Vizio xvt3d554sv - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1672 Old 05-08-2011, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
ETERNIA FOREVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnerbum View Post

I called Vizio today to find out the release date of the new 55" and they didn't have it yet, I also asked them if it would have the Glossy or Matte screen. They said matte so I ordered the current one since i definitely want the Glossy Screen. Then ordered a set of glasses from the big C for around 130 bucks. 3D isn't big on my list but for that price I will buy the glasses just for fun. Anyone have any suggestions of good 3D movies to try out? I'll have to check to see what Netflix has available.



Hii when you try the television can you kindly put down some of your thoughts on it in here..

Or if someone that currently owns this set can you give your thoughts on 3d for this set because i read things like its amazing too its absolutly unwatchable, can someone let mee know the real deal with 3d with this nice television

Thanks
ETERNIA FOREVER is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1672 Old 05-09-2011, 02:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETERNIA FOREVER View Post

Hii when you try the television can you kindly put down some of your thoughts on it in here..

Or if someone that currently owns this set can you give your thoughts on 3d for this set because i read things like its amazing too its absolutly unwatchable, can someone let mee know the real deal with 3d with this nice television

Thanks

Sure, if I can find anything in 3D to watch. Netflix doesn't seem to have much.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #633 of 1672 Old 05-09-2011, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 3D available on Directv ranges from Good to so-so. I've never seen a program without a some degree of crosstalk(double images).

The lone 3D Bluray I have seen is Tahiti Catch The Wave and it is actually pretty good. Much less crosstalk and sharper.

Until Blockbuster or some other retailer rents 3D movies, I'm not gonna see many more. I'm not paying to buy 3D movies.

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #634 of 1672 Old 05-09-2011, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post

The 3D available on Directv ranges from Good to so-so. I've never seen a program without a some degree of crosstalk(double images).

The lone 3D Bluray I have seen is Tahiti Catch The Wave and it is actually pretty good. Much less crosstalk and sharper.

Until Blockbuster or some other retailer rents 3D movies, I'm not gonna see many more. I'm not paying to buy 3D movies.

Is The Polar Express available in 3D or maybe Journey to the Center of the Earth. Lousy movie but might be fun to watch in 3D.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #635 of 1672 Old 05-09-2011, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETERNIA FOREVER View Post

Or if someone that currently owns this set can you give your thoughts on 3d for this set because i read things like its amazing too its absolutly unwatchable, can someone let mee know the real deal with 3d with this nice television

Thanks

I am a satisfied owner of this set since early January & have purchased several 3D movies. I would say....

Don't purchase this set or any other for the 3D feature. Why? 3D is still a novelty with few programs/movies out on Bluray & they cost more to purchase. There is almost no live programming in 3D and only the latest set top sat/cable receivers can "decode" it. The 3D glasses are still a work in progress as are the TVs themselves. The cross talk issue is getting less with each succeeding model. I'm happy with the 3D on my Vizio, but I rarely use it. If you really want the best 3D technology wait about a year as the various parties involved improve.

As a post script. Prices will only come down on TVs. All the trade journals agree, there are no 2D improvements this year just 3D improvements.
naustin is offline  
post #636 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
blurredvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeMountD View Post

So are people having problems with random reboots on this model like with the 3SV?

How are the black levels on this? Seriously considering it but the 3SV was not receiving the best of comments in the official thread there mainly with its reliability.

How bad is the clouding/flashlighting/bleeding?

Some of us are having random shutdowns, not reboots. I've had my 474SV for about 3 1/2 months now and it will turn off randomly about once every 3 weeks. It's not a big deal to me at all, since I'm convinced it's just a software issue and not related to hardware.

The black levels on the 474SV and 554SV are fantastic due to backlit local dimming, but not sure about the 424SV since it is edge-lit.

With my set, I have absolutely zero clouding/flashlighting/bleeding. It's the first LCD I've ever owned that I've been able to say that about.
blurredvision is offline  
post #637 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
redgtxdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume it's on the 554 too, but for sure on my 474.....anybody else notice that when the screen goes to 4:3 on commercials that the left edge and right edge of the picture itself (so not the screen, but the actual viewed content) exhibit some pretty gnarly banding approx 1 inch in from each edge??

I assume it has something to do with the 4:3 edges creating some kind of problem but I think if there was ever a place where every single LCD on the planet would exhibit banding, I can't imagine this one's inescapable.

