Samsung Panel Version Thread - Page 58 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 114Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2015, 07:35 AM
Member
 
hristoslav2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Varna Bulgaria
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithras1 View Post
This is a S-MVA type
http://img1.lesnumeriques.com/test/11/11357/pix2.jpg
http://hdtvpolska.com/zdjeciamaciek/...orum_lupka.jpg
Look at the difference in size of the domains of subpixels.
1. The upper (domain A) is higher than the bottom (domain B).
2. In the middle of the upper domain is managing transistor (black box).
This image is rotated
http://benczmark.pl/uploads/backend_...ikseli-50C.jpg

This is a A-MVA3(AUO)
https://www.avforums.com/proxy.php?i...d8b31133ce284e
Sony 55X8505C
https://www.avforums.com/threads/son...#post-22874386
http://hdtvpolska.com/zdjeciamaciek/...orum_lupka.jpg
As you can see in the picture, managing transistor is exported outside domains - located in the black horizontal line below (carrier electrode).
This is done with one goal - increasing the area that transmits light (domain) - which leads to higher brightness and contrast.

Contrast
A-MVA3 -> max 5200:1
S-MVA -> max 4800:1

By the way..year and a half ago Vincent Theo from HDTVTest asked me how to make pictures of the matrix. I explained to him that he should therefore take the necessary camera and lens. He saw his expensive and took USB microscope(that no required 50 fold magnification and resolution). With such a photograph and site http://hdtvpolska.com/
mithras1 likes this.
hristoslav2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2015, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mithras1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristoslav2 View Post
This is a A-MVA3(AUO)
https://www.avforums.com/proxy.php?i...d8b31133ce284e
Sony 55X8505C
https://www.avforums.com/threads/son...#post-22874386
http://hdtvpolska.com/zdjeciamaciek/...orum_lupka.jpg
As you can see in the picture, managing transistor is exported outside domains - located in the black horizontal line below (carrier electrode).
This is done with one goal - increasing the area that transmits light (domain) - which leads to higher brightness and contrast.

Contrast
A-MVA3 -> max 5200:1
S-MVA -> max 4800:1

By the way..year and a half ago Vincent Theo from HDTVTest asked me how to make pictures of the matrix. I explained to him that he should therefore take the necessary camera and lens. He saw his expensive and took USB microscope(that no required 50 fold magnification and resolution). With such a photograph and site http://hdtvpolska.com/
What about this, also from HDTV Polska iirc: according to the service menu it should be a Samsung?
Spoiler!
mithras1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2015, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Question Any comments on these three Costco Samsung sets ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
Models UN x x JU640D where X X = diagonal size.

43" AH01

48" UD01

55" TH01 or EH02


Who are the panel makers of each ?

Which panel codes are strongly preferred ?

Is the TH01 still from Sharp (as in the HU8550 series) ?

Is the set size is not important, which one would you recommend ?



Has anyone tried one or more of these Costco models ? In the store, the picture looked as good, or perhaps better, than the HU8550.

Would enjoy feedback since will probably buy the 55" 640D.
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
slickdaddy96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
Has anyone tried one or more of these Costco models ? In the store, the picture looked as good, or perhaps better, than the HU8550.

Would enjoy feedback since will probably buy the 55" 640D.
I don't know if this helps you but I got the UN60JU6400 which is the same as the 640D and it has a sharp panel and looks great. Although I think the 60* is UV2A vs the 55" being an IPS.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
slickdaddy96 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Question Is the TH01 panel the most preferred ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickdaddy96 View Post
I don't know if this helps you but I got the UN60JU6400 which is the same as the 640D and it has a sharp panel and looks great. Although I think the 60* is UV2A vs the 55" being an IPS.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
What is your panel code-version on that 60" ?

The panel codes on the Costco sets seem to show that the 55" has a Samsung panel and not IPS:


43" AH01

48" UD01

55" TH01 or EH02



Any verification of the true origin of TH01 and EH02 and whether or not these are preferred?

Forums here and elsewhere seem to indicate the buyer "lucks out in the lottery" with the TH01.


Other links: http://nxsfan.co.uk/mediawiki/index.php/Samsung_Panels

http://www.amazon.com/review/R32G9D1HHDBR45

.

