Vizio xvt3d554sv - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1672 Old 11-10-2010, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
asoroudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any comments on the just released VIZIO XVT3D554SV ? Any reviews out there yet?

In stock from Vizio.com, but backordered from amazon.com.

I want to order one, but want to hear some reviews & comments first.

Thx
asoroudi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1672 Old 11-10-2010, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
khellandros66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well from the demos I've seen of their other LED tvs I would say this ting has the potential to look amazing and wouldn't disappoint me!
khellandros66 is offline  
post #3 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 05:02 AM
Member
 
jcberean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to buy one soon, just waiting for a house refinance deal to go thru. Seems like this TV should be excellent. It also has 1080P signal input, the 553 does not have the 1080P, only has 1080i, 720P, 480P, 480i. Check specs, that's one of the differences.

JN
jcberean is offline  
post #4 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcberean View Post

I'd like to buy one soon, just waiting for a house refinance deal to go thru. Seems like this TV should be excellent. It also has 1080P signal input, the 553 does not have the 1080P, only has 1080i, 720P, 480P, 480i. Check specs, that's one of the differences.

JN

Do you mean over component? Because the 553 certainly has 1080P input via HDMI.

55HX950 l SC-1522-K l SP-PK51FS l RW12-D l XB1 l PS4 l RNG200 l P31 LIVE:BPMURR PSN:BPMURR
bpmurr is offline  
post #5 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 05:22 AM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcberean View Post

I'd like to buy one soon, just waiting for a house refinance deal to go thru. Seems like this TV should be excellent. It also has 1080P signal input, the 553 does not have the 1080P, only has 1080i, 720P, 480P, 480i. Check specs, that's one of the differences.

JN


It is true that the Vizio site shows that 1080p is not listed for the 553, but it's a mistake on the website. If you download the PDF manual from the support tab for the product you can read about the 1080p support.
EAS is offline  
post #6 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 05:38 AM
Member
 
jcberean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAS View Post

It is true that the Vizio site shows that 1080p is not listed for the 553, but it's a mistake on the website. If you download the PDF manual from the support tab for the product you can read about the 1080p support.

I'm presently out of town, with a slow hotel internet connection. I will check the PDF when I get home. I just saw the "signal input" section listed 1080i, but not 1080P. I have a 52" Samsung LCD presently, and it does not support 480i, real pain!!! That's why I really watch the signal inputs that are supported! Will never again buy a TV that does not support the normal inputs: (1080i,1080p,720p,480p,480i).

JN
jcberean is offline  
post #7 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cawgijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcberean View Post

I'm presently out of town, with a slow hotel internet connection. I will check the PDF when I get home. I just saw the "signal input" section listed 1080i, but not 1080P. I have a 52" Samsung LCD presently, and it does not support 480i, real pain!!! That's why I really watch the signal inputs that are supported! Will never again buy a TV that does not support the normal inputs: (1080i,1080p,720p,480p,480i).

JN

Check reviews for verification also.....Home Theater Magazine........Cnet.......it's 1080p......Vizio site is incorrect.
cawgijoe is offline  
post #8 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 07:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
jcberean,
Which model 52" Samsung LCD do you have? When did you buy it?
Are you a DVI, HDMI or Component interface?
walford is offline  
post #9 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 07:31 AM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

jcberean,
Which model 52" Samsung LCD do you have? When did you buy it?
Are you a DVI, HDMI or Component interface?

What does this have to do with the Vizio set on topic?
EAS is offline  
post #10 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
asoroudi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thx, but does anyone have any constructive opinions about the Vizio xvt3d554sv . Not off topic please. We don't need to discuss whether or not it can do 1080P via HDMI
asoroudi is offline  
post #11 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 10:49 AM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to purchase, but I want to buy it local from the C Big Box store so I guess we will just have to wait.

