Samsung Panel Version Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 73Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1470 Old 06-21-2015, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
But does the tv have 10-bit processing? Just because it has a 10-bit panel doesn't mean it has the capability of using that depth. It's just like tv's that advertised Deep Color. That's nice but if there aren't any movies encoded for Deep Color....... or HDMI cables with ethernet, etc etc. The mfrs are really good at advertising what I think is deceptive marketing. Throwing out all these cool sounding buzz words with carefully worded specs before all the device mfrs are on the same page. Just look at what happened when HDMI 2.0 was first announced.
Agree
theroys88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1470 Old 06-21-2015, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatslikeaboss View Post
I cant access to service menu on my HU8500
I turn TV off and press info+menu+mute but nothing

I have TH02 version so can you tell me is that good or bad version?
Why do you want to access the Service Menu? That can be a very dangerous thing to do. Firmware/board versions can vary slightly from tv to tv, even within the same model line. The fact that what you attempted to do, and I'm assuming you got that from someone who said this is how, illustrates that point. Even if you do gain access, one accidental move and you can really screw something up.

As far as the TH02 version number, unless Samsung has changed their coding, that usually indicates the Samsung S-PVA panel. Besides, if you're happy with the pq, and it meets your expectations, the panel version number is irrelevant.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #1443 of 1470 Old 06-22-2015, 03:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any other new feedback from 8 bit HU8500 owners on the improvement with the new SEK-3500? Does it kinda make the panel more comparable to a 10-bit panel with the the new OCB as far as HDR and picture/performace is concerned?
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #1444 of 1470 Old 06-22-2015, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello!

My TV:

UE55HU7500LXXH
Panel type:55A1UU8EH
Golf.P
Version No: 01
Made In Slovakia

8 or 10 bit?

Thanks!
enoemos is offline  
post #1445 of 1470 Old 06-22-2015, 11:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi guys

I have two German models and I was not able to find any info on what panel the two have

1)

65 inch F9090 (2013)

Version 08


2)

85 inch HU7590 (2014)

Version 01


does anyone here know to find mor einfo on the two?

thanks!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_HU7590 sticker.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	791378   Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_HU7590 chip.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	791386   Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_F9090 Sticker.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	791394   Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_F9090 Chip.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	791402  
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1446 of 1470 Old 06-22-2015, 11:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
with European models you have to go into the service menu. Proceed at your own risk. If you do, do not touch the remote after entering the service menu and take a screenshot. Press (Info + Menu + Mute + Power)
theroys88 is offline  
post #1447 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 01:59 AM
Member
 
mithras1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatslikeaboss View Post
I cant access to service menu on my HU8500
I turn TV off and press info+menu+mute but nothing

I have TH02 version so can you tell me is that good or bad version?
I don't think that's the method for UN models, should be (from standby) MUTE 1 8 2 POWER
thatslikeaboss likes this.
mithras1 is offline  
post #1448 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 02:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by theroys88 View Post
with European models you have to go into the service menu. Proceed at your own risk. If you do, do not touch the remote after entering the service menu and take a screenshot. Press (Info + Menu + Mute + Power)

ok did thaton my 85 inch screen - i didnt realize it automatically resets all settings lol

I didnt take note of my pic settings - ok, well the SEK-3500 is coming next week hopefully anyway


so this is the screen - I didnt dare to go into any of the menus, does that tell you anything - the screen i mean?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_20150623_111431_HDR.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	50.1 KB
ID:	791570  
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1449 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 02:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
and here is the 65 inch screen the 2013 4k modell with OCB 2

(the one above is 85 inch 2014 4k modell)

thanks for any input
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	K800_20150623_112732.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	791586  
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1450 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 02:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Both sets have Samsung panels. Enjoy!
theroys88 is offline  
post #1451 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 03:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
thanks for the feedback!

do the screens tell you anything about 8bit or 10 bit panels?

I am sorry to be asking possibly a totally obvious "dumb" question as newbie to all this
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1452 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 04:01 AM
Member
 
mithras1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdou111 View Post
thanks for the feedback!

do the screens tell you anything about 8bit or 10 bit panels?

I am sorry to be asking possibly a totally obvious "dumb" question as newbie to all this
The screens say nothing but you can look up the tv model on Samsung replacement parts sites and for the F9090 (F9000) there are two panels, one says 10bit the other no info but the controler might be 8bit only ...
For the 85HU7500 only one panel listed but no info and controller also appears to be 8bit if that's what the 8B stands for ... [ASSY T CON P;LMF850FJ02-G,PCB-CONTROL,8B]

The code behind "Option" is what indicated there is a Samsung panel in there by the (first) letter A
mithras1 is offline  
post #1453 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I tried samsungparts.com but it gave nothing in results witht he european model names unfortunately. so I guess I need to try F9000 and HU8550
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1454 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
European models could, and probably are, totally different in some aspects as the models for the North American market. Unless you can find specific information related to your model, it's a guess at best. As far as the 10-bit panels, you need to find out if the tv model has 10-bit processing. Otherwise, the tv won't be able to use the panel to its fullest capabilities. Good luck.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #1455 of 1470 Old 06-23-2015, 02:31 PM
Member
 
mithras1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexdou111 View Post
I tried samsungparts.com but it gave nothing in results witht he european model names unfortunately. so I guess I need to try F9000 and HU8550
Your German model names are just off , UK and Holland have the normal model names like F9000
mithras1 is offline  
post #1456 of 1470 Old 06-24-2015, 12:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
willkommen in Deutschland
alexdou111 is offline  
post #1457 of 1470 Old 06-24-2015, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Never been but folks that I have known that lived or vacationed there loved Germany.
theroys88 is offline  
post #1458 of 1470 Old 06-24-2015, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithras1 View Post
I don't think that's the method for UN models, should be (from standby) MUTE 1 8 2 POWER