Last edited by PeninsulaMark; 12-05-2015 at 07:23 AM.
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
slickdaddy96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 60" panel is MH01 and service menu says I have 60H6AU1VJ whatever that means.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
slickdaddy96 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
AU

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickdaddy96 View Post
The 60" panel is MH01 and service menu says I have 60H6AU1VJ whatever that means.


According to the links above, your panel MH01 is from AU Optronics and is A-MVA.

Did the TV reset when you entered the service menu? Any damage done?
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 08:06 AM
Member
 
hristoslav2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Varna Bulgaria
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mithras1 View Post
What about this, also from HDTV Polska iirc: according to the service menu it should be a Samsung?
Spoiler!
SVA - 3 years ago Samsung seems copied AUO the structure is almost the same

The table is an updated
http://forum.setcombg.com/samsung-%D...tml#post750065

Quote:
Originally Posted by slickdaddy96 View Post
The 60" panel is MH01 and service menu says I have 60H6AU1VJ whatever that means.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
Sharp panel

А - Ѕаmѕung Dіѕрlау
D - СМО (Сhіmеі Іnnоluх /Сhіlіn/)
L - АUО (АU Орtrоnісѕ)
R - АUО (АU Орtrоnісѕ)
І - СРТ (Сhunghwа Рісturе Тubе)
P - СМІ (Сhіmеі Іnnоluх)
H - Ѕhаrр Dіѕрlау
Ѕ - Ѕhаrр ? / (Ѕаmѕung Сhіnа ?)
В - Веіјіng Орtоеlесtrоnісѕ
hristoslav2 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
slickdaddy96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hristoslav2 View Post
Samsung 60JU6400 -> UV²A Sharp display
https://www.sdp.co.jp/en/
He says 60JU6400 is UV2A don't know what is right then.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
slickdaddy96 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 09:03 AM
Member
 
vick911c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys. Just purchased a UN48J5200 version: TD01

Should be a Samsung Panel right? Is there a way I can confirm by entering service menu?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
vick911c is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post

Did the TV reset when you entered the service menu? Any damage done?
Performing a tv reset while in the Service Menu could be a very dangerous and unwise thing to do because it's not like doing a tv reset in the user menu. The user reset sets the tv back to defaults. The defaults are determined by the Service Menu settings which are adjusted at the factory.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Performing a tv reset while in the Service Menu could be a very dangerous and unwise thing to do because it's not like doing a tv reset in the user menu. The user reset sets the tv back to defaults. The defaults are determined by the Service Menu settings which are adjusted at the factory.
Otto, that was part of the reason for my question. But I also wanted to confirm (or deny) if the mere appearance of the Service Menu resets the TV, or is there one further choice was must be done to have the TV reset ?

Otto, are you indicating that doing a reset in the Service Menu can "brick" or destroy the TV set ?
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Service Menus are delicate areas to enter. I've seen some people just enter the main screen, take a look, and inadvertently hit the cursor/arrow/enter key and change a function without knowing it. Seriously. If you CAREFULLY access the SM and take the time to write down everything you see, it's possible to move around and if you accidentally change something you may be able to go back and put it back the way it should be. Some things like and HDMI Calibration can really screw you up and require you to use checkerboard patterns to possibly fix it. I have also seen reports that entering the SM on certain tv's erases calibration settings that the user has done so you have to re-enter your values. Certainly not a major problem but a pain in the ass to re-do if you haven't written down your calibration settings.

A reset in the Service Menu could brick your tv. As I said, a Service Menu reset is not the same thing as a TV reset. The tv reset just brings it back to the factory defaults, which are determined in the Service Menu at time of QC. It's possible that a SM reset wouldn't brick your tv but I certainly wouldn't do it. I know that sounds vague but messing around in the SM is not for the faint of heart. If one could find the proper service manual for the tv and firmware/board(s) versions that would be the safest.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
slickdaddy96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I entered my service menu I didn't touch anything except the front menu and info tab being careful never to touch the left and right arrows. I then turned the TV off to go back to normal it did not reset any of my settings I already set up. That is again for the UN60JU6400.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk
slickdaddy96 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 01:13 PM
Newbie
 
Miketkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a Samsung 60" J6300... I'm trying to get the panel info and the have the following so far:

Model Code: UN60J6300AF
Version: MS01

Service menu... I got the following:
Option: 60H1AF0S,...,...,NONE
Panel (SHARP-120Hz)

I read MS01 is a AUO panel....service menu says SHARP...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pizap.com14493493636401.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	113.6 KB
ID:	1099978   Click image for larger version

Name:	pizap.com14493492176741.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	1099986  
Miketkt is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Accessing the panel info is a relatively safe thing to do if you're careful. It's when folks want to enable a feature or think they can get better pq by adjusting some of the video parameters is where the problems start.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Accessing the panel info is a relatively safe thing to do if you're careful. It's when folks want to enable a feature or think they can get better pq by adjusting some of the video parameters is where the problems start.