???
redgtxdi is offline  
post #638 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Joseph1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't read everything in this thread, but I've heard Vizio's classic problem is that their tv automatically turn on/off for no reason. A lot of consumers from Costco had to return for refund/replace.
Joseph1 is offline  
post #639 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 08:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 15,001
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 233
I've had my 554 since the 1st of January, and have used it almost continually ( 12 hours daily on average) and I have "never" experienced a involuntary shut-down.

Recently after some degree of "put-off" I purchased the 3D Glasses and experienced a very good representation of 3D effect viewing 3D content via Infinity Cable offerings.

To quote James T. Kirk;
"I'm laughing at the superior intellect"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MississippiMan is online now  
post #640 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by redgtxdi View Post

I assume it's on the 554 too, but for sure on my 474.....anybody else notice that when the screen goes to 4:3 on commercials that the left edge and right edge of the picture itself (so not the screen, but the actual viewed content) exhibit some pretty gnarly banding approx 1 inch in from each edge??

I assume it has something to do with the 4:3 edges creating some kind of problem but I think if there was ever a place where every single LCD on the planet would exhibit banding, I can't imagine this one's inescapable.

???

Is it all 4:3 commercials on all channels? if not, you are probably seeing some under-scanning of the broadcast image. Commercials are notorious for their poor video productions. Have you tried adjusting the picture image size?
naustin is offline  
post #641 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
redgtxdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it's too far within the picture itself to be underscanning, but it's not on everything either. It's only visible some of the time. Usually it's on bright background material and, again, it just happens to be most easily seen on commercials that I can recall.
redgtxdi is offline  
post #642 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph1 View Post

I haven't read everything in this thread, but I've heard Vizio's classic problem is that their tv automatically turn on/off for no reason. A lot of consumers from Costco had to return for refund/replace.

I have 9 Vizio TV's, 2 55", 1 52", 1 42", 1 37", 2 20" and 2 19" sets and I have never had this on any of these sets.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #643 of 1672 Old 05-10-2011, 09:59 PM
Member
 
2large's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph1 View Post

I haven't read everything in this thread, but I've heard Vizio's classic problem is that their tv automatically turn on/off for no reason. A lot of consumers from Costco had to return for refund/replace.

Based on what I have read on the 553 Forum as well as this 554 Forum over the months, this problem seems to be much more of an issue with the 553 models than the 554s.

In fact, there seem to be quite a few more issues in general reported by 553 owners than by 554 owners. While I don't know this for a fact, it seems logical that Vizio made improvements in the electronics on the 554 models. I know for sure there are differences in the electronics, including the increased refresh rate, etc.

As I've mentioned before, as just one little example, the illuminated Vizio words at the bottom of the frame dim down on the 554 after content is running (a nice little feature), and this feature is not present on the "3" series sets. If this little change was made, certainly there were other changes made to electronics as well, in addition to the 3D, refresh rate, and different screen.

While the 554 3D picture quality doesn't seem to be blowing anyone away, to me that's way down the list of things that are important. I'm glad I spent the extra dough and got the 554 instead of the 553, if for no other reason than for the improved reliability the 554 seems to have.

For me, it's all about 2D Picture Quality - that's by far the most important feature, and the 554 seems to have that down very well. And of course reliabilty is an important attribute as well. I also value the wide field of vision, and with respect to LCD-based sets, Vizio and LG (which makes Vizio screens) have every other manufacturer beat in that regard.
2large is offline  
post #644 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 06:03 AM
Member
 
twosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blurredvision View Post


Some of us are having random shutdowns, not reboots. I've had my 474SV for about 3 1/2 months now and it will turn off randomly about once every 3 weeks. It's not a big deal to me at all, since I'm convinced it's just a software issue and not related to hardware.

The black levels on the 474SV and 554SV are fantastic due to backlit local dimming, but not sure about the 424SV since it is edge-lit.

With my set, I have absolutely zero clouding/flashlighting/bleeding. It's the first LCD I've ever owned that I've been able to say that about.

Yahoo news widget. Remove that and the random power offs will go away.
twosted is offline  
post #645 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twosted View Post
Yahoo news widget. Remove that and the random power offs will go away.
how do I remove widgets?
ReSultZ is offline  
post #646 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Removing the yahoo widget is not a 100% cure for the shutdown. It didn't work on my 1st 554 at all. Neither did not having it not connected to the Internet at all.
My 2nd one, thru an exchange, does not shut down at all.

