Sharp LC60E78UN [No Price Talk] - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1192 Old 11-10-2010, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jefftra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone find it interesting that this model Sharp LC60E78UN is in BB add and available at unbelievable deal isnt even listed on Sharp website. You cant find any specifics on this TV. Does anyone know whats up with this TV?
Jefftra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1192 Old 11-10-2010, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea I was there earlier at best buy to inquire on the LED and saw that amazing deal as well!!! I also like to know more about this tv...
NOFX is offline  
post #3 of 1192 Old 11-11-2010, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jefftra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They finally have the display at BB. Picture is very good, may have to pull trigger on this. BB staff hardly new anything about the unit.
Jefftra is offline  
post #4 of 1192 Old 11-13-2010, 01:24 PM
Member
 
TJ311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered mine yesterday and it's scheduled to be delivered this Thursday. I'll let you all know how I like it.
TJ311 is offline  
post #5 of 1192 Old 11-14-2010, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
Lloe01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine yesterday. Nice picture. Now I need the directv remote codes for it.

Cheers ,
Lloe01 is offline  
post #6 of 1192 Old 11-15-2010, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Lloe01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice picture

Still can't get it to work with directv
Lloe01 is offline  
post #7 of 1192 Old 11-18-2010, 07:15 PM
Member
 
coop0129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new updates on this model?
coop0129 is offline  
post #8 of 1192 Old 11-23-2010, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Vladco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one could comment how standard definition looks on this model? I'm still watching some channel on SD on cable.
Vlad
Vladco is offline  
post #9 of 1192 Old 11-25-2010, 04:23 PM
Member
 
Cash907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ311 View Post

I ordered mine yesterday and it's scheduled to be delivered this Thursday. I'll let you all know how I like it.

Still waiting to hear about your thoughts on this model. Thinking about getting one myself this weekend, but looking for some more feedback first. Thanks.
Cash907 is offline  
post #10 of 1192 Old 11-25-2010, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm about to pull the trigger unless someone can convince me otherwise.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #11 of 1192 Old 11-26-2010, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnst19 View Post

are you going to get a service plan/extended warranty?

I never get extended warranties on HT equipment.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #12 of 1192 Old 11-26-2010, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NewOrlnsDukie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cash907 View Post

I read that bit about the computer connection "sucking" too, but it seemed to me like the author of that review just didn't know much about resolution settings and limitations of VGA. Pretty sure he could have gotten good results with a DVI to HDMI cable you can pick up from monoprice for 5 bucks.

I'm not worried about sound as I have a great 7.1 setup already, I'm mostly interesting in PQ and whether or not there is any stuttering or juttering/artificating during blurary playback. I tried to find a display somewhere, but for some reason, my local BB's have a butt load of 42-46 inchers on the wall, but only 3 larger then 50" mounted, and that's not including the Panasonic plasma that is on special tomorrow, and the outrageously overpriced lot they have in their Magnolia show floor.

I dunno, maybe I'll just pull the trigger tomorrow. I'm a Premier Silver member, so I won't get hit with a restock fee if I decide to take it back. If I do, I'll post photos and a quick review as soon as it's set up.

I'd agree w/ all of this. That reviewer sounded like a bit of a slowcoach. Hell, I don't think I've used a VGA hookup for a TV since my first 360.
NewOrlnsDukie is offline  
post #13 of 1192 Old 11-26-2010, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Cash907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnst19 View Post

Spot on, I agree with everything you said and I'm in the same situation. Don't care about sound quality because I'm going through a receiver, and I already have HDMI>dvi and I'm sure the comp use would be fine, my main concern as well is PQ.

I just wish there were more reviews on it.

Would you get the extended warranty from BB?