I'm not really that interested in 3D, but am hoping that the 480hz will improve 2d content over the 553 set. Otherwise, I will just get the 553.
EAS is offline  
post #12 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 12:10 PM
Member
 
filmguy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My main question on this set is going to be: do I lose *anything* from the 553? I have the 553 right now and am happy. For $200 more I'd love to upgrade to 3D but not if I end up comprising something on the set or the 2D side of things...

SO waiting for input on that. Also, does the set come with any 3D glasses thrown in? Or is that totally separate?

I'd be wanting to buy from Costco
filmguy123 is offline  
post #13 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 12:37 PM
Member
 
wilfredw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmguy123 View Post

My main question on this set is going to be: do I lose *anything* from the 553? I have the 553 right now and am happy. For $200 more I'd love to upgrade to 3D but not if I end up comprising something on the set or the 2D side of things...

SO waiting for input on that. Also, does the set come with any 3D glasses thrown in? Or is that totally separate?

I'd be wanting to buy from Costco


Those are my thoughts exactly. Did the 2d pq improve or suffer in the 554. Couldnt care less about 3d. However according to the specs this set has the 3 USB ports enabled. That is a minor improvement unrelated to PQ.

In amazon.com there has been one buyer of this unit - and he posted a short first look. Hopefully a more detailed review will follow.

Also when will cnet etc get their hands on this one?
wilfredw is offline  
post #14 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 12:38 PM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DistortedAxis View Post

I played with one of these in the store the other day.

Which store?
EAS is offline  
post #15 of 1672 Old 11-11-2010, 12:39 PM
Member
 
wilfredw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DistortedAxis View Post

I played with one of these in the store the other day. I was impresseed with the picture in the store. However, my expereince was very limited and the sales guy asked me to stop playing with the settings because "they have to be set a sertain way"

It was because of that, I ended up not purchasing the unit.

DA- which store was this ?
wilfredw is offline  
post #16 of 1672 Old 11-13-2010, 12:44 PM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stopped by my Costco and Sam's today and had them look up this set in their systems. Sam's didn't show it. Costco had 5 coming in on the 28th. If anyone else see's this set anywhere at a physical location please post.
EAS is offline  
post #17 of 1672 Old 11-13-2010, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
Boxol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAS View Post
Stopped by my Costco and Sam's today and had them look up this set in their systems. Sam's didn't show it. Costco had 5 coming in on the 28th. If anyone else see's this set anywhere at a physical location please post.
They tell you how much they would be charging?
Boxol is offline  
post #18 of 1672 Old 11-13-2010, 09:16 PM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxol View Post

They tell you how much they would be charging?


Yes, but the rules prevent me from commenting. If you call them they will tell you. More than the 553 and less than what the 554 is listed at on Amazon.
EAS is offline  
post #19 of 1672 Old 11-14-2010, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Death2494's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay there is only one review out there right now for this set, but it doesn't really go into details at all about. You might just want to hold off on it until FlatpanelsHD or Cnet review it. I do know that it's has increased it local dimming zones from 120 to 160 on the 55 inch version. That aside, with the HZ bumped up to 480 instead of 240, the XVT3D554SV should give up the full 1080 lines of motion resolution.
Motion resolution: This ensures that there is almost little to no blurring during fast moving content. The is really beneficial to those also looking to connect a gaming pc to it. Hopefully it can handle 1080p/24 properly.
With any luck, we'll be seeing some more reviews coming out on this particular set.
Death2494 is offline  
post #20 of 1672 Old 11-14-2010, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cschang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 14,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAS View Post

Yes, but the rules prevent me from commenting. If you call them they will tell you. More than the 553 and less than what the 554 is listed at on Amazon.

Well...they are not suppose to tell you over the phone, but sometimes you can get it out of them.

-curtis

Owner of Wave Crest Audio
Volunteer Mod at the Ascend Acoustics Forum
Like all things on the Internet, do your research, as forums have a good amount of misinformation.
Help beat breast cancer!

cschang is offline  
post #21 of 1672 Old 11-14-2010, 09:39 PM
Member
 
Polarican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Death2494 View Post

"I do know that it's has increased it local dimming zones from 120 to 160 on the 55 inch version."

