Official Sony HX929 Owner's thread (46HX929, 55HX929, 65HX929) No Price Talk - Page 352 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10531 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

the clouding is so bad that you can actually see it when local dimming is on. and theres the red pixel. This is my 7th attempt this year to get a working tv

Can you set your picture to custom and try Rizz picture setting here and let us know if you're still having problems?
edtorious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10532 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 04:21 PM
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edtorious View Post

Can you set your picture to custom and try Rizz picture setting here and let us know if you're still having problems?

Will do, can you post the final settings
promark255 is offline  
post #10533 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
skoobydoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know the code to program the remote for Onkyo NR5008?
skoobydoo is offline  
post #10534 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
zoetmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamecube ichiban View Post

Hi All
I got my 55HX929 the other day
Does anyone have a link to optimize the sound equalizer settings?
thank you

Umm...the sound is so dependent upon the acoustics of your room that no one else's settings is going to work for you.

And the sound of this TV is pretty awful anyway (when playing through its internal speakers). My 25-year-old analog Sony had far better internal sound.

Generally, you want to boost the low and the highs to get a more full-bodied sound, but make sure when you do this that you do it in smooth steps. If the bass boost makes dialog unintelligible, bring it back down.
zoetmb is offline  
post #10535 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
zoetmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

Sure enough my set arrived,I set it up, I turned it on, and discovered a ridiculous amount of clouding, blooming, and banding. Oh and theres a pixel stuck on red. fml

Yeah, but when you turn it on, it's in store blast mode. Adjust the settings to something more reasonable first and then see if you still have problems (aside from the stuck pixel.)
zoetmb is offline  
post #10536 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 06:00 PM
Member
 
GASKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I paid $300 to have my set calibrated. Here are my results...


After hours of calibrating I present to you my ultimate settings. Thank my OCD for this...

Scene Select General

Backlight 5
Picture MAX
Brightness 40
Color 55
Color Temp Warm 2
Sharpness 50
Smooth Gradation Low
Motionflow Smooth
CineMotion Auto 2 (most of you would prefer to have motionflow and cinemotion off but not I)
Gamma Min
LED Dynamic Control Standard


HDMI Dynamic Range Full (if not then set Brightness to 50)

Every other setting is off
GASKA is offline  
post #10537 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Testing_XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a bunch of MKV on my NAS that I'm currently accessing with a Popcorn Hour but I wouldn't mind it if I could play them directly from the NAS. What is the format specification that will play on the HX929?
Testing_XP is offline  
post #10538 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 07:19 PM
Member
 
digitalart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Testing_XP View Post

I have a bunch of MKV on my NAS that I'm currently accessing with a Popcorn Hour but I wouldn't mind it if I could play them directly from the NAS. What is the format specification that will play on the HX929?

- Still images: JPEG
- Music: MP3, linear PCM, WMA
- Video: AVCHD, MPEG2, MPEG1, MP4 (AVC), MP4 (MPEG4), WMV

http://esupport.sony.com/docs/imanua...uc_nodivx.html
digitalart is offline  
post #10539 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Bradley8403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if the issue of connecting to a wireless network with a non-broadcasted SSID has been resolved?
Bradley8403 is offline  
post #10540 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

Sure enough my set arrived,I set it up, I turned it on, and discovered a ridiculous amount of clouding, blooming, and banding. Oh and theres a pixel stuck on red. fml

I keep throwing out some negative stuff about Sony, but of course no one here will agree with me. You can't dump thousands into a TV and not be happy with it. I'm telling you, last years model the HX909 was the only set to really have good QC. Go ahead, check the internet out. You'll be hard to find any issues with the 909 models. It is very easy to find issues with the 929 and it just came out relative to the 909. I'm just repeating what others are saying all over the net, that's it.

I know a little 'inside' information. Sony's build procedures, and QC processes have changed. Trying to keep the bottom line numbers up, the only thing they can do is change their procedures, man power and go on the cheap!

I just bought an 52HX909. It was "old new stock" and I finally found a place that had one in their warehouse. I wanted to try and find one before I couldn't get one. Good luck peoples!
Opentoe is offline  
post #10541 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Testing_XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalart View Post

- Still images: JPEG
- Music: MP3, linear PCM, WMA
- Video: AVCHD, MPEG2, MPEG1, MP4 (AVC), MP4 (MPEG4), WMV

http://esupport.sony.com/docs/imanua...uc_nodivx.html

Thanks
Testing_XP is offline  
post #10542 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Tijean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
..........
Tijean is offline  
post #10543 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 08:55 PM
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Testing_XP View Post

Thanks

Well Ive had a few hours to play around with the settings, play some games, watch some movies, and I can honestly say that I love this tv despite its defects.

Will be returning for a replacement which will (hopefully) have no red pixel, less clouding.

But overall I am very happy with the set.

The only thing that bugs me is the limitation of local dimming when using Game mode or 3D mode. Game mode works ok, but 3D mode is not ok. Standard 2D local dimming is the greatest thing ive ever seen.