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #647 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 06:57 PM
Member
 
twosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post

Removing the yahoo widget is not a 100% cure for the shutdown. It didn't work on my 1st 554 at all. Neither did not having it not connected to the Internet at all.
My 2nd one, thru an exchange, does not shut down at all.

I haven't had a power off since I removed it, and that has been 2 months now. Before that I would have power offs every week or more. So yes it has been a 100% cure for me as well as other people.
twosted is offline  
post #648 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 07:32 PM
Member
 
twosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post

how do I remove widgets?

Press the VIA button to bring up the widgets. Press the yellow button. Move to the widget you want to remove and press the red button. Press the red button again to confirm deletion. Delete as many as you want. There are many other downloaded widgets that can cause power offs. But the only pre-installed widget that caused me problems was the yahoo news widget.
twosted is offline  
post #649 of 1672 Old 05-11-2011, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twosted View Post

press the via button to bring up the widgets. Press the yellow button. Move to the widget you want to remove and press the red button. Press the red button again to confirm deletion. Delete as many as you want. There are many other downloaded widgets that can cause power offs. But the only pre-installed widget that caused me problems was the yahoo news widget.

ty
ReSultZ is offline  
post #650 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just got the 554 on Tuesday. I was expecting a FW update within a day or two since my 553 that I got last fall updated the first night. These are both great sets but I wanted the Glossy Screen which really makes the picture pop out. I had posted earlier that I have 9 Vizio sets, now make that 10. I guess I'm doing my part to support Vizio. I have tried other sets, Samsung and Sony but end up back with Vizio.

Can someone tell me what the latest FW version is for the 554? And is there any way to make it update without waiting for Vizio to send it?

Also, does anyone know of a site that I could download some 3d video to try it out. There doesn't seem to be much out there. I got Amityville 3D from Netflix but that didn't work. I didn't realize there were so many 3D formats out there.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #651 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dude, when somebody says something is a 100% cure, it intimates it works for ALL people. CLEARLY this is not the case.

I'm glad it has worked for you and others. It hasn't worked for EVERYBODY. Hence, it can NOT be termed a 100% cure for the problem.

I rest my case.

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #652 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 06:33 AM
Member
 
twosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post

Dude, when somebody says something is a 100% cure, it intimates it works for ALL people. CLEARLY this is not the case.

I'm glad it has worked for you and others. It hasn't worked for EVERYBODY. Hence, it can NOT be termed a 100% cure for the problem.

I rest my case.

OK, 99.999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 999999999999999999999999999999% cure. Since it seems to have CLEARLY worked for everybody except you.
twosted is offline  
post #653 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
redgtxdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnerbum View Post

Can someone tell me what the latest FW version is for the 554? And is there any way to make it update without waiting for Vizio to send it?

Also, does anyone know of a site that I could download some 3d video to try it out. There doesn't seem to be much out there. I got Amityville 3D from Netflix but that didn't work. I didn't realize there were so many 3D formats out there.

Well, unfortunately (or fortunately depending on how you feel about fw updates), the 4sv series are still on the original FW. There have been no firmware updates for us so far. I don't know why. Not sure if Vizio is working on anything for us or not. Would be nice to get the usb ports working and widgets like YouTube would be kind of the basics at this point. (If you think about it, THREE usb ports and no real use right now? YiKeS!!)

I can't speak for the 3D content but I'm surprised Amityville didn't work. I don't know when I'll get around to playing with 3D.
redgtxdi is offline  
post #654 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnerbum View Post

I just got the 554 on Tuesday. I was expecting a FW update within a day or two since my 553 that I got last fall updated the first night.... Can someone tell me what the latest FW version is for the 554? And is there any way to make it update without waiting for Vizio to send it?

The last info in March by BluThunder for a repaired/replacement 554 was Serial Number - LASPGPBL51##### Firmware - VIZIO_XP1.28.0.2.
My set was purhased in early January & has firmware VIZIO_XP1.21.21 Vizio has not pushed ANY FW updates on this set
naustin is offline  
post #655 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yo schmekel, u left off a couple of 9's.

Clearly u got some issues.

There's an appt
With your name on it with Dr. Putsach Von
Schnitzel @ the Salzburg Institute of Frontal Labotomy.