Where exactly did you get this info from? It would be great if it was true! I was hoping they went with the 160 local dimming zones with the XVT3D554SV? The following is the first 2 paragraphs from the Vizio site regarding thier new 55 inch 3D set:

Product Overview
VIZIOs 55"Class (54.64" diagonal) full array TRULED LCD 3D HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps brings cutting edge, high definition, superior 3D technology to your home in VIZIO's sleek signature style. Immersive 3D delivers an amazing viewing experience! This high performance HD 3D TV combines advanced picture quality, virtual high definition sound and premium wireless internet connectivity.

Enjoy vibrant colors and deepest blacks. The VIZIO viewing experience is made possible with Full Array TRULED, 120 zone Smart Dimming, 480Hz* smooth motion processing for sharp, blur free imagery and VIZIOs Full HD and rich SRS TruSurround HD audio.
Polarican is offline  
post #22 of 1672 Old 11-14-2010, 10:47 PM
Member
 
wilfredw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even the user guide states that the 55 inch has 120 zones, 47 inch 160 zones and 42 inch 128 zones

It is quite odd that the larger TV has less zones. Seems counter-intuitive.

Also the USB ports on the 554 is still for service use only. They will supposedly be enabled by a future upgrade ti handle audio/video. Why is enabling these ports so difficult. It is standard for all other manufacturers.
wilfredw is offline  
post #23 of 1672 Old 11-16-2010, 03:35 PM
EAS
Advanced Member
 
EAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's showing up on the Sam's club site now, but cannot be ordered and there is no pricing. Looks like we will have to wait and see.
EAS is offline  
post #24 of 1672 Old 11-16-2010, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Boxol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAS View Post

It's showing up on the Sam's club site now, but cannot be ordered and there is no pricing. Looks like we will have to wait and see.

Shows as in-stock and has a price at SAMs club online....
Boxol is offline  
post #25 of 1672 Old 11-17-2010, 07:51 AM
Member
 
jcberean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it have HDMI 1.4A inputs?
jcberean is offline  
post #26 of 1672 Old 11-17-2010, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All 3D LCD and Plasma TVs have HDMI 1.4 input receiver chips.
walford is offline  
post #27 of 1672 Old 11-17-2010, 04:36 PM
Member
 
jcberean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its listed now at Sams.com, says "in stock" FYI. I'd givethe price, but against forum rules.
jcberean is offline  
post #28 of 1672 Old 11-18-2010, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
OconRecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't come here much, but is the 3D worth it? I thought the 3D scuttle is consumers aren't lapping it up and it won't have much presence at CES. Also, is there a few hundred dollars difference in 240Hz vs 480Hz?

Less than two large at Sam's isn't bad though.
OconRecon is offline  
post #29 of 1672 Old 11-18-2010, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cawgijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OconRecon View Post

I don't come here much, but is the 3D worth it? I thought the 3D scuttle is consumers aren't lapping it up and it won't have much presence at CES. Also, is there a few hundred dollars difference in 240Hz vs 480Hz?

Less than two large at Sam's isn't bad though.

3D is pretty cool, but I have several problems with it.

I wear glasses. Putting those 3D glasses over my regular glasses is very uncomfortable.

We have five people in our family. At $150 a pop for additional glasses.......plus extras for firends.....too much.

The technology is first generation. If it does catch on, it's going to improve. Would I really want to buy into it now?

I thought about it and passed. Picked up a Vizio 553 and am very happy.
cawgijoe is offline  
post #30 of 1672 Old 11-23-2010, 02:03 AM
Newbie
 
Boxol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any updates on reviews yet? Been looking but nothing yet!!!! I am also one of the people that are thinking of 553 or 554 and of 554 is worth the extra money haha
Boxol is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Vizio Xvt3d554sv 55 Inch 1080p 480hz 3d Led Hdtv With Full Array Truled Smart Dimming And Vizio Inte , Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off