I dont have such a remote where is numbers, but anyway i dont need anymore even get in to service menu.
I have to just accept i got piece of s... mine 55HU8500 is TH02 with Novatek and i cant use it now the purpose why i bought it 4k 4.4.4 60hz

Thank you very much Samsung!
thatslikeaboss is online now  
post #1459 of 1470 Old 06-27-2015, 05:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Am looking at the Samsung UE43J5600 and noticed there is also a UE43J5500 which they have at Tesco for cheaper than at curry's (which is the 5600 model), what's the difference between the 5600 and the 5500 models please?
BlockABoots is offline  
post #1460 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 01:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I wonder who makes EH ones. I have it side by side with my TH of same model and it just looks....bad.
Graeth is offline  
post #1461 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 03:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
?
theroys88 is offline  
post #1462 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 08:48 AM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After three tries, I think I hit the jackpot.

Bought a UN40H5003AF back in December, but returned it after a tech replaced the mainboard due to a non-functioning USB port. (The replacement mainboard ruined the picture)

Can't remember the 1st panel's version number, but the 2nd TV's panel version number was IF02. It (the picture) was an improvement, but still not up par before the 1st TV’s USB went out.

On the very last (90th) day, I returned the 2nd TV for one more try. The panel version number was the same as the one I just returned, but the picture quality of the 3rd TV is very good.

I was under the impression that Sam's Club TVs had their own unique model numbers, but I have seen the same exact model numbers at places like Target, HH Gregg, and Best Buy.

Different retailers had different panel version numbers, but I don’t think I saw any genuine Samsung panels at either retailer. Sam’s *did* have a 32” model with a genuine Samsung panel, but a 32” model is just too small in my opinion.
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
post #1463 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Basically if you can look up the exact model number and find it on the Samsung site then it's not a dealer specific model. Keep in mind that just because you get an S-PVA panel, that doesn't mean that they all perform exactly the same so pq may vary. TV panels follow the same mfr qc requirements that the other components do so there will be some variability. The same logic follows when sharing picture settings. However, if you are satisfied with the pq and it meets your expectations the panel type is irrelevant.
4:3 Toshiba likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #1464 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 325
How many high end panel manufactures are there and which one builds the best panel? Seems like rating the manufactures based on average panel superiority would be good information to have.
andy sullivan is online now  
post #1465 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, a newbie here to the thread. Have been reading your posts for the last three nights, glued with interest as I am planning to purchase the new OCB as soon as its available in the UK.

However, I cannot find the details of the panel I have or the chipest. Tryin to find put if its 8 bit or 10 bit. Have searched high and low all day for 6 hours flat, including on the samsung panel thread. Decided to post her finally in case some has any ideas.

I am in the UK.

Model: HU7500 55"

Model no: UE55HU7500TXXU- i just cannot find details on this anywhere.
Version: 3- again no details whatsoever that I can find.

Could somone help?

Many thanks to you all.
rogertango123 is offline  
post #1466 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
How many high end panel manufactures are there and which one builds the best panel? Seems like rating the manufactures based on average panel superiority would be good information to have.
LG and Samsung make their own panels as far as tv mfrs go. No panel is ideal so you need to decide what you can live with. For example, LG builds and uses S-IPS panels in some of their tv's. Samsung builds and uses S-PVA panels in some of their sets. Both mfrs also use panels built by other mfrs for various reasons. S-IPS panels are great for off-axis viewing but the blacks aren't that good. S-PVA panels have great blacks but their off-axis viewing sucks. I have one of each. The problem is complicated by the fact that both play the panel lottery so it can be challenging determining the type of panel you have. I think at times there is too much emphasis placed on the panel type. If the pq is what you want and meets your expectations then the panel type is irrelevant.

Last edited by Otto Pylot; 06-28-2015 at 02:57 PM.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #1467 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 325
I don't know how many panels are made in China but I would guess the percentage will grow every year as Japanese and Korean panel manufactures try to remain price competitive. As demand for panels larger than 65" grow I personally think the the quality of the panel being used is more important that the type of panel being used, especially as more and more 4k displays are sold. For instance, all 70" 4k VA panels are not created equal. Nor are all 70" ISP panels. A good example is Sony's 75x850c. It is a 75" 3D VA panel that replaces a 70" 3D VA panel in the 70x850b. 5 inches bigger and goes from edge lit to direct lit non FALD. is the c panel better? If so what makes it better? Why the change? Better price for a bigger panel from a different manufacture? Is it less costly to build a direct lit panel compared to a edge lit panel?
andy sullivan is online now  
post #1468 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 08:14 PM
Member
 
4:3 Toshiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte Metro Region
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Why do you want to access the Service Menu? That can be a very dangerous thing to do. Firmware/board versions can vary slightly from tv to tv, even within the same model line. The fact that what you attempted to do, and I'm assuming you got that from someone who said this is how, illustrates that point. Even if you do gain access, one accidental move and you can really screw something up.

Not to mention that by just entering the service menu on Samsung models will reset your TV to the defaults. Found that out the hard way.
4:3 Toshiba is offline  
post #1469 of 1470 Old 06-28-2015, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
theroys88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: midlothian, va
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Agreed!
4:3 Toshiba likes this.
theroys88 is offline  
post #1470 of 1470 Old Today, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if model UN40H5201 with version code VF12, has a Samsung panel?
nolfan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Samsung , Samsung Ln46a850 46 Inch 1080p 120hz Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color , Samsung Un55c6300 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off