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #656 of 1672 Old 05-12-2011, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: las vegas nevada
Posts: 4,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnerbum View Post

I just got the 554 on Tuesday. I was expecting a FW update within a day or two since my 553 that I got last fall updated the first night. These are both great sets but I wanted the Glossy Screen which really makes the picture pop out. I had posted earlier that I have 9 Vizio sets, now make that 10. I guess I'm doing my part to support Vizio. I have tried other sets, Samsung and Sony but end up back with Vizio.

Can someone tell me what the latest FW version is for the 554? And is there any way to make it update without waiting for Vizio to send it?

Also, does anyone know of a site that I could download some 3d video to try it out. There doesn't seem to be much out there. I got Amityville 3D from Netflix but that didn't work. I didn't realize there were so many 3D formats out there.

Some Questions:

One of my TV's is the Vizio 552, from what understand the 552 and the 553 are very close in PQ ?

I was entertaining getting the 554 to replace my 552 just to have a 3D panel in the house and to perhaps get an even better 2D picture ,,, how much of a jump in 2D PQ is the 554 over the 553 (or the 552, if you know).

I think my 552 puts out a great 2D picture, just wondering how much of an improvement the 554 is over the 552 ?

Thanks much in advance
Cheers
Davyo
davyo is offline  
post #657 of 1672 Old 05-13-2011, 02:41 AM
Member
 
twosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post

Yo schmekel, u left off a couple of 9's.

Clearly u got some issues.

There's an appt
With your name on it with Dr. Putsach Von
Schnitzel @ the Salzburg Institute of Frontal Labotomy.

Wow, personal attacks. And I am the one with issues.

I said "It has been a 100% cure for me as well as other people". I never said it was a 100% cure for everyone. But for some reason you felt the need go into a rant about what a true definition of "100% cure" means. So based on your terms I clarified my statement.

And you respond with, Guess What?........... Personal Attacks.

So I guess I should be expected to fire back with some witty remarks about you and keep the flame train rolling.

Sorry but I am not here for that.
twosted is offline  
post #658 of 1672 Old 05-13-2011, 04:24 AM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where's your sense of humor, son? Can't we have some humorous verbal jousting? This home theater stuff isn't life or death here. It's FUN!

But you did give me a VERY sarcastic remark with all the .9's, which was semi humorous on some level. That inspired my humorous retort.

Just don't make blanket statements without all the facts about an issue. That rankles my britches.

I'll cancel your appt with Doc Schnitzel.

Smile-it's just having some fun.

How bout that Vizio 554!

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #659 of 1672 Old 05-13-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by twosted View Post

Wow, personal attacks. And I am the one with issues.

I said "It has been a 100% cure for me as well as other people". I never said it was a 100% cure for everyone. But for some reason you felt the need go into a rant about what a true definition of "100% cure" means. So based on your terms I clarified my statement.

And you respond with, Guess What?........... Personal Attacks.

So I guess I should be expected to fire back with some witty remarks about you and keep the flame train rolling.

Sorry but I am not here for that.

After reading these posts I HAD to go back and see what it was all about.
I've only had my 554 for 5 day, 553 for 7 months and never had a power down. But I did go in and delete the Yahoo News Widget, that was easy and I never plan on using it anyway.

So what was the 99.99999 etc. all about. The power down issue or the ability to delete the widget?

The only issue I have ever had with the 553 was one day the set would not turn on with the bluetooth remote, so I grabbed another Vizio remote and the set turned on. I had a picture but also a message on the screen "Searching for updates". So it apparently disables the remote when searching. I've never had this happen again.
Burnerbum is offline  
post #660 of 1672 Old 05-13-2011, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
redgtxdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davyo View Post

Some Questions:

One of my TV's is the Vizio 552, from what understand the 552 and the 553 are very close in PQ ?

I think my 552 puts out a great 2D picture, just wondering how much of an improvement the 554 is over the 552 ?

Thanks much in advance
Cheers
Davyo

Davyo,

I can't say I recall the PQ of the 552 and it might be pretty hard to compare at this point, except to have them in-house next to eachother, honestly. But........I can speak for the 3 vs 4 series as I went with the 4 myself. Yes, the screen is glossy but there's just something about that "pop" of the glossy screen that puts it over the top. I don't think I'd jump from 552 to 553, but I might jump to 554 if I were really interested.

Your 552 is probably still a great TV, so may be soon to jump, but if you don't mind shellin out the dough, then I'd say go for it.
redgtxdi is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Vizio Xvt3d554sv 55 Inch 1080p 480hz 3d Led Hdtv With Full Array Truled Smart Dimming And Vizio Inte , Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off