I'm conflicted on this, actually. On the one hand, I've owned two Sharp Aquos before and had nothing but great experiences with both. Plus, Consumer Reports just rated Sharp very highly in their reliability ranking in the latest issue. On the other hand, I live in Alaska, and I don't even know if there is an authorized technician locally, so any warranty issues would require shipping a 60" behemoth back to God knows where, and let me tell ya, shipping anything larger then a breadbasket to or from AK is *not* cheap. Because of this, that extended warranty looks very attractive, but your mileage may vary. I've heard more bad then good about them, but if your needs meet the right criteria, they could be worth every penny.
Cash907 is offline  
post #14 of 1192 Old 11-28-2010, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
HDTV Owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it depends on your room size. While bigger is often better, if the room is too small you may not get better results with a larger set.
HDTV Owner is offline  
post #15 of 1192 Old 11-28-2010, 01:31 PM
Member
 
jrp44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wanting some infor on this set as well...I will use it for PS3 Blu Rays and Mainly sports in HD
jrp44 is offline  
post #16 of 1192 Old 11-29-2010, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
teapartyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been researching 60" LCD's to replace my aging 57"DLP. I had narrowed my choice to the Sharp LC-60E88UN when I stumbled across the LC-60E78UN on BB website for +20 % less than the best price I've ever seen for the 88UN. I have searched and also could find no information on the Sharp website or anywhere else so I decided to contact them. I talked with an Aquos rep today and they emailed me these specifications. The LC-60E78UN does not use the X-Gen panel nor does it use the ASV Superlucent Panel but uses what they term the "High Performance LCD Panel" Any one know what that is? Specs attached

 

LC-60E78UN_Specs.pdf 128.9716796875k . file
teapartyman is offline  
post #17 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
jds1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought one of these this weekend and so far I'm fairly impressed. I'm not surewhat a high perfomance panel is but the outside of the box says it has a Xgen panel. My understanding is this TV is a cross between the LC-60E77UN (120hz) no Xgen panel and the LC-60E88UN (240hz with Xgen panel). For the Price and size I jumped on it. I have not put a blu-ray through it and have not calibrated yet. The presets on the TV have given mixed results on different HD DishNetwork channels. Some are brilliant others need tweaking. I guess when I get the time, caibration disc, and a Bluray I will get a better feeling forwhat the TV will do. My two cents. Of course my wife thinks the picture is great.
jds1971 is offline  
post #18 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
jds1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wnated o update everyone on a chat I had with Sharp. see below:

Jasa: Hello! I am an AQUOS Advantage Advisor who specializes in helping customers with their AQUOS LCD TVs. How can I help you today?

You: I'm curious as to why Sharp has no info on the LC-60E78UN LCD TV?

Jasa: That's a great question.

Jasa: Since it is a fairly new release we are in process of adding this information to the site

You: Does this TV have the XGEN panel in it?

Jasa: I'll be right with you.

You: ok

Jasa: I'm sorry for the delay. I'll be right with you.

Jasa: No, the LC60E78UN does not have an X-gen panel. The panel is ASV superlucent panel

You: Ok then why does it state that it has the XGEN panel on the outside of the BOX? Is Sharp trying to falsley move this TV on the market?

Jasa: I will be right with you.

Jasa: No, I'm reading from the specifications sheet we were emailed. I apologize for the mis-information. I would like to confirm which answer is accurate with our product specialist.

Jasa: He wont be in the office until 8:30am is it possible to email you I confirm this?

You: OK, I bought one of these TVs under the impression it has the Xgen panel, but with a lack of available info out there I'm haveing second thoughts on my purchase. Ive always felt Sharp is reputable company but when they release products and have no support info I become leary.

Jasa: *once

You: Please email the detailed specs to (Deleted)

Jasa: Thank you for waiting. I'll be with you in just a moment.

Jasa: I completely understand. I will confirm this information. I could be a matter of terminology

Jasa: I will get this straightened immediately

You: It seems to me this TV is a cross between the LC-60E77UN an the 60E78UN. upgraded panel but no 240hz? if this is the case.

Jasa: That is accurate to a certain degree. The television is an enhanced version of the E77UN series. The 240hz model would be the E88UN

You: The only reason I bougt the TV was for the Xgen panel adverstiment n the outside of the box.

Jasa: I definitely understand. I will verify the panel and email you the update.

You: Thanks, there are many more curious for this info.
jds1971 is offline  
post #19 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
pure241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody confirm that this TV has an optical sound output? Also can anybody verify the response time for games and fast moving movies?
pure241 is offline  
post #20 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
Ralonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jds1971, please post that response when you get it!