Thanks for the clarification. The Costco set does NOT support "HDR". What is HDR and why should one care if it's supported?
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:34 PM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
Thanks for the clarification. The Costco set does NOT support "HDR". What is HDR and why should one care if it's supported?
HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. In a nutshell, it is enhanced contrast ratio and better color accuracy. Most people who see a comparison between TVs with and without HDR, all other things being equal, agree that HDR makes a dramatic difference in PQ.
tk54911 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk54911 View Post
HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. In a nutshell, it is enhanced contrast ratio and better color accuracy. Most people who see a comparison between TVs with and without HDR, all other things being equal, agree that HDR makes a dramatic difference in PQ.

The PQ on these sets at Costco looked damn good, the same or better than my HU8550 sets. Don't know if the HU8550 has HDR.
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 05:07 PM
Member
 
tk54911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
Don't know if the HU8550 has HDR.
Apparently the 8550 is only HDR compatible with the SEK-3500U unit.
tk54911 is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk54911 View Post
Apparently the 8550 is only HDR compatible with the SEK-3500U unit.

I read that after posting. I've experienced the JS series (and the HU8550 + SEK-3500U) and did not like the HDR… too contrasty and cartoonish. The HU8550 picture seems more realistic and easy on the eyes.

One of the comparison pictures in this article looks better without HDR: http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...sion-explained
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Old 12-05-2015, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketkt View Post
I got a Samsung 60" J6300... I'm trying to get the panel info and the have the following so far:

Model Code: UN60J6300AF
Version: MS01

Service menu... I got the following:
Option: 60H1AF0S,...,...,NONE
Panel (SHARP-120Hz)

I read MS01 is a AUO panel....service menu says SHARP...
According to SamsungParts.com your tv has the possibility of two panels.

BN96-30084A (ASSY OPEN CELL discontinued).
Specification
LQ600D3HD6K,1920*1080,60"
ASSY OPEN CELL

BN95-01333A PRODUCT LCD-SHARP
Specification:
LQ600D3HD6K,CY-HH060CS

My guess is if the manufacturer date on the back of the tv is within the last few months you have the Sharp panel. I couldn't figure out who the other one is made by. The price of the replacement Sharp panel is $300 more than the other one was.
snorge is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
Miketkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post
According to SamsungParts.com your tv has the possibility of two panels.

BN96-30084A (ASSY OPEN CELL discontinued).
Specification
LQ600D3HD6K,1920*1080,60"
ASSY OPEN CELL

BN95-01333A PRODUCT LCD-SHARP
Specification:
LQ600D3HD6K,CY-HH060CS

My guess is if the manufacturer date on the back of the tv is within the last few months you have the Sharp panel. I couldn't figure out who the other one is made by. The price of the replacement Sharp panel is $300 more than the other one was.

Thanks!!...the manufacturer date is october 2015...SHARP panel...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12319721_1012483658772927_1713438218_n.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	1101018  
Miketkt is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 06:24 AM
Member
 
shyguy3763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I am thinking about purchasing the Samsung UN40JU7100,being that it's only 40 inches do I still have to worry about which type of panel I get? I heard that small panels are all Samsung,is this true?
shyguy3763 is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
hrіѕtоѕlаv2 Ѕеnіоr Меmbеr SETCOMBS: Роѕtѕ 21,257
04-12-15, 19:24 # 1070 Аnѕwеr: Ѕаmѕung ТV 2015
Google Translated:
https://translate.googleusercontent....qMw#post750065

I use a Firefox plugin called "Grab and Drag" to pull the tables into view so I dont have to scroll to bottom to see a slider and thus lose my place in reading.
Woobieizer is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
Thanks for the clarification. The Costco set does NOT support "HDR". What is HDR and why should one care if it's supported?
As was mentioned, High Dynamic Range produces a more lifelike pq in 4k sets by expanding the range of contrast from the brightest bright to the darkest dark. Properly implemented, they can make a noticeable improvement. Currently the top dog in HDR are OLED sets. However, the content needs to be encoded in HDR to take full advantage of all that it can offer. The downside is that the standards for HDR are still in a bit of a flux so there are competing way in which it can be implemented.

