Overscan on older Vizio GV42L LCD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-14-2010, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
raislak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GV42L & HDMI overscan
So I have had the GV42L for a while and notice there is definite overscan.

The menu & manual seem to indicate no way to adjust the horizontal or vertical, and to date only by using Boxee on my Apple TV (a while ago) and Vudu on my LG BD390 was I able to adjust the settings only when those software applications were running.

Any ideas on how to fix this once for all devices?

Thanks.
raislak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-14-2010, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
Hyjinx30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Normally, what makes the Vizio so affordable is its lack of options and settings. Also cheaper less accuarate components. Not having correct math or compnents within certain strict guidlines, you may experience overscan and any other general picture issue. Older tube TVs were easy fixes, re-capping the set would take care of overscan issues. On newer sets, especially the value-line ones, you get the worst case scenario; cheaper parts and no options to compensate for their in adequacies.

If its within the return policy, i'd recommend a name brand set, possibly even a plasma if its a cost issue.

Hopefully that helps answer your question.
Hyjinx30 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-15-2010, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
raislak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Hyjinx.

Unfortunately the unit is over 2 years old so returning it isn't an option.

It was my first big purchased, and aside from the overscan, I've had no complaints after I tuned all the settings for a very high quality picture.

PDH
raislak is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 11-15-2010, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
Hyjinx30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to hear that.
Hyjinx30 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off