I'm ig'nint though... what's the pros/cons of X-gen and ASV Superlucent?
Ralonzo is offline  
post #21 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Robotaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pure241 View Post
Can anybody confirm that this TV has an optical sound output? Also can anybody verify the response time for games and fast moving movies?
4 ms, as seen two posts up. It has to have a refresh frequency greater than 240 HZ or the 240 HZ is useless. Therefore, you know it's at most 4 ms (f = 1/s) since 4 ms = 250 HZ. 5 ms would yield a refresh rate of 200 HZ.

I haven't seen a TV in years that didn't have an optical out. Sharp's best TVs don't mention optical so I would assume that the 78UN has it. Just call Sharp.
Robotaz is offline  
post #22 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
teapartyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 77UN and 88UN both have optical output so I'd assume this one does too. Of course if SHARP would ever post everything to there website we'd all have our answers. I can't fathom that the information isn't available. Smells just a little fissy to me!

Can't wait to hear the response they give on the panel.
teapartyman is offline  
post #23 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
jds1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Email from Sharp confirmed through engineering that it indeed does have the Xgen Panel. As for the other request it does have optical audio out. I'm currently shopping for a 12ft Optical cable without breaking the bank. Now to get this thing calibrated. Ive done a quick try with the old SD Avia disc, but can see a Blu-ray and a HD DVE or Disney WOW dvd for calibration in my near future.
jds1971 is offline  
post #24 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 42
does this tv (for the folks that just got one) have a VARIABLE audio output? I only see the digital optical out but I could be wrong. Please let me know......I need this for my parents setup. Thanks...

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #25 of 1192 Old 11-30-2010, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
jds1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Variable? as in sound leveling for commercials? (Yes) Or control of volume output via TV volume? (don't know)
jds1971 is offline  
post #26 of 1192 Old 12-01-2010, 02:42 AM
Newbie
 
balaraja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you search for LC60E78UN in the Sharp USA site, you get this:

Results per Page 10 20 30
LC-60E78UN | LCD TV | full HD 1080p | AQUOS | Flat Screen ...
LC-60E78UN has an ASV Superlucent LCD panel, 120Hz fine motion enhanced, full HD 1080p (1920 x 1080) resolution...


The link given doesn't work (goes to a error page), but the description says superlucent panel (same as in 77UN) and not X-gen (as in 88UN).
balaraja is offline  
post #27 of 1192 Old 12-01-2010, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralonzo View Post

jds1971, please post that response when you get it!

I'm ig'nint though... what's the pros/cons of X-gen and ASV Superlucent?

The Xgen panel is an improvement but it's not a huge leap foward...that being said it's the one must have feature for me on a 60" Sharp. Here is a little video from Sharp on the panel. For you guys looking at the 78 or already have one you can see what the pixel structure looks like on the Xgen/UV2A panel in this video and compare it to what you have.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RotGaNucvMI
topr is online now  
post #28 of 1192 Old 12-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Newbie
 
boomhowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jds1971 View Post
Email from Sharp confirmed through engineering that it indeed does have the Xgen Panel. As for the other request it does have optical audio out. I'm currently shopping for a 12ft Optical cable without breaking the bank. Now to get this thing calibrated. Ive done a quick try with the old SD Avia disc, but can see a Blu-ray and a HD DVE or Disney WOW dvd for calibration in my near future.
Just joined the forum to say thanks for confirming this. Found conflicting info online about the panel but picked one up on BF weekend at BB because of the Xgen on the box.

Looking forward to anyone sharing screen shots if they have this professionally calibrated.
boomhowar is offline  
post #29 of 1192 Old 12-02-2010, 12:05 AM
Newbie
 
boomhowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to add this in last post. In case this helps, I had trouble getting the "TV" input to switch properly on my harmony 520 remote for OTA signal. I could switch between HDMI inputs fine but when selecting an activity that required "TV", such as OTA signal, the tv would not alternate to the proper "TV" input. To solve this I reprogrammed the remote for the 77un model (LC60E77UN) and that fixed it. So for my tv, all the codes for the 77 work for the 78.

Could be that this is just a glitch with my tv though. Only one I've found so far.
boomhowar is offline  
post #30 of 1192 Old 12-02-2010, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
pure241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone heard about the audio delay when audio is routed from HDMI to the audio out?
pure241 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off