One implementation is the UHD Alliance (Netflix, Disney, and FOX) and the other is Dolby Vision (Sony, Toshiba, Philips), so it depends on which technology is being used. My guess is that UHD Alliance will adopt the Dolby Vision standards so at least that will be settled for the newer sets coming out next year. As 4k content becomes more available HDR will be game changer.
PeninsulaMark likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 09:57 AM
Member
 
hristoslav2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Varna Bulgaria
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post
Google Translated:
https://translate.googleusercontent....qMw#post750065

I use a Firefox plugin called "Grab and Drag" to pull the tables into view so I dont have to scroll to bottom to see a slider and thus lose my place in reading.
Remark to me? The table is made using BB codes.
You can move left-right using the mouse. Put the cursor on the line of the table that they are interested in. Then press and hold the left mouse button while moving the cursor to the right - like tagging order.
http://forum.setcombg.com/panasonic-...tml#post750211

Last edited by hristoslav2; 12-06-2015 at 10:00 AM.
hristoslav2 is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by hristoslav2 View Post
Remark to me? The table is made using BB codes.
You can move left-right using the mouse. Put the cursor on the line of the table that they are interested in. Then press and hold the left mouse button while moving the cursor to the right - like tagging order.

No sir, I credit your work therefore I quoted you. SetCombs interface of your works looks much better and translates easily. People here need to be reminded how to use your primary library/forum.

Thanks for cleaning up all that table junk.. that was weird.

Merry Christmas
Woobieizer is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
HDR may not be a war like Bluray and HD DVD.. but..

New Film Making Tech w/Scott and Howard Lukk Twit TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Santo
SMPTE is far from the only standards body involved. The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) is looking into how to deliver HDR content in the next-*generation ATSC 3.0 terrestrial broadcast standard.
The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE) is also beginning to work on HDR transmission for future cable transmission.
The MPEG committee is also evaluating the impact of HDR and whether it requires the addition or modification of various tools in the HEVC compression standard. Internet streaming delivery of HDR content will also be defined by both future industry standards and proprietary delivery systems.
ARIB in Japan has published a standard for OETF (ARIB STD-*B67). NHK has announced its timetable for delivery to the home of HDRWCG images.
DVB in Europe is actively looking at the available options for home delivery. ITU-*R SG-*6 on Broadcasting has a Rapporteur Group (RG24) Recommendations on HDR television systems.
The Blu-*ray disc Association has produced a set of HDR specifications. Of course, if HDR/WCG is to be marketed as something separate, somebody is going to have to come up with a catchier name. Vibracolor. Whoopie-Scope. Something. Anything. — Brian Santo, Senior Editor
Woobieizer is offline  
Old 12-07-2015, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Cool COSTCO: 640D PQ vs. 700D PQ. 640D looked better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
I read that after posting. I've experienced the JS series (and the HU8550 + SEK-3500U) and did not like the HDR… too contrasty and cartoonish. The HU8550 picture seems more realistic and easy on the eyes.

One of the comparison pictures in this article looks better without HDR: http://www.trustedreviews.com/opinio...sion-explained


Spent hours at Costco looking at:



JS700D 55" EH01

640D 55" TH01


The 700D is $300 more than the 640D. Did not like the 700D as much as the cheaper 640D.

On the 700D: some of the colors were so vivid, they were cartoonish and unreal. Background patterns seen on the 640D virtually disappeared on the 700D. White annoying highlights appeared on peoples forehead and hands. Detail in the dark areas was lost. Whites were blue-white, not white-white.

The 700D set had a silver bezel, whereas the black bezel of the 640D is more pleasing.

The 640D has a TH01 panel (Samsung).
PeninsulaMark is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
<<. , Samsung , Samsung Ln46a850 46 Inch 1080p 120hz Lcd Hdtv With Red Touch Of Color , Samsung Un55c6300 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off