Samsung remote - is this normal or do I need a new TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-11-2011, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattttyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I posted this on another forum, so if you read both, I apologize in advance.

I've got a SamsungLN55B640 TV and the remote has always been hard to work. I have to really aim it directly at where the power button is on the TV for it to work. For example if I aim at the left side of the TV it doesn't work.

I've had other TV, Stereos, etc. and generally I just had to aim it in the right general direction. Some you could even point backwards and they'd work.

I've done all the normal things, new batteries, got a new remote under warranty, but still you really have to have good aim to get the TV to respond.

Anyone else had this problem? I think I'm going to put in a warranty call and have them come out and check it, but I'm afraid I'll get a response like: "well it works, just aim better" or something.

Any advice, suggestions or even "hey my samsung remote works from the bathroom, your TV is screwed up" would be helpful.
mattttyp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Do-It-Yourself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In a house far away from you creeps (hopefully)
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have the Samsung B650 and I also experience this with the supplied remote. But two of my Sonys don't have a problem at all. Its probably due to quality differences.
Do-It-Yourself is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BoilerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 6,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I have two Samsung 650's and don't have a problem with either of the factory remotes. They work just fine. However, you could buy a cheap remote for less than $20 at almost any store that sells electronic items, program in the Samsung code, and see if it works any better.

By the way, I just tried my two remotes to be sure and as long as I'm within about 60 degrees to either side of the TV, they work OK.
BoilerJim is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah, try a universal remote see if that works better.

I have an old remote, it is so strong that I can work it from another room as long as I have a line-of-sight!

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattttyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good tips, I'll try the universal...but I'm not sure I'm happy with that as a solution. My Zenith from the 80s worked better than this thing.
mattttyp is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattttyp View Post

My Zenith from the 80s worked better than this thing.

MADE IN CHINA. If there a corner to be cut, the Chinese WILL do it.

Another option would an IR re-transmitter, designed really for multi-room applications but may serve ur purpose if u don't want the universal route.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-12-2011, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Bent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ln55c630, same problem with the OEM Samsung remote.
But, my old mx500's have enough IR output to light a pet on fire from across the room, so they never have any control issues.
Bent is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-14-2011, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mattttyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies.

Those of you with Samsungs that have this problem, you're just living with it or getting aftermarket remotes? Those seems like poor options. I'm inclined to RMA the TV but then I'm afraid of what I'll get back. Everything else is good, eg no stuck pixels, clear picture...I guess it's not worth the risk.
mattttyp is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-15-2011, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BoilerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 6,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 81
The remotes for my two 650's work just fine, so I can't really identify with your problem. Sorry.
BoilerJim is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off