater
Winky65 is offline  
post #98 of 211 Old 02-05-2011, 08:07 AM
Member
 
naeblis11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick reply. I found it...
naeblis11 is offline  
post #99 of 211 Old 02-05-2011, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tibia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just bought a new 55HX801P. All is fine now that I have it calibrated. My curiosity would like to know what is the difference between this model and the 55HX800? I suspect it is something subtle but thought I would check with this thread.

Dennis
tibia is offline  
post #100 of 211 Old 02-05-2011, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
tibia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just found the answer to my question on the xxHX800 owners forum. No difference between the two.

Dennis
tibia is offline  
post #101 of 211 Old 02-07-2011, 04:23 PM
Member
 
StellarZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

Just bought a 55" and had a couple of questions. I currently have this plugged into a Mac Mini via HDMI 1080p24 and am trying to tweak the Motion Flow and Cinemotion settings. I'm using PLEX and my content is all 1080/720 MKV format.

Tried MF: smooth, CM: auto 1... it looks smooth as butter until there's really fast motion. then it begins to chop.

MF: smooth, CM: off... seems choppy almost like its 120hz

Should Cinemotion even be on with my setup?
StellarZ is offline  
post #102 of 211 Old 02-08-2011, 05:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by StellarZ View Post

Hey everyone,

Just bought a 55" and had a couple of questions. I currently have this plugged into a Mac Mini via HDMI 1080p24 and am trying to tweak the Motion Flow and Cinemotion settings. I'm using PLEX and my content is all 1080/720 MKV format.

Tried MF: smooth, CM: auto 1... it looks smooth as butter until there's really fast motion. then it begins to chop.

MF: smooth, CM: off... seems choppy almost like its 120hz

Should Cinemotion even be on with my setup?

It's about what you like and are willing to put up with to get what you like mst of the time.
OmarF is online now  
post #103 of 211 Old 02-09-2011, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
JockoV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmarF View Post

It's about what you like and are willing to put up with to get what you like mst of the time.

I'm with Omar when it comes to Motionflow and Cinemotion. I love the super silky smooth and super sharp picture they produce. I popped in a regular old DVD of Return of the Jedi in my Xbox 360 and it upscaled it to 1080p and then the Motionflow and Cinemotion kicked in and made it look like it was re-filmed last week using a digital film camera. I nearly fell out of my chair and my jaw was left hanging. Cinemotion seem to be most effective for movies but when I watch regular T.V. shows sometimes it does look jumpy and artifacty (yes I created a new word) when it comes to fast moving objects, most noticeably fast moving arms and legs in sports.
JockoV is offline  
post #104 of 211 Old 02-10-2011, 03:09 AM
Member
 
StellarZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys... I keep switching back and forth and I just can't do Warm 2. I'm just too used to blue, so I went with Warm 1 ha.
StellarZ is offline  
post #105 of 211 Old 02-10-2011, 03:37 AM
Member
 
StellarZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm really noticing the clouding in the corners of the TV, clearly 4 bright spots.
Anyone else experiencing this issue?
StellarZ is offline  
post #106 of 211 Old 02-12-2011, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
male_1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
need help, as soon as possible

I bought Bravia 46hx8, and I relly need the best options for display settings, if you guys can please write it down step by step. I need it just for a regular use, i mean sport channels, news, movies on tv channels and so on. Please if anybody can help with this, Thank you.
male_1111 is offline  
post #107 of 211 Old 02-13-2011, 05:02 AM
Member
 
Winky65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by male_1111 View Post

need help, as soon as possible

I bought Bravia 46hx8, and I relly need the best options for display settings, if you guys can please write it down step by step. I need it just for a regular use, i mean sport channels, news, movies on tv channels and so on. Please if anybody can help with this, Thank you.

Just read post #93 in this thread and then thank Omar!
Winky65 is offline  
post #108 of 211 Old 02-14-2011, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winky65 View Post


Just read post #93 in this thread and then thank Omar!

Thanks Winky :-)
OmarF is online now  
post #109 of 211 Old 02-14-2011, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
amatot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunit2004 View Post

Amatot, I really like your settings for the Motorola DCX3400... I have the same DVR but with a different Canadian provider (Shaw Cable). It greatly improved the SD channels and HD looks great as well. Once in a while some shows will look a bit on the colorless side (more black and whiteish) because of the lower color setting but usually it's fine.