Is this a software bug or is there actual hardware limitation / software limitation?


* Also , im going to order the polarize filters, will these reduce crosstalk? I noticed slight crosstalk on the HX929 but not as bad as the UN65D/C8000's I had before.
promark255 is offline  
post #10544 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post


Will do, can you post the final settings

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post21310441
edtorious is offline  
post #10545 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASKA View Post

I paid $300 to have my set calibrated. Here are my results...

After hours of calibrating I present to you my ultimate settings. Thank my OCD for this...

Scene Select General

Backlight 5
Picture MAX
Brightness 40
Color 55
Color Temp Warm 2
Sharpness 50
Smooth Gradation Low
Motionflow Smooth
CineMotion Auto 2 (most of you would prefer to have motionflow and cinemotion off but not I)
Gamma Min
LED Dynamic Control Standard

HDMI Dynamic Range Full (if not then set Brightness to 50)

Every other setting is off

What is your White Balance settings?
edtorious is offline  
post #10546 of 15573 Old 12-06-2011, 11:33 PM
Member
 
MatsT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalart View Post


- Still images: JPEG
- Music: MP3, linear PCM, WMA
- Video: AVCHD, MPEG2, MPEG1, MP4 (AVC), MP4 (MPEG4), WMV

http://esupport.sony.com/docs/imanua...uc_nodivx.html

I am using a DLNA media center software on my QNAP NAS and it will automatically unpack MKV files making almost all video formats playable directly in my HX923. I am very happy with my set. The media center software runs on most platforms. I will post the name when I am home tonight.

Also I was at first disappointed with too much blooming but after either burn in or changed setting they are more or less gone with an excellent PQ.
MatsT is offline  
post #10547 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Razor Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

The only thing that bugs me is the limitation of local dimming when using Game mode or 3D mode. Game mode works ok, but 3D mode is not ok. Standard 2D local dimming is the greatest thing ive ever seen.

This is exactly how I feel, the 2d image is awesome (best I have ever seen) but the local dimming doesn't go all the way in 3d mode which kinda bugs me. At first I thought I had a faulty display but it turns out this is how these display are setup for 3d. I wish sony would release an update to allow local dimming to switch off the LEDs in 3d mode like they do in 2d mode.
Razor Time is offline  
post #10548 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 05:14 AM
Member
 
promark255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Time View Post

This is exactly how I feel, the 2d image is awesome (best I have ever seen) but the local dimming doesn't go all the way in 3d mode which kinda bugs me. At first I thought I had a faulty display but it turns out this is how these display are setup for 3d. I wish sony would release an update to allow local dimming to switch off the LEDs in 3d mode like they do in 2d mode.

yes. has anyone put in a request?
promark255 is offline  
post #10549 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Razor Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

yes. has anyone put in a request?

I think someone posted up last week that they posted on the facebook or twitter page. I guess the more people that mention this issue the more chance there will be a firmware fix. I somehow doubt it will happen though.
Razor Time is offline  
post #10550 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 06:44 AM
Member
 
ColonelSW20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalart View Post

Guys what holes do we use for wall mounting? There are 6 holes on the back of my 55HX for wall mounting. The very top two are slightly further apart (320mm). The bottom 4 are 300mm apart vertically & horizontally. If I use the bottom 4 I also need to remove the guide bolts that are meant for the stand. Is this OK?

You might want to refer to this guideline on sony's website.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/XBR...9_cutsheet.pdf

From my interpretation of this diagram without the TV physically in front of me (mine is in transit somewhere).

The bottom VESA mount screws appear to be roughly 15" from the top of the TV. However further scrutiny of the diagram shows the "top" screws (Just under the top vents) to be slightly off center of the bottom screws.

So I dont know for sure. I would also like clarification from those that have wall mounted the TV.
ColonelSW20 is offline  
post #10551 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 07:15 AM
Member
 
CO-RCFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColonelSW20 View Post

You might want to refer to this guideline on sony's website.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/XBR...9_cutsheet.pdf

From my interpretation of this diagram without the TV physically in front of me (mine is in transit somewhere).

The bottom VESA mount screws appear to be roughly 15" from the top of the TV. However further scrutiny of the diagram shows the "top" screws (Just under the top vents) to be slightly off center of the bottom screws.

So I dont know for sure. I would also like clarification from those that have wall mounted the TV.

I just mounted my 55" last night...it was on the stand originally and I didn't notice the mount holes on the bottom....just the offset holes on the top - which had me shaking my head in confusion! After mounting and remounting brackets etc and then seeing the bottom holes...this is what I did. The specs state 300x300 - that is in fact the bottom two sets. The top two screw holes that are more like 350 are intended for securing the TV to a wall when using the stand. So use the lower 4 holes for the VESA mount - I did and it works great. Also used one of the cheaper $25 Amazon mounts and it works great and solid! I'll post a pict of my setup later...I was using the stand at first then decided to mount on the wall.....much better mounted on the wall!
CO-RCFlyer is offline  
post #10552 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 07:19 AM
Member
 
CO-RCFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Testing_XP View Post

I have a bunch of MKV on my NAS that I'm currently accessing with a Popcorn Hour but I wouldn't mind it if I could play them directly from the NAS. What is the format specification that will play on the HX929?

I'm using Handbrake to format my streaming movies and it works great. MP4 format. I'm able to get Blu-Ray movies (DVDFab) down to about 5-6 gb in size at 1080p and 5.1/AC3 passthru and it works like a charm streaming direct from my Seagate HomeFlex NAS or even direct from my PC!
CO-RCFlyer is offline  
post #10553 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 07:25 AM
Member
 
ColonelSW20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO-RCFlyer View Post

I just mounted my 55" last night...it was on the stand originally and I didn't notice the mount holes on the bottom....just the offset holes on the top - which had me shaking my head in confusion! After mounting and remounting brackets etc and then seeing the bottom holes...this is what I did. The specs state 300x300 - that is in fact the bottom two sets. The top two screw holes that are more like 350 are intended for securing the TV to a wall when using the stand. So use the lower 4 holes for the VESA mount - I did and it works great. Also used one of the cheaper $25 Amazon mounts and it works great and solid! I'll post a pict of my setup later...I was using the stand at first then decided to mount on the wall.....much better mounted on the wall!

Thank you for that clarification. Mounting to the wrong holes would most likely cause instability and god forbid a fall! Those screws look really low on the chassis, but who knows what bracing is done inside.

Guess I will check measurements before cutting my wire pass through box. Might end up putting it above the center line versus below like I had originally thought.
ColonelSW20 is offline  
post #10554 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

the clouding is so bad that you can actually see it when local dimming is on. and theres the red pixel. This is my 7th attempt this year to get a working tv

What are the odds that 7 televisions are defective? Maybe you are looking for perfection in an unperfect world.
gbaby is offline  
post #10555 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Micro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Caroliona
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seventh television WOW!!! After so many television and still can't find one that you like and that is good, maybe the question is not with the televisions but with.?




Quote:
Originally Posted by promark255 View Post

the clouding is so bad that you can actually see it when local dimming is on. and theres the red pixel. This is my 7th attempt this year to get a working tv

Micro is offline  
post #10556 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
edtorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASKA View Post

I paid $300 to have my set calibrated. Here are my results...


After hours of calibrating I present to you my ultimate settings. Thank my OCD for this...

I'm finally getting my TV calibrated also, see my post on this link
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post21313239 even though I'm happy with my own current settings, I would still like to see if a calibrated TV would give me better result. I'm paying $200 and so wish me luck!
edtorious is offline  
post #10557 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
bourmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColonelSW20 View Post

Thank you for that clarification. Mounting to the wrong holes would most likely cause instability and god forbid a fall! Those screws look really low on the chassis, but who knows what bracing is done inside.

Guess I will check measurements before cutting my wire pass through box. Might end up putting it above the center line versus below like I had originally thought.

I unsuspectadly mounted mine off the top and middle holes. I didn't notice the bottom holes until after I had already cut my wire pass box and wired my outlet. As noted, the top two holes are farther apart which makes the bracket not perfectly perpendicular with the tv, but the Monoprice bracket clamps adjust to the offset. Besides, I wanted the bracket to be at the center of the tv, not the bottom. It has worked perfect for me and you don't notice the offsetting from the side, either.
bourmb is offline  
post #10558 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Testing_XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO-RCFlyer View Post

I'm using Handbrake to format my streaming movies and it works great. MP4 format. I'm able to get Blu-Ray movies (DVDFab) down to about 5-6 gb in size at 1080p and 5.1/AC3 passthru and it works like a charm streaming direct from my Seagate HomeFlex NAS or even direct from my PC!

I converted one of my MKV to M2TS using TSMuxer and it worked really well and it only took about 20 minute to do on a 8GB BluRay file.
Testing_XP is offline  
post #10559 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
starskyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Time View Post

I think someone posted up last week that they posted on the facebook or twitter page. I guess the more people that mention this issue the more chance there will be a firmware fix. I somehow doubt it will happen though.

Yeah, that was me. I got a response from Amanda yesterday telling me that an authorized Sony servicer needs to come to my home and evaluate my TV. I replied and asked her if she could just forward my request to the team at Sony who work on the firmware updates for this TV.

I used to own the HX820 and the dynamic LED control would completely shut off the LEDs in game mode (I didn't check 3D mode though). So if the HX820 can do it, the HX929 should be able to do it as well.
starskyj is offline  
post #10560 of 15573 Old 12-07-2011, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
rewski54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received my 65. Anxiously waiting for it to warm up. It is 24 below C outside here right now.
rewski54 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Xbr65hx929 65 Inch 1080p 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv With Built In Wifi Black , Sony Bravia Xbr55hx929 55 Inch 1080p 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv With Built In Wi Fi Black , Sony Bravia Xbr46hx929 46 Inch 3d Local Dimming Led Hdtv , Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off