Will have to give your Blu Ray settings a try too

I'm glad you found them helpful. The channels and/or programs that lean to the "colorless" are crap feeds. You really have to toss them out as out-liers because if you try and compensate for those then you end up exaggerating the rest in the opposite extreme; meaning you end up having too much color push on the better feeds - that's what I've found anyway. The nice thing about all of this is that you can simply tick a setting up or down until you've found what you like overall. Don't like my Color Level or whatever else, then make an adjustment. At the end of the day, Omar and I have posted these up to provide a starting point for anyone else interested - it's then up to you dial it in from there.

Enjoy!
amatot is offline  
post #110 of 211 Old 02-17-2011, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
wormicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls Ny
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. I've tried Omar's and Amatot's settings. I think they look great. I just purchased this tv on mon. One quick question I do have though is do these settings work while in 3d mode while watching blurays? My 3d glasses starter kit will be delivered on Friday. If there is a separate 3d setting calibration could someone please post or show a link? Thank you
wormicide is offline  
post #111 of 211 Old 02-19-2011, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
rtt_77388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to say hi too all here and thank everyone especially the regulars Amatot and Omar for the help you provided in the forums. I have owned the 55HX800 for a few weeks. I ended up giving a shot at calibrating it. So far the results look good. I used the ColorHCFR program with DVE (Blue Ray) and a Spyder3 probe for the RGB/Gamma adjustments and Spyder3TV for the color temp, brightness, picture, color and tint settings.
rtt_77388 is offline  
post #112 of 211 Old 02-22-2011, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Marzman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just purchsed a 46hx800 would like to try omar settings but can't find them and also does anyone have recommended 3d settings for playing gt5 on ps3
Marzman73 is offline  
post #113 of 211 Old 02-22-2011, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
amatot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marzman73 View Post

just purchsed a 46hx800 would like to try omar settings but can't find them and also does anyone have recommended 3d settings for playing gt5 on ps3

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1288908
amatot is offline  
post #114 of 211 Old 02-22-2011, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Marzman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amatot I am not familiar with how to do that I am new to the forum
Marzman73 is offline  
post #115 of 211 Old 02-22-2011, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
amatot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marzman73 View Post

Amatot I am not familiar with how to do that I am new to the forum

Go back to my last post; click the link in the middle, just under my quote of you; Omar's are the second posting on the 1st page of the thread you will land on. Jonny did a cut & paste from the Owners thread. You'll know it's Omar's as it will like reading a thesis paper. LOL Thing is, Omar has tweaked them since that original listing so you'll have to go further through this thread page by page (no biggie, it's only 4 pages long) and look for Omar's follow-up postings.

Good luck!

amatot is offline  
post #116 of 211 Old 02-22-2011, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Marzman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can omars settings be done without the video essentials dvd or has everyone that has used his settings purchased the dvd to adjust the hx800 -- thanx
Marzman73 is offline  
post #117 of 211 Old 02-24-2011, 05:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marzman73
can omars settings be done without the video essentials dvd or has everyone that has used his settings purchased the dvd to adjust the hx800 -- thanx
Youre much better off applying my method with the disc than straight copying my settings. Let me know if you need any help. Thanks for the post link, Amatot!

Omar
OmarF is online now  
post #118 of 211 Old 02-24-2011, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Jedah Doma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been consulting this thread for calibration tips. Had some decent success (though I need to purchase either the DVE or WOW Blu Ray).

The aspect I'm most concerned about is the input lag. After playing both PS3 and PS2 games with the settings recommended by the second poster, I noticed some lag. I estimated it's about a 1/4 of a second. Pretty much I hit jump, and then by the time I'm done saying the word "jump", the action happens on screen.

I know I may be getting my hopes up, but I'm used to my Sony 970 CRT set which is gaming perfection. Anyone have some tips on how to minimize the input lag?
Jedah Doma is offline  
post #119 of 211 Old 02-25-2011, 12:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stinky-Dinkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you have it set to gaming mode or are you using settings someone posted for using the PS3 as a BD movie player?
Stinky-Dinkins is offline  
post #120 of 211 Old 02-25-2011, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Jedah Doma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinky-Dinkins View Post

Do you have it set to gaming mode or are you using settings someone posted for using the PS3 as a BD movie player?

Wait, is this the same Stinky-Dinkins from the neo-geo.com forums?

On subject I did not have this is game mode. I was using a preset posted on on of the first few posts.
Jedah Doma is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Kdl55hx800 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